Former deputy governor of Anambra state killed by kidnappers | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 12 April 2013

Former deputy governor of Anambra state killed by kidnappers

First Deputy Governor of Anambra State and National Vice President of ACN (South East), Dr. Chudi Nwike, who was kidnapped on March 19, has been killed by his kidnappers.

Dr Nwike's corpse was found on Monday April 8th in the middle of the road leading to Alizomor community near Agbor in Ika South Local Government Area of Delta State, after the family had paid the kidnappers N5m ransom.

The late ACN chieftain served as deputy governor between 1991 and 1993, under former governor, Dr. Chukwu-emeka Ezeife. See ACN press release on Dr Nwike's murder after the cut...

Anambra’s Pioneer Deputy Governor killed by kidnappers
Okolo Azu Ogbunike  aka ejiem ooo!
Omambalai n’umu Chi ewelu efifie jie !!
Umu Anambra  izuzu be zu gbe !!!
Nigeria  alu emeee nu moooo!!!!
With a heart full of pain and sorrow, Action Congress of Nigeria, Anambra State Chapter, in consultation with the NwikeFamily of Azu Ogbunike, Oyi Local Government Area ofAnambra State announces the death murder of Dr ChuddyNwike, Ibolo Ogbunike, First Deputy Governor of Anambra State and National Vice President of the Action Congress of Nigeria (South East).
Dr Nwike’s body has been identified by Our State Chairman, Chief Amaechi Obidike, our State Secretary, Barr Emeka Ibeand his brother Dr Bufo Nwike at Agbor Police Station in Delta State.
Dr Nwike, who became Deputy Governor of Anambra State under Gov Chukwuemeka Ezeife in 1991, was abducted by gunmen on March 19, 2013 by suspected kidnappers.
According to the family, the suspected kidnappers made contact with his brother Dr Bufo Nwike shortly after with a ransom demand of N30 million equivalent, delivered in US Dollars. The younger Dr Nwike, negotiated the sum to N5 million which delivered to a location in Delta State through a courier on Friday April 05, 2013, after rejecting the offer for the wife or the brother to deliver the money.

But rather than release the ex-Deputy Governor, the kidnappers seized the money and the courier on April 05, 2013, cutting off all communication, until the body was found.

All efforts and all contacts made by our party to relevant authorities had not yielded any dividend and have surprisingly not even drawn any concern from quarters we took for granted.

We worked and prayed to see Dr Nwike return safe and alive to continue contributing as he has been doing to our party, but we have not. We toiled and moiled to see our South East National Vice Chairman, play his traditional fatherly role in the tasks immediately before us. But we are crest-fallen that Dr Nwike as gone the way of all mortals, though in a way we would have wished away.
We are tremendously ashamed of the circumstances of his death and wish we could now erase from history that a former Deputy Governor of a State in Nigeria died in this manner.

Our Leader Dr Chris Nwabueze Ngige mourns, our committed party faithfuls weep and our overwhelming supporters wail, butDr Nwike,Ibolo Ogbunike ,distinguished medical Doctor, calculative politician and quintessential statesman is no more.
Since the security agencies did not succeed in tracking downAnambra’s Deputy Governor in life, we urge them to rise and smash all obstacles on the way to unearthing the abductors and killers of ACN’s rare gem, an embodiment of peace and knowledge.

We urge them to leave no stone unturned and not be beaten by any decoy until the nation has the right answers to the nagging questions. For we may know who will it be next.

Ebeooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!
For : ACTION CONGRESS OF NIGERIA,ANAMBRA CHAPTER
Okelo Madukaife
State Publicity Secretary

77 comments:

NEKS said...

Kai!!..So sad..I keep wondering the mothers that birthed these demons occupying earth.Monsters that do not see anything wrong in spilling human blood.I pray they die worse deaths.

I weep for my country

This is getting out of hand...I wonder if our security operatives are with filled with trepidation about all this. Smh!

linda why u go put another man's picture now, na him de kill?

DATSHAPIBOBOY said...

OOohhhh not again. Anambra boils again RIP
Comment Signed, Sealed and Delivered by DatShapIboBoy

Ɯα†̥‎​ Ω̴̩̩̩̥ country Ωε live ȋ̝̊̅Ŋ..G̶̲̥̅̊​​♡̷̷̷̷̷̷̷​D̶̲̥̅̊​ rest his soul

Useless country. A whole deputy governor kidnapped and nobody could rescue him. Shame!!

Sad may his soul RIP and may they catch the BASTARDS BEHIND IT

Chudi Nwike was murdered by kidnappers on the instruction of his political enemies within PDP who are now targeting ACN leaders and anyone who stands in their way.

PDP are determined to win the next election at all cost. Who will the assasinate next?

May God save us from PDP and its power hungry leaders.

Political murder in my state.................dere is something about ds peter obi dt i jst dnt trust

May his soul rest in peace.

Gawwwd no this is unacceptable.
The people that perpetuated dis evil act must be apprehended by every means.
ALU.

DISCOVER THE SECRET OF LOSING WEIGHT AND BURNING FLAT TOMMY said...

Don't be surprised that the kidnappers that killed this man might get amnesty from state and federal government.

As a victim of kidnapping,i mourn with his family but as a resident Nigerian,i weep for the decay in this country which has led to this collosal loss. Our leaders should wake up (from their dream state) and realise that in the near future the security of being in govt will depart from them and they will continue to live like the (mere mortals)rest of us.

may his soul rest in peace and may those behinde his killing come to repentance or else.

Such a sad news..MAY HIS SOUR RIP.

What a devastating news!!!!!!!!!!
I wonder why people derive joy in kidnapping and taking lives of their fellow human beings.

Why kill a man when the stipulated amount has been paid.

Aru emem go oooo
Ihe di egwu emela
Uwa ke anyi no n'ime ya
Olisa biko nyere umu gi aka
Ife anyi nahu n'uwa
Di njo nke ukwu

As a full blooded anambarian,this is a soul piercing news that will strike a lot of nerves....in our land

I just hope this is not politically planned.

The perpertrators and all that planned for the kidnapping and death of this man shall never ever know peace,prosperity,happiness,any good fin in life.

They shall be eaten by vultures,not even a soul alive shall even listen to their pleas.

RIP Sir
RIP Dr. Nwike
May christ be with u in your spiritual journey...
Amen
......La creamy........

Nigeria needs governance and transparency from the top or these things will keep happening. The system is poisoned and regard for human life has beenwiped away. We are losing our humanity.those in power and those around those in power should wake up
From their slumber of greed and selfishness. Those high walls and gates will soon come crumbling with the rest of the country. God help us help ourselves before its too late

What a country are we! Even the so called rich and elites are not safe.
Lord have mercy.

May his soul RIP.

May your soul rest in peace, its so sad

It's only in Africa we see such evil acts go unpunished! I hope the Nigerian Police rise up to the challenge and see the evil doers brought to book! Justice should be served!

Lucinda.

This is the first time am commenting on this blog. Chi enwelugo efife jieeee. Ewooo I heard this news on Tuesday. This is very unhuman. This family has lost four of their own including Dr Nwike within a very short period. Adieu sir. #tearsdropping#

What a country! Even the so called rich and elites are no longer safe.

Lord have mercy.

May his soul RIP.

Unbelievable we must get de root of dis mess hw can oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo my god just like dat

May his soul rest in peace*sobz*

Yinka said...

na who die, na whose picture u dey show linda. And may God grant repose to d dead

ApokoGal said...

#sadface# May his soul rest in peace Amen

Ada Owerri said...

Ewooo! Wat a sad news a whole Deputy governor abducted n wasn't rescued within a week n then snufd life out of him just like dt Chimeeeayii ke ihe aga akpo nke? Biko gbatara anyi bu Umu gi oso enyemaka ngwa ngwa!!!*sobbing*

May his soul rest in peace.. And may God punish those behind d senseless killing of a human being.dee

Ada Nnewi said...

NDI ALU!!! UNU NILE NE GBU NDI MMADU OMA KA NKITA, CHINEKE GE MME UNU EZIBOTE ALUU!!! PDP wants to ruin Anambra state! I weep for my state...Obi u have impoverished Anambra just to enrich your pockets turning the young men into heartless beasts with black souls..God will judge all of you that degrading my state...

Eyah! So sad,no one deserves such. RIP.

This is really getting out of control,what is bloody govt.going to do about this?May his soul rest in Peace!

May his soul rest in peace

Dis is so heartbreakn,may his soul RIP.

RIP Sir.... So sad

Aru emeee,dimkpa anaaa.RIP sir,n may God unearth d perpetrators of dis dastardly,shameful act.dey will surely meet their waterloo.shame on a failed nigerian govt,big shame!

Kidnap and kill, no more conscience in the human being. Sad situation.

Sex Addiction: Beyond The Physical said...

It's so sad, Nigerian govt should really sit up.

Ife said...

Linda why's the IG's face on thsi story????????

Ife said...

May his soul rest in peace and may the perpetrators and all evil workers in this country know no peace for the rest of their lives in Jesus Name - God is angry with the wicked everyday Ps 7:11.

Btw Linda why is it the IG's face that's d cover story?????? If u couldnt obtain a picture of the deceased, then i think twud av bin better to leave it blank......

The major problem is the decay in the management of the country's affairs.overtime this has led to countless idle youths without relevant skills to empower themselves.everything Is imported.we can't produce anything as a nation.every one waits for some kind of handout from government.we nid to rise up as a people and say no to the way things are done in this country.For the late gentleman, may his soul rest in peace.amen

My Thots exactly

Shame
Meanwhile I love the fact that you can write in ibo... Love it,brilliant

Killing him was the main objective......collecting a ransom was just a cover up.May his soul R.I.P.God save our country.

What do u xpect in a country thats rule by thugs? From the presidency to council,show me any of the idoits that isnt a thugs.i weep for ths nation, cos these armed robbers called politicians have drianed d country,killing each other cuz of politics, one thing is sure,God of vegance wil arise one day and save d masses of this country

The courier who delivered the money was seized! He may even be dead too and no mention of that in this article? Isn't his life also important????

I DONT CARE WHAT YOU SAY, I HATE NIGERIA, I HATE GOODLUCK, I WILL NEVER STEP INTO THAT LAND AGAIN, IT IS EVIL, THE LAND IS NOT OF GOD, ITS A FORGOTTEN LAND, PEOPLE WHO DWELL IN THERE LIVE WITH FEAR AT EVERY MINUTE.. HMMM,,, LAND FLOWING WITH BLOOD AND DEAD BODIES.

SOUR?its 'soul' Guess its typo thnk me later

Some people are just monsters, there is no justification for kipnapping much less killing your victim. I don't care what drove the 'sons of Baal' to do this but whatever their problems where before this may those problems be multiplied to infinity.

I have had a family member kidnapped and you don't want to know what it does to your psyche.

I sincerely hope that those responsible meet their ends in the most horrible way befitting their actions...RIP Sir.

See what our beloved Nigeria has become under prolonged period of bad leadership, ineffective policing and compromised judiciary.

Unless governance becomes purposeful and value-adding, policing becomes proactive and objective, and the judiciary frees itself from executive manipulation to discharge its constitutional responsibilities fearlessly, Nigeria will continue to lose young and old talents via senseless killings and kidnappings.

Because of the unabated failures enumerated above, sacrosanct traditional values have been flushed down the drain and our country has become a mad jungle driven by a "dog eat dog" creed where people embezzle, kidnap for rituals & ransom, kill without remorse, rob at gun point, etc.

Whilst we continue in search for a remedy to these national malaise, my heartfelt condolences goes to the family of the deceased.

NWA LINDA-IKEJI said...

chai, all this news is making me scared to go back home. What sort of life is this na?

Quite unfortunate...... aigoo aysssshhhh.......... Nigeria is bad mehn. RIP.

confessor said...

Why do I feel pdp is behind dis since der plan is 2 wipe out d key Pple in acn...
Cos dis luks planned 2 me
RIP Dr

Linda na d IG die? Haba,watin him pix D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ do here? Abi na him release the press statement frm ACN? Do ur dam home work well.

May his soul RIP.buh sorry don't feel for politician when they die,all these politician wey boko haram don suppose kill finish,buh they kill inocent citizens,oga jonaa be warned.he who lives by the sword dies by d sword.

oisa said...

I don't tink those where kidnapers,I tink they r assasins.my heart bleeds 4 d family,it was such a shameful death.

@anon12:40,if u step into this land again, may the land burn you α̲̅πϑ reject you. Idiot! You sit somewhere as second class citizen waiting for someone †Φ upgrade your country? Its a lie.....the decay and corruption Ȋ̝̊̅§ from the grassroot...not only the Government...its idiots like you that sell your country...cursing instead of praying...Rip †Φ the Man! South East Ȋ̝̊̅§ hot naturally α̲̅πϑ since Election Ȋ̝̊̅§ drawing near, its gonna be hotter...even South West...this Ȋ̝̊̅§ just the beginning...before 2015...α̲̅πϑ for the person shouting security operative, if you have the Right info (that Ȋ̝̊̅§ if you have...α̲̅πϑ if someone doesn't rat out d plan)then, you'll be talking of arms α̲̅πϑ ammunition †Φ combat them....we know the Police I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ Nigeria Ǎ̜̣̍я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ working though their bad Ȋ̝̊̅§ more than their good but for politicians, this Ȋ̝̊̅§ the monster they created...karma Ȋ̝̊̅§ a bitch.linda (3x), post ♏v̶̲̥̅ comment!

If the penalty for kidnapping was death by firing squad, the menace will stop, but, the creators of this kidnapping trend are the law makers who intend to continue to utilize the same tool to keep themselves in power.

anon 2:!3... may you be kidnapped and killed. foolish imbecile. i can tell you that this man was very good and never gave/collected bribes, he was very humble. who the fucck are you to judge. bloody idiot. damn fool... don't say shit you don't know. there are actually politicians that care about the country.

I dont think i want to return home anymore. am safe here.. just that i have families in naija. very sad...

The courier ho took the ransom was also killed. It was obviously a planned vendetta and not just a kidnap. Those murderers wanted to inflict deep pain on the Nwike family.

Ok, now that they have killed 2 people, they also should not die, abi?

One day will be one day.

May God comfort the bereaved families in Jesus name. Amen

Annon 4•39 u hve being brain washed,am sure ur father is one of the people spoiling this country ba?if he iz among he shall face the wrath.all d politicain giving this country a bad name shall dance to to d tune of dier wickedness,kip killing urselves.uselss politicians.itz u and ur family that shall be kidnapped and killed if u don't desist from ur bad ways.karma is a bitch.

Igbo brothers, why are we destroying the very land we call our own? ...the blessed land of the East! It's now kidnapping, rituals, burglary etc.
Hmmm, umu igbo, marakwanu na onye mebiri ala nna ya agaghi enwekwa ebe ozo? Anyi na-akpazi agwa umu anumanu!

GlamNotchApparels said...

This is just so unfortunate. I dnt know how people have the mind to kill their fellow human being and go abt their daily lives like nothing ever happened. I hope some how or some day justice is served in regards to this man's untimely death. I really wish the government would sit up and work on restoring sanity, security and fight towards the eradication of corruption in Nigeria because sincerely, it has gotten out of hand.

ONU-RAZOR said...

The lesson for every Nigerian is simple...it's time for soul-searching.Every person should evaluate themselves concerning the small evils they commit: cheating in exams, age falsification, stealing public money, thuggery, indian hemp/cocaine/heroine etc trafficking and consumption, gun running, and so on and so forth. No evil is small and evil is a web; it's all linked together. Believe it or not whatever small evil each one of us commits helps in strenghtening other evils, big and small alike. Hence if we must come out of this mess we must individually and collectively stop committing all manner of evil, not just kidnapping and murder. Nigerians are we ready to forfeit our own little evils???????????

May his soul rest wit the Lord

He is my uncle, the family is still in shock. And we buried his younger sister just last yr. So sad.

Common Linda!!! D pic u hv on this news is of d Inspector General of Police. U could get people confused u know? Don't u hv d actual pic of d deceased?

Mumu peter Obi is not with pdp. Stop yarning dust.

Such a pity, a lawless and chaotic country we are in, and Nigerian politics is so barbaric, I suppose he ought to hv security details.Anambra politics is more deadlier in all d Eastern States, their quest & taste for money can make them kill, an average Anambrarian can kill (even his mother) for money, they cause people to generalize that all ibos like money. TRUETH HURTS

Look for descent pic, you are portraying yourself as cheap whore in d name of fashion, gosh! Where has our morals gone to.

Ummmm anon 6:01 my dad is an engineer. Now pls tell me how stupid you feel. Kmft. Because I stand up for right and wrong, I'm now a politicians child? Ignorant piece of garbage. Take your life

Word!

We were in school together. A gentleman of the highest order. May his soul rest in perfect peace and may the Almighty grant his family the fortitude to bear this colossal loss.

bola ige,yakowa,williams,et.c are there lives more valuable than the innocent massacred in borno,kano,jos,yobe,zaria,bayelsa....?and u ppl are here praying 4 dsame guys dat dont care if u exist...he who kills by the sword....christ come quickly.

Amado said...

This is cool!