Flood returns to Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 9 April 2013

Flood returns to Lagos

The heat in Lagos in the last couple of months has been insane....so insane that you'd pray for rain. But then the rain comes, and there's flood. Awolowo Way, Ikeja was flooded this morning after a down pour (pictured above). Cars were submerged to window level, leaving a number of cars stuck. I think I prefer the hot sun!

94 comments:

na wa o God dey...

Linda you think you prefer the hot sun ha are you mad

Na wa for this rain o...na katrina dey come so.

Hot sun ke no oo rain is beta but nt a disturbing one sha 1st †☺ comment post am oh. YK

d weather is so extreme this days.heavy rain. heavy sunshine.these are all effects of climate change

Huh a beg *send down the rain* me and my baby mama,drilling it hard...more rainnnnnnnnnn jareh,am on leave.

Nawao and to think we're praying for rain here.
Abuja sun can boil rice.

@jstkelvhin said...

I want to thank God for this dream fullfilling and awesome moment in my life.. It has been long due, and I am grateful that God has kept me and you alive to see this day. I want to give a special S/O to -- RICHARD -- (I think dats he's name) my fellow "1st to comment brother" it is my turn today and I wish you are happy for me.. I will celebrate this moment, and also use dis medium to say this.. "May d lord almighty that did it for me, also do it to each and every one of you as long as u never give up... IN JESUS NAME!!!!

olori omotty said...

I prefer it wen it rains

yes oh the flood is back...the roads are terribly bad

ENJOY 20 FREE SMS DAILY TO ANY NIGERIA NETWORK

My Lasgidi people, una kpele o! Too much rain is by far the only thing that makes Lagos an off point for most people. Need I mention the overly busy schedule.

@jaylicioussss said...

Chaii lagos na wa... Somewhere in ajegunle as d rain is pouring, small small pikin dem wil wear only pant and be swimming... God dey my children. God dey

That's lagos for us.....

What a country we have. O God come to our aid

It rained in awka lastnyt too!but as am typing this now,d temp is back to 100degree

lmao oh i tot d heat was insane!!!nw u have rain enjoi it while it lasts.

Linda, how u no go prefer the HOT sun when u dey under AC 24/7. Me too I no lyk the flood but I no want the sun either

I think it's high time Lagosians cultivate the habit of making their drainage free and clean at all times. Gov Fashola has done a lot to solve flood problems in Lagos, its left for us the masses to help ourselves.

eyyah wat a pity

Same here! I prefer the sun anyday, atleast you can go out! First to comment! Yaaaaaayyyyyy! Lol, can't believe I just did that!

Linda you need to see my area at Badore, Ajah! God help us

Av always preferred d hot sun,least I v options but wit d rain NONE!!! Its either u can't go out,b struck in flood traffic,evrywher is messy.....soon

and all this happend just 2day. Hmm we need solution Asap!

Wonderful! B careful what u wish for...

nawa oo God save us from flood this year amen.

Ada Ejike Onyeama said...

Choi!!! back 2 square wat? God help una 4 Lagos ooo.

Bimbo said...

God have mercy

all d things God created r GUD.weather it is rain or sun d only thing is for govt to construct dere drainage.....it hard to face d problem now sha...

first to comment!!!! yaaaaay!!!!!

We need good drainage system, May God help us.

U r so on point with ur news

When we're still hoping for a drop of rain in sokoto...is ol rite!!!LadyF

God abeg help usoooooooo.infact we no want rain again

Lizzy Krim said...

Holy chiwawa! I think i prefer the hot sun also..... If i need rain, i'll ask my shower for that. Hian!!! Flood ke!!? Sun shine o!!! Thank God theres nothing like this in Abuja....

I hate Lag when it rains, dirty, smelly water everywhere. Thank God I left, Abj is way better...no flood even when it rains heavily both on the good roads and d bad.

obylistic said...

I prefer the rain cos the heat has been unbearable. To bath 5 times a day no b joke.

there shall be showers of blessings

freeangel said...

Linda i prefer both d rain nd d sun. in a couple of days ago d sun was too much that it can even roast someone. Today d weather is just normal i like it dis way

Jeny-alorah said...

Gosh..i had a horrible experience on my way 2 d office this morning. my car tire actually slid into a flooded drainage path, the flood in ikeja was really treatening.
Pls we al prefer the "HOT SUN" ejoor.

rain plsssss

Poor Lagosians

sylvia said...

my dear i still prefer this rain ooo....d heat was insane.

kidodo said...

That is lagos 4 u!

Bimbo said...

It is well.

First to comment hurray!

Lagos should braze up for global warming and climate change. May God help us cos our govt don't care.

Poor drainage system

z0by said...

I bet u won't prefer it if u're not mobile

Linda you have to take time out to feature Owerri, Imo State when it rains. Even during dry season the roads are not motorable not to talk of when it rains. Its worse than an eye-sore.

Na wa ooo lag n all their blocked canals n drainages.bt bia linda hw com u hv't blogg abt jay-z n beyonce comin under attack n investigation 4 spendin their weddin annivesary in cuba abi u neva hear dat one?

No be small tin o, dis morning rain no just pity person at all. #Calabar babe#

The rain is better please one was almost dead

Чε̲λђ rite....last to comment. *tongue out*

SIMPLE BABY said...

Just like the days of Noah only difference is that PDP is in government.

Naijadeltapikin... Sorri lindusss baby I gbadun ds rain badly cos that sun wn kill person ahhh na die b dat sun hell fire God forbid, the rain make sense die.

sir mayor said...

Inspite of •Ï„̣̣̥н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇Ñ”̲̣̥ floods rain is stil a good tin.dnt blame •Ï„̣̣̥н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇Ñ”̲̣̥ rain blame •Ï„̣̣̥н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇Ñ”̲̣̥ bad drainage system ãήϑ •Ï„̣̣̥н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇Ñ”̲̣̥ dwellers dat block •Ï„̣̣̥н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇Ñ”̲̣̥ drainage way wit dirts thereby causin environmental havoc lyk dis kind

Linda bcox u hv airconditnr u don't no wat dos trackin are goin tru!! Let it RAIN jor!!! God pls More RAIN

sir mayor said...

Despite •Ï„̣̣̥н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇Ñ”̲̣̥ floods •Ï„̣̣̥н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇Ñ”̲̣̥ rain is stil a good tin.instead of preferrin •Ï„̣̣̥н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇Ñ”̲̣̥ hot sun we shud Ђά̲̣̣vέ an effective drainage pathway ãήϑ also nt fill our drainages wit dirts knowin •Ï„̣̣̥н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇Ñ”̲̣̥ rains r here S̶̲̥̅Æ ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ as †̥ avoid environmental havoc

Lord pls have ur mercy upon us!!! Flood don start again dis year..........

Lord have mercy

Hot sun keeeeeee.....pls º°˚

Abeg flood,where eva u r comin 4rm pls go bac ooooo.eko o ni baje

Nkassy said...

If God gives rain na problem, if God gives sun na wahala;human beings nawa 4 una. Pls be tankful 4 anyone He gives

GET BETTER SHAPE CLICK HERE said...

fashola is working

Jewel™ said...

Am begging 4 rain 2 fall in PH City nd u guys ar complaining of flood *smh*

Eko oni baje ooo

wealth said...

God forbid bad tin for hot sun o. Make dem dey give public holidays for raining season abeg.after all, wen rain fall business of d day don't move.

Lord have mercy on ur children o

bitchplis said...

My landlady must refund my house rent today...she didn't tell me she rented out swimming pool to me n not a house.

Nilla said...

It was Insane at Alausa!The rain was so heavy and the cloud was so dark that one would think its 8pm!

Anyways thank God for the rain. Sorry to those affected by the flood.

Hmmmmmmm lagos sha......

I will prefer the rain oooO

nigeria were re u going.nawoooo

D Nigerian govt will just never learn.nw nigerians r in for anoda very horrendous experience,for d next 5 or 6 months.may God help us all.

ngwanu! see river nija

iyawo d1 said...

Oh no!!sorry to those affected..

Priscy said...

So, is it that nothing can be done about this flooding issue or what? its the same story here in GH. #sigh!

Lolz.....

pls oo d rain is preferable ooo

Sorry to those affected by the flood.Niger govt shld develop other cities so that more people can leave Lagos.Over-population dey worry the city.....thk God i'm out

@jstkelvhin said...

Abeg I was d first to coment on this joor.. Linda delibrately dint post ma comment... #AngryMuch *looksaway*

Eiyah, you guys in lagos are complaining of the sun while we are seriously praying to God for summer to come,its Apirl and the cold has refused to varnish, normally we should be enjoying sun by now but its still freezing cold. We want the sun in london o pls!

Nneka said...

Lol. @Bitchplis.I can't fit shout.

Nneka said...

Lol. @bitchplis. I can't fit shout

If it's going to be this destructive again abeg make God just give us Showers o

spiky said...

Jobless Mumuric

Stewie said...

Hahahahaha...And thats how December babies came about...We shouldnt bé carried away Just yet...This Is just a preamble!

It is said dat rainfall ds year wil b twice dat of last year so also wit d flood so Linda xpect to c evn worst conditn.

VIP

Eyaa,sorry for all our Lagos folks. Fashola, make una fix the drainage system abeg..this kain swimming get as e be.

Pls check out this Christian blog, www.thebanquethall.blogspot.com
God bless God.

Janie said...

Wot exactly r u thankful for? D flood or d rain? Kedi ihe o na kor biko nu??

I prefer the at all time joor!

Are you mad?