Call for models + Naija Entertainment News | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 27 May 2008

Call for models + Naija Entertainment News

Ok, I’m back…to regular blogging. The worst of it is over…Thank God! I was working on so many things at the same time, that I just had take a little break from blogging. I told y'all I'm working on a show? Getting sponsors is WAR in this country, but we thank God. We were able to convince a few companies to drop small change..lol, will tell y'all about the show later. I am also very happy to say that so far we've gotten 7 ads for our mag's next edition, we're expecting more. God is good! Will talk more on this later.

If you are writing a piece for us in the mag...pls could send your article to my email? With pictures, if needed. Pls pls pls...we're about to start our page design. Thanks to everyone who's helping out, it's well appreciated

In the meantime, hope everyone is doing OK? I bet y’all are. I missed you guys well well. Most of you sha...I'm sure a few of you miss me...or at least miss my blogging.

Haaa, life is good right now mehn...I can't even begin to count my blessings. Hope you thank God for every blessing you receive...you should!

Anyway, to a sad news; by now y’all must have heard of the sad passing of veteran singer, Sunny Okosun.

He died on Sunday 25th at a US hospital after battling an illness for many years. He was 61.

He was such a great man. May he live in our hearts forever.

And may his soul rest in peace…Amen!

Call for models
I’m sure y’all know I run a modeling Agency. Photo modeling in Nigeria usually starts booming from June. That’s when many companies start getting ready for the following year's campaign.

Some of my clients have started rejecting my models; they’ve used them over and over again, now they are looking for fresh, new faces. If I want to stay in business, I need new models. So if there’s anyone out there who’s interested in modeling, or knows someone who has the potential and interest to model, pls contact us ASAP.

We have a photo session this weekend, if they can make it…fine, if not, we’ll schedule a session for them. No height, colour, age, or sex preference. Just be good looking. That’s enough for us.
If interested call Sandra on 07025357560…she’s expecting your call.

AND pls you're not allowed to make any comment on what my models have on, that picture was taken last year during our 'wrapper' craze. I don't want to hear another word on that, I've heard enough...if you make any snide remark, I won't bring you Naija Ent. News...try me!

LOL, just kidding!

Naija Entertainment News...

Dimeji Alara opens up on stroke at 25
Remember, I told y'all sometime ago that ex-Genevieve reporter, Dimeji Alara suffered stroke? Well, he recently opened up to Stella Dimoko Korkus about what happened to him...
Excerpt

We heard about the stroke you had, can you tell us about it?
Dimeji
"I was quite shocked when it happened and I never meant for it to come out. I don't know how it did. It was the mini one, and it's also known as the cerebral transient ischemic attack. Imagine you wake up one morning and a part of you isn’t functioning. I didn’t realize what was wrong at first, and then I realized my eyes were hitching. I hadn’t figured what it was because it had been opened all through and I couldn’t close it. And then, while I was trying to drink water, it would pour out from the other side of my mouth. It was then I looked in the mirror and realized what had happened. This was April 28th, 2008

You are still young, what could have caused this stroke?
Dimeji
“It isn’t something you expect. And it’s never something I thought would happen to me. But actually, the night before it happened, I broke down because of certain changes in my life that I was finding hard to accept. I wasn't happy at all and prior to that, I'd been going through depression. I've never talked about this before. I don't want to sound pathetic, but sometimes it hepls when you talk about things that bother you irrespective of what anybody would think or say."

How does your family feel about it?

Dimeji "My family doesn't live in Nigeria except my father...but I hadn't seen my father for two years before this happened. We haven't been calling each other also. So he came and spent the night in my house. We talked all through the time he was with me. It was great, we really bonded and put every issue we had aside. It gets to a point in your life when you suddenly realise how important family is...I was at that point in my life..."

How are you recovering?

Dimeji "I am recovering very well, except that I'm trying to take things very easy at the moment. I've also started doing a lot of exercise. But I haven't been socialising. I really miss everyone and I appreciate their concern. I was surprised when I logged on to the internet and it was all over the internet. I started reading people's comments and it was so touching. It feels good to know that I'm loved. Though I still find it amazing that certain people were happy with the news. I won't mention names but I wish them the best anyway"

How has this incident changed your life?

Dimeji "I've been blown away by my journey and what I'm trying to achieve. I am proof that you can shine through adversity. I am feeling more in control and comfortable in my life these days. I've always felt like my early years were waiting to board a plane. I was in the departure lounge of who I really am now. I'm happier, I'm optimistic and I've never felt better about my life. The thing about happiness is that you need the contrast to fully experience it but you only understand that as you get older"

Pero Adeniyi gives birth to baby boy. Our lover boy, sensational singer, Tuface Idibia is now a father of FOUR. One of his baby mamas, Pero Adeniyi gave birth to a beautiful baby boy days back in the US. She's expected back in the country with the bundle of joy in a few weeks. Meanwhile, Sumbo, his other baby mama, who had a son for tuface a few weeks back has named her new son, Tuface Idibia Jr. Tuface Idibia...Congrats!

Florence Ita-Giwa explains her exit from Yar'Adua's Government
"He didn't sack me"
Senator Florence Ita-Giwa is no longer a part of the Yaradua government
She spoke to Emeka Umejei of Encomium magazine

Congratulations on your disengagement from political office (Congratulations?)
And she answered.
Ita-Giwa "Thank you!"
lol

Was it that you resigned or you were sacked as reported in the local newspaper?
Ita-Giwa "I don't know what they are talking about. Who will drop me? I don't know why they think I was dropped. I have a letter of commendation from the president. For what reason would he have sacked me? For helping set up a government? For helping sustain democracy? It's mischief and it's very unfair to President Yar'adua because they are trying to knock heads together and they will not succeed. The impression here is that anybody that is connected to Obasanjo is sacked but I am a Senator in the first place. I finished my tenure with obasanjo, I was just assisting and now I insisted I must leave to face Bakassi

What is the next level for you?
Ita-Giwa
"I resigned my appointment to face Bakassi issue. And I am proudly the chairman of the BAKASSI RESETTLEMENT AND RELOCATION COMMITTEE. You know Nigeria has to move out of the territory by August and we are working day and night. We want to resettle th Bakassi people properly. I couldn't do that while holding two jobs"

Does that imply you don't intend to seek any political office in future?
Ita-Giwa
"I am in politics as a political leader of Bakassi people. Politics is not all about contesting election, you can be a power broker. I don't know what I am going to do, but I need a break because I have been like this for 15 years. I am actually tired of all the intrigues"

World Miss Photogenic pageant 2008

Win a brand new car, $10, 000, plus a modeling contract. Register online with your pix. You can also download form for registration. Also register to vote your favourite contestant online. For more details, log on to http://www.worldmissphotogenic.com/

Or call Chris on 08033250191, Esther on 08055846940

Basketmouth Uncensored 3

Expo Centre, Ocean View, Victoria Island

30th May 08 - N3, 000

31st May 08 - N10, 000

Tickets available @

The Galleria, News Cafe @ The Palms, Lapizza and Eko Hotel.

For more info, go to http://www.basketmouthlive.com/

Be there!

That's all for now. I know its not much. Will mos def get you more later. Kisses!

19 comments:

Linda, what are your models wearing?!?!?!?!!? They're practically naked.........

Just had to try you....... (smile) How are you?

buhahahahahaaa....It was already on my mind from wen i first saw the pic....I was gonna say..."ehn, Linda u don force these girls to tie this ur bedsheet too (as u did on the pics at the right hand corner of ur page)" but since u threatened us not to say n e thing at the cost of not postn' our dearly beloved naija entertainment news, i will zip it! lol

Nma

Dimeji, you are a fine boy. Stroke: The devil is a big liar. Keep on achieving, my dear brother, heaven is your limit. You are blessed.

Jayjazzy said...

Hey Linda, dis is actually my first time of commenting on ya blog with an identity but am an ardent reader, u sure know how to keep ur head above water, i haven't seen any edition of ur mag though, you should check out my blogs though when u have time, cheers darling

mancunian babe said...

Thank God for Dimeji's life. I pray that his story will touch others and that people will learn to relax and enjoy their lives and have absolute trust in God. Dont give room to unforgiveness, bitterness or sadness. Forgive people easily and look on the brighter side of life. No one or situation is worth risking your life for. Enjoy your life in Christ JESUS

linda,welcome back,please promise that you won't stay away for too long, in case of next time,and do give me some notice in advance,just kidding lol..........

linda,

hi, first time, i sending u a message on ur blog,maybe its beef cos my last girl friends name was linda!!!whatever,

i love ur blog, but u've been slacking on ent news dese days, is the industry quiet or ur just busy. anyways, my new girl friend is very beautiful, hope i can convince her to make it to ur photoshoot this weekend.

take care of u. cant find ur mag to buy in bauchi, where i reside for now..

and whats up with pero adeniyi and tuface's child.. aint she put to bed yet?????

Linda, your models don give another meaning to woman wrapper.

Hair Azara said...

do you accept plus-size models? lol am alittle on da hefty side but my face is gorgeous!!! lol.. anyways if you are looking for Hair extension supply (synthetic/real) be sure to contact AZARA!!! take care and best of lucks with everything.

miss you but i knew you were upto some great work.
good to see good things happen in your life. many more will come in Jesus name. just keep praying and praising God. it is Him doing the good things nobody else. He may use men and women but if He doesn't empower them you will never get anything in the first place. i wish you every success, open doors and blessings. God bless you dear sister and keep the faith always.

so sad about Dimeji..read it somewhere that he had stroke...have bin looking for detailson it....thanx for that.May God grant dimeji a quick n complete recovery.My mumsy is going thru same now and i know how it feels...i know its not easy but GOD will see you through his...as i pray for mum i will pray for you too.

linda good to have you back...missed u,n hey ur models looks......(***comments reserved***)

linda thanks for the gist

wendu

Linda Ikeji said...

@calabar gal
Im doing so so great. And how are u too sweetie?
@Wale, thanks. Do u live in Nigeria?
@jayjazzy, will do
@simon seez, ive been busy
@hair azara, we are actually looking for plus size models, if u know anyone, send them to us...about the hair extentions, do u live in Nig?

Hi Linda, What would u say the average pay for a model is these days...I know it depends on the job...just give a few examples pls. Also, does being a plus sized model affect your pay. Will u be paid less than a regular model. Just curious...

Hey...interesting stuffs on entertainment this week. Yall know those model are off the hook...lol, i would also like to model. i am a pretty girl, six foot tall, and dark skinned...lol.
Ok...so about this Dimeji guy, i've been reading about him everywhere i go and also people talk about him everywhere...hmmm, i guess he's quite famous. Its great to know he's better now. he sounds so matured and grown up...he doesnt sound 25 at all. I would like to see your magazine FHMB feature him one of these days. he's so so so sexyyyyyyy!!!!ok i'm out.

Linda Ikeji said...

@nma...thanks for zipping
it...lol, how now?
@mystique, it depends...billboards go as much as N200-300grand. calendars 30-100grand. some more, some far less, it all depends on the product, client, model, agent etc...
@bunmi....maybe i will
cheers

chatnoir said...

lol! @ florence when she says "
Tsssskkk !!! who will drop me ? who heh ? "

ababoypart2 said...

I was in Lagos last week and could find your magazine. Sold out?

Thank God for Dimeji's life. I hope it is not that Betty Irabor woman that is happy about his condition. I'm happy Dimoko interviewed him to get the real gist.Usually na second hand story she like to carry.