Top Ten Weirdest Deaths | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 15 June 2007

Top Ten Weirdest Deaths

We all know we are all going to die someday. We can only hope when our time comes it's peaceful, quick and dignified. However, for some ill-fated individuals, this simply isn't going to happen. Take a look at the weirdest ways some people have left this earth.

Magic bullet
Brandon Lee, the son of Bruce Lee, was shot and killed by a prop .44 Magnum while filming the 1993 movie 'The Crow'. The scene involved the firing of a full-powder blank (full charge of gunpowder, but no bullet) at Brandon's character. However, unknown to the film crew/firearms technician, a bullet was already lodged in the barrel.

Grand slam
Owen Hart, WWF wrestler, died in 1999 when he fell 78 feet while being lowered into the ring by a cable from the stadium rafters before an upcoming match. He had been scheduled to win the WWF Intercontinental Championship that night.

Part of the act?
Tommy Cooper, British magician, died from a massive heart attack on stage in 1984 during a live television performance. Most of the studio audience and millions watching on TV thought it was part of the act and carried on laughing, until it became apparent the comic was seriously ill.

Bite me!
In 2001, Bernd-Jurgen Brandes posted an ad on an internet chatroom stating that he was looking for someone to eat him. Armin Meiwes eagerly replied to this ad, and the two sick-puppies hooked up. Meiwes murdered Brandes by stabbing him repeatedly in the neck, and then ate his body.

Death by video games
Korean Lee Seung Seop, 28, died of dehydration and heart failure after a mammoth 50-hour 'World of Warcraft' session. Throughout this time, he drank very little water and ate virtually nothing, and eventually collapsed from exhaustion. He died with the joypad still in his hand moments later

Elvis Presley died while seating on the toilet seat.

Fatal hilarity
Chrysippus was a Greek philosopher with a wicked sense of humour. One night, the giggling goon thought it would be great fun to get his donkey drunk on red wine. Seeing the drunken beast stagger around was so hilarious to Chrysippus, that he literally laughed himself to death. Now that's what you call a killer punch line.

Blood poisoning
Despite creating one of the finest known drinks to man, Jack Daniels was an unsavoury character whose greed finally got the better of him. In 1911, Jack forgot the combination of his safe and in a drunken rage decided to boot the safe to high heaven. Jack developed a rather juicy toe injury for his troubles, and died of blood poisoning days later.

Death at the races
Frank Hayes was a jockey who in 1923 suffered a fatal heart attack in the midst of a race. His horse, Sweet Kiss, finished and won the race with his lifeless body still atop, making him the first, and thus far only, jockey to win a race post-mortem.

Death from above
In 1989, a Belgian teenager was killed by a crashing soviet MiG-23 fighter jet, which escaped from Poland on autopilot after the crew ejected following a false engine failure alarm.
A few years ago I saw a man dance for hours on a main road. When I passed there late in the evening, he was lying on the road, dead! Weird!
Know anyone who died in a weird way? Share your story!

3 comments:

Meeeen, Linda...u're a phenomenon. How u come up with these random subjects, i don't know. Brandon Lee's death really touched me and to think his dad, Bruce Lee, died very young as well, is just so bizarre. I watched a documentary on d Bernd-Jurgen Brandes' story about two years ago. Dat's so scary, i think it happened in Germany or so.

Linda....Haba!!! You forgot to gist us how did the late naija Dictator-Sanni Abacha died??? Don't be partial now? LoL

chidi said...

weird things sure do happen