Fashion, Health and Beauty | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 28 August 2009

Fashion, Health and Beauty

Like I wrote a couple of days ago, I want to bring new stuff to this blog. If you all have noticed I don’t do much of fashion, mostly because I’m not particularly an expert in that field. I would answer any modeling question in my sleep, but fashion is another matter. I mean, I can tell you if you look good or not in a dress, but I’ll probably not be able to tell you why. I can’t go into the nitty gritty of fashion.

But because I’m working on a project that will require a lot of dressing up, I’ve been reading a lot on fashion and style... in fashion mags and online fashion blogs.

Today I want to talk about shorts. I love shorts, but I don’t wear them, mostly ‘cos there’s nowhere to wear them to. But I love seeing people in shorts. I went online to find out the best ways to wear shorts and here's what I found. If you love shorts...this is for you...check it out!

The best ways to wear shorts
Most commonly asked questions: Can you wear heels with shorts? What about boots? How long should your top be? How do you avoid looking like trailer trash?
You have your answers...

They say don't wear shorts this short... I say why not? I kinda like it...lol

Check out how some celebs wear their shorts...
They say, Kate Moss, second right, wore it best. I agree!
*Pic 1: If you really want to wear heels, it's best to wait until night. Pick a shoe that’s simple, yet relatively substantial.
*Pic 2: Wearing shorts during the day, it’s best to pair them with flats.
*Pic 3: Boots and shorts are usually a bad idea, especially if those boots are black. If you must wear boots, chose a one in a tone that's similar to your skin color, so it blends with your leg.
*Pic 4: She picked a classic, black, tailored, dress short. Again, the proportions she’s wearing would be flattering on most people, as the length of her white, tucked-in t-shirt with a longer sweater. She’s also got on a fantastic pair of platform wedges that are high without being hookerish!

Now check out different ways you can wear shorts

1. Go bright. If you're daring enough try a pair of hot pants in a bright colour to add a vibrant and young twist to your outfit.
2. Tough tomboy. There are many ways you can wear a pair of short and keep your street smart tomboy look. Go for shorts in dark and neutral colours with a "unisex cut".
3. Light and simple - a white vest and pair of shorts can look so amazing and sexy with a off-white shirt in a silky fabric.
4. Add a little sparkle... Who said shorts can't be worn to a party or formal dinner? Add a delicate shirt with a hint of sequins, or wear a dressy top and shorts made of silk for a very sophisticated and dressed up look. A pair of shorts and a top in the same colour will also look great with a dressy coat, or jacket. Wearing shorts to a formal event will make you look relaxed and trendy.

The Obamas in shorts...

Malia and Michelle Obama

Malia Obama
That's it on fashion. Hope you learnt something. If you have more tips on the best ways to wear short, please share...

Now to Health.
This I found in an online health website...

What is anaemia?
You get anaemia when you don't have enough red blood cells. This makes it difficult for your blood to carry oxygen, causing unusual tiredness and other symptoms.
The number of red blood cells can drop if there is:
a reduction in the number of red blood cells produced
an increase in the loss of red blood cells.
What can be done to avoid anaemia?
*Eat a varied, well-balanced diet that contains foods from all the food groups (protein, carbohydrate, fat, fruit, vegetables).
*Good sources of iron include liver, beef, wholemeal bread, cereals, eggs and dried fruit.
*If you often get heavy periods, it's a good idea to seek medical advice because you may be at risk of anaemia.
*If you are pregnant or planning to become pregnant, talk to your doctor about iron supplements.

See your GP immediately if you notice blood in your stools or urine.
Based on a text by Dr Flemming Anderson.
Be health conscious!

Now to beauty...check out pictures from the recently staged MISS UNIVERSE PAGEANT, which held in Nassau, Bahamas...

Miss Australia, Rachael Finch

Stefania Fernandez of Venezuela with Flo Rida

Chloe Mortaud of France

Miss USA, Kristen Dalton

Miss Belgium, Zeynep Sever.

Miss Universe 2008 Venezuelan Dayana Mendoza hands her crown back during the coronation night of the Miss Universe 2009 contest.

Miss Universe 2009, Stefania Fernandez from Venezuela

Naija entertainment news next...

3 comments:

doll (retired blogger) said...

nice one on the shorts

Emilia said...

me loving michelle in shorts she looks fabulous but i think we all really need to think twice before wearing shorts It can look trashy if one is not careful..... The beauty peagants all look beautiful but they are all so alike seeems like they all went to the same doctor You know what i mean

God.. I just wanna eat miss Dominican republic.