Expect more power cuts, minister tells Nigerians | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 11 April 2013

Expect more power cuts, minister tells Nigerians

The Minister of Power, Prof. Chinedu Nebo, on Wednesday said there would be more power cuts in the days ahead due to ongoing maintenance works on installations across the country.

Nebo, while explaining why there was a sharp drop in power supply at a briefing in Abuja, said the country lost 1,112 megawatts of generated electricity in two days due to the shutdown of the Chevron gas plant.

He said, “A few days ago, precisely last week Friday, Chevron shut down its gas plant for maintenance purposes, which was to take place between Friday and Saturday. And the technical crew in the power sector knew about the shutdown and this was in order to make sure that damages are not done before losing the gas entirely.

“From time to time, there is going to be shutdown and it happened two times recently between Benin and Osogbo. If you don’t shut down these plants in order to have a safe restarting process, you are going to lose the equipment. Once routine maintenance is done, the process of restarting the machines that were shut down takes some time.”

He said two power stations were affected by the recent shutdown, stressing that the oil company and the ministry’s technicians had to maintain the plants.

The minister added, “That is why between two and three days, we lost some 1,112MW. That means Omotoso and Olorunsogo plants were forced to shut down because there was no gas supply. By design, Chevron has to maintain the gas pipelines and it was so.

“You will notice that from Monday, we started seeing some increase that has stabilised. Right now, we have over 3,300MW.”

Nebo gave an assurance that occasional system failures would be addressed.

He said, “With regards to occasional system failures, we are in the process of reviving the huge section of the transmission machinery, especially the lines that are aged, failing, dilapidated and in need of replacement. We are working on that.

“And for that reason, whenever a significant part of the transmission network encounters serious technical problems, you will experience system shutdown. And whenever you have a serious problem, you must shut down in order to make sure that the system is not overloaded at one end and create problems throughout the entire country.”

The PUNCH had exclusively reported on Wednesday that the nation had witnessed a significant drop in power generation from a peak of 4,517MW attained on December 21, 2012 to 3,443MW on Tuesday.

The 1,074MW drop is, however, a slight improvement on the 2,987.6MW peak generation recorded on April 6, 2013, when a whopping 1,529.4MW was lost.

The minister also said that the meeting with labour unions in the power sector over workers’ final entitlements had been cordial and that very soon, private investors would take over the power companies they bid for.

He also said the issue with Manitoba Hydro International over the management contract for the Transmission Company of Nigeria had been resolved, stressing that the transmission infrastructure had received a boost.

“Manitoba has received the schedule of delegated authority and most issues in the sector have been resolved,” Nebo added.

Source: Punch

57 comments:

Smh! What a country! For how many decades would we go before this power issue is put on the right track? Why don't they announce pay cuts too? With such high level of incompetence and corruption exhibited by them in authority they deserve pay cuts too.

Cock nd bull story....lyk say light dey b4

Story story

Dats my v.c,so luv dis man

Mr. Man u dnt need to tell us! We knw!!! Wt the kind of goverment we have. Na only. God go help us. @stcharles on Twitter

Brume Alex said...

Mtchewww Click here to learn 10 ways to protect your data

He should shut the fuck up , other countries have maintainace yet d citizens don't have to worry abt no power why? If u don't know then ur ass shouldn't b fucking minister ..come back with a better excuse .. Fools ....now I have to go with no power for my birthday :( fucking fucks ne way ill soon leave this country for una to chop ooo till u start chopping urselves since na una get am

Yea Nebo, his son just got married to my friend, Nneka....Linda how come u missed that gist.The wedding that was all over Naija TV stations.

Oshisco

Hope the power stabilize o I can't work due to power failure

@jaylicioussss said...

See our vc dat year oo, e be like say e don wowo more... Anyway I know d man is a good man, so lets hope dat with all dis explanations d light wud return and be stable... Cus candle don dey put money oo

Abeg, save us all these grammer, as if we dey see light before.drop in mega watt my foot. At this 21st century, Nigeria is still talking about 3,000 mega watt of Electricity? Shame of a country. Prof. Or whatever he calls himself should be ashame of himself for coming out to tell us this trash.

kosi said...

nonsense! if the govt can't even give a precise date of normal power supply return,then it means one thing: a "political-business-as-usual".
How can a power minister at this age and time tell the country that it ll take "some time" to restart the system, what happened to 24h,48h,4days. what happened to precision. Are there no professionals in the industry?
SMH

see this man nose! chei!!

Lets give the new Minister sometime,I trust him to deliver just like he did in my Alma mater.

Prof Nebo a man of integrity,a man of God,wat he says, he will do...

No wonder I no get light since morning
Check out beyonce's printy anniv styles here www.soladunn.blogspot.com

Awwww.. My ex vc.. Proud of you sir. At least we are getting explanations for the happenings..like we ought to. Shows respect for the masses.

NeNYe.D said...

Rev. Chinedu Nebo cleaned up UNn to a reasonable extent. He shouldn't fail now biko

Sigh, there's hardly light to start with, all these people should keep quiet joor.

Abeg in wat skul was he a v.c?

Gen. Tbabafinest said...

Dis amazing

SPATACULES.. said...

How long Nigeria?

Guy, so u're a lion?

PAVOUR said...

Gist as for as it concerns power. God help us oh darkness upon d surface of Naija.

generations upon generations will pass on before electricity can be stable in this country so dont even think about it.

Fellow nigerians, in line wit this new message u shuld endeavour to take ur generatin sets 4 servicin and budget money 4 fuel signed Goodluck ogogoro drinker jonathan

Really? Been without light for 2 weeks and still counting! What can be worse dan buying fuel everyday for generator when we actually av a coy meant to generate light. Dear Jonathan, please conclude sale of PHCN make person rest from ds palaver!

Bart Nnaji pls cum bak...

Stainless said...

Rubbish mthweee !!!

Stainless said...

Rubbish mthweee !!!

@ Bonario nnags, so u r a super Lion. That's so good 2 know. Wot set were u pls. Mnyl, I hope our former Vc can handle dis power thing. Pls Ħ̀ε̅ shouldn't even fall our hands. Ekwuchagokwam!

My man u d super Lion??...chop knuclz joor...if Nebo culd. Turn rotten UNN. Around,he can do it with power sector,He's a. Good man filled. With. Vissions...n above all a real man of GOD!

Bonario is a lion?

Famzing United. And his daughter got married to my cousin's brother's son

datsharpguy said...

Power supply go drop bt bill no dey drop...- tire 4 naija oo

The Ato Nigeria Limited said...

As if we dey see lite b4.... Abeg all na story*RME*

All of us follow u tire. The bill na waya.

May thunder fire ur generations for saying rubbish against a Man of God, he just explained issues,take ur grieviances to Obasanjo and co that squandered trillions of money meant for power, pls Linder don't make fools to insult MOG, this aint roadside GO

UNN

Yeah yeah! That's my formal VC talking, he's a good man

Abeg park well make I pass, Na now we begin hear explanation? Explanation my foot.

E dey before?? A whole country using 4500 mw.smh

Na wa for 9ja ooo.For the past 13days no light in Festac.and d funniest is that NEPA kills on bringing outrageous BILL.But when Prof.Osuji was there,we had constant supply.Why now the sudden power outage?I see the reason why a good man can never stay long in 9ja.

See naija oooh! Country where shits happen 24/7... How will a man be a V.C and a Power Minister together not to talk of managing a church being a "Man of God" oooh like ppl claim he is.... And even Family issues sef... How many things u wan manage or do maintenance for altogether. Instead of giving chance to young men na una old ppl go de do 10jobs together wen pension de wait for una... BS!! Retarded Leaders..!!!

Jeez! Did you say 'formal Vc'? Are you sure you graduated from UNN??? Well done prof!

Rev Nebo as minister is d only good tin out of dis Jonathan administration .prof is a true man of GOD wit integrity.

Former VC! Punk ass like u, be careful, this is a man of God and not fake pastor somewhere

Prove prove your worth mr prof u think power ministry na book.

Thank u jare

One thing i hate about dis country anytime of the day is failure of power supply,Nigeria is over 60yrs and still cant fix a stable power supply,wot a shame

frizzie said...

OH MY GOODNESS! THIS GUYS NOSE IS HUMONGOUS!!!

the people had no light whilst there was no power cut. Now there cometh power cut and the people think it will result in light. May God deliver His creation from ignorance. Amen.

LoL, just a big bunch of assholes

We hv huge gas deposit,it has't even been tapped. Also why can't we generate electricity from trashes,rather than liter the country wt it.Why are we not making progress.

Thankfulness to my father who told me regarding this web site, this webpage is genuinely amazing.

My web page; best diet plan