Thursday, April 30, 2009

Half Naked Ekiti Women Protest

The uncertainty and protests that have trailed Saturday’s rerun governorship election in Ekiti State took another dimension on Wednesday, as a group of women clad in white attires protested round Ado-Ekiti, half-dressed. - By Akin Oyedele

Some half naked Ekiti women protesting against the political logjam in the state
Tagged, “Peace rally in support of democracy in Nigeria,” the protesters gathered under the aegis of Ekiti Women for Peace and Development.

They were led by a former Commissioner for Women Affairs in the state, Chief Ronke Okusanya, while the deputy governorship candidate of the Action Congress, Mrs. Funmilayo Olayinka and wife of the governorship candidate, Mrs. Bisi Fayemi, joined the procession.

More than 300 women, comprising the young and the elderly, took part in the protest over the delay in announcing the governorship candidate of the AC, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, as the winner of the governorship election.

As early as 8am, the protesters had begun to mass at the popular Fajuyi Park in their tens from parts of the state, which grew into a crowd by 10am when the protest march began.
While more than 20 elderly women among the group, whose ages ranged between 60 and 80 years went half-dressed, the youths protested with their clothes on.

The procession moved from Fajuyi to Oke-Iyinmi roundabout and later to the AC secretariat in Ajilosun, with the police following them to prevent the rally from being hijacked.
The protesters, who sang anti-Peoples Democratic Party’s songs and chorused “Eeye o” waved white handkerchiefs to onlookers who cheered them on.

Some of the placards hoisted by the women read, “VP Jonathan, stop your imposition on Ekiti rerun; Prof. Iwu, fear God; Fayemi won the election, INEC no magomago; Iwu be warned; Ayoka Adebayo, heroine of democracy.”

At the Oke-Iyinmi roundabout, 10 of the half-dressed women caused a stir when they formed a separate group to perform a rite, in which they were heard appeasing the gods of the land.
While the rite lasted, the women rained curses on all anti-democratic forces and those disrupting the peace of the state.

The convener of the rally, Okusanya, said that the women decided to add their voice to the ding-dong that had become the lot of the governorship rerun since Saturday when the election was held.
Okusanya, who is also the woman leader of the AC in the state, said that the women were AC members drawn across the state and concerned senior citizens who were fed up with the antics of INEC.

Having allegedly collated the results of the rerun, she said that the embattled Resident Electoral Commissioner, Mrs. Olusola Adebayo, should be allowed to complete the assignment by announcing the winner.
She said, “Non-release of the result is an ingredient for chaos and violence. The women of Ekiti are in full support of Adebayo to be allowed an unfettered atmosphere to do her job.”

OMG, I've never seen this before in Nigeria. These women are obviously very angry. There's a lot of craziness going on in Ekiti State, I just hope their protest yields some positive results...but most unlikely huh?

I hear Action Congress is already demanding the resignation of our President, Musa Yar'adua, the Inspector General of Police, Mike Okiro and the INEC Chairman, Maurice Iwu. But we all know that's wishful thinking.

May God intervene...

Tony Okoroji's Book Launch Pictures

The much talked about ‘Red Carpet’ launch of Chief Tony Okoroji’s book, Copyright, Neighbouring Rights & the New Millionaires, held in Lagos last Tuesday, April 28, 2009. The event took place at the main auditorium of the Nigerian Institute of International Affairs in Victoria Island, Lagos. The organizers of the event have said that they want to use the launch to kick start a major national discussion on Nigeria’s intellectual property landscape.

Check out pictures from the launch...

Florence Ita Giwa and RMD

Left Tony Okoroji

Omotola Jalade Ekeinde

Christy Essien Igbokwe

Eucharia Anunobi

Comedian Koffi

Charles O'tudor and Omotola

Onyeka Onwenu and Victor Uwaifo

Patrick Doyle

Ali Baba and Felix Duke

Anybody know her name?

Names???
I see Ali Baba, Ras Kimono, is that Adewale Ayuba at the extreme left? You guys have to help with remaining names...
Pix thanks to Ali Baba

More stuff coming...

Wednesday, April 29, 2009

Alexander Amosu + Mr and Mrs Julius Agwu's Birthday Pix

I read an article some days ago about a designer who created the world's most expensive suit...and actually sold the suit to a mystery buyer for the mentioned $101,860 price tag.

Here's the article below...

Recession. What recession? By Catey Hill, Daily News staff writer

There doesn't appear to be one affecting designer Alexander Amosu, who has created the world's most expensive suit.
The suit is valued at $103,000.
It took more than 80 hours and 5,000 stitches to produce, according to LuxuryLaunches.com.
OK, but what makes the price tag leap over the six-figure mark?
The suit includes nine 18-carat gold and pave diamond buttons.
It is made from vicuna, which is a South American camel-like animal, that produces a very rare wool, BornRich.com says.
Oh, and its one-of-a-kind (of course).

Y'all know what caught my attention? The designer is a Nigerian! Can't believe I'd never heard of him until some days ago...Check out Alexander Amosu's achievements to Date:

• At the age of 12 earned £10 a week doing paper round

• Started his first business at age 15 holding school football, basket ball and table tournaments.

• Started Promotion, a Sound system and PA hire company hosting and playing at house parties and nights clubs called Shadow King Crew, earning £250 per show.

• Promoted 37 parties in total averaging £2,000 per night

• Started a cleaning company called HomeCare Cleaning Agency at age 19 turning over £4,000 p/m with a total of 12 clients.

• The first person to start urban ringtones in Europe at age 24 after he sold his cleaning company.• Made his first million at the age 25

• At the age of 26 started his own magazine called ICON

• Started a new company selling off line mobile phones

• Holds five wards starting from “Entrepreneur of the year award”

• Created the first ringtones book and software Polywap 2.1 that allows you to send ringtones around the world from your PC.

• Had my first TV show at 28 called Rich & Famous• Started inspirational speaking at schools, colleges and business seminars

• The first to start the world first mobile video community site Mobsvideo.com, here you can upload, download and share content.

• Launched Mobsworld 2005, mobile playground for your phone

• Partner and Investor in Screen Nation Awards, the first Black film and television awards in the UK

Alexander’s ambition seems endless with his DJ career launching and his freelance writing for magazine and other newspapers, TV presenting career presenting his own show called Rich n Famous on Ben TV Sky 238 and a chain of Insprational Speaking around the world, Partner in Screen Nation Awards, he also intends to launch his own branded mobile handset company. This drive has propelled him to his current position, and will keep people guessing as to what the next two years will bring.
Amazing profile huh? Kudos to the guy!
You can read more about him here...http://www.alexanderamosu.com/profile.asp

Mr and Mrs Julius Agwu's Birthday Pictures
Mr and Mrs Agwu

Kenny Ogungbe and ID Ogungbe

Julius and the event planner

AY and wife Mabel

Frank Papas

Pix thanks to Richard Nnadi

Joke of the day
Florida Court Sets Atheist Holy Day
In Florida, an atheist created a case against the upcoming Easter and Passover holy days. He hired an attorney to bring a discrimination case against Christians, Jews and observances of their holy days.
The argument was that it was unfair that atheists had no such recognized days.
The case was brought before a judge. After listening to the passionate presentation by the lawyer, the judge banged his gavel declaring, "Case dismissed!"

The lawyer immediately stood objecting to the ruling saying, "Your honor, how can you possibly dismiss this case? The Christians have Christmas, Easter and others. The Jews have Passover, Yom Kippur and Hanukkah, yet my client and all other atheists have no such holidays."

The judge leaned forward in his chair saying, "But you do. Your client, counsel, is woefully ignorant."
The lawyer said, "Your Honor, we are unaware of any special observance or holiday for atheists."
The judge said, "The calendar says April 1st is April Fools Day. Psalm 14:1 states, 'The fool says in his heart, there is no God.' Thus, it is the opinion of this court, that if your client says there is no God, then he is a fool. Therefore, April 1st is his day. Court is adjourned."

LOL
Peace out!

Tuesday, April 28, 2009

11th Annual Kenny's Music Easter Fiesta pictures + Jokes

The annual Kenny's Music Easter Fiesta took place recently. They staged two shows, one at Kuramo Beach in Lagos and the other at Welcome Centre in Lagos.

Check the pictures out

@ Kuramo beach

Obesere

Kenny Ogungbe

D1 and Howie T

Timaya

Obesere

Lil Jojo

@ Welcome Centre, located around Murtala Muhammed International Airport Road
Ruggedman
KC of KC Presh

KSB

Mo hits

Bracketi le...

Tee A and Princess

Kenny, D1 and Chief Raymond Dokpesi

Right, 2shot

Bracket

Chidi Mokeme

DJ Zeez

Bigiano

Pix thanks to Kenny Ogungbe

Bea Authur
Beatrice Arthur passed away on Saturday April 25th at the age of 86. She's best known for her role as Dorothy on the Golden Girls. RIP Bea!

Jokes
WIFE VS. HUSBAND
A couple drove down a country road for several miles, not saying a word. An earlier discussion had led to an argument andneither of them wanted to concede their position. As they passed a barnyard of mules, goats, and pigs, the husband asked sarcastically, 'Relatives of yours?' 'Yep,' the wife replied, 'in-laws.'

W O R D S
A husband read an article to his wife about how many words women use a day... 30,000 to a man's 15,000. The wife replied, 'The reason has to be because we have to repeat everything to men... The husband then turned to his wife and asked, 'What?'

CREATION
A man said to his wife one day, 'I don't know how you can beso stupid and so beautiful all at the same time. ' The wife responded, 'Allow me to explain.God made me beautiful so you would be attracted to me; God made me stupid so I would be attracted to you!

WHO DOES WHAT
A man and his wife were having an argument about who should brew the coffee each morning. The wife said, 'You should do it, because you get up first, and then we don't have to wait as long to get our coffee.' The husband said, ' You are in charge of cooking around here and you should do it, because that is your job, and I can just wait for my coffee.' Wife replies, 'No, you should do it, and besides, it is in the Bible that the man should do the coffee.' Husband replies, 'I can't believe that, show me.' So she fetched the Bible, and opened the New Testament and showed him at the top of several pages, that it indeed says.........'HEBREWS'

The Silent Treatment
A man and his wife were having some problems at home and were giving each other the silent treatment. Suddenly, the man realized that the next day, he would need his wife to wake him at 5:00 AM for an early morning business flight. Not wanting to be the first to break the silence (and LOSE), he wrote on a piece of paper, 'Please wake me at 5:00 AM.' He left it where he knew she would find it. The next morning, the man woke up, only to discover it was 9:00 AM and he had missed his flight. Furious, he was about to go and see why his wife hadn't wakened him, when he noticed a piece of paper by the bed. The paper said, 'It is 5:00 AM. Wake up.' Men are not equipped for these kinds of contests.

God may have created man before woman, but there is always a rough draft before the masterpiece.
LOL

Photo of the day
NEVER, NEVER, EVER let the GROOM order the wedding cake...
LOL
Later People!

Monday, April 27, 2009

Would you give up your dreams for a man?

If you have a career you love so much, basically living your dream and a man asks you to give it all up to be his wife...would you?

This has nothing to do with me o, so don't wonder, just answer the question mehn...lol

Really want to know what you guys think.

Seriously is any man worth it? Giving up your dreams for them? Not living the life you want while they live theirs? Is it fair for any man to even demand that? You see a lot women give up their dreams just to be wives and mothers, is it fair to them?

What do you say?

Sunday, April 26, 2009

Laura Ikeji's Naija Dance Academy

I have a younger sister that's multi-talented. She's the creative head of my T-Shirt line (Coming soon), she's also an aspiring rapper, currently in the studio working on her upcoming album (btw, she's looking for a management team, holla at her if you're interested), but above all this, she's an incredibly talented dancer. When I say talented, I mean really really talented.

I'm not saying this 'cos she's my baby sister, this is a statement of fact. She can bust some unbelievable crazy moves...moves I've never seen anywhere else. If she can rap half as much as she can dance, (she's a good rapper BTW) she'll give every female rapper in Nigeria a run for their money ;), I mean it, she's really talented.

Laura has started her own Dance Group/Academy...called NAIJA DANCE ACADEMY, to pass on her skills, to teach people interested in learning how to dance; but she's strictly into hip hop and street dance, no salsa's or contemporary dance, strictly hip hop. If you're interested in joining her group or academy or need more info, contact Laura on 08025862471, or email her at ikejilaura@yahoo.com or just meet her on facebook.

Laura, by the way, is also a fitness instructor.

She's a Psychology undergraduate of the University of Lagos and she's my baby sis...oh I already said that...lol.
So proud of her.
Do check her out.
Cheers.

Friday, April 24, 2009

Azam + Bobby = How do I look?

Finally I bring you the pictures...like I said earlier, this week has been crazy for me...but we thank God.

Yesterday I was at the African Inauguration of the Striding Man Society hosted by Johnnie Walker at the Civic Centre, Victoria Island. It was a really cool and classy event. The keynote address was delivered by one of the most charismatic men around, ex-governor Donald Duke, and boy, did he keep us riveted for at least one hour as he told personal stories and encouraged everyone to go after their dreams.

As usual, I didn't go to the event alone...I never go to any event alone...I find that a little awkward. Most of the time I go with my sis, my long time friend, Andy and my right hand man, Oteri. But this time Sandra wasn't available, so Oteri, Andy and I went together.
Once I get married, the dynamics will change of course ...lol

Check out the pictures

My hair is by Bobby's Signature
My dress is by Azam Couture, owned by a very talented young lady
You like? ;)
See, I decided not to show off my nice legs this time...lol

We actually stopped by somewhere on the Island to get food before heading to the venue of the event. That's where these pictures were taken...

Walking up the stairs to the venue

Andy and I
With Oteri, Muyiwa Oshindero of Clothesense (who made Andy's outfit) and Andy

My younger sis doesn't like my hairstyle...do you? This is the most glam I've gone. I usually go for simple styles but Oteri took me to the salon yesterday and gave them strict instructions...and I'm supposed to be his boss...lol

So what do you guys think of my dress? Please speak your mind...you're free to abuse me, but don't be too nasty o...lol. I'm a little new to dressing up and going to events so don't be too hard on me ;), but if you think I rock, please say it loud and clear...that's what a girl wants to hear jo...*wink*

Thursday, April 23, 2009

The Striding Man Society

I'm going to another event today...yeeeeeeeeeeeh!
I've decided to start going out a bit more. I'll be at the Johnnie Walker inuaguration of the STRIDING MAN SOCIETY, taking place this evening at the Civic Centre, Victoria Island Lagos.

The Striding Man Society is a business networking forum with a difference and is open to individuals who are 'Inspired to make personal progress in career, business and lifestyle'. Will tell you all more about it later...

I got a VIP pass and I can't wait to mingle...;)

Meanwhile, I won't be wearing my usual boutique short dress...lol, I got a designer to make me a dress. I want to look different today...

Watch this space to see what yours trully wore to the event
Catch ya later...

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Naija Entertainment + Encomium Leadership Awards pictures

I can't believe I haven't blogged since Friday...Imagine! ;)

Hey, how you guys doing? Sorry about my little absence...haven't been near a computer in the last few days.
Will make it up to you guys with lots of Naija Entertainment news and gossip, but it will come in bits 'cos of how crazy it is right now...
And please, I'm never too busy to blog. You guys mean a lot to me...
Enjoy this...will get you more later...

'Enter the place', 'Suddenly' Videos may be banned – Stella Dimoko Korkus
According news going round town, 2face’s ‘Enter the Place’ and D’banj’s ‘Suddenly’ videos may be banned by the NCC because they display too much booty shaking. Hmmm...
For those who have seen Dbanj’s Suddenly video, do you think it should be banned?

Asa live @ the Palms
With Ikechukwu, Eldee, GT da Guitar man, , MI, Banky W, Tosin Martins, Julius Agwu and Basket Mouth
Date: 25th April
Time: 4pm (Autograph signing)
Concert: 8pm
Venue: The Palms shopping mall
Tickets: N5, 000. N10, 000 (front row)

Kingsley Ogoro’s Klink Studios robbed – Azuh Amatus
Agents of destruction and inflicters of pain, days back, visited producer and director, Kingsley Ogoro’s Klink Studios, situated in Surulere Lagos. No life was lost, only that people they met there were dispossessed of all their valuables.

Jedi plans 2-in-1 show – Azuh Amatus
D’ G-pikin and well fed comedian, Jedi, is working on a 2-in-1 show, billed for Sunday May 10th at the City Mall Onikan, Lagos. The evening will see Jedi combining his comedy performance with his album premiere.

Frank Okimagbo’s Papa’s TV on the way – Adegbola Oni
Handsome club owner and front man of Papa’s Entertainment, Frank Okimagbo, is taking his business interest to the next level. His latest business interest is Papa’s TV, expected to be aired on major TV channels. The idea of the show is to celebrate upwardly mobile young men who are doing considerably well in their day to day endeavours.

Encomium Leadership Awards 09 pictures

Pix thanks to purefoto.com

Photos of the day
Danfo Drivers rise to stardom pictures
Check out the jacket pictures of the famous group, Danfo Drivers

This is their contact details if you need them for anything...
D&I Entertainment: 20 Mudasiru Owoyele Street,Magodo GRA,Ketu-Lagos
Events Aloud Entertainment: 61 Igando Road Ikotun,Lagos (Management)08056145926,08084865273,08052992699,08098838420,07036213602
More stuff coming...

Friday, April 17, 2009

Style Night 5

We are getting ready for our next annual Style Night Fashion Show.

Last year's event took place on Sun. 3rd of August at Golden Gates Restaurant, Ikoyi. It featured 7 designers and 40models. MI, Djinee, Obiwon, Tobagold, Omobaba and Streethood thrilled the guests.

It was sponsored by AMIGOS HAIR, LACASERA DRINK AND PRESTIGE COSMETICS.

Here are a few pix from last year's event...

GM of Lacasera and ex miss Lacasera

Rukkies on stage with models

Designer, Modela

Make up was my MARS Cosmetics

Djinee performing

Models at rehearsal

You can check out more pictures of Style Night 4 here...http://lindaikeji.blogspot.com/2008/08/more-style-night-4-pictures.html#comments

Now to Style Night 5

This year's event will take place on Sat. June 27th at Lagoon Restaurant...(hope we won't have to postpone it...;)), It will feature 10 designers, 40 models and we're also going to get some celebs to walk the runway that evening... clothed by one of Naija's most respected designers.

Like before, we'll have music, comedy, dance and lots of fun.

The only difference between this year's event and previous shows, apart from being bigger and better, is that this year we will have an exhibition.

So it's exhibition and fashion show. Exhition of fashion, beauty items, products/services...whatever! Exhibition starts 4pm and ends 7pm. If you are Exhitbiting, you get a space to display your products/services, you also get to brand the venue.

It wasn't so difficult to get sponsors last year, but the story is a little different this year. Companies are hoarding their cash but we'll definitely get some of it ;)

Right now we are looking for sponsors, designers, exhibitors, etc etc

So if you're interested in sponsoring this event, or just want to exhibit, brand the venue or just support the show in any capacity, contact me directly on this no - 016635848 or call the event manager, Rolf on 08023195651.

Hope to hear from someone out there ;)

Won't be blogging this weekend
Have a fab weekend everyone
Catch y'all next week.
And remember, if you don't control your destiny, someone else will
All the best!

Switzerland Ready to Return $130m Loot

No Matter how used we are to the attrocities committed by some of our government officials, we hear some things and it still sends shivers down our spine.

Don't know how many of you know about this Halliburton bribe scandal...been following it for a bit now.
Here's the latest as written by Chinwe Ochu of Thisday Newspaper

The Government of Switzerland yesterday said it would be willing to release the $150 million Halliburton bribe money trapped in Swiss bank accounts if Nigeria formally requests for assistance.Switzerland's Foreign Minister, Michele Telary-rey, who disclosed this in Abuja while meeting with Nigeria's Foreign Affairs Minister, Ojo Maduekwe, said her country regards Nigeria as an economically and politically strategic country in Africa and would do everything to ensure a good relationship.

She said Switzerland was committed to the release of the trapped funds to help in the fight against corruption in Nigeria.

Nigeria's Ambassador to Switzerland, Dr. Martin Egomoivi, who was part of the delegation, also expressed optimism that the negotiation with the Swiss Government would reap positive result as the European country was committed to repatriating the funds.

The Nigerian envoy said Switzerland has 60 companies operating in Nigeria with about $200 million investment.

Responding, Maduekwe expressed the appreciation of the Nigerian government for the understanding in the Halliburton affair and asked for assistance and professional expertise in agriculture and gas flaring.

The Federal Government had two weeks ago disclosed that investigators had traced $150 million out of the $180 million Halliburton bribe money to Zurich, Switzerland – saying it was yet to ascertain the name of the account holder.

The Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Chief Mike Aondoakaa, who described the discovery as “shocking”, said the money had been trapped in Zurich because it had been difficult to establish the operator of the account but warned that no government official found culpable would be speared.

He however did not state categorically who found it difficult to ascertain the account’s owner – whether the Nigerian government or officials of the unnamed bank.

About $180 million was said to have been paid out to some Nigeria top government officials as bribe through a subsidiary of Halliburton, Kellogg, Brown & Root (KBR), to facilitate the award of $6 billion LNG contracts.“We have discovered that $150 million of the bribe money is in Zurich. That is the first shocking discovery. The entire money is $180 million. $150 million is already trapped in Zurich,” he said.

$150mil? You'll know how much that is in Naira? And something tells me the culprits will never be found...and after a while, we won't hear about it again...lol
Naija for life!

Thursday, April 16, 2009

Naija Entertianment News...

Let's continue with our naija gossip, not much 'cos I'm dead tired. Been on the road all day...but I go try sha...
Enjoy...

John Fashanu denies pocketing Oceanic Bank's N25m - Leke Adeneye (Encomium)

Former English Premier football star, Ambassador John Fashanu, has debunked the talk in town that a N25m gift from billionaire, Alhaji Aliko Dangote, to the Football Challenge with Fash, was responsible for the Oceanic Bank's withdrawal of their sponsorship of the reality TV show. The ex soccer star debunked the tale while speaking with Encomium Weekly Thursday, April 9th, 2009. He described the alleged fraud as a baseless rumour which lacks every element of truth.

Some watchers of the joint venture between Oceanic and Fashanu had earlier alleged that the one year relationship btw then had broken down irreparably over a N25mil donation made by Dangote which John Fashanu did not turn into the coffers of Oceanic Bank.

according to tale bearers, Dangote was disappointed when at the grand finale of the Football Challenge with Fash, the bank's managing director, Mrs. Cecilia Ibru, failed to acknowledge his financial support to the programme.

Dangote, as we gathered, had asked why no acknowledgment was made of his N25m gift allegedly delivered through the ambassador. Shocked by the news of the donation, Mrs Ibru called for the termination of the agreement between Fashanu and Oceanic Bank.

This is what Fashanu had to say about it
John Fashanu "Yes I have parted way with Oceanic Bank but it's not because of any scandal. I had a one year agreement with them which ended in Jan. 09. As far as I am concerned, nobody collected any money from anybody. I did not collect any money from anybody. I gave Oceanic Bank only one season and it has ended successfully. I have since moved on. "

Mikel Obi acquires N35m Bentley - Foluso Samuel

Super Eagles and Chelsea of England midfielder, John Mikel Obi has added another expensive car to the automobiles in his garage. The footballer's choice this time around is the 2008 Bentley Continental GT. This latest addition was acquired few weeks ago and it is said to have cost the 22 yr old soccer star a princely $273, 200 (N35m). A black range rover sport, a Sedan and Mercedes 360 are some of the other automobiles in Mikel's garage.

Emeka Ike on love and relationships (Encomium mag)

Why do some men womanise?
Emeka "It is the way of the world. I think it is better to do women than for men to do men"
Hmmm?

Why do men loose interest in women after having sex with them most times?
Emeka "If she didn't meet up with the guy's standard, the guy could loose interest in her"

Why is it that most men could have sex with women they never loved
Emeka "Why should a woman give in by sleeping with a man that does not love her"

Ikechukwu loses girlfriend to friend - Stella Dimoko Korkus

This crooner has allegedly lost his girlfriend Niki Bakare to his friend Chini Odogwu and he is so angry and telling it all on facebook. On Monday April 6th 2009, his facebook status said "Kills is single. Women cheat and with your friend too? Of all the women out there, aint life grand?"

The same day he changed his status to "Yeah, personal life off facebook in one week, from then, they can deal with the PA. But best way to move forward is airing shit out. Putting people on blast New York Style. With that said, I hope Chini and Niki have a great life together. Or was it abi? Oh no he was a month ago or so. Men and women are equally animals when they choose to be. Life is all about choices, that's all I'll say"

And that my people is the end of my amebo...lol
Not much, but hope it was still juicy...;)
Got to go, I have a terrible headache. Later!

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

Funke Akindele: Africa’s Best Actress

If you haven't seen the movie Jenifa...then you just haven't seen the Nigerian comedy movie of the year. Here's a little write-up on the lead actress of the movie, Funke Akindele.

Funke Akindele: A brief history – Azuh Arinze
Funke Akindele did not just happen on the scene; she’d been around for a decade, learning the rudiments of the game at the feet of the masters. Roped into the industry by Kunle Coker, but ably supported by her medical doctor mother, the law graduate of the University of Lagos started exhibiting that she was headed somewhere when she dutifully and diligently interpreted her role in the TV programme, I Need To Know.

Grabbing a few other roles in the English arm of the movie industry later, and yet unsatisfied, Funke knew that her full potential may not be realised there. And so, to the Odunfa Caucus, in the Yoruba sector, did she run to. True to her guess, she started growing little by little and in no time, found herself at the pinnacle of her career, becoming a regular on most movie jackets and pocketing enough money to enable her take care of her needs as well as assist those who regularly turn to her for assistance.

Then, the big bang: the release of the monster hit, Jenifa 1 & 2 and the 32 year-old's life has never been the same again. Appreciated and applauded, celebrated and commended, Funke has been lapping up everything, and profusely thanking God for singling her out for this kind of monumental favour and blessing.

Recently crowned Africa's Best Actress (courtesy AMAA Awards, which held in Bayelsa State on Sat. April 4th 09). She had this to say about the additional feather to her cap "I feel honoured, I feel fulfilled and I am happy that after working so hard, my effort has been crowned by becoming the Best Actress in Africa. My life will never be the same again. The award is going to make me want to do more, work harder to be able to fit into the international standard...it's going to be more like a challenge to do more because when you start getting awards like that, what it is indirectly telling you is to do more, get better and keep improving.

Love the movie Jenifa and so so happy for Funke.
By the way, Funke and I were friends in school (UNILAG)...
Yes I'm claiming her...lol
Better entertainment news coming tomorrow...
Cheers!

9ICE dedicates his new house

I'm doing mobile blogging...;)
Enjoy...

Rave singer 9ice has moved into his own property, in Lagos. - Ayeni Adekunle
The bestselling act, who climbed the ladder of fortune with the success of his 2007 single gongo aso, hosted family members, very close friends, and his staff at Alapomeji records on Sunday April 12 at a breakfast session to celebrate the completion of his multi-million Naira duplex.

9ice with wife, Toni Payne

Apart from 9ice’s parents, and his wife Toni Payne, those present at the house dedication include Jah Bless, 2Phat, ID Cabasa, and his manager Dehinde Fajana.
The cream-coloured duplex, already named Alapomeji Villa, was erected over a period of six months, and the singer personally supervised the project.

Interestingly, the house also has a full audio studio where 9ice is expected to finish work on his third album. The fully-equipped studio is already ready-to-use, with a 32 Channel console, Adam speakers, Newman anniversary edition microphones, Roland Fantom keyboard and a full option Mac PC. ‘‘It has been my dream to have my own studio in the comfort of my house. And now, I’m happy that God has made it possible. I can wake up in the middle of the night and come down here to voice any idea that comes to my head. The studio means a lot to me, that’s why I’ve stopped at nothing to make sure it’s the best’’, 9ice says.

Surrounded by lush green grass, and tucked behind thick walls, 9ice’s property is situated in a private estate around Lagos Abeokuta Expressway, in Lagos.
‘‘I like this area because it is very quiet and peaceful, and I have some of my family living around here. There’s nothing more beautiful than being surrounded by those you love. This is my home for now, and I thank God for making this dream come true’’

Apart from the duplex, he also recently acquired several plots of land within the same area, where he plans to set up the Alapomeji records offices and an audio visual studio.
After the prayer session to dedicate the house on Easter Sunday, 9ice presented his father with a surprise gift: gold-coloured Honda Accord iVTec.

Wow, great news...!
More stuff coming...

Soul E's Interview

Let's gossip...lol

I'm sure you all know their story, so I don't need to go into their history.
The talented musician granted an interview to Justina Nweke of Encomium mag this week...
Enjoy...

How do you combine your musical career with your pastoral duties
S "Now let me clarify this. The church thing is my ex's thing. She's the one handling it. When we were together, everyone presumed that it was my thing, but I only gave her the support. But right now that we are no longer together, she's handling the ministry. I am a musician, that is all I do, but of course I go to church, I love my God."

But the general notion is that you are the founder of the church

S "That's what everybody thought, bu that was not the real thing. It was her church. She is the pastor of the church, but of course because I am a limelight person and she was my girl, everybody around presumed that Soul E was the pastor of the church. But the truth of the matter is that, it is her church. She founded the church."

Talking about your ex, you were warned by Pastor Chris Okotie not to get married due to age difference and other things. Why did you go ahead with the marriage?

S "There's something about Soul E, I don't go after what people think is right. I go after what I believe in. People go into relationship and break up. The same person you just talked about now broke up from a marriage too."

It is alleged that you have a preference for older women

S "If I see a woman that I love whether she old pass me or not, I will go for her. It is not a matter of prefering older women, it is a matter of does Soul E really love this person. I go after what I love. I don't go after age. Meanwhile no be only me marry person wey old pass am, plenty people don do am."

Your ex sometime ago said that your marriage packed up due to financial reason. Was that the basis of your marriage?

S "I didn't marry because of finance. I don't go into relationships because of finace. Finance is secondary, money comes and goes. If she said that, well you can go and interview her and let her say that but me I don't know what that is. In fact, it is not true and can never be true."

But she was said to have financially supported you

S "Let me ask you a question, if you are in a relationship with a woman you call your wife, whatever she does to her business or however she supports her husband is not a big deal. That she supports you is not an issue. I have seen cases where a girl built a house for her boyfriend"

Really? lol

Is there any room for reconciliation?

S "We are good friends. She has moved on, I have moved on.

And that my people... is the end :)

More entertainment gossip coming your way...

Tuesday, April 14, 2009

Nigeria's Top 20 Best Dressed Women

Hey people, hope you all had a great Easter celebration. It's back to work now sorry o ;)

Anyway, I need your opinion about something. We are working on Nigeria's Top 20 Best Dressed Women (for the mag) and well...the guys at work came up with a list....and erm...we can't all seem to agree on the Top 20. I personally think that we missed out on a few names...like my name for instance...I kid, I kid...lol

So I'm bringing it here....
Below is a list of the top 20 names (I added a few names) the guys at work came up with. Please if there's any name you think shouldn't be there or any name we missed out...do let us know.

Check it out....

70's Opral Benson

60's Erelu Abiola Dosunmu

50's Helen Prest

40's Nike Oshinowo

30's or 4o's Lanre Da Silva Ajayi

30's Rita Dominic

30's Shade Okoya

20's Omowunmi Akinnifesi

Here are the names
Nike Oshinowo
Helen Prest Ajayi
Rita Dominic
Erelu Abiola Dosunmu
Grace Egbagbe
Genevieve Nnaji
Betty Irabor
Lanre Da Silva Ajayi
Omowunmi Akinnifesi
Oprah Benson
Nkiru Anumudu
Shade Okoya
Toyin Saraki
Funmi Iyanda
Ifeoma Williams
Dorothy Atake
Nimi Akinkugbe
Mo Abudu
Abba Folawiyo
Stella Damasus Nzeribe
Nike Ogunlesi
Florence Ita Giwa
Rukky Sanda
Ibidun Ajayi Ighodalo
Mariam Babangida
Linda Chuba Ikpeazu
Toyin Raji
So what do you guys think, who should and shouldn't be on this list?
Please tell us what you think...
Pix thanks to solafolowosele and bella.

Meanwhile check out the US top 20...
Best dressed Black women of 2008

Rihanna in 1st place
Beyonce in 2nd place

Oprah Winfrey

Michelle Obama

Mel B

Joy Bryant

Halle Berry
Jill Marie Jones
Jurnee Smollett
Queen Latifah
Add Image
Gabrielle Union

Lauren London

Thandie Newton

Garcelle Beauvais Nilon

Kerry Washington

Jada Pinkett Smith

Alicia Keys

Selita Ebanks

Jordin Sparks

Keri Hilson

If I get a lot of responses eh, I'll give you people sweet, hot naija gossip...better one for that matter...lol
Waiting...

Monday, April 13, 2009

Emmy Collins Spring/Summer 2009 Collection

Check out the new summer/spring collection of extremely stylish Nigerian born UK-based designer, Emmy Collins.

Totally awesome!
For those who don't know what Emmy Collins looks like, that's him on the left in the above picture with his models.

You can check out more stuff on his website here...http://www.emmycollins.com/
Cheers.

Sunday, April 12, 2009

Ace Adegoke's ICECAPADE

ICECAPADE 2009 DATE RELEASE

One Night of DAZZLING Entertainment!

ICECAPADE 18th July 2009
ICECAPADE is a chic, sophisticated and stylish social event with an ‘Ice & White’ theme to it, complete with elegance and panache. The event was organised last year to commemorate my birthday, this year it will be marking the official launch of ‘N4life Entertainment’.
ICECAPADE 2008 was a huge success.

We witnessed the trendiest of outfits, up-to-the-minute hip and cool styles, ranging from hair & fashion to body art. The pictures from the night are a testimony to this. Why not join us in making ICECAPADE 2009 an even bigger and more successful event, with your stylish favourite white outfits adorned with riveting rhinestones, dazzling diamante and sparkling Swarovski.

The setting for the evening will be glamorous and full of flair; you’ll just fit perfectly in. Besides the deluxe ambience, other highlights of the night will include:· An Ingenious ‘Red Carpet’ Entrance· Chilled Champagne Reception· Blazing Music from Top Nigerian DJ’s · Performances by Established and Up & Coming Artistes· Remarkable Ice Sculptures from a UK leading Ice Sculpture Specialist· Glamorous Hall décor from a Top UK Event and Party Design company · Delicious Canapés, Tasty ‘Suya’ meat and Exquisite Dessert · A Plush and Luxurious V.I.P ‘Ice Lounge’· Free ‘Naija4Life’ Souvenirs · Other surprises revealed on the nightThe night will be photographed by the renowned photographer ‘Casey’ and also filmed exclusively for broadcast TV. This is a picture and video opportunity not to be missed.The venue will be revealed on 1st May 2009 and tickets will go on sale on-line from the same day.

To maintain its exclusivity, tickets sold will be limited, so please book early to avoid any disappointment. ICECAPADE 2008 was an event much talked about, and still is. See what the HYPE is all about by joining us for ICECAPADE 2009. In the meantime please enjoy the videos and pictures on our website www.naija4life.co.uk, all brought to you courtesy of N4life Entertainment.
For more info visit http://www.naija4life.co.uk/

Check out pictures from Icecapade 2008

Go to http://www.naija4life.co.uk/ for more info
Happy Easter once again!!!

Saturday, April 11, 2009

Naija Entertainment News

Naija Ent. News for your pleasure...not much but enjoy...

Star actress Funke Akindele splashes N14million on two automobiles - Foluso Samuel - (Encomium)
Popular actress, Funke Akindele, is basking in bliss. The actress has just taken delivery of an Infiniti Jeep and Toyota Corolla. The former is for her and the latter, for her mum. Sources told Encomium weekly that the two wonders on wheels were acquired weeks back and set the actress back by N14mil.

Azadus looses son – Azuh Arinze (Encomium)
Sweet voiced crooner, Olalekan Fadeyi, popularly known as Azadus is bereaved. It was gathered from a reliable source that death visited him on Friday April 3, 2009. He lost his young son. Details of what led to the tot’s death are still sketchy but fingers are pointing in the direction of ill-health.

Drummer girl, Ara’s wedding IV and date out – Azuh Arinze
All things being equall, Araola Sherifat Olamuyiwa popularly known as Ara the drummer girl, will be joined in matrimony with Prince Olalekan Nurudeen on Sat. June 6th 2009.
Ara and Lekan have been an item for many years and already have a son.
Congrats to them

Erelu Abiola Dosunmu quote

Here's what she said to Rebecca Akinkunle of Encomium mag when asked...how life has been through the years without a man...

"I've been married twice, one died and the other one...I didn't want to live abroad, I came home and we went our separate ways. So I haven't lived alone all my life, but if you end up living alone, like I said, live and let live. Mind your business and move on. The misconception is that you have to have someone there to make progress, it's not true. It is how dedicated, how determined you are to make a success of your life and how doggedly you work at it, not waiting for someone to do it for you. I believe God has given all of us talents, we should make use of them, married or not. I've been married twice, what of other women that desire to be married to marry and have no one to marry them? That shouldn't be the end of the world or end of life. Life goes on, because He has equipped you with other endowments to make a success of your life and also to hold your own in a comity of human beings."

Wande Coal on how he met Dbanj and Don Jazzy

"They came to perform in UNILAG. It was Konga that took me to them. I wasn't concerned whether they will sign me up or not, I just wanted to entertain them. I entertained them. Don Jazzy took my number and called me the next day, since then I have been with Mohits. This was in 2006."

Who wants deserves to be a millionaire? - Abiola Aloba

The MTN sponsored programme, just like they did last year, is having a special edition tagged 'Who deserves to be a millionaire' and by this it means that the public will have the chance of nominating whoever they feel deserves to be on the hot seat to win the million naira prize. The past edition had people like Julius Agwu, Kate Henshaw Nuttal, Chief Zebrudaya who contested for Pa Akinwunmi who designed the Nigerian flag, Mr Davis Offor (Clarus), Peter Fregene, the longest serving national footballer, he was a goal keeper between 1967 and 1984...
This year's edition is planned to be much bigger.

Rooftop MC's go on tour - Chilee Agunanna

The musical duo of Soul Adekunle Adeyoola (Soul Snatcher) and Olaitan Hughes (Sokleva) are embarking on a country wide tour to promote their music. On Thursday April 9, 2009, they will make their first stop in Ibadan and perform at the University of Ibadan, Oyo State. The duo who came into national consciousness when they released their first album, Shock Therapy, and have their hit single Lagimo still ruling the airwaves at the moment, will perform live with their band and are expected to make further stops in Lagos and Port Harcourt before the end of the tour.

Applause mag

The new issue of Applause magazine is out. Get your own copy!

American chiefs

Here's a pic of American actors Forest Whitaker and Danny Glover in an Igbo traditional costume. But where was this pix taken? Were these guys in Nigeria recently? Maybe for the AMAA awards or something? Must be! They sure rock in this outfit!

Story of the day
11-Year-Old Hangs Himself after Enduring Daily Anti-Gay Bullying

An 11-year-old Massachusetts boy, Carl Joseph Walker-Hoover, hung himself Monday after enduring bullying at school, including daily taunts of being gay, despite his mother’s weekly pleas to the school to address the problem. This is at least the fourth suicide of a middle-school aged child linked to bullying this year.
You can read the rest of the story here...

Photos of the day

Last week, President Obama greeted King Abdullah of Saudi Arabia with what appeared to be a bow, outraging many conservatives in the US.
Do you guys see anything wrong with this? They forgot he's half African...that's how we show respect to our elders and title holders...what's the fuss? lol

And that's our Obama playing ball
I love this guy...

Happy Easter!!!

Friday, April 10, 2009

Channels TV + Amplifyd Crew

Too tired to bring you Naija Ent. News but I discovered something that's really grand...for those who don't know about it already.

Channels Television is the...
*First TV News Organisation in Nigeria
*First TV to win the NMAA award as BROADCAST STATION OF THE YEAR FOR FOUR
TIMES (2000, 2001, 2003 and 2004).
And has Established powerful relationships with broadcasting authorities around the world. CNN, PBS, ITN e.t.c

You can get the latest news and actually watch live news broadcast on their website. Check on it here...http://channelstv.com/

Amplifyd Crew

For all fans of this very talented group, their latest video, I Can't Shout is streaming on youtube...the link is below...at the end of the video is a clip from their next single featuring Banky W titled "Why"
Enjoy!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j10-D1y8RSQ

Photos of the day
Volkswagen Golf VI announced as 2009 World Car of the Year

This car wey i see here na im be world's car of the year o9?
Hmmm...ok o. If they say so...;)

Happy Easter everyone.

Thursday, April 9, 2009

Michelle Obama's fashion hits

I saw this article on America's First Lady's dress sense; found it quite interesting and thought to share...

Enjoy...

Michelle Obama’s fashion hits and misses.
By Jennifer Romolini, Shine staff

The first lady of the United States of America had an amazing, whirlwind week. She traveled through multiple European countries, met heads of state, attended official dinners and concerts, sat with the sick, gave inspiring speeches to children, embraced the Queen, AND she wore many, many different outfits. Lots and lots of people wrote about those outfits—some folks were extraordinarily angry about her sartorial choices. Others raved and wept and basically declared that Mrs. Obama was the best thing that's ever happened to fashion. So, what does it all mean? Why is it important?

The truth is, Michelle Obama, through her words, actions—and, yes, her clothes—is setting a new standard for what we think of as an American first lady. She's approachable, she's warm, she's highly educated, she's African American, and what she wears is unlike anything you'd expect from someone in such a prominent position. Mrs. Obama (much to the chagrin of luxury labels like Oscar de La Renta and others in the fancy, American-designer establishment) is using her profile to champion the fashion underdog. She wears clothes by little-known labels, often the work of first-generation Americans of Cuban, Thai, and Taiwanese descent. She loves J.Crew, a brand that many of us grew up wearing.But perhaps what is most interesting about Michelle Obama's style is it seems honest, real, and relatable.

It's fashion with a sense of humor. She wears comfortable shoes. She makes mistakes. She doesn't always know what to put with what. She's like us. She falls for a favorite belt and puts it on with everything, even when it sometimes doesn't match. Her clothes are stylish, yes, but somehow informal. Last week, when designer Oscar de la Renta slammed the outfit Michelle wore to meet the Queen, stating rather snottily, "You don't...go to Buckingham Palace in a sweater," one could almost hear our first lady saying, "Why not?"And saying it with a smile.

Check out a roundup of all of the European outfits and others she's worn over the last few months.

What do you guys think about Michelle's fashion sense? I think she's very stylish and I also noticed she likes to wear sleeveless clothes which is quite unusual for a First Lady but very refreshing to see...
Naija Ent. News next...

Wednesday, April 8, 2009

Naeto C Honored + Ikechukwu in Yola

Naeto C Honored as Atlantic Hall Ambassador, Inducted into A-Hall of Fame

The 26 year old entertainer had thought that winning the MTV Africa Awards last year was the most astounding recognition he was to receive as an entertainer in his budding career, but he was in for a pleasant surprise on Friday the 3rd of April when the board of trustees of the prestigious Atlantic Hall School, during its 20th anniversary decided to honor him with an award for outstanding excellence in entertainment, in addition to officially being appointed a worthy global Atlantic Hall ambassador, and an inductee to the Atlantic Hall of Fame.

Recognized alongside 5 other outstanding alumni like Chika Nwobi the visionary co-founder of MTECH PLC, Chantelle Abdul of The Executive Group and co-executive producer of The Apprentice Africa, Rolake Akinola, Ositadinma Umenyiora the famed Nigerian-born NFL player for the New York Giants, and Feyi Phillips.

Naeto C with his mum Mrs. Kema Chikwe and James Amuta

Naeto C endeared himself with the elitist crowd that gathered at the Shell Hall of MUSON CENTER when he delivered a classy performance of his award-winning song “Ki ni Big Deal”. Naeto’s humility shone forth as he went on a hands-shaking and cheeks-kissing spree, walking with a bow from table to table thanking the board members of his alumni and the founding members of Atlantic Hall for building an institution that gave him the foundation to expand his dreams.

The highlight of the event however occurred when Naeto C gave his acceptance speech after receiving the award. “As an entertainer, I understand the value of education” he began emotionally as the sophisticated crowd made up of distinguished politicians, ebullient scholars and professionals erupted in distinguished applause.

Naeto C went on to say, “I was extremely thrilled the day I received the MTV Africa Awards for Best Newcomer, but this award from my alumni, and educational institution is something else – words cannot express the way that I’m feeling right now to be honored by the same institution that made it possible for me to discover my potentials, whilst instilling in me the integrity that has shaped the man that I’ve become today…I thank you for giving me the concrete foundation for success in life with the quality education I received from my brilliant teachers”.

Immediately after the award at Muson Center, the management of the posh Swe Bar hosted the newly appointed ambassador to an exclusive after-party – where fans of the charming rapper posed with him for pictures, and autographs – celebrating his brief visit to Nigeria with the most exotic wines from the highly priced cellar of the upper echelon bar.

Naeto C has been out of the country for the past few months, where he’s currently pursuing a Master’s degree in Oil and Gas at the University of Dundee in the United Kingdom.

Also, in recent development, Naeto C who was in the country for 48 hours, on his way to Ghana for a performance at the Ghana Music Awards, and to show support to his label-mate and friend Ikechukwu at the Ghana launch of the album “Life and Times of Killz. Vol.1” was recognized as the “Celebrity of the Week” by THIS DAY newspaper on Sunday the 5th of April, 2009.

The after party at Swe Bar

Naeto C and top model Andy Ogbechi

Naeto C with Jibola and Noble Igwe
Congrats to him

Killz Zone Storms American Univeristy, Yola
Now to Naeto's brother from another mother...Ikechuchukwu. He was recently at the American University in Yola to thrill the students. He went with GT the Guitar man and Sauce Kid.
Enjoy pictures from the event...

Taking the Killz Zone to as far as the American University in Yola, Ikechukwu spread the universal message of his sophomore album “the Life and Times of Killz. Vol1”, to an eclectic mix of students from diverse racial and ethnic backgrounds, who gathered to show love for the multiple award-winning entertainer.

Ikechukwu was accompanied on this trip by fellow Storm Records soldiers, Sauce-Kid and GT da Guitarman, alongside the WFA official DJ –DJ Neptune.
The Yola launch of the album took place at the main auditorium of the American University on the 20th of March, 2009.
Ikechukwu is presently in Ghana, where he went to perform at the Ghana Music Awards, and also unveil his second album to music-loving Ghanaians.
More news on the Ikechukwu album launch will be released to you very soon. In the mean time, please enjoy the exclusive pictures from the Yola launch.

It seemed like a fun show...
Later people.

Tuesday, April 7, 2009

Darey's album pirated + Etcetera releases new video

DAREY’S ALBUM PIRATED!

Barely a week after his album hit the stores; Darey Art Alade’s second album has become yet another prey to piracy. ‘If not for the timely intervention of the Nigerian Copyright Commission (NCC), I am not sure what story we’d be telling today. A lot of our intellectual work, time, money and energy have been put into the release of that album, and to think someone was trying to pirate it breaks my heart’ Darey says

The NCC on Thursday April 2, 2009 caught Akina Music International Limited formerly Benrit Outlook Ltd in the process of illegal mass production of suspected piratedproducts. The optical discs plant which will soon be charged and prosecuted for piracy of copyright protected works had also been raided by the Commission about four years ago and is currently being prosecuted at a Federal High Court in Lagos for piracy of musical works and cinematograph films.

Un.DAREY.ted. which has been on a test run since 2008, and has over time gained momentum as one of Nigeria’s most anticipated albums was finally released on March 31, 2009 under Soul Muzik after a string of videos for ‘With this woman’, ‘Carry dey go’, ‘Not the girl’ and ‘More’.

‘I hope and pray that this criminal act will not be allowed to continue to happen, I mean, people can’t continue to feed off our sweat and toil, its not fair’ Darey who was at Dubai as at the time the news broke disclosed.

Expected to hit the media are more eye catching, irresistible videos from the album- Un.DAREY.ted

ETCETERA RELEASES NEW VIDEO

The X3m records’ prized act is not your regular singer, and with an uncommon style that combines rock, r ‘n’ b and soul, He has made a fusion which he calls “soft rock”. And as fans and critics thirst and hunger for good music, Paschal Uche Ejikeme effortlessly brings it to the table.

His singles Mitchell, Love should last and lie for you, enjoyed massive airplay on radio in 2006 and won him the most played artiste in Rhythm and Cool FM. His genre of music he has established is basically soft rock, but he makes use of constant elements from his environment which he spices with catchy and diverse atoms. This is why most of the time; Etcetera is often mistaken by many to be a foreign artist when they hear his music.

And now, the act has done it again as he released a video titled ‘Hello’ on April 1, 2009

The video for ‘Hello’ which was shot in Cape Town, South Africa by David Wacklin shows Etcetera trying to encourage everyone that they can be what they want to be if they put their mind to it. ‘I am trying as hard as I can to make the best out of rock music and out of myself. I don’t want to be referred to as a local artiste, as a musician, I wouldn’t mind if I am being compared with what we have out there’ Etcetera says

He is presently in the studios working on a yet to be titled second album.

The singer-songwriter is currently signed onto X3m music, a record label managed by Steve Babaeko. The record label was responsible for the release of his debut self titled album ‘Etcetera’ which rolled out hit tracks such as Biafra, Life for you, Michelle, love should last and Miss H’s IV

More coming...

MBGN 2009 + Lagbaja's New Album + Jimmy Jatt's battlefield kicks off

24 year old Youth Corp member, Glory Chukwu, representing Nasarawa State was crowned The Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria 2009 during the event that held at the Sam Mbakwe Hall of the Concord Hotels, Owerri, Imo State on Sat. April 4th, 2009.

From left: Ugochi Ogugbue, Miss La Casera; Otohwo Sandra,Miss MBGN Universe; Guy Murray-Bruce, President, Silverbird Entertainment; Adeze Igwe MBGN 2008 and Glory Chukwu MBGN 2009 moments after the Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria pageant

What do you guys think of our new beauty queen?
Will get pictures from the pageant later...

Meanwhile here's good news for all Lagbaja fans
LAGBAJA BACK WITH NEW ALBUM! - Ayeni the Great
LAGBAJA TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM BY MONTH-END!

We’ve been waiting for long. We’ve been wondering un-end. We’ve worried till we’re weary – when will we lay our hands on another Lagbaja album? When will the masked musician and his band bless fans with another body of work? This year? Next year? Or the year after the next?
Well, we can all now heave a sigh of relief, because Lagbaja has confirmed that a new album – the first since his 2005 release Africano – is ready, and about to hit the streets.

According to a statement released by his publicist Ayeni Adekunle on Monday April 6, the new album, which comes in two CDs, will be officially released in Nigeria before the end of April.
‘‘I’m glad to tell you, brothers and sisters, that our new album is ready’’, Lagbaja said in Lagos this week. ‘‘The world is going through different challenges right now, but the journey continues. We’ll continue to make good music and preach the gospel of Africa to the rest of the world’’.
Lagbaja’s eponymous debut album was released to national acclaim in 1993.
He followed with Cest Un African Thing in 1996, and in 2000 he did what was hitherto thought impossible when he dropped a three-in-one album titled ME, WE and ABAMI respectively. The simultaneous three-part release further enriched his repertoire of hits and timeless pieces, endeared him to even more critics, and won him a million-and-one converts.
His most recent album – Africano… the mother of groove- was released to critical acclaim in 2005.
Once again, Lagbaja is releasing more than once album simultaneously. ‘‘We have two CDs coming out this time. Our fans deserve it, especially having waited for this long’’, He said. A third, the long-anticipated Africano Party (now remixed) will follow later in the year.
Further details concerning the upcoming album, including dates and track listings, will be communicated within the next 72 hours.
MORE DETAILS COMING SOON
For more information, please visit http://www.lagbaja.com/ or email: ayeni@ayenithegreat.org

JIMMY JATT’S BATTLE FIELD KICKS OFF

Its April already, the month DJ Jimmy Jatt’s battle field is expected to commence, and there is no how he is not staying true to his word.

‘‘The preliminary for Battlefield is kicking off this month, at the end of which we hope to discover new rappers, dancers and DJs’. He says

Remember how he hit our TV screens with Jimmy’s Jump Off, and how he released ‘The Definition’- a mix tape which featured a number of up and coming acts ‘I just want to do what I love to do the most which is give a lot of gifted and talented people a platform to express themselves, and that is exactly what battle field is all about’ he explains

Expected to debut in a matter of days, Battlefield will take a whole new dimension from the usual reality shows on TV. Jimmy Jatt says- ‘It is not really a reality show; it is more like a contest. It is called Battlefield. It is my own way of trying to discover new sets of DJs. We should be grooming DJs, rappers and dancers regularly. I have been around for a while and I have moved around a lot. I have realized that most talent hunt shows here are all about singers, but we should understand that just the same way we have a whole lot of young people who want to sing; we also have a whole lot of young people who want to rap and dance and become DJs’

The auditions kicks off in Lagos on April 15, 2009 at The place, GRA, Ikeja.and it starts with the DJ battle, while in May, it will be ‘rap battle’, and then in June, it will be the ‘Dance battle’. ‘We do different competitions every month and a winner emerges to qualify for the grand finale at the end of the year. Anybody that wins in each month gets between N200, 000 and N400, 000. For the grand finale, we have for the winner one million naira, a brand new car and a state-of-the-art DJ equipment’ he says
Later...

Sunday, April 5, 2009

Linda at ModeMen Black Night3

Wow, I had the most amazing time last night. Modemen Magazine Black Night 3 was a blast. From Muson Centre venue of the event, we went to Auto Lounge for the after party, stayed there for about an hour then went to Coconut groove, stayed there for about an hour then finally went to Insomnia, venue for American singer, Lloyd's performance, but we left before the show really started. Going to all these places was exhausting, but all in all, I had fun.

Check out pictures from my fun Night

This is how I dressed up from my house ... sweet, innocent Linda...lol
You should see what I turned into when I got to my sister's house...

I don't look that bad without make-up do I?
No, I don't... (Sorry I answered that myself -:))

I went to the event with my long time friend and top model, Andy Ogbechi, Oteri Agboro who works with me and my lil sis and best friend, Sandra

That's all of us before we got dressed

And that's us after

Is my dress hot or is my dress hot? lol

Oteri Agboro before

Oteri after
Oteri has been with my company since inception

Andy Ogbechi before

Andy after
Andy has been a top model in Nigeria for the past 20yrs. Yes, I said 20yrs. He's one of the old timers, still actively involved in the industry.
He was clothed by Clothesence

My lil sis, Sandra Ikeji before

Sandra after

Linda before

Linda after
My dress is from Rukkies Boutique

And here’s the back of the dress

Yeah I know... those legs eh? lol

I'm such a queen...

Here's Andy taking care of my legs (Oiling it)

And that's Oteri doing my hair

With Andy and that cute purse...;)

With Sandra

At the venue
With Zakky Adzay

With Andy and Awele Halim

With the guys and incredibly talented designer, Alvince of Alvince Couture

With Austin (Marketing director Modemen), Andy, Abubakar Tafawa Balewa (Publisher, Mode Men Magazine) and Oteri

With Sandra, Andy and Model/Jazz singer, Toba Gold

And that my people... is a wrap
So what do you guys think? Am I fine or am I fine? -:)
And please tell me my shoe's on point this time...lol

Saturday, April 4, 2009

Naija Entertainment News

Let's do Naija Ent. News while waiting for my killer dress...lol

Enjoy!
Let's start with this very sad news about Majek Fashek...
Majek Fashek lives in penury, now begs to survive - Azuh Arinze (Encomium)
The rainmaker, Majek Fashek is having a serious duel with poverty. The music icon who once dominated the music scene, now begs on the street to survive. Those who live in Anthony Village, lagos, regularly see him doing that. Even some school children and neighbourhood kids now 'dash' him money to sing for them, which he gladly obliges. Squatting at Diamond Hotel, where he is sometimes seen sleeping at the reception, Majek has aged considerably and is now a shadow of his old self.
Sad.

Dbanj and HiTV Collaborate - Abiola Alaba (Encomium)
Dbanj and Nigeria's second cable network owned by Toyin Subair, HiTV, are both collaborating on a top reality show to be called Koko Mansion.

The show is said to take after another highly successful American one called Flavour of Love which features one of the top rap stars of the 80's, Flavour Flav of the Public Enemy fame. The show brings in a no. of ladies to Flavours mansion over a period of time, and they go through a lot of games and test for the love of Flav.
The lucky and last lady standing becomes the love of his life for a while. The whole scenario of Koko Mansion is not yet clear, but plans are already on the way for the reality show. So kokolets will be fighting for his attention?
LOL, let's see what that will look like.

Tunde and Wunmi Obe working on something new - Azuh Arinze
Celebrated showbiz couple, Tunde and Wunmi Obe are about wrapping up work on another hit album. They worked with the likes of I.D Cabasa, Rhymzo and other talented producers to put the album together. More on the album later.

True Love Nigeria changes hands - Abiola Alaba
A new era is being ushered in at the fantastic Lifestyle Magazine, True Love, where Bola Atta is the editor. Effective from March 1, 09, a change of baton came into effect as ownership shifted from parent company, Media 27 to Flair Production, a company owned by Bola Attah herself. True Love is said to have the highest circulation in West Africa.

Lord of Ajasa marries
Lord of Ajasa recently married his pregnant girlfriend. He tied the knots with his partner, Olufunmilayo Kasali at the Ikeja Local government registry, in Lagos on Saturday March 21.
Congrats to them

Fire guts Charles O'Tudor's home - Azuh Arinze
Adstrat BMC boss, Charles O'Tudor, had a terrible fire incident to contend with on Monday 23 09 at his Lagos home. Though no life was lost, the fire snatched one of his pitbulls as well as did extensive damage to his boys quarters and some household items.

De-United Foods boots out 255 staffers - Shade Wesley Metibogun (Encomium)
Foremost manufacturer of Indomie Noodles, De-United Food Industry has eased out all of 255 staffers from it's workforce. Interestingly, the management is justifying the act on the premise that it wants to reposition the company for the challenges ahead and also to cope with the global economic meltdown. Those affected were senior and junior staffers in Lagos and Port Harcourt branches of the company. To be precise, 55 senior staff and 200 junior staff were booted out. Names of those affected were issued with retrenchment letters, a cheque and at least seven cartons of Indomie Noodles as compensation.

25 new branches from Intercontinental Bank
A total of 25 new branches were added to Intercontinental Bank's network recently bringing the number of it's branches to 367. the new branches were among the 70 the bank plans to roll out in the first half of this year to deepen it's reach to customers.

Wande Coal's album launch
Flytime Promotions and RhythmFM in conjunction with Mohits Records presents Wande Coal Live, the official album launch. From Mushin to Mohits.
Venue: Expo center
Host: Dbanj
Co-host: Funke Akindele and IK
Date: 12th of April
Gatefee: N5, 000