My dress: flashy or trashy? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 16 June 2008

My dress: flashy or trashy?

Hi people, what's going on? I want to report my parents to you guys o...lol
See, I'm 27 years old, a graduate, almost 10years modeling experience, I run a company, I publish a magazine, I employ people, I pay salaries! Some people call me madam sef...lol
I'm a big girl right? RIGHT!
But then, I have to sneak out of my house to wear a dress to an event.

I was invited to Mode Men Black Night2 show that held on Saturday 14th June at Lagoon Restaurant. So I went and bought me a dress I felt was classy and sexy. My sisters loved it, but when my parents saw the dress..hmmm...my friends, it was not funny o. They complained the whole day. My mum said 'You're a decent girl, but anybody who sees you now in this dress will think you're one of those girls...it's too tight, it's too short...".
Whatever mum...lol. I kept saying, I'm a grown ass woman, I can wear whatever I like...not in my house my mum replied. I was practically 'forbidden' to wear the dress... so I had to sneak it out of the house and dressed up at my sister's place (where this pictures were taken)
I guess you never 'grow up' to your parents.
So people, this is the dress in contention
Flashy or trashy?

See dem boobs...when I'm ready to pack dem things, I pack them well...
lol...
See y'all later with Naija ent. news
Kate&Stella, thanks for making the Modemen show a memorable one
Will bring you gist and pictures from the show later
Kisses

66 comments:

Hair Azara said...

I really don't see anything wrong with it, it's not like ur showing breast or thighs!! It's lovely I love it, and luckily for u, u have a nice figure so it makes the dress tasteful!!

love it

Nice dress, definately flashy but are these not the same shoes you were wearing in your profile picture?

I like the dress, it is very appropriate for someone your size. So I say FLASHY))) As for the boobs, Linda honey you don't have any to pack.

naija parents never change. the dress is bonz abeg no mind them. its classy. as i was reading, i was expecting to see some lil kim type dress but it turned out to be something very decent. meanwhile where u buy the dress. i no go mind 1 for myself sha.

hot dress!!!

oh linda the dress is so lovely and the fitting is par par...you know what .. my parents especially my mum would say the same and thats because they are old school....You did well by going out to wear it there by showing some respect . I love it

wendu

fendiomoh said...

honey, it aint trashy! u look fly! but if i were in ur mum's shoes, i wouldnt let u wear that out.......... we re alays kids in our parents eyes, 0ne luv!!!!!!!!!!!

fendiomoh said...

honey, it aint trashy! u look fly! but if i were in ur mum's shoes, i wouldnt let u wear that out.......... we re alays kids in our parents eyes, 0ne luv!!!!!!!!!!!

Hmmmmmm.

linda,i think i'm with ur parents on this one, you r beautiful yes but d dress, with all them thighs and, geezzz, sure u would have been still sexy with some more material on your skin or what do u think...

forgive me sha...i've lived in bauchi for 1 year and a half now, so i guess i'm used to seeing people all covered up..cant wait to get back to lag....

LoLu said...

Lovely dress! goes well with your figure.
But never cry 'wolf' if you still living with your parents O...lol..no matter what, you'l never be grown up to them (like my Dad tells me all the time)...lol...na serious controversy!

hmmm, linda, linda, here u come again o. niece dress thou, but short 4 me & i understand where your mum is coming from, no matter wot, she'll b your mum forever even when u become a grandma. How wld u feel if your child disobeyed u? I guess u'll b gutted abi? Dont worry when u become one, may u will understand. Its becos your mum loves u that she totally disagreed with u wearing that dress. U know wot baby girl u don't hv to flash your flesh b4 u look sexy & good, you are a natural beauty, don't try & live by d standard of the world. We are Africans with decent culture, ciao

Linda that is what mum's do and sadly you will find what they do best too.

she meant no harm just looking out for her girl. she is your mum. she may not be right on this one but know she has your best interest in heart. she is of a diferent generation too. if i took you to my mum like that the first word out of her mouth is where did you get this one again?
we love and appreciate our mum's because they always get our back covered. enjoy her why you have her. mine went back home 2yrs ago and the pain is still raw but God has been very good to heal too. never a day pass i dont wish she was still here because she took a second look at whatever i did and always praised every little effort i made. enjoy her i say my dear sister. she means you well becos unlike you we live in a world people still judge others by the cloth they wear. God bless. we are all looking out for you. there is a seed of greatness that makes you different. dont be like the rest. dont do things becos others are all doing it.

Pack wat boobs? They r barely dere (lol). Neways, d dress is simply fab, I guess we r alwyz kids 2 our parents.

QMoney said...

haba,d dress was not bad now.it was far from thrashy.it even looked like a very simple dress to me!
the long and short they are tellin u is to go and marry,if ur hubby thinks its okay to wear stuff like dat,it will be in his house!!

Linda, i mara nma oh :)))

Linda, o ur parents were dumn right o. Who told uou you have to show off your thighs? its is undfortunate that for most of the gals of your age and generation lyou think to be fashionable and sexy you have to let people have a glimpse of your private parts. Thighs are private parts. They can arouse a man who can end up wildly imagining a lot of trash. Decency does not come with short thigh exposing attire like that one. Challenge me you can put that on to church... unless you are damn crazy and the church is lost in immorality... I pat your mum for her responsibility. the mere fact that you can make ylour own money and employ and publish does not make you a grown up up util you grow up in the way you carry yopur self otherwise you are still a damn toddler....

lol...ur mom's quote sounds exactly like wot my mom would say!....I constantly have to sneak my dresses out too or just throw a long trench coat over it till i get outside...*sigh*

The dress is nice!

Nma

linda the dress is not trashy at all but parents have a way of looking at these things. i don't think it flatters your figure though and the color kinda clashes with your skin tone... you have a great figure though.. boobs or no boobs. i'm not sure about the availability of reasonably priced nice dresses in nigeria but maybe you can order one from the states in advance?

Linda,i just want to know if ur parents read ur blog?esp ur mom

d outfit fine jare.. u looked nice

linda, you have got a good figure, and you sound to decent to wear the dress for its shortness.

If you liked the dress and felt comfy in it, well we have no comments.

take kia

@qmoney....lol. I cudn't agree more. Linda, ur parents are doing wot all parents do best...critic and compliment. I wud have done the same thing u did,leave the house and wear my dress. Dat's a sign of respect. I like the dress. It looks good on you and definitely flashy. You rocked the dress. At least you know to buy what suits your body type.

On another note, those sandals look familiar tho? Ol' girl, get yourself another pair. Re rocking the same sandals on your blogpage is a no-no.

Let us be careful o! Lets try and decode this thing wey your mama and papa dey talk. This message must not be lost in the whole trashy-flashy business. If i was you, I would sit down with mama this evening and say "what message are you trying to send", is it that you mean, I am growing older and this kind clothes will not make a nija man want to marry, or is it that you are asking " enough with all this, where is your husband and your buba and wrapper. I don advice you o! ask mama the real message she dey send.

Baba

NigeriaPolitricks.com said...

You can be all of that & even more, but as long as you're still staying in your mama's house, I guess your parents have a right to say whatEver they want.
nice dress tho'. not a handful, but a small, cute package!:)

Linda,
Lovely dress. Sexy, attractive, eye-popping, mouth-watering, flashy and bold.
But your mum is still right...me thinks. I won't allow you to wear it and step out of my house if you were my daughter.
When you move out of your parent's house, then maybe you can try it out. But you may still want to avoid meeting them anywhere while still in it.
Sorry...just being plain honest though. I always thought we put on clothes to clad and remove them to expose.

you look lovely girl. i can see you're enjoying without me. i'm soooo jealous...*sulking and pouting*

u r bring sexy back!!!

ShonaVixen said...

fabulosity is oozing girl from that dress, but u know parents, we never grow up in their eyes..i live the house sometimes with the coat on, so that my mum wont make me change my dress..lol..the dress is fab and classy!!

The outfit is rather juvenile and a bit tawdry looking...I can see what your mother sees in the outfit...it is not realy becoming...and it is also rather too short..more like what a teenager might wear..

SANTIAGO ROBERTS said...

hey president.
trust me, that dress was f**cking sexy, if i ever marry u(ok, thats a tall dream and a big one at that,) u surely will be convicted of wearing that dress all the rest of ur life, men, thats one dress that brings the YOU in YOU.

ITS COOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOLLLLLLL

santiago(SANTIAGOPAD.BLOGSPOT.COM)

From all the comments, I am sure you have a verdict on the dress but I see a RING on your ring finger. Are you engaged?? Jist oya!!!Start spilling girl....

Andy

kike said...

Linda you will not stop to amaze me,if you know the stress I went through to get your latest blog.I spent close to 2 hrs.D dress is not that bad, I think your mum wants you to be a bit conservative.Hope she wont feel bad if she eventually see your pix.Love evrytng about you.u a down to earth. Take care

trashy

to be extremely blunt and honest with you,that dress is trashy.Its too short and plain and its not for your age.dress the way you want to be addressed and thats not to say dress floppy,but i am sure there are many elegant dresses that you could have worn.
and by the way,what boobs???

Linda......u're such a baby..
ok u wanted us to see ur dress...and we've seen it..
nice actually..suits u..
for me tho, when i'm showing legs, then its just legs...when its shoulders/arms/cleavage, then its just dat...never d two at the same tyme.

The dress is okay depending on who's opinion u get. I just got a dress for an event that my mum would probably freak out on, but my mother-in-law actually picked it out.......so it all depends...

@ sasha
rerocking d same shoes on ur blog is a no-no.
lol. Linda dont follow such advice oh. cut ur coat according to ur material and not even ur size cos it might be too big.
if that shoe is d only pair u have rock,rock and rock it again.
soon they will start telling u 2 do stupid things to buy another pair.
b proud of wat u have and yes u looked fab U lous.

a woman of your caliber (or rather a woman as you describe yourself) could have done better.

certainly not impressed.

sorry.

You are a case sha.lol! onestly it's a pretty decent dress. I suggest you keep sneeking out with your dresses rather than disrespect your mum by walking out of her house wearing it. Ok that sounds a little retard but with can a sister say. Mum's opinion will always differ so you have to improvise right? Lol!

Asides that, I hope you are doing great.

Sincerely that dress ain't bad! Really one is neva old enuf wi'em parents.
Hmmmm... my dad prob'ly won't complain seein' me in som'in lyk dt, bt MY MOM fogerrit! U sure won't attend that event!
& did u mention boobs?! I DIN' C 'EM GAL (lol..)
Bottom line is: DRESS WAS APPROPRIATE FOR THE OCCASSION AND THAT MAKES IT FLASHY!

Natures Gentle Touch said...

Hey Linda you look nice in the dress.

You must have had great compliments

at the event.

linda, the actual truth is the dress looks really trashy!!
we all wear short and clingy and classy looking dresses, not a dress lookin like an undergarment.
i know uve got better taste, ur mum was right on this one, u should have listened.

Red-in-The-Face said...

i dont know about flashy or trashy...but i must say that if i saw u in that one, i may not think so flatteringly of your moral ideals( not like it matters...just for the record)

in my opinion, our female socialites do not have to mount the bandwagon of 'skimpy garb' to stay relevant.

the old skuuls definitely won on this score...cover the skin a bit more, okay baby?

...Cheers

Dear Linda,
You’ve a nice figure. The dress suits you well but I agree with your parents.
May I suggest that next time you are indecisive about what to wear or how you look, please, seek advice from naija fashion freak.
Love ur blog though.
Keep the flag flying.
Cheers.
from Australia NSW

Na wao with people and their unnecessary advice.I wonder what some of you on here wear. Anyway, you look gorgeous. I do not see anything wrong with it. You were not flashing your boobs and your butt cheeks. So what the hell are these people talking about? It is just a dress that flaunts your figure. You do not have excess boobs, thighs, and butt so it looks perfect on you. I believe women should do that once in a while but in a tasty way as long as it goes with your body type. This is definetly your freakum dress. Lol.

And you are a 27 year old woman. You are allowed to make your decisions abeg. You are very safe in this dress. I guess people have not seen this type of dress. It is too DIFFERENT for them.
Linda, do your thing, Jare

hi linda i really like you and i read all your posts. u r down to earth and dats what i like bout u. dat dress isnt trashy but not so flashy either.u cld have done better.its too tight.something short u know, less clingy,and maybe with the empire cut wud have done better. u have a nice figure though, but d dress just doesnt work 4 me.

Yeah Linda is engaged to D'Banj! I read it on a blog online. True or not?

D dress is nice n simple and D sorbet color is fab... U also on point for not over-accesorisin dat wud av jes murdered d whole outfit!!

On another note though and this aint hating,for a model with a decade experience in d industry none of ur poses ooze any sign of bn a model, ur poses lack a certain POW!!

Na wah ooo, not bad @ all.

Ms.O said...

Ahhhh..I feel you oo!!!! the same thing happened to em like last week. My mum said I wont go to church with her with what I wore. And it was very conservative if you ask me. Like my dad even said it was fine. Anywayz. these days al I do is cover up am tired of the wahala. Your dress is sexy gurl. and it looks very good an appropriate for the show.

looking like a nigeria's version of vivica a. fox

Flashy flashy flashy.On some people it would definitely look trashy but you have the body type to pull it off very nicely.

U have fine legs, linda. and are u engaged to D'banj, sweetie.

beebee said...

Ride on jare as long as ur bf does not complain. As you grow older,you would not show the same at same time. you either show the legs or the shoulder.all the same,you look good. I like ur style

Linda Ikeji said...

Am I engaged to Dbanj? lol, never spoken to him...u mischievous people u...lol
@thanks to everyone who said something nice...

Is that the same shoe I'm wearing? Hell yeah babe...I shudn't rerock my shoes? Nah! Besides I dont have that many shoes...maybe like 6? im not particularly a shoe freak...

will reply others later

Tyra!!! said...

Flashy girl. U looked hot thqat night. It's not ur fault that u are blessed with a fantastic shape.

That dress is beautiful and it made u look gorgeous. If u've got it flaunt it baby!!!

I think it's a nice dress, but I don't feel that the dress is classy enough to wear to host an event like the mode event... its not the length its more the style.

Bella Naija said...

I really love the dress actually!
You look fab...
where did u purchase?

Linda Ikeji said...

Somebody asked if thats an engagement im wearing...no o. Think i'll get engaged and keep mum? lai lai..lol
@bella, I bought it at Rukkies boutique in Surulere...how are u babe?

y are pplaz chattin shit dis is a peng dress and ur mum isw just like my mum abeg o d dress is classy it reli nice if u gt nit flaunt it men and dnt mind pplz if i buy a shoe yeah i wear my money out of it oes talking deo dey know fashion or ow many of dem has datb type of shoe in deir closet en d dress is nice dnt mind naija and deir mentality jare

ShowbizBits with AzuhAmatus said...

Linda u r very down 2 earth n i like wot u r doin

Damn, indeed great post. How can I get your RSS?

Brandy Swingfield
electronic bug detection

Yes, correctly.

very good!

very good!