R Kelly denies duet with Tuface Idibia | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 24 July 2009

R Kelly denies duet with Tuface Idibia

A few months ago I was at the galleria with a friend when three people approached me. One asked ‘Are you Linda Ikeji?’ I replied in the affirmative. Then she said, I love your blog, it’s really nice. One of the people with her asked what my blog was all about and she replied ‘If you want to know the latest gossip in town, go to her blog’. For some reason I didn’t particularly like that description. I know I’m a gossip but to be reminded of it is such a turn off...lol. So I decided to lessen my amebo, (I’m sure you guys have noticed a reduction in hot gossip and controversies on this blog). But then again, it’s probably too late to redeem my image, so let’s gossip away...lol

But you know what they say about gossip, don’t believe everything you read. And my apologies to 2face if this story isn't true...

Check it out...

RKelly denies duet with Tuface Idibia – Afolabi Adekoya (City People)

Since he release d his latest album, UNSTOPPABLE, popular singer, 2face idibia has found himself faced with one controversy or the other. The latest centers around the duet he claimed to have done with American RnB star, R. Kelly. The song in question is titled ‘FLEX’. According to him, in a recent interview, the deal was brokered by Toyin Subair, boss of HiTV cable network and he (2face), actually met R. Kelly in the US before recording the song. One of the reasons people seemed to be debating the authenticity of his claim of a collabo with R.Kelly is because the beat of the said song has been used by R.Kelly before in one of his songs.

While the entire nation seemed to have forgotten the issue, the whole collabo brouhaha came up again when R.Kelly visited Nigeria a few weeks ago. Expectedly, many people were expecting to see Tuface perform with R. Kelly but that didn’t happen. Rumours started flying that Tuface may have lied to Nigerians about having done a duet with R.Kelly.

Surprisingly, 2face, who’d featured in past music festival organized by ThisDay didn’t make the list of the performing artists billed for R.Kelly’s show. An insider disclosed that when R.Kelly was asked if he knows Tuface, he denied him, saying he had never heard the name before. He was said to have listened to the song they were meant to have done together and he laughed over it, insisting that he made the beat a long time ago, and that it must have been tapped on the internet.

This City People learnt got the organizers upset and it is for this reason, sources revealed that 2face may have been dropped from the show.

Last week Thursday, City People put a call across to 2face to comment on the allegation but his line was not available, so they called up his manager, Efe Omoreige who spoke exclusively on the issue “Well, I have not heard anything from the organizers of the show that R.Kelly disclaimed Tuface, so I might not be able to respond to it. About the allegations that Tuface didn’t record with R.Kelly, I will explain to you. Yes the duet was real. Tuface recorded with R.Kelly but not in the same studio. The met but couldn’t achieve being in the studio at the same time because of their tight schedule. R.Kelly did his own part and sent it to Tuface and that is all about it. Tuface didn’t perform at the show because he was already engaged elsewhere. We were contacted for the show, but we were already booked to be in Benin. You don’t expect Tuface to neglect a show he has been paid for to convince people that he knows R.Kelly”

Hmmmm, interesting!

Let me tell you what I think. If these guys actually spoke with R. Kelly and he said the things they claim he said, then I don't think R Kelly would lie about not knowing Tuface. He has no reason to. But I also do not think that Tuface Idibia would stoop so low to do what he's being accused of. He's far bigger than that. So there must be something else going on here that we don't know about. There's definitely another hook to this story.

What do you guys think? And please no insults...

19 comments:

NaijaScorpio said...

Oh please! Why would anyone lie just to be associated with R. Kelly? If it was Jay-Z I might understand. The song was stupid anyway.

Admin said...

anybody that said the song is crazy must be tested medically,lets start to appreciate our own artiste too,tuface is more than forging songs with R.kelly,i have wrote so many articles on that before,there is a mixed up somewhere,I am a true born naija,Naija till i die

stupid is an understatement.the guy should get himself a better publicist and find a yarn to string.there is definitely something nt being said

das Album war ja eher scheiße.........und interessiert niemanden!

chayomao said...

i didnt enjoy the song!
Plus R. Kelly is known to feel like a DIVA and have all those "Devil wears Gucci "issues...
Tuface has his name on board, i don't think he wld stoop that low!
The truth will be heard, soon!

Yankeenaijababe said...

lol ha ha I hate when people classify one's blog like that. Just keep doing your thing, I really enjoy your blog.

the song was done by a producer mention at the start of the song. 2face might have been trick to it but am not sure it looks like he knows about it too, and decided to keep it a secret. the song was good infact I listern to it almost everyday also with the original version with shaggy.
flex

you can say wat u wanna say...they can do wat they wanna do........haba,pple shld let tuface be.he would'nt ve produced dat music witout expecting comments like dis.so ,i'll suggest tuface shld come out and say sumtin.or make a video.we should be proud of him.that song is hot.i listen to it evryday.it makes me wanna...........lol

ashanti said...

i love tuface nomatter how muchya try to bring him down.dat guy is an icon....just watch and see.afterall,MJ suffered more humiliation than this.....love me microsoftly cos i wanna be sure that you caome back for more.......

This is not new news, did any one really believe that Tuface did a duet or collabo with R Kelly......Tuface can't even afford the R talkless of Kelly to grant him the time for a duet. First of all you could tell by the song production that it was a fake and a voice over........

Funsho Arogundade said...

M-e-e-e-n, some guys are simply funny. I know the dude who wrote that stuff for City People and he's credible, but something is wrong with that story. The organizers of the concert can't really drop 2face because of R.kelly. Moreso, when has it become a pre-condition that when a foreign artiste couldn't recognise our local artiste, then, that artiste is off that show? Common,2face is an international artiste and R.kelly ain't stupid not to known one of the leading artistes in his motherland. pls, let leave story and give me second base jare!

wys said...

weda u like it or not, tuface is the hottest african artist.
set him free...
when u dey learn how to fly,he's been to the moon....

melow said...

Tubaba is no 1 in Africa.but come to think of it,which other artiste can represent Nigeria all over the world....Tuface,ride on..u re d best.

on no! what is that,beefin again please you guys should forget it.2face is still no 1 in africa.

I think you guys are missing the point or deliberately blinded by your awe of tuface. The guy lied and deceived his fans period! If he his that big why did he have to lie about a duet with R kelly.

This is just utter rubbish! Pschew!

Thats why Africans can never be taking seriously, BTW he does not need a R kelly to fuel his career he has already achieved so much on his own.

FRAUD! FRAUD!

chykere said...

Taking off my "I am a Nigerian therefore I am deluded" hat. Lets get straight to the point. We have the words of a major global player against that of a minor global player, it is therefore obvious where the truth lies. Being two faced could provide more answers.

saiteptelve, clomid online Odoxoutsoup, [url=http://www.webjam.com/clomidonline]buy clomid[/url] RoociompuhHop

Joseph N. Time said...

And who said jay z is bigger than R. Kelly?
You must have a serious brain turmoil to think so.
R. Kelly is the greatest musician that ever lived; even Michael Jackson knew that. And that was why R. Kelly did write songs for him.