Arrested Development
Entertainment, Fashion, Inspiration, Lifestyle, News, Photos... and yes Gossip! *wink*
Arrested Development
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 9:21 PM 29 comments
I was inspired to do this when a friend (The one who got the 3mil engagement ring) told me she was having her honey moon somewhere in Africa. She's been to Europe severally and wanted to explore Africa...for her honeymoon.
Before I marry any man, I'll ask him, "Where are we going for our honeymoon?" If he says Africa, I'm...
Well moving on...here are some beautiful places you can travel to in Africa..

Zambia
Botswana
Indian Ocean
Namibia

Tanzania
Zambia
Botswana

Posted by Linda Ikeji at 8:55 AM 9 comments
If your partner threatens to kill you if you ever left them, what would you do?
Share your thoughts.
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 8:40 AM 11 comments
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 8:37 AM 2 comments

Obiwon: "I never expected to win. I feel like locking my voice in a box"
New music sensation Konga who had his very popular song and video banned some months ago due to it's raw lyrics, got good news some days ago as the Nigeria Broadcasting Corporation has unbanned his song and video. NBC says it can go back on air on the condition that he removes certain scenes from the video. Good for him.

The latest female singing group in town is called ICE FOUR. Comprising of Sandra, Oyinda, Vera and Sola. Ice Four was discovered and are being managed by Media Solutions and their single which is making waves is called 'Bounce'. Talent and beauty =...? More grease to their elbows lol
Ragga sensation, Marvelous Benjy fought on the plane...read his interview about the fight
Why did you fight in the airline?
MB "It was the fault of the airline. They kept everybody in confusion, some people were fainting. I am an African man. Somebody tore my shirt because I was trying to stop him from making trouble with aircraft officials. I am an African man and I don't think I have the power to control anger. For tearing my clothes, I had to hit him back at least to correct him that next time you don't tear people's clothes"
Didn't you think of your status before fighting?
MB "Sometimes it becomes so hard to control your emotions"
Will you say you regret your action ?
MB "Of course. It gives a different impression about you. People don't want to know what happened, all they want to know is that you fought to resolve an issue, which is not professional"
Please share your thoughts, especially on the NAFDAC/Dangote issue.
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 6:03 PM 15 comments

This month marks the 3rd anniversary of African Music legend, Brenda Fassie's death. I am a big fan of her music and thought to remember her on the same month she died three years ago.
Brenda was born on Nov 3 1964 in Langa, Cape Town, South Africa, as the youngest of 9 children. She was named after Brenda Lee, an American country singer. Her father died when she was 2, and with the help of her mother, a pianist, she started earning money by singing for tourists.
In 1981, at the age of 16, she left Cape Town for Soweto, Johannesburg to seek her fortune as a singer. Brenda first joined the group Joy and later became the lead singer for the township pop group Brenda And The Big Dudes. She had a son, Bongani, in 1985 by a fellow Big Dudes musician.
Brenda married ex-convict Nhlanhla Mbambo in 1989 but later in 1991 got divorced. It was around this time that she became addicted to cocaine and her career suffered.

Posted by Linda Ikeji at 8:19 AM 9 comments
President - Yar'Adua
Umaru Musa Yar'Adua was born in Katsina 1951. He served as governor of Katsina State in northern Nigeria between May 29, 1999 and May 28, 2007 .
His first employment was at Holy Child College in Lagos (1975-1976). He later served as a lecturer at the Katsina College of Arts, Science and Technology in Zaria between 1976 and 1979. In 1979 he began working as a lecturer at Katsina Polytechnic, remaining in this position until 1983, when he began working in the corporate sector
Goodluck Ebele Jonathan was born in 1957. He holds a Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) Honours in Zoology with a Second class (HONS) Upper division, an M.Sc. in Hydrobiology/Fisheries biology and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Zoology from University of Port Harcourt respectively
In December 2006, Jonathan was selected as vice presidential running mate to Umaru Yar'Adua for the ruling PDP presidential ticket in the April 2007 elections.
Miss Universe held yesterday May 28th and surprising an Asian woman won...a Beautiful Asian woman...Miss Japan
Miss Japan, Riyo Mori, as MISS UNIVERSE 2007
The judging panel for the 2007 Miss Universe Pageant included....
NBC's "Heroes" James Kyson Lee
NBC's "Deal or No Deal" briefcase model Lindsay Clubine
Dallas Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo
Rocker Dave Navarro
World and Olympic figure skating champion Michelle Kwan
Fashion designer Marc Bouwer
Novela Star Mauricio Islas
"Project Runway" judge and Elle magazine fashion director Nina Garcia, and
Former Miss Universes Dayanara Torres (1993) and Christiane Martel (1953).
Throughout the two-hour event, contestants from 77 countries around the world competed in three categories: swimsuit; evening gown; and personality interview.
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 5:20 PM 8 comments
John Fashanu scandal
There has been a lot of 'talk talk' in Naija that former soccer
star and UN Ambassador John Fashanu got involved in a shady deal with some business partners who later granted interviews speaking ill of John, they basically said Fash the cash deceived them into parting with a lot of cash for a Tyre Protector business deal...long story...
"You won't believe this, they went as far as telling lies against me to Paul Butterworth (Owner of the Tyre protector). Their paln was to make me loose the franchise but they didn't succeed now they are going to media houses telling lies about me"Will she quit acting?
"No! Never! I liken what I'm doing with now with the case of Esther in the bible. God positioned me in the bible for a purpose and the purpose is for the upliftment of the gospel. I'm still going to practice but it is going to be structured to give the gospel of Christ enough room to go around.
On opening her own church"I haven't received any revelation yet that I should pastor a church. So all I do now is just go around and win souls for God"
Her experiences
"Things changed for me in 2004. So, I stopped doing things that I used to do before. That was when the holy spirit decided to get my attention. This was when I started experiencing near-death experiences , like the robbery, tanker accident, my second daughter's hospitalisation, but God took me out of that"Posted by Linda Ikeji at 3:09 PM 15 comments
I totally agree with awards. Awards that make sense and has a purpose. People who work hard deserve to be appreciated and honoured...so let the awards keep coming.
One award that just came to my notice is the Nigerian Entertainment Award put together by an organisation in the US.
The event which is scheduled for July 21st is it's second show and the nominees, people in the music, fashion, sports, and movie industry have already been announced...
Here are the nominees for the best fashion designer and comedian
In the film category
Best Actress nominees
Stella Damascus for "Dangerous Twins"
Chioma Chukwuka for "Eagles Bride"
Rita Dominic for "Girls Cot"
Ini Edo for "Kingdom Apart"
Omotola for "Sounds of Silence."
Best Actor nominees
Nkem Owoh for "Osoufia in London"
Olu Jacobs for "Eagles Pride"
Kanayo O. Kanayo for "Desperate Billionaire"
Desmond Elliot for "Games Women Play"
Ramsy Nouah for "Dangerous Twins".
Nominees for best international single and album of the year...
My money is on Lemar and Chamillionaire
Other Nominees are...
Athlete of the Year
Emeka Okafor - Basketball - Charlotte Bobcats (he should win)
Obafemi Martins - Football - Newcastle United
Samuel Peters - Heavy Weight Boxer
Oguchi Onyewu - US Soccer
Ovie Mughelli - Baltimore Ravens
The venue for the event is the Skirball Performing Center in New York City. The Skirball Performing Center is known for its world class theatrical productions.
U.S. residents can vote for their favorite artists at www.nigeriaentawards.com and Nigeria residents can vote via SMS Text Voting. Voting begins on Tuesday May 15th, 2007. Winners will be announced this summer at the Award ceremony on July 21st 2007 at the Skirball Center for Performing Arts, NYU in New York City.
That's it! I hope it's a successful show
Here's a picture of me and Tayo of www.tayoodukoya.com. We met at the finale of Idol WA, at Planet One, Lagos. My first blogger friend. Next is Mrs Somebody...
So what you say, what you say, what you say?
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 9:21 AM 7 comments

Posted by Linda Ikeji at 3:17 PM 4 comments
Happy Children's day! Those of you who have children, please do take good care of them as they are gifts from God!
Tommorrow 28th May is the Miss Universe Pageant, which will hold in Mexico city, I'll post pictures from the pageant for y'all to see. Meanwhile, here are pictures of Nigeria's rep Ibinabo Johnson...
In her swimwear. I don't like her look in this picture
In her evening wear
In her traditional costume...Does she stand a chance? Not to win of course...just to be in the top ten?
Here also are behind the scene pix of the contestants...

Madam Tussauds just created life size replica's of orlando Bloom and Johnny Depp...the resemblance is uncanny
Introducing new kid on the block. 17 year old Lil Mama. I havent heard any of her songs but I hear she's hot!

Eve was arrested for DUI and sent straight to jail. Lindsay Lohan did same and she was asked to pay a fine. It must be great being a white celebrity...
Rumour has it that actress Kerry Washington is gay. Anyone know if that is true?
Also, Mario Winans is said to be dating Cassie. Perfect match I think. He seems like a pretty decent guy
Kerry Washington's dress is-------?
Beyonce looks-----?Posted by Linda Ikeji at 8:33 AM 9 comments
Timi wooooooon! I'm so happy it's crazy.
I was there live and direct and jumped up and down like a mad woman when he was announced as the winner of the first ever Idol West Africa.
A well deserved win I might add.
Here's the profile of the Idol West Africa 2007 winner...TIMI
Full Name: Timi Dakolo
Place of Origin: Bayelsa State, Nigeria
Star Sign: CapricornMarital Status: Single
Educational Qualification: Senior Secondary School Certificate
Favourite Songs: ‘Dance With My Father’ by Luther Vandross
Favourite Artistes: Lemar, Micheal Bolton
Role Model: Lemar
Hobbies: Singing and Reading
Why did you enter Idols West Africa? Because I can write songs and sing effortlessly
Where did you get your music skill from? Grandma
If there's any justice in the world - Lemar
Stuck on you - Lionel Richie
Everything I do, I do it for you - Bryan Adams
Faith - George Michael
Give me the night - George Benson
Flying without wings - Westlife
How am I supposed to live without you - Michael Bolton
Oruka - Sunny Neji
Don't let the sun go down on me - Elton John/George Michael
Ain't no mountain high enough - Diana Ross
Dance with my father - Luther Vandross
Must have been love - Roxette
"Dreams: looking at how far I have made it, I can't believe I made it through all the stages and phases of the competition and all the experiences have just been good, and sometimes bad. I wish my grandma was around most of all to see what has become of her favorite grand son.I have dreams and I know the living God will make them come true. Thanks for all your love cuz without u all I can't be the Timi Dakolo I am.In the famous words of Martin Luther King, "I HAVE A DREAM THAT ONE DAY"… "
Timi went home with a 26inch flat screen LG TV, DSTV dish with 3 months free subscription, 10 thousand dollars cash, Kia Picanto, and a recording contract with Sony BMG.
This is just the beginning of great things to happen to TIMI. I hope his talents and humility take him to the top where he belongs. May God be with him every step of the way...amen!
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 12:21 PM 12 comments
I heard a song some days ago titled 'Gonna make it', but the band that sang the song was unfamiliar to me. But when I love or have been moved by something, I go digging to find out all I can about it.
So I introduce to y'all, one of the biggest Nigerian boy bands in the UK, FOUR KORNERZ.
The band is made up of four brothers: Deji (27), TJ (25), Vidal (23) and Daniel (21) who combined stunning vocals with a fresh approach to music production.
Their debut single “Clap Clap”, gained rave reviews from across the music sector including Blues & Soul, Touch, I-DJ, Cross Rhythms, Live Listings and DJ Mag who gave the single five stars “one of the most incisive and irresistible soul/r&bers around”. The single also went on to receive Record of the Week at both UK leading urban stations Choice FM and BBC 1Xtra.
The Soulful House remix gained top five positions on various international House charts including Faize and TMP. The single also received generous rotation in key international territories like Nigeria, Canada, Germany and Kenya.

Posted by Linda Ikeji at 3:32 PM 5 comments
Chief Osita Osadebe passes on
It just came to my notice that one of Nigeria's greatest High life artiste ever, Chief Osita Osadebe is dead. He died on Friday May 11 2007 at the St Mary's Hospital, Hartford, United States from complications arising from Bronchitis at the age of 71
Chief Osadebe was born in 1936 in Umuekeke village in Atani, Ogbaru LGA, in Anambra State. He started music as a chorister in the church. He began his music career in 1956 by joining the Empire Rhythm Skies band. He later went on to start his own band Osita Osadebe and His Nigeria Sound Makers International, creating beautiful songs mostly sang in Igbo language.
His popular songs include 'Osondi Owendi', 'Nke Onye Diliya' 'Makoyo'
He was married to several wives and is said to have over 20 children . May his soul rest in peace
D banj's Koko Clothing Line
I just heard that Ghana Music Award 'African Music Act of the Year' and Koko master, D banj, has started his clothing line, KOKO Wears.
His clothing line will also be involved in the making and designing of accessories of different types.
Other Nigerian artistes who claim to have a clothing line include Ruggedman' Rugged Wears, Sasha's Eclectic and Sound Sultan. Let's see what happens to Koko wears.
Miss Galaxy International Beauty Pageant West africa 2007
It also just came to my notice that the above mentioned beauty pageant is going to hold tommorow Friday 25th May 2007 at The Civic Centre, Ozumba Mbadiwe, V/Island @ 4: 00 prompt.
Star Prize
~ Toyota Corolla
~ Cash N500, 000
~ One year modeling contract in America
1st Runner up~ N250, 0002nd Runner up~ N150, 000
Those of you in Naija who want to attend, for ticket reservation call ~ 08026536591
Jay Jay Okocha's Restaurant 
Ace footballer and former Super Eagles captain, Austin 'Jay jay' Okocha will officially open his much talked about restaurant and bar soon. The restaurant is situated on Saka Tinubu Street, Victoria Island and will be ran by his very beautiful wife, Nkechi.
Jerry Rawlings to visit Niteshift Coliseum
Former Ghanaian president, Jerry Rawlings is expected to pay a visit to the Grand House Reception, a high profile interactive session created by Ken Calebs Olumese, the owner of one of Africa's biggest nightclubs Nightshift Coliseum, before the end of june 2007.
Grand House Reception has played host of a Vice president, Senate president and several Governors.
Joan Okorodudu's 'Nigeria's Next Super Model'
Former beauty queen and the designer behind House of J'ola clothing label, Joan Okorodudu, has collaborated with National Lotto, owners of National Sports Lottery, in staging a modeling competion which they call Nigeria's Next top Super Model. Hmmmm!
The zoning of the screening of the competition has been set for Abuja, Lagos, Benin, Enugu and Port Harcourt.
The winner will go home with N1.2 million and a Kia Picanto. And is billed to hold in September 2007
So if you think you have what it takes to be a top super model, go pick your form from any branch of Spring Bank nationwide.
Dele Momodu Looses Mum 
Ovation publisher, Chief Dele Momodu, on Friday May 18th 2007, lost his mum, Madam Gladys Arike Momodu. She was aged 84. May her soul rest in peace
Jimmy Jatt's Jump Off
Nigeria's no 1 DJ, DJ Jimmy Jatt, will tomorrow Friday May 25th 2007, present his 'Jump Off' to his fans. Jimmy's Jump Off is a video mix party designed to deliver the ultimate audio-visual to party goers. It's all about a venue with suspended screens, lighting effects and an elevated dance platform. The videos being played by Jimmy will be projected on a suspended screen...
gate fee: regular N2, 000, VIP N5, 000
Miss Earth Nigeria 2007
Forms @ N10, 000 available at Miss Earth Headquarters, no 15, Oheato Street, D/line, Port Harcourt, Rivista, 134, Awolowo Rd Ikoyi, Lagos.
No's to call: 08023539154, 08033427285
website http://www.missearthnigeria.com/
That's all the gist I have for y'all for now. Have anything to say? Holla
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 11:59 AM 16 comments
Idol WA Eric Arubayi quotePosted by Linda Ikeji at 5:34 PM 6 comments
Diamond
Gold Plated Diamond
Platinum
White Gold
Aquamarine

Posted by Linda Ikeji at 8:10 PM 18 comments
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 1:40 PM 17 comments
This weekend I watched a movie called 'The Freedom Writers'. This movie moved me to tears. It's a true life story of how one woman, a teacher, changed the lives of her rebellious students, lending a sympathetic ear, giving them hope, empowering them, buying them books to help with their struggles and making them take a second chance in life to better themselves.
It's one of the most touching stories I have ever come across. It took one woman's courage, strength and love to make a difference in the lives of young people who hated themselves, each other, and had given up on life...until she came into their lives...
Please read their story...
The true story behind The Freedom Writers Diary began in the fall of 1994, at Woodrow Wilson High School in Long Beach, California, when an idealistic twenty-three-year-old high school teacher, Erin Gruwell, faced her first group of high-risk teenagers.
These teens, a diverse mix of students from some of the roughest neighborhoods in Long Beach, soon made it apparent to the young teacher that they were not interested in learning a lot of facts that wouldn’t help them survive their own life situations.
Fortunately, however, for all concerned, a monumental event occurred when Ms Gruwell found a caricature of an Afro-American student and was able to turn the situation into a character building session comparing the found picture which those caricatures drawn of the Jews during the Holocaust.
As the session progressed, many of the students began to reveal their personal anger and prejudices, as well as, their own tales of abuse including the battle scars that they had received in their own war of survival.
Erin Gruwell took on two other jobs to enable her buy books for her students who had been denied school books and access to the library...she took them on trips outside long beach, showed them a world outside what they were used, a world that was all theirs if they wanted it.
She bought each of them jotters and asked them to make an entry each day. She wanted them to write about their past experiences, their daily struggles, their anger, pain, worries, what they want for their future...
For many of the students Ms. Gruwell’s methods and educational philosophy was their first exposure to an adult that encouraged them to view diversity as a chance to learn about other cultures, to shatter old stereotypes and to change their lives for the better by ridding themselves of bigotry and preconceived opinions about themselves and others.
As they progressed from freshman to seniors under her tutorage, the students found themselves and their attitudes towards each other and learning changing to such a point that they all united dubbing themselves the Freedom Writers in honor of the original Freedom Riders involved in the Civil Rights Movement.
The book itself contains the unbelievably sad, yet quite graphic, and possibly too adult accounts of these student’s lives presented in the form of 150 personal diary accounts. Throughout their diaries, these young men and women graphically describe what they have experienced including detailed accounts of both sexual and physical abuse; explicit street language; and extreme violence.
Read the student's own word's...
Following the Rodney King Riots and the O.J. Simpson trial, the mood in our city was unsettling, and on our first day of high school, we had only three things in common: we hated school, we hated our teacher, and we hated each other.
Whether it was official or not, we all knew that we had been written off. Low test scores, juvenile hall, alienation, and racial hostility helped us fit the labels the educational system placed on us: “unteachable,” “below average,” and “delinquents.”
Somehow, Ms. G (Erin Gruwell) recognized our similarities, and used them to unite us. She gave us books written by teenagers that we could relate to, and it was through these books that we began to realize that if we could relate to a little girl who lived on the other side the world, fifty years before we did, we could certainly relate to each other.
We felt like Anne Frank, trapped in a cage, and identified with the violence in Zlata Filipovic's life. We were so inspired by the stories of Anne and Zlata, that we wrote letters to Miep Gies, and to Zlata, in hopes that they would come to Long Beach and share their stories with us. When Miep visited us, she challenged us to keep Anne's memory alive and “passed the baton” to us.
The students of room 203
It was then that we decided to begin chronicling our lives. We began writing anonymous journal entries about the adversities that we faced in our every day lives.
We wrote about gangs, immigration, drugs, violence, abuse, death, anorexia, dyslexia, teenage love, weight issues, divorce, suicide, and all the other issues we never had the chance to express before. We discovered that writing is a powerful form of self expression that could help us deal with our past and move forward.
Room 203 was like Anne's attic or Zlata's basement, it was our safe haven, where we could cry, laugh, and share our stories without being judged. We decided to call ourselves the Freedom Writers after learning about the Freedom Riders who fought against segregation during the Civil Rights Movement.
When we began writing these entries as a simple English assignment, we had no idea that they would one day be collected and published in a book, The Freedom Writers Diary.
Since graduation, we have kept our promise of trying to change education. We are pursuing our undergraduate and graduate degrees, many of us at California State University, Long Beach, while continuing to share our story and mentor students across the country about what it's like to receive a second chance.
We have created this website because we want to form a community like the one we formed in Room 203, where people feel safe, accepted, and understood. We hope that The Freedom Writers Diary will inspire you to succeed academically, change your community, and share your own story.
The hero, Erin Gruwell
Read about her...
Nothing could have prepared Erin Gruwell for her first day of teaching at Wilson High School in Long Beach, Calif.
A recent college graduate, Erin landed her first job in Room 203, only to discover many of her students had been written off by the education system and deemed “unteachable.” As teenagers living in a racially divided urban community, they were already hardened by first-hand exposure to gang violence, juvenile detention, and drugs.
Enter Erin Gruwell. By fostering an educational philosophy that valued and promoted diversity, she transformed her students’ lives. She encouraged them to rethink rigid beliefs about themselves and others, to reconsider daily decisions, and to rechart their futures.
With Erin’s steadfast support, her students shattered stereotypes to become critical thinkers, aspiring college students, and citizens for change. They even dubbed themselves the “Freedom Writers” — in homage to civil rights activists “The Freedom Riders” — and published a book.
Through poignant student entries and Erin’s narrative text, the book chronicles their “eye-opening, spirit-raising odyssey against intolerance and misunderstanding.”
Currently, Erin serves as president of the Freedom Writers Foundation. She raises awareness by traveling nationwide to speak inside large corporations, government institutions, and community associations.
But Erin’s capacity to convert apathy to action matters most at schools and juvenile halls, where any observer can watch the expressions of troubled teens shift from guarded cynicism to unabashed hopefulness.
Erin and her students have appeared on numerous television shows, including Oprah, The Rosie O’Donnell Show, Prime Time Live with Connie Chung, Barbara Walters’ The View, Good Morning America, and CSPAN’s Book TV.
Her class has been featured on National Public Radio and in national newspapers and People magazine.
Paramount Pictures released "Freedom Writers" in January 2007, a film based on this remarkable story featuring Hilary Swank as Erin.
Erin is a graduate of the University of California, Irvine, where she received the Lauds and Laurels Distinguished Alumni Award. She earned her Master’s Degree and teaching credentials from California State University, Long Beach, where she was honored as Distinguished Alumna by the School of Education.
The Movie. Featuring Hilary Swank, Patrick Dempsey, Mario
Some members of the Freedom Writers now.
The book Freedom Writers Diary, was published in 1999.
For more info on these remarkable people, go to their website...www.freedomwritersfoundation.org.
I always say, you don't have to be a phenomenon to do phenomenal things, all you have to be is someone who cares and wants to make a difference..
To Erin Gruwell and everyone who has made a difference in the lives of others, may God continue to strenghten you.
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 11:08 AM 8 comments
The 2007 Nigerian Music Awards was held on Saturday May 19th in Abuja and here are some of the results...some of them are quite annoying...check it out...
Song of the Decade
African Queen - Tuface Idibia (This I can live with. But my song of the decade is Paul Play's Moso rire...I don't think any other song made as much impact as that song did...ok maybe African Queen did...no qualms)
Best Male Voice of the Decade
Obiwon (NMA Obiwon? Plssssssss! That should have been given to 2face, Sunny Neji or even...? Who do you think?)
Artiste of the Decade
Sunny Neji (Maybe...or better yet 2face? Femi Kuti? African China?)
Producer of the Decade
Cobhams (Totally agree. This guy is 100% blind, but pls he has the best mixes ever, Congrats to him)
Best New Female Artiste of the Decade
Wierd MC (No contest!)
Most Admired Female Artiste of the Decade
Yinka Davies (I admire her sha)
Best Video of the Decade
Olori Oko - Infinity (Hmmmmm...its a nice video, but I've seen more exciting ones)
Lifetime Achievement Award
Onyeka Onwenu (Definitely)
Chris Okotie (Huh?)
Post Humous Award
Fela Anikulapo Kuti
When I get more results I'll let y'all see it. Meanwhile which do YOU agree and do not agree with?
And what's with 'Decade'? What happened to 'Year'. Only in Nigeria sha...
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 8:08 AM 15 comments
In the past few months, most of the songs making waves have been from new Naija artistes. Songs like Morachi's 'Hapuya like dat', Sanchez's 'Pick it up', Stereoman's 'Ekwe'. Beautiful songs from relatively unknown artistes. These guys are blowing our old artistes out of the water...
As a mark of appreciation, I'd like to introduce some of them to y'all. Some, you might have heard about, some, you might not know but be rest assured that these guys and girls are very talented and putting out Naija's 'Baddest' hits at the moment.
Here they are...

Artiste: Morachi
Genre of Music: Hip Hop
Popular Song: Hapuya Like that (Leave it like that)
Artiste: 9ice
Artiste: Nigga Raw
Popular Song: Obodo
Artiste: Laura Ikeji
Popular Song: Get Down
That by the way is my younger sis. Fantastic rapper and dancer. Laura will give Ciara a run for her money anyday...for real. You should see her on the dancefloor...incredible! I used to think I could dance...but put me to shame lol. She will put alot of professional dancers to shame...
Anyway, there you have it. Some of Naija new artistes making waves. I know I missed a lot of names, can't know them all, so please feel free to send names of new artistes in Naija who are blowing people away with their songs.
Meanwhile, I watched 'Stomp The Yard', this weekend. A dance movie that features finest black actor ever (ok since Denzel) Colombus Short, Chris Brown, Brian White and Ne yo. It's the best dance movie since 'You Got Served'. Now, I can't make up my mind which movie rocked most. In terms of story line, I'd give it to Stomp The Yard. And in terms of dance sequence, I'll give it to You Got Served. Over all? I can't decide. Those of you who have seen both movies...what do you think? You haven't seen any yet? Go check it out!
Let's know other Naija new artistes making waves.
All pix, thanks to Purefoto.
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 7:20 AM 15 comments
I haven't blogged since Thursday, which is unlike me, right? Well, I was too busy enjoying myself this weekend. And every time I tried to go near the computer. HE said, step away from there...I ain't sharing you this weekend. So I just got to obey...no regrets though...I had the best time ever this weekend. Did some couple stuff I'd never done before...
I did miss posting and reading your comments but between that and this? Plsssssssssss...it was too good o...I wouldn't trade it for the beautiful time I had this weekend, even though I almost got in an accident...
Anyway, moving on...I'd like to talk about my last post. Du'a Khalil, the 17 year old girl beaten to death for falling in love with the wrong tribe. It's one of the most painful things I have ever heard and seen. If I hadn't seen those pictures I probably would not have believed such a thing could happen...not even in Iraq.
I'm so bitter about this girls death, all I've been thinking about since I read the story and saw the video on CNN is the pain she must have been going through as they beat, kicked, and stoned her to death. I wonder about the fear, the begging, she was looking into their eyes and asking for forgiveness, asking for another chance to live and be someone, but her attackers saw her as another animal that didn't deserve that chance.
As I looked at those beating this young girl with the intention of killing her, I wondered what kind of hearts they had...Don't they have human feelings? Sympathy? No forgiving spirit? Don't they wonder what if that was me? Wouldn't I want to be forgiven? Couldn't they have tried to imagine the pain the girl must have been going through?
I kept calling her killers all kinds of names, saying an act like that could only happen in a country like that until my sister brought to my attention that something similar did happen in our own country, Nigeria, something as barbaric, if not more...
In 2005, an 11 year old boy was shown on television accused of trying to steal a child. The child's mother said she noticed the boy was making a move to carry her child out from her compound. Her shouts attracted a mob who surrounded the boy. He was questioned for hours and all they could get out of him was that his name was Samuel. He did eventually tell them where he lived but when the mob got there, the woman he pointed as his mother denied knowing him, everyone in the community said they had never seen him before.
The mob then agreed that 11year Samuel was a wizard who turned into a little boy to kidnap children. They decided to set him on fire. Someone brought tyres, another person brought kerosene, another, match sticks, all getting ready to set a young boy on fire, this was after beating the life out of him.
How many of you would believe his mob actually did carry out this act. Samuel was lynched while some police men stood aside and watched until he burnt to death. The worse part of it all was that before Samuel was killed Channels Television was already at the scene. They had interviewed the little boy who did nothing but cry, he couldn't tell them where he lived, who his parents were etc. That was enough to seal his fate.
Seeing all those women in the video, I thought one of them would offer to take him to the hospital (He looked sick), or take him home to feed him (He looked hungry) or take him to the police station to report him as a missing person. But none of this was done, instead, Samuel was set on fire while the press, some police men and a mob full of women stood aside and watched him turn to ashes. When I say ashes I mean ashes. This little boy burned till almost nothing remained of his body and the mob started jubilating that they had accomplished something.
This was not in Iraq, it was not in a Muslim State, this happened here in the Surulere/Stadium area of Lagos State. Not with fanatical Muslims but regular people that anyone would call sane and responsible.
I remember crying for days after seeing that lynching but I got some respite when I heard that some people who had also watched it on TV and were horrified by it had reported the case to the Commissioner of Police in Lagos State, who made a report to the Governor, who then ordered the arrest of everyone found at the scene of the crime. It was through the Channels TV camera that almost everyone who participated in killing the boy were fished out. They were all incarcerated.
Last time I heard, they are all still in prison and I hope they stay there for a long time. Who are we to take lives? We have no such rights, no matter how provoked we are. Only God has that kind of right because he's the only who gives life.
To 11 year Samuel, 17 year old Du'a Khalil, the teacher that was beaten to death by her students in Bauchi State and everyone whose lives have been taken by some inconsiderate heartless people, may you all rest in peace. May that never be our portion, and our children's portion...Amen!
Let the families of these victims take solace in knowing that there's judgement for everyone of us when we leave this earth. We will make account of everything we've ever done. These people will one day face God, and they'll explain to him why they took the beautiful lives he brought to this world.
May God forgive us.
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 7:01 AM 8 comments

Posted by Linda Ikeji at 8:16 PM 30 comments
D Banj Named African Artiste of the Year
The Ghana Music Awards which held last week, named Nigerian artiste, D Banj, African Artiste of the Year 2006. The Koko King was at the event to get his award and showed appreciation by performing to the excited crowd that couldn't seem to get enough of him. I totally agree that D' banj was last year's best artiste, but this year's best artiste is most definitely Tuface Idibia. If you haven't listened to his new album 'Grass to Grace', you need to go get yourself a copy. It's off da hook! Congrats to D' banj
Jay Z and his lady love Beyonce in a limo. I'm trying to understand their sitting position. Is B sitting away from J or is she just trying to avoid the paparazzi from taking her pix? What do you guys think?
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 7:20 PM 18 comments
Kate Henshaw Nuttall, Modenine join Soundcity TV as presenters: Nollywood top actress Kate Henshaw Nuttall and one of Naija's best rap MC's modenine have joined Naija's only 24 hours Music TV station, Soundcity, as presenters. Kate presents a segment called 'City Of Divas' where they play a variety of music videos from female artistes, while Modenine is getting ready to present a segment called 'Who Gat The Rhymes'
Also rapper 2shot and Rhythm 93.7 radio presenter turned rapper Kemistry, now present MTV Base on STV. I particularly find the duo presenting the one hour programme unnecessary and annoying. STV, you dont need presenters for MTV Base. I hope someone from there reads this...
Police stop Nike Osinowo
Rugged Man acquires a brand new Nissan Morano jeep.
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 8:36 AM 9 comments
Nollywood actress Shan George quote
On growing up and marrying young.
"I grew up in the village. Had both my primary and secondary school education there. I got married young. Normally in my village, it's a normal thing to get married at a very young age, 15, 16. I got married at 17. I am a very ambitious person. I have always wanted to be something to my society, so I opted to go to school instead and along the line I left the marriage."
On dealing with scandals
"I have a policy that everybody is entitled to their own opinion. And I always do what makes me happy. I believe that when you die, you die. You are going to face God one on one, so just do the right thing. What you feel is right in your own mind and heart because people will always criticise, no matter what you do, so why don't you feel free, be yourself and try to please God. Any other thing, dont bother about it."
On dealing with the issue of dating a younger man
"I have never been the kind of person who bothers with side talks. So, for one I'm not interested in listening. I am an advocate for happiness. Please if you're not happy where you are, get out of the place. If you bother about what people will say in anything you are doing, you will end up a very sad and lonely person. You will die just like that: Sad and lonely". I agree with you Shan!
Idol WA contestant Jerrilyn
On being evicted.
"I was expecting it. If Jodie could be evicted, who am I? I escaped eviction so many times. I don't feel bad to be out now because I gave the competition my best. Some people tried to damage my morale by saying I'm the worst performer in the house. The judges long running negative comments also further dampened my self-esteem."
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 8:22 PM 4 comments
The-man-who-loves-me and I had a small arguement this past weekend. Why did we argue? He went for his regular morning exercise...came back 2 hours later, checked around his house and there was no food to eat. He quietly went to his kitchen and made himself something (while I was on the net lol...not funny!).
I didn't know he was a little peeved until the smell of food drew my attention and I went into the kitchen to get some. He did give me food...but not after telling me he expected to come back and find food ready...I should be serving him and not the other way round. (He's always cooking for me lol...not funny!)
This got me thinking really hard. Those of us who aren't married but are in serious relationships, what exactly are our DUTIES to our BOYFRIENDS? I mean I know what a WIFE'S duties are and God knows I plan to be the best wife in the world (or in Lagos lol), but what are my duties as a girlfriend?
Is it our duty to cook, clean, and take care of our boyfriends every need? I mean it's good enough that they get free sex right? Wrong?
I'm thinking if a man wants a woman who will cook his meals, wash his clothes, clean his house, and generally clean after him, he should get himself a wife right? That's not a girlfriends duty is it?
There have been several cases where a woman will slave for a man, do all the wifely duties and the bloody man ends up marrying another woman. Wetin you suffer for?
Make a honest woman of me and get angry when I dont cook or clean for you right?
I know they say the easiest way to a man's heart is through his stomach, but has anyone ever considered the easiest way to woman's heart?...Get her a maid! lol.
But seriously shouldn't we draw the line with boyfriends and reserve our ALL for our husbands?
Maybe I'm getting this wrong...what do you think?
Meanwhile here's a wife's duty joke
A woman accompanied her husband to the doctor's office. After his checkup , the doctor called the wife into his office alone.
He told her, "Your husband is suffering from a very severe disease, combined with horrible stress . If you don't do the following , your husband will surely die...
Each morning, fix him a healthy breakfast. Be pleasant , and make sure he is in a good mood .
For lunch make him a nutritious meal.
For dinner prepare an especially nice meal for him.
Don't burden him with chores , as he probably had a hard day.
Don't discuss your problems with him, it will only make his stress worse .
And most importantly, make love with your husband several times a week and satisfy his every whim .
If you can do this for the next 10 months to a year, I think your husband will regain his health completely."
On the way home, the husband asked his wife. "What did the doctor say?"
She replied, "You're going to die"!
LM fine AO!
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 8:29 PM 42 comments
Someone I know got married this past weekend...to a footballer based in Holland. When I saw the husband and looked at the girl, I knew the union was not about love on the girl's part. She confirmed it later when she said, 'He's rich! What else am I looking for?"
So I started thinking of the many reasons people get married now adays and came up with a list of right and wrong reasons...
Here they are...
Right Reasons to get married...
You love each other sincerely and deeply.
A strong desire to share your life with one another
To have a reliable, lifetime companion.
Realistic expectations.
To bring Children into the world
A deep willingness to fulfill each other's needs and desires
Wrong reasons to get married...
For money.
Want to be free from parents.
Sex
Loneliness and desperation
Pressure
To be happy.
To be an adult.
To avoid growing up
Because of a pregnancy.
He or she loves you.
For immigration/passport/visa purposes.
What other right and wrong reasons can you give?
Here is a poem I wrote...
Lord, give me a man
At 18, I started asking God for a man
At 19, I asked for a tall, strong man
At 20, I wanted him lean and well built
At 21, I wanted a handsome, model-looking man
At 22, I wanted a romantic man
At 23, I wanted a rich executive
At 24, I wanted an intelligent man with a great mind
At 25, I got heartbroken, now I want a man who will be kind to me
At 26, I met a kind man, but he bored me, so I asked for an exciting man
At 27, I was tired of excitement and wanted a more mature, responsible man
At 28, I met a responsible man but he was too young
At 29, I wanted to settle down, looked around...no man!
Now I'm 30 lord, just send me a man...any man, no conditions...ANY MAN!
Am I a poet or what? You like or you like? LOL
BTW, Naija gists and gossip coming soon!
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 5:00 PM 20 comments
Ovation Magazine focuses mostly on celebrating African achievers. Full of colourful, exciting pictures. For more info go to www.ovationinternational.com
African Soccer Magazine, strictly about sports in Africa
New African Magazine
Mimi Magazine is a fashion and lifestyle Magazine published in South Africa. The website is www.mimimagazine.com
Djembe Magazine has been published in Denmark since the Images of Africa festival in 1992. The magazine is the main source for information for those who want to know the goings-on in the African community. (In Denmark)
True Love Magazine is a lifestyle magazine that has a South and West African editions. The Magazine is probably Africa's version of Cosmopolitan Magazine.
A monthly large-format photo journal for Africans in Europe to see what's going on in the African communities in Europe. Colourful and with focus on lots of photos. Website: http://www.colouredpictures.com/
African Courier is a bimonthly magazine published in Germany, Austria, Belgium, the Netherlands, Switzerland Denmark and Sweden. The Mag serves as a vehicle of information and communication for the community of Africans and Europeans who have an interest in the African continent, its peoples and cultures
The AFRican is a bi-monthly publication primarily serving Africans from the Diaspora as well as non-Africans who have an interest in aspects of African life. Website is: http://www.africanmag.com/
A German language magazine with a positive angle on the African continent. The magazine has existed since 1999 and covers politics, culture, sport, tourism, fashion and music. More here: http://www.africa-positive.de/
Genevieve Magazine, arguably Nigeria's best lifestyle Magazine is published monthly. Website: www.Genevievemag.comPosted by Linda Ikeji at 12:52 PM 7 comments
Van in keeping the promise.Posted by Linda Ikeji at 4:08 PM 42 comments

He's probably one of the finest black guys in the world. He's a famous model/actor, he's loaded, in his late 30's, still Tyson Beckford doesn't have a girlfriend, fuelling rumours that he's gay. If this is confirmed, it will surely break my heart. Does anyone know if this guy is gay? 
This unremorsely 15 year old who put Akon in trouble now has a page in MySpace where she claims to be nineteen and also has compromising pictures of herself. She's a preacher's daughter? This girl needs to be tamed.
Ain't it great to have a famous son? Kanye's mum just launched a book she titled 'Raising Kanye'. Knowing oyinbo's, they'll buy the book. Imagine the fame and money that will come from this...Good for her!
Usher has fired his mom as his manager. Rumor has it that Usher's 
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 1:48 PM 10 comments
I've been going through alot of blogs lately, some I leave comments, some I don't, but one thing I observed in most blogs is that alot of our bloggers have so many issues in their lives that they wish to talk about and use their blogs to reach out to others around the world, seeking advise, opinions, prayers but mostly friendship.
I felt alot of loneliness in a particular blog I went to, her posts were just so heart breaking...I wanted to leave a comment but didnt know what to say to her, so I typed on google for wise words and came across some of this words. I'd like to share them with you all.
If you are down, feeling lost, worthless, little or feeling like a failure, I hope this words give you strenght.
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 12:08 PM 2 comments
Because I Said SoStarring: Diane Keaton and Mandy Moore
The Ex
Starring: Zach Braff, Amanda Peet, Jason Bateman, Charles Grodin, Mia Farrow
The Flying Scotsman
Starring: Jonny Lee Miller, Laura Fraser, Billy Boyd
The Hip Hop Project
Starring: Chris Kazi Rolle, Diana Princess Lemon, Christopher Cannon Mapp, Russell Simmons, Bruce Willis
Starring: Chris Pine, Eddie Kaye Thomas, Jane Seymour
Away From Home
Starring: Julie Christie, Olympia Dukakis, Gordon Pinsent

Georgia Rule
Starring: Jane Fonda, Lindsay Lohan, Felicity Huffman, Dermot Mulroney
28 Weeks Later
Starring: Robert Carlyle, Rose Byrne, Jeremy Renner
Starring: Aishwarya Rai, Naveen Andrews, Miranda Richardson, Rebecca Pidgeon, Robbie Coltrane.
There's also Chris Brown's Stomp The Yard, I heard it's a great dance movie but not as 'bad' as You Got Served...Here are other movies soon to hit the theaters in the month of May/June
Bugs

Severance
Starring: Danny Dyer, Laura Harris, Tim McInnerny
Ok...go find this movies, you'll be glad you did.
Notice I've never mentioned Nigerian Home Videos on my blog? That's because I stopped watching it...a long time ago...sorry! If you want to know about the latest releases in Naija...don't bother coming here lol. I'm not a fan! But they are trying sha!
So what other new movies can you recommend to the rest of us? Do share.
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 11:25 AM 9 comments
How do you know you've found the right 'ONE'? How do you know this is the person you're meant to spend the rest of your life with?
Share your thoughts.
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 8:09 PM 10 comments

Posted by Linda Ikeji at 11:18 PM 15 comments
This is the worst conversation I have ever had in my life.
Time: 2:17 pm
Date: Thursday 11th January 2007
My phone rings...I pick it up
Linda 'Hello?'
Caller "Linda how are you? It's Mrs Adewunmi"
Linda "Hey Mrs Adewunmi, nice to hear from you, how are you?"
Caller "I'm fine. Have you heard about Kayode?"
Linda "Kayode? I spoke to him on Sunday. Why? What is it?"
Caller pauses for a few seconds, then says "Kayode passed on yesterday"
I stop breathing for a few seconds. Then I ask "What happened?"
Caller "He had an Asthma attack and didn't survive it"
The phone dropped from my hands as my whole body shook uncontrollably. I cried like I'd never cried before.
Kayode Fayemi was a journalist. Married with 5 little girls. His first daughter was just 8 years old, his last daughter just 7 weeks old.
Kayode was my publicist, confidant and best friend. Someone I knew for seven years, someone I spoke to on Sunday January 7th, someone I'd been planning to see on Saturday January 13th but he died Wednesday January 10th.
He was asthmatic, had an attack in the office, tried to use his inhaler but it didn't work. No one around him could administer CPR. He died on his way to the hospital after not being able to breath for several minutes. His wife later found out that he went to the office with the wrong inhaler...
So what's your worst conversation? Do share it with us!
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 12:59 PM 14 comments
First time I saw this extremely hot specie of a man was in Mummy Returns, didn't know he was a Nigerian, until I saw him in Bourne Identity where he spoke the yoruba language a few times.Here's basically all you need to know about Wale...
Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, a former model before turning actor, was born 22 August, 1967 to Nigerian parents, who moved to England, where he was born.
The 6 '2' hunk has four sisters and is fluent in several languages, including English, Italian, Yorùbá and Swahili
Wale holds a Master of Law from the University of London, and is said to be a practising Buddhist.
He is most famous for portraying the criminal Simon Adebisi in the HBO prison series Oz, as well as Mr. Eko on the second season of ABC's survivor drama Lost. I saw him in lost, his acting skills was incredible.
His film credits include: Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls (1995) Congo (1995)The Clairvoyant 1995
Legionnaire 1998
Luther 2001, Lip Service 2001, The Mummy Returns (2001)
The Bourne Identity (2002)
Unstoppable 2004
Get Rich or Die Tryin' (2005).
Mistress of Spices 2005
On the One 2005
Things you probably didn't know about him Went from playing Ernie Hudson's good friend, the guide Kahega to Hudson's Capt. Munro in Congo, to playing his enemy, the sociopathic Adebisi to Hudson's hard-headed Warden Glynn in Oz.
He is fluent in several languages including Italian, Yoruba, French, Swahili, and English.
Is a Buddhist and admitted that he had to chant more than usual while playing the brutal character of Majestic in GET RICH OR DIE TRYIN' (2005).
Nickname: Triple A / Wally
Once read the traditional prayer, the 23rd Psalm, before the Hawaii State Senate.
A former male fashion model.
Born on the same day as the Alice in Chains singer Layne Staley.
The meaning of his name is broken down thus: Ade- the crown, wale- has come home, Akin- warrior, nuoye- of chieftaincy, Agbaje prosperity and wealth.
He has played almost entirely African characters despite having been born and raised in England. He usually employs a deep, Nigerian timber while acting, while off-screen he has a very British, somewhat Cockney accent.
Also, both parents are dead. What I don't know is if he's married or has any kids.
Wale is an inspiration to a lot of Nigerians and I say kudos to him.
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 9:37 AM 26 comments
I got a text message from someone yesterday. It was by far the longest I've ever received...One word I read three times in this text message was 'Karma' 'Karma' 'Karma'.
I've always been curious about this word. KARMA! Alot of people seem to believe in it and it's law. THE LAW OF KARMA. What goes around, comes around.
But does Karma and it's law really exist or is it just a myth adopted centuries ago to keep people from doing evil deeds?
I've been reading alot about this word and one thing that is synonymous with it's meaning is that 'If we sow goodness, we will reap goodness; if we sow evil, we will reap evil'
'For every event that occurs, there will follow another event whose existence was caused by the first, and this second event will be pleasant or unpleasant according as its cause'.
'Karma is believed to be a sum of all that an individual has done, is currently doing and will do. And it's law is repercussion of that deed'
The advocates of this word say Karma is not about retribution, vengeance, punishment or reward; karma simply deals with what is: An extended expression or consequences of natural acts. The effects of all deeds actively create past, present and future experiences, thus making one responsible for one's own life, and the pain and joy it brings to others.
Karma is considered to be a spiritually originated law. Many people see God's direct involvement in this process, while others consider the natural laws of causation sufficient to explain the effects of karma.
I sincerely don't know if this theory has anything to do with God, maybe it does, but I have seen many occasions where people did good deeds and never had anything good happen to them. Someone said if one dies before he's been rewarded then that good deed passes onto their children or children's children. What about those who have a misfortune befall them when they didn't do anything wrong? Does it mean they are sowing what their parents of forefathers reaped? And if that is so, is that kind of law fair?
Law of Karma is almost sounding to me like 'If you work very hard, you will be successful'. This is a common saying but it's not always the case. Hard work does not guarantee success. Some people work extremely hard but don't see the fruits of their labour. That's where the word 'give up' emanated from. I remember something Richard Branson said in a book he wrote 'Success is not always about hard work, sometimes it's talent, luck, opportunities and having the right people around you'
Maybe Karma does exist, but my point is, it doesn't always happen in every situation, to everyone and in everyday life. It's not always the case.
So many people have gone unpunished for crimes they committed, just as so many people don't get rewarded for the good things they've done. If we all get punished or rewarded for something we've done, wouldn't life be a better or worse place to live?
If for instance you kill someone, does it mean you will get killed also? Or you dupe someone, will you get duped too? You train other people's children in school, when you're gone others will train your own children? You disrespect your elders, your junior ones will disrespect you? If you don't sleep with other women's husbands, no woman will sleep with yours? If you have a husband who beats you constantly, does it mean you did something in your past to warrant it? If you've slept around messed yourself up as a woman and you end up marrying a very responsible man who worships the ground you walk, and treats you like a princess, where's the karma in that? If one ends up locked up in jail for years for a crime one didn't commit, what evil deed is one reaping? India Amin lived to be 76 years old after killing thousands of youths in his country. Where was Karma?
Like I said earlier, what goes around does not always come around. Maybe karma chooses people it happens to?
Maybe I don't understand Karma very well, maybe I need to get educated. If you know more about this, share what you know and believe about karma with us.
General question, do you believe in Karma?
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 9:29 AM 10 comments
Would you confront your partner's other man/woman if you had their contact?
My husband? I probably would. Boyfriend? Maybe not. What about you?
Share your thoughts
Meanwhile Stella Dimoko Korkos's blog address is now www.stella-dimokokorkus.blogspot.com. That's the blog to visit for juicy Naija news and gossip.
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 11:47 PM 15 comments

Range Rover Sport 4.4 V8 HSE
Price: £54,500
Top speed: 130mph
Players that drive one: John Terry, Michael Ballack, Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Michael Owen (Newcastle), Jamie Carragher (Liverpool), Mark Viduka and Yakubu Aiyegbeni (Middlesbrough)
Porsche 911 Turbo
Price: £97,840
Top speed: 192mph
Players that drive one: Thierry Henry (Arsenal), George Boateng (Middlesbrough), Lee Bowyer (West Ham), Luis Garcia and Steven Gerrard (Liverpool).
Bentley Continental GT
Price: £117,500
Top speed: 198mph
Players that drive one: Nicolas Anelka (Bolton) Craig Bellamy (Liverpool), Ashley Cole and John Terry (Chelsea), Kieron Dyer (Newcastle), Rio Ferdinand, Ryan Giggs and Gary Neville (Man Utd).
Aston Martin DB9
Price: £110,000
Top speed: 186mph
Players that drive one: Steven Gerrard, Peter Crouch, Sissoko (all Liverpool), Jermain Defoe (Spurs), Ryan Giggs and Rio Ferdinand (Man Utd).
Audi Q7
Price: £37,000 - £50,000
Top speed: 160mph
Players that drive one: Michael Ballack and Ricardo Carvalho (Chelsea), Micah Richards (Man City), Titus Bramble (Newcastle), Marlon Harewood (West Ham).
Mercedes SL 65
Prize: £145,970
Top speed: 155mph
Players that drive one: Nobby Solano and Shola Ameobi (both Newcastle), Didier Drogba and Claude Makelele (Chelsea), Harry Kewell and Jermaine Pennant (Liverpool).
Mercedes ML 63 AMG
Price: £73,965
Players that drive one: El-Hadji Diouf (Bolton) Damien Duff, Shola Ameobi and Stephen Carr (Newcastle), Jermain Defoe and Jermaine Jenas (Spurs), William Gallas (Arsenal).
Players that drive one: Wayne Rooney and John O'Shea (both Man Utd), David Bentley (Blackburn), Michael Dawson (Spurs), Didier Drogba and Arjen Robben (Chelsea) and Damien Francis (Watford)
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 8:07 PM 10 comments
Caroline Ekanem delivers baby boy
Top Nollywood actress Caroline Ekanem has given birth to a baby boy for her Hausa lover, Musa Danjuma, the younger brother to General Theophilus Danjuma rtd. The stupendously rich Hausa guy is said to be in his fifties. There are talks that the man spoils her silly and is planning to marry her. I hope he does. She's a really nice, down to earth chic. Congrats to her!
Madam Kofo's gele
Madam Kofo is said to be ready to set up a manufacturing company where she can manufacture her trade mark 'gele'. The tying of bold and jazzy 'gele's have been her signature look for over two decades since her role as the no nonsense 'Madam Kofo' in the 80's sitcom 'Second Chance' threw her into limelight. I have never ever ever tied gele before, that's not a nice thing to say since I'm an African woman right? Well, let me be more 'unnice'. I like seeing people tie gele but for me to tie one? Maybe when I'm 40? For all you gele lovers, watch out for Madam Kofo's gele company.
Tuface holds party for daughter
Tuface and his baby mama, Pero Adeniyi, last weekend held a superlative birthday party for their daughter who turned one. Saw the little girl's pictures...she's the cutest little thing.
Zizi adds a year
Also, top designer Zizi Cardow of Zizi Ethnic clothing recently added another year to her age and she had a mother of all parties on the Island. Here's wishing her many more happy returns.
Banke Meshida drops her dreads
Newly married, pretty make-up aritiste Banke Meshida has dumped her signature jazzy dreadlocks for a fresh permed look. Saw her recently, she had this certain glow that tells she's enjoying married life.
Kenneth Okonkwo's denial
You guys remember top Nollywood actor, Kenneth Okonkwo's quote that I posted last week where the actor denied getting married to a certain Nancy Ekedo while still married to the daughter of CPM founder, pastor Ezekiel? Well, this week, the said second wife released pictures of their traditional wedding with members of his family in attendance. The woman was so mad that he denied the existence of their marriage. The story too long so let's cut it short by saying he's still denying marrying Nancy who made alot of accusations against him...long story...moving on...
Obi Asika set to wed
Storm Music CEO Obi Asika is set to wed his girlfriend of many years Ngozi Oyolu, who he recently bought a Volkswagen Passat. The wedding is said to have been fixed tentatively for the second week of December. Obi is such a cool guy. All the best to him and wife to be.
Helen Ajayi's lifestyle solution
Ex Miss Nigeria Helen Prest Ajayi has a website www.mylifetimesolution.com, dedicated to offering practical solution for everyday issues. You need to go check it out and see how you can benefit from it.
Nike Osinowo's marriage
Nike Oshinowo is now being called
Mrs Nike Oshinowo Soleye confirming reports she married Dr Tunde Soleye some weeks back. There's already talk in the tabloids that Nike and new hubby are already having problems in their marriage. I read a story where they said she threw him out of their home because he tried to reconcile with his ex live-in-lover Omua, while Nike was out of the country. The story was long and dirty, and might not be true. So lets not peddle dirty gossip...we already did. LOL
Oh, by the way, Nigeria's most dreaded gossip journalist, Stella Dimoko-Korkus has started her own blog. You guys are about to be blown away. Stella tells it as it is. I'm sure those of you in Naija are conversant with her very controversial gist cafe column on one of Nigeria's leading softsell Magazine, National Encomium. Nobody does gossip better than Stella, so if you won hear wetin dey happen for Naija, her blog is the place to be. Its www.stella-dimoko-korkus.blogspot.com
Ok that's it for today, let me know what you think of all the gists and 'amebo'. Goodnight!
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 5:54 PM 31 comments

Bad fashion. As long as you are above 21, you shouldn't be caught wearing clothes like this. Pictures courtesy purefoto
To other news: Senator Florence Ita Giwa formally launched Makari Cosmetics as it's face for West Africa on April 29th at the Banquet Hall of the Eko Hotel. The product was endorsed by the DG of the National Agency for Food, Drug Administration and Control, (NAFDAC) Professor Dora Akunyili. Ita-Giwa was picked as the face of Makari because at 61, she's still a head turner.
Awards For Musical Excellence (AMEN), a musical award which began in 1997 and stopped a few years ago is about to be re-born according to it's organisers, Encomium Ventures Ltd. The next edition will hold very soon. The list of nominees have already been released for public participation.
Olu of Maintain has left the group to start a solo career. His first solo album is due to hit the shelves May 14th. He's going by the name Mr. Olu Maintain. All you Maintain fans, look forward to that.
Civic Centre, the hottest events place in Lagos at the moment has increased it's price tag. From June 2007, anyone who wants to rent the hall will pay 1 million. They were charging N850 thousand before the new price, which they say has not affected patronage as Nigerians are still booking the place.
Plantashun boiz are said to have been paid N30 million by a record comapany called Plantashun Records, to release an album as a group. I hope this is true. Those boys have come a long way.
Also, top Nigerian actress Stella Damasus has started her own blog. Check it out at www.stelladamasus.blogspot.com
More gists coming...later. I don tire, I won go sleep. It's 3 am.
Goodnight!!!
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 2:16 AM 12 comments
1. Prayer is a way we gain confidence knowing God is nearand that He listens and answers according to His will
2. Prayer helps open our eyes to eternal, primary realities and helps us focus on godly values and priorities.
3. Prayer is honored by God Almighty, and when He so desires,He delivers us from physical and spiritual disaster.
4. Prayer, uttered by righteous, holy, blameless people, works.
5. Prayer is the antidote to worry and anxiousness.
6. Prayer goes hand-in-hand with emotional, spiritual, mental and physical healing.
7. Prayer is a means by which we can confess personal and corporate sin.
8.Prayer exhibits a humble, submissive attitude of trust in God.(cf. I Chronicles
9. Prayer gives God an avenue to demonstrate His love, forgiveness, mercy, power, grace, and strength.
10. Prayer is the power God uses to help others have spiritual understandingand the strength to live fruitful lives for His glory.
They say the difference between your problems and it's solutions is the difference between your knee and the floor.
Prayer is the answer key...please never forget to talk to your God at least once a day...I mean who else is there to talk to better than God who sees and knows everything?
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 1:57 AM 3 comments
I met Ade Bakare for the first time in January 2002 at the Ecomonic Community for West African States Festival (ECOFEST), where I was priviledged to model some of his clothes...boy, I remember those beautiful evening dresses.
This guy has come a long way. He started his couture house in 1991 and sixteen years later, he's a force to be reckoned with the fashion industry in most parts of Africa and Europe as his clothes attract women from all works of life and from many parts of the world.
Ade Bakare was born in Bromsgrove in England. He studied to University level in Lagos, Nigeria at the University of Lagos. He returned to England to study Fashion Design at the Salford University College, Manchester, where he gained a HND in 1990.
Ade Bakare then went on to work for two internationally known Couture designers in London; Victor Edlestein and Christina Stambolian, before setting up his own label in 1991. 
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 12:35 AM 3 comments
"Idol West Africa was a game and it can be one of chance. It does not mean that the other five were better than me or worked harder or made more friends. It could have been that those that were supposed to vote for me couldn't because they didn't have credit. I feel there's a reason for everything and I know God has a plan for me. It's not usually who comes first that makes it in life. I'm happy because I know I performed well. It's not that I got evicted because I didn't perform, I got evicted because I had less votes"Posted by Linda Ikeji at 11:29 PM 2 comments

Beautiful, 5 '10' Caroline was born 19 February 1979, in London, England, UK to Nigerian parents
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 2:41 PM 20 comments

10 Reasons to Drink Water
1. Water is absolutely essential to the human body’s survival. A person can live for about a month without food, but only about a week without water.
2. Water helps to maintain healthy body weight by increasing metabolism and regulating appetite.
3. Water leads to increased energy levels. The most common cause of daytime fatigue is actually mild dehydration.
4. Drinking adequate amounts of water can decrease the risk of certain types of cancers, including colon cancer, bladder cancer, and breast cancer.
5. For a majority of sufferers, drinking water can significantly reduce joint and/or back pain.
6. Water leads to overall greater health by flushing out wastes and bacteria that can cause disease.
7. Water can prevent and alleviate headaches.
8. Water naturally moisturizes skin and ensures proper cellular formation underneath layers of skin to give it a healthy, glowing appearance.
9. Water aids in the digestion process and prevents constipation.
10. Water is the primary mode of transportation for all nutrients in the body and is essential for proper circulation.
20 Interesting and Useful Water Facts
1. Roughly 70 percent of an adult’s body is made up of water.
2. At birth, water accounts for approximately 80 percent of an infant’s body weight.
3. A healthy person can drink about three gallons (48 cups) of water per day.
4. Drinking too much water too quickly can lead to water intoxication. Water intoxication occurs when water dilutes the sodium level in the bloodstream and causes an imbalance of water in the brain.
5. Water intoxication is most likely to occur during periods of intense athletic performance.
6. Water consists of three atoms, 2 Hydrogen atoms and an Oxygen atom, that are bond together due to electrical charges.
7. While the daily recommended amount of water is eight cups per day, not all of this water must be consumed in the liquid form. Nearly every food or drink item provides some water to the body.
8. Soft drinks, coffee, and tea, while made up almost entirely of water, also contain caffeine. Caffeine can act as a mild diuretic, preventing water from traveling to necessary locations in the body.
9. Pure water (solely hydrogen and oxygen atoms) has a neutral pH of 7, which is neither acidic nor basic.
10. Water dissolves more substances than any other liquid. Wherever it travels, water carries chemicals, minerals, and nutrients with it.
11. Somewhere between 70 and 75 percent of the earth’s surface is covered with water.
12. Much more fresh water is stored under the ground in aquifers than on the earth’s surface.
13. The earth is a closed system, similar to a terrarium, meaning that it rarely loses or gains extra matter. The same water that existed on the earth millions of years ago is still present today.
14. The total amount of water on the earth is about 326 million cubic miles of water.
15. Of all the water on the earth, humans can used only about three tenths of a percent of this water. Such usable water is found in groundwater aquifers, rivers, and freshwater lakes.
16. There are two kinds of water; salt water and freshwater. Salt water contains great amounts of salt, whereas freshwater has a dissolved salt concentration of less than 1%. Only freshwater can be applied as drinking water
17. Water is the only substance that is found naturally on earth in three forms: liquid, gas, solid.
18. Frozen water is 9% lighter than water, which is why ice floats on water.
19. By the time a person feels thirsty, his or her body has lost over 1 percent of its total water amount.
20. The weight a person loses directly after intense physical activity is weight from water, not fat.
Before March 2007, I was a coke addict. Coke as in Coke, Fanta, Sprite etc. Not the other coke o lol. I couldn't go a day without taking at least 3 bottles of any brand of soft drink until a friend gave me a book on water. My life has completely changed. Now I take at least two bottles a day lol.
But seriously water is great for our body. I listed only 10, but there are a million and one reasons to why we should all drink alot of water. I have definitely increased my water intake. And I'm also trying very hard to stop reduce my sugar intake. There are so many reasons why too much sugar isn't good for our body.
You have any water experience, advice, more reasons to drink water, etc please do share it with us
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 1:35 PM 3 comments
I don't know what I did yesterday while uploading entertainment and world news...there doesn't seem to be any place to leave comments on those posts. So if there's something you want to say, leave your comments here. Better still, someone can just tell me what to do to rectify the problem.
By the way, I just discovered how to use colours. Never knew it existed. Bush girl right? I discover new things everyday. If there's something else you know that you think I don't know i.e I've never used on my blog before, please feel free to pass your knowledge.
Meanwhile story plenty for una o. Things are happening in the entertainment industry in Naija. I'll give you all the gists later, for now I want to attend to money business matters.
let's meet later today for more gossip and gists.
See y'all later
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 9:50 AM 7 comments

Paris Hilton will be off to jail on June 5th 2007, to serve 45 days, for violating her parole. She was cught driving with a suspended licence. Her lawyers want to go appeal to avoid jail time for the hairess but something tells me the prosecuting team are extremely determined to see her serve jail time. If Paris does not show up on June 5th at her jail house, she will be sentenced to another 90 days in jail. She was said to have started crying after the judge gave the sentence on Friday May 4th. Does she deserve to go to jail?
Britney Spears tried to make a return to the stage last week at the House of Blues. Her reviews were poor though. I think she needs to straighten herself out before trying to make a come back.

Posted by Linda Ikeji at 12:44 PM
Queen Elizabeth in the US
The Queen of England has started a six-day tour of the US. This will be her first official visit to the US in 16 years, as the last time she set foot on American was in 1991. Her busy programme will see her take part in the 400th anniversary celebrations at the Jamestown settlement, the first permanent English colony in the US.
Her final destination is Washington where she will meet President Bush and the First Lady.
Nasa pictures
A Nasa spacecraft has sent stunning pictures of Jupiter and its moons back to Earth. The shots - taken from more than a million miles away - include this one of the volcanic moon Io.
Sir Bobby Robson Diagnosed with cancer
Former England football manager Sir Bobby Robson has been diagnosed with cancer for the fifth time.
The 74-year-old has battled the disease on and off for the last 15 years, having undergone surgery four times.He was said to have started a six-week course of chemotherapy treatment last week after doctors discovered small cancerous nodules in his lungs. But
Sir Bobby has vowed to carry on with his life as normal and will attend his annual charity golf day in Portugal next week before celebrating his 52nd wedding anniversary next month with wife Elsie.
Premature twins survive
Two premature identical twins, one born only a third the size of his brother, have beaten huge odds to survive.
Lincoln Ryman weighed just 1lb 2oz (530g) when he was born 11 weeks early along with his big brother, Byron, who weighed 3lb 6oz (1.5kg). Blood was flowing from Lincoln to Byron, putting both in danger. Doctors gave Lincoln a one in three chances of survival because he was so small. Despite his very low weight and needing heart surgery after he was born, Lincoln is now thriving, as is his brother.
US hit by Tornado
A new wave of tornadoes has hit at least six counties in the central US, a day after a massive tornado devastated a small town in southern Kansas. 95% of the town of Greensburg was destroyed. Nine people in two counties were killed on Friday night as winds of up to 250mph (400km/h) tore buildings from their foundations and uprooted trees. Warnings were issued overnight for Texas, Oklahoma, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota and Iowa.
Spider Man 3 breaks record
"Spider-Man 3" sold a record $59 million worth of tickets during its first day of release across North America, and is on track to break the industry mark for an opening weekend. The highly anticipated superhero saga opened in the United States and Canada (Nigeria) on Friday May 4th. The North American one-day opening-weekend records were held by July 2006 smash hit "Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest," with respective sums of $55.8 million and $135.6 million.
Little girl missing
Three year old Madeleine McCann who was on holiday with her parents went missing from her family's rented Portuguese holiday apartment in the Algarve village of Praia Da Luz, on Thursday night May 3rd while her parents were eating dinner less than a minute's walk away. Pictures of the little girl has been released to the media by her devastated parents. A colleague of Madeleine's mother has offered a £100,000 reward for anyone who finds her.
Paris Hilton off to jail
It's no longer news that on Friday May 4th, a judge sentenced Paris Hilton to 45 days in jail Fri for violating her probation. The judge's ruling excluded her from paying to serve time in a jail of her choice, which is allowed in cases like this. 26year old Paris was arrested last year Sept. 7 after appearing intoxicated and failing a sobriety test. Her blood-alcohol was a level of 0.08 percent, the level at which an adult driver is in violation of the law. She was sentenced to 36 months' probation, alcohol education and $1,500 in fines.She was not to drive but Paris was caught driving on suspended licence on January 15 and February 27thtrol. Paris was also required to enroll in an alcohol education program by February 12. As of April 17, she had not enrolled. So now she's off to jail which begins June 5th. You think she deserves it?
Crashed Kenyan plane
Also a Boeing 737-800 aircraft, a Kenyan Airways passenger plane which was carrying 114 people from more than 20 countries, went missing on Saturday after leaving Douala airport bound for Nairobi in torrential rain. It was reported to have come down in thick jungle after takeoff in Central African Douala. The aircraft, which was only six months old, was carrying 105 passengers and nine crew, including Africans, Chinese, Indians, Europeans and an American. Six Nigerians were on board. It had been due to land in Nairobi at 6:15 a.m on Saturday. Kenya Airways has three 737-800s in its fleet and said they had not decided whether to ground the others
French elections begin
The French have begun voting in the second and final round of their country's most hotly contested presidential election in recent times. Segolene Royal for the socialists and conservative Nicolas Sarkozy are bidding to succeed Jacques Chirac, who has been president for 12 years. The first round brought 85% of the electorate out to vote, the highest turnout for 40 years.
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 9:20 AM
Got y'all!!! I played a trick on you abiti baba lol.
I'm so so sorry for being so so naughty. My 'I won't be blogging for a while' was just a joke. And everyone bought it...hey yah!!! Make una no vex abeg, I was just playing...see all the loving comments I got. I even got a comment from Nigeria Politricks, he's never left a comment on my blog before, that was an achievement. Set and Lurlar, I deleted your comments by mistake, with the way I'm craving for comments, loosing two was very very painful...but I saw your comments and I appreciate it.
Sweethearts, Linda ain't going nowhere, I'm here to stay. This is what I love doing, and I'll keep doing till I can't do it anymore.
I was just teasing, people. I actually wanted to achieve two things, tease you and have so many people pray for me. You put me in your prayers, tell the truth, tell the truth.lol. I've been laughing all day I'm sorry you guys, I told y'all I was a little crazy abi?
I even got an email from someone who said he almost had a heart attack when he read I won't be blogging for a while. The silly nice man has never dropped a comment...what happened to that heart attack? Just kidding sweets.
But seriously am I a genius or what? lol. I hope I am the first blogger to play this trick. Any other blogger done this before? Yes? No? I'm sorry if I got some of you worried. I know there are a few of you out there who care about me even though you do not know me. I promise I will won't do this again.
To compensate y'all, I've posted 35 of my modeling pictures. I'm sure some of you don't know I was one of the top models in Nigeria in my time. I started modeling at age 17 in 1998 and quit in 2005.
I modelled for every designer who was actively involved in the Nigerian fashion industry. I travelled to all parts of Nigeria and some West African countries for shows. I featured in several calendars, billboards and TV Commercials. I miss those days.
60% percent of my pictures are gone. Either through journalists who did interviews, took pictures and never returned them, or friends who took them when I wasn't watching. I also lost so many memorable pictures when my album was beaten by rain, but I was able to salvage some.
Here are some of them, pardon the untidiness and bad quality, it all came from an almost damaged old album. If you aren't interested: SKIP. If you are: ENJOY!
My first fashion show. Silverbird International Fashion Show June 1998
Silverbird International Fashion Show 1999
For Meggitto, Nigerian Fashion Show 2000.
For Jimi Delaja, St Moritz Style Selection 2002
For Nigerian Broadcasting Commission, Abuja 2000. I'm 3rd from the left
For Regalia
For Elegance Ankara
For Tiffany Amber
With some of my models after a photosession
For Labanella
For designer, Rose of Sharon
For Rose of Sharon
For Monami, for St Moritz Style Selection 2001
For Zizi Ethnic Clothing
Nigerian Fashion show 2000, for designer Meggitto. She won that year's competition for Designer of The Year. This were the outfits that clinched her the award.
For Bijoux Boutique
For one of Nigeria's most successful designers, Mudi
For MTN
For Dakova
with John Fashanu and top male model, Tunji Oni
My prestige billboard
With one of my best friends, Denrele Edun. Unilag 2000
As an usher for 7up. 1999
with my bodyguards soldier friends
For Rimali billboard
For Mudi
My 21st birthday. 2face is standing right behind top Nollywood actor Emeka Enyiocha. Faze is standing beside Jazzman at the extreme left. Sound Sultan, Lexxy Doo and LD Extra large are also in the pix
The launch of my company, Blackdove.
My Magazine Launch, with Chief Mrs Opral Benson and Ohaneze ndi igbo of Lagos

My Last fashion show, Red, Bold and Jazzy 2005 for Frank Osodi
This was the last time I went to the studio (2005). I need to go back and take real professional pix and let y'all see it.
So I fine or I no fine?
To anonymous and co who say I've been dropping hints that all's not well with me, trust me, everything is well with me at this point in my life. I feel blessed and happy with myself. I 've made over 500 new friends (my site meter tells me that), I have a man in my life who deeply loves and supports me, my business is growing, my mag is about to hit the stands, all my loved ones are alive and healthy, what more could I ask for? Ok...I can ask for more comments. So I'm asking! lol
I'm off to go have me a crazy, loving weekend.
Have a fun filled weekend everyone.
See y'all later
kisses!!!
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 10:03 AM 64 comments
I won't be blogging for a while. I'm sorry folks. I have a serious crisis to attend to. Please put me in your prayers and send me comments. It will make the months I've dedicated to this blog worthwhile.
Please take care of yourselves till we meet again.
Love,
Linda Ikeji
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 9:25 PM 17 comments
If your friend asked you to seduce their partner, just to test their loyalty and faithfulness to them, would you do it?
Share your thoughts.
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 8:36 PM 13 comments

Posted by Linda Ikeji at 7:13 PM 6 comments
Plantashun Boiz regroup
The talented trio of Tuface, Faze and Blackface are coming back together for real to make another Plantashun Boiz album. A particular marketer is said to have paid the trio millions of Naira to go to the studio as a group and make another album. On Friday April 27th, the group sang together at Nigga Raw's album launch at the Vault. The three of them left the venue of the concert together in a jeep confirming reports that the relationship between them is now cordial. Let me feel important here lol. In 2000, I paid Plantashun Boiz one of the highest fees they received that year for a concert. It was for the Miss Unilag pageant that I co-ordinated. I paid them fifty grand. Yes all three of them. I remember taking Blackface to the sponsors of the event (Amigos) to collect the cash. Imagine how much they demand individually now. Change is the only constant thing in life. Moving on...
Mama Gee's video
I just finished watching top Nollywood actress patience Ozokwor's new video. I can't remember it's title but it was an Igbo/pidgin english version of Ghana sensation VIP's popular song 'Ahoum ke hum'. I know I didn't get that name right...pls correct me somebody. The song was about forgeting your sorrows and drinking, eating Naija delicacies like 'Nkwo bi' 'Nsi ewu' etc..
Anyway, if you guys see Patience's dressing in this video...na wa o! She had on an alter neck jeans over-all with her bum figure in clear display. Mama Gee the Mama. BTW, Mama Gee is her stage name.
Omotola's new video
How many of you have seen Omotola's new video for her song 'Dance' with Ruggedman? I love her acting skills, I like some of her songs and if her husband is okay with her dress sense that's fine by me. But this video was over doing it. If you haven't seen it, you won't understand what I'm saying. It was a shabby funny imitation of Jay z and Beyonce's crazy in love. Remember the scene where Jay z was rapping and B was dancing around him in a bikini? Well Omosexy and Rugged tried to re-enact it albeit unsuccessfully. Omotola wore a pant that was up to her stomach and a bra-top, with her mid-section showing and dancing around Rugged while he was rapping. Omotola has not been able to shed that much weight since giving birth to her four kids, so wearing skimpy clothes does not do any justice to her body.
Ade Bakare's fashion show
Ade Bakare is set to have a fashion show on the 19th/20th of this month at the Civic Centre, Victoria Island. I'll be there live and direct and report to y'all
Grace Egbagbe set to leave NTA
Barrister Grace Egbagbe, the GM Marketing of Nigeria's largest Network, Nigerian Television Authority, NTA, will be retiring from the company next month June after having put in almost thirty years of active service. She has been with NTA since October 1978 after her film and TV degree from the University of California, Los Angeles where she graduated with an MFA in May 1978. Magazines in Naija are reporting that the very elegant woman already has offers from companies in the banking, telecoms and oil industry. There's also talk of her friends planning a red carpet pulling out parade for her.
Wild Child's wild party
Rhythm 93.7 top radio presenter Wild child celebrated his birthday last week Friday April 27th and everyone who attended said the party was definitely one of the best parties ever. I first heard about it on radio, the guy just couldn't shut up stop talking about his party lol. He even announced the names of invited guests on radio. Your name not on the list? Don't dare show your face at the venue which was 11:45, after party, Coconut Groove, Awolowo Ikoyi.
OJB's third time
I thought 2face was the champion lover but this guy takes the crown. 40 year old producer/singer OJB Jezreel is about to marry wife no 3. This is no joke or rumour. He got married in the early 90's, had three children with the first wife, then some years ago he married and had a child with singer Amah. Now he's set to wed wife no 3, a dancer called Korede, who is already carrying his baby no 5. I remember watching an interview where he said he's planning on marrying five wives...he laughed immediately he made that statement so I figured he was joking. But he apparently wasn't kidding 'cos he's more than half way through.
Well it's his life. If that's the way he wants it, nothing else matters..I'm just surprised that young girls don't mind being 2nd/3rd wives. Moving on...
Girl Power Unleashed moves to Ibadan and Benin.
The organisers of GPU concert are set to move the train to the capital cities of Oyo and Edo state next month June 2007. The female singers of GPU include Ashionye, Niyola, Blaise, Kemistry, Sasha, Zeal, Amaka and Amina. I love this concept.
KC Presh new ride
I just heard that KC Presh just acquired a Lincoln Navigator. Owned by both of course. Didn't know they were selling that many cd's. Good for them
Oh by the way, Super Eagles skipper Kanu Nwankwo is currently in the studios getting set to release a music album. He's being produced by OJB Jezreel whose sick daughter (she has a hole in the heart) is being taken care of by Kanu Nwankwo's Kanu Heart Foundation. What is this crase fascination with singing by these our Naija celebs? Maybe I should also hit the studios. At least I have enough family and friends to buy my album lol.
If you're feeling my Naija gists, send me comments.
My site meter tells me I now have between 500-600 views. Great improvement, but it's still not what I'm targeting. So please tell everyone you know who surfs the net to come check out my space.
Thanks. Ciao!!!
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 1:36 PM 20 comments
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 10:27 AM 10 comments
I have a friend called Josfyn. Josfyn is a married mother of two little children. Six years ago at age 19, her father gave her hand in marriage to a 42 year old married man with three kids. After the traditional marriage (There was a never a church or court wedding) Josfyn took in for her first child. After giving birth to her first daughter, she asked her husband to send her to the University to further her education. Her husband refused. His reason being that Josfyn will get too exposed and might start chasing other men. (Let me say here that Josfyn is one of the most beautiful women I've ever met). She begged her husband for two years to let her have a University education, still he refused. In 2004, 22 year old Josfyn gave birth to her second daughter, just a few weeks after her husband's first wife gave birth to her fourth child.
Eventually after four years of desperately begging her husband and many pleas from her family, he allowed her sit for Jamb which she passed with flying colours. In October 2005, Josfyn gained admission into the University of Lagos to read Political Science. Two months later she met a post graduate student called Ben. This is where the trouble started.
Let me make some things clear about this story. Josfyn's husband first hit her four days after their traditional wedding, because she insulted someone who called her a gold digger. There was definitely some gold digging being done here but it wasn't by Josfyn, it was by her father who desperately needed to get his business started and promised his daughter to the man in exchange for capital. He basically wanted a rich in-law to go to every time he needed money.
Josfyn's mum gave her a million and one reasons to marry a man as wealthy as her husband and none of those reasons included happiness, love, compatibility or peace of mind. Two months into Josfyn's first pregnancy, her husband slapped her for staining his clothes while washing it. He didn't touch her again (Mostly because he travelled abroad very often) until Josfyn mentioned her desire to further her education. He beat the living day light out of her because he was convinced that Josfyn was looking for the opportunity to start dating other men. Josfyn was a full time house wife who did nothing but watch DSTV, cook, clean and take care of her child and step children. Josfyn at this time was just 21 years.
Her husband would beat Josfyn at the slightest provocation, he locked her up in her room if she dared talk back at him. If another man looed at her, she gets beaten up. He called her all sorts of names, hardly ever gave her any money (he said she would use it to buy things for her boyfriends), he was emotionally and physically abusive to Josfyn.
He didn't let her own a phone until 2004 after she gave birth to her second child and let me also say here that Josfyn said sex with him was sometime painful and most times unpleasant. The little friends that Josfyn had were not welcomed in their home, and her phone was always with the guy.
In 2005, her husband got another woman pregnant, the man never married this other woman, but he let her move into one of their flats and proudly told everyone who cared to listen that he was expecting his 7th child. And every time Josfyn ran to her mother, she told her the same story. Marriage is for better for worse. Her mother told her that every marriage had its challenges and she should be happy she's married since a lot of young girls were looking for husbands. Josfyn was so miserable but her mother asked her to remain in the marriage
But everything changed when Josfyn met Ben two months after getting into the University. Ben is 36, unmarried and works at a new generation bank. Ben fell deeply inlove with Josfyn and chased her for three months not knowing she was married.
He found out about her marital status when she fell from a bike on her way home. (Her husband had several choice cars, Josfyn had none to call hers. He only let her use one of his cars with a driver of course, when the errand concerns him or the children). Ben offered to drop Josfyn home, but she declined, explaining she was married. (Imagine her husband seeing her in another man's car).
A disappointed Ben vowed never to bother her again but for some reason they kept bumping each other until they both fell in love. Josfyn told her life story to Ben amidst tears and he promised to help her out of her miserable marriage and take care of her. Seven months after first setting eyes on each other, a married Josfyn and Ben became lovers. She told me she didn't know that sex was an enjoyable experience until Ben.
I didn't come into the picture until 2006 when Ben brought a very beautiful girl to my office to help her get modelling jobs since it has always been her dream to be a model. Ben introduced her to me as his fiancee, I never knew she was married with two kids until two months ago after she called me and asked if she could come spend some time with me in the office. She came everyday and stayed with me from morning till close of work like she was afraid of going home. It was after much pestering that she told me her story. She couldn't stop crying. Her husband had some how found out she was modeling and beat her after which he locked her up for days. When he saw a text Ben sent to her, he called the police on him but the police said they had no business in domestic affairs.
The thing here is that Josfyn had been planning to leave her husband and marry Ben. Ben had already rented a three bedroom apartment, bought her a ring, introduced her to his parents and was ready to take care of her and her children. Josfyn agreed to this life until two weeks ago when she called off all arrangements with Ben to remain in her husband's house. Ben later told me that Josfyn's parents had threatened to cut her off if she left her matrimonial home. Her phone is now permanently switched off. No one can reach her. (Unilag is unbreak) I know wherever she is she's extremely unhappy.
What can I do as a friend? What should ben do? I've never seen a man cry the way he's cried. What should Josfyn do? Obey her parents and stay in her miserable existence, (this girl doesn't have a life) or should she walk out and go be with someone who loves and makes her happy?
Please share your thoughts
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 6:10 PM 14 comments

Posted by Linda Ikeji at 12:12 PM 7 comments
Mother of Governor-elect kidnapped and released.
Mother of the governor-elect in Rivers State, Sir Celestine Omehia, was kidnapped on Monday night April 3oth. Madam Cecilia Nwahia Omehia was abducted from her Ubima country-home in the Ikwerre Local Government Area of the state on Monday night. Hours after her kidnap, militants also struck in Bayelsa State, where they seized four Italians, a United States national and a Croatian oil worker from a floating storage vessel. There were unconfirmed reports last night that Madam Omehia has been released barely 24 hours later.
FG freezes Ekiti account
The government of acting Governor Tope Ademiluyi of Ekiti State, may be in for a financial crisis as the Federal Government has frozen the accounts of the state government. The directive is also applicable to the administration of the 16 local government council areas of the state. The action, according to a letter to bankers to the state government by former administrator of the state, Brigadier-General Olatunji Olurin (rtd), shall remain in force till May 29.
World Bank Invests $272m in Power
The World Bank has invested the sum of $272 million in power projects as part of its support to the reforms taking place in that sector of the economy. The investment was focused along the lines of transmission and distribution, according to the Bank’s Country Director for Nigeria, Dr. Hafez Ghanem...
W/Bank: Ribadu Pleads for Wolfowitz
The Chairman of Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, (EFCC) Mallam Nuhu Ribadu has urged the World Bank to allow its president, Paul Wolfowitz to stay on despite allegations of corruption against him. An OpEd written by the Ribadu in the International Herald Tribune yesterday, titled "Why Wolfowitz shouldstay " argued that the World bank chief has matchedwords with deeds through initiatives to promote greater international cooperation with poor countries...
To read more happenings in Nigeria visit www.thisdayonline, www.sunnewsonline, www.punchng.com.
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 10:32 AM 2 comments
I've been getting several emails from people who visit my blog, talking non-stop about this great Nigerian scientist called proffessor Philip Emeagali. I must confess I'd never heard about this guy until now. I googled his name and was surprised at how much one Nigerian has contributed to the development of science in the world. Why has he never been mentioned by the Nigerian press? Or did I miss it? Anyway, I visited his website http://www.emeagwali.com/ and saw this...
*The Web owes much of its existence to Philip Emeagwali" - TIME magazine
*A father of the Internet" - CNN
*One of the great minds of the Information Age" - Bill Clinton
*Emeagwali Voted History's 35th Greatest African.
*Postage Stamps Honor Supercomputer Genius.
*Stamps issued to commemorate Philip Emeagwali.
*Oscar Winner Denzel Washington Asked to Star as Emeagwali

Posted by Linda Ikeji at 10:30 AM 7 comments
"First of all, I don't listen to the radio. If I do, it would be in the car on my way to a venue - but not consciously. I don't go on the Internet. ... Unless I'm approving videos or approving song mixes, I don't go. I don't buy anything online. I'm scared. I don't want to just give 'em my credit card. I don't wanna be hacked. Everybody messes with celebrities. At a point, you just have to decide if you really want it. If you do, you have to have a tough skin. And after you get a certain amount of success, you have no choice. Either you're gonna turn to other things to take away the pain you feel, or you have to deal with it and move on. If it's something about my sister or my nephew or it's something evil, then yes, I'm upset. I wanna kill somebody. If it's a rumor that's vindictive, or something harmful, or something everybody's believing that is completely not true, then it's frustrating because there's nothing you can do about it. If someone misquotes you, or says some complete lie, and then they go back and retract that, people still don't believe you didn't say it. ... So sometimes it hurts. Sometimes I wanna cry. Sometimes I wanna scream. Sometimes I wanna curse people out."
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 7:45 PM 7 comments

Genevieve Nnaji's interview with Ronke Apampa
On what she's missing in her life
"The only thing missing in my life is a man. I don't have a man at the moment but as much as it comes as a necessity, it also comes as a blessing in disguise"
Funke Kuti quote
On her relationship with ex-hubby Femi Kuti
"We are not particularly friends. If I call Made (their son) or Made calls me and he says his dad is around, I'll just tell him to let me say hi to him. Because of the child between us, there has to be some sort of communication"
Does she regret quitting her marriage?
"I wouldn't say I regret walking out of my marriage, If I had continued I wouldn't be where I am today. I was always Femi's wife, not Funke but now I am Funke. I have a life of my own, I have an image I have created for myself"
The only thing missing in Genny's life at the moment is a man, that was a bold statement fom her. I saw the interview on TV just this morning...she said so many things...but this is the one I remember clearly.
I guess no matter how successful, famous, beautiful etc, we all need a man in our lives. Does anyone disagree?
I've always wished for a reconciliation between Funke and Femi, they were so lovely together. I totally hate it when two people who love each other can't find a way to stay together. It's sad sha!
What do you guys think of Funke and Genny quote?
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 3:12 PM 6 comments

2face finds another promoter
2face has just signed a promotional contract with Dojoe Entertainment, a creative marketing media and promotional outfit based in Lagos. The entertainment company is set to co-ordinate and market 2face's soon to be announced nation-wide tour. I love 2face's new album much more than the first one. His was the first album I bought 3times. I bought the first one, it was stolen/taken, bought the second, definitely stolen, bought the 3rd one, guarding it like a mad woman lol...moving on...
Majek Fashek's life about to be documented
The true life story of veteran and talented Reggae artiste Majek Fashek is about to be documented in a movie titled 'The Rainmaker'. The producers of the film are still looking for the perfect person to play his character. Whoever gets the role must learn how to play the guiter and talk like a rasta-man. They are also hoping to shoot the film before the end of the year. Also, Majek's new album is set to be released soon.
Azeezat launches new album
Azeezat's long awaited new album 'Born to sing' has finally been released and will be made available to the public soon. The album release party was held on April 20th at Do-it-all. The 10-track album includes 'Lorawagbo', 'Hold on', 'Born to sing' and etc etc is being marketed by Obaino Music.
Modupe Ozolua introduces new beauty treatment
Bayelsa Govt Sponsors MBGN Queen to Miss UniversePosted by Linda Ikeji at 2:12 PM 14 comments

Who would you vote to become the next Idol?
"If you ask me who I think is going to win, It's different from who I want. The person I think will win is Timi, because he has a strong and unique voice. If you ask me who I want to win, it's Jodie. And my reasons are: I believe she has a unique voice as well, she is versatile, she can do the fast, the slow, she can do just about anything and I think she also has style"
Who do I think will win, who do I want to win? Timi...simple and short...Jodie is the 'next best thing'. Sorry all you Jodie fans. Just keeping it real...
BTW, Mercy works at the customer service division of Globacom
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 1:47 PM 2 comments
Before I quote him from a recent interview, let me introduce him a little. Kenneth Okonkwo is one of the pioneers of the Nigerian movie industry. He was the star actor in Nigeria's first home video 'Living in Bondage' One of the best movies ever made in Nigeria, how many of you know it? Kenneth is one of the most respected and highest paid actors in Nigeria...he's also a producer/director.
Kenneth got married in April 2000 to the daughter of the General overseer of the Christian Pentecostal Mission, Ogechi Mercy Ezekiel. By May 2002, the marriage which produced a child, ended. In 2005, he got involved with another woman and the relationship produced a daughter.
He recently granted an interview...hear him...
On his violent temper ending his marriage
"I hate aggressive women. And anyone who wants to torment me, man or woman, I defend myself with aggression and with all ferocity with which the attack is coming. Self defence is the most fundamental element of human rights. So my marriage cannot crash because of my anger. Anger as an emotion would always come up when somebody is unjustly treated. I always prefer to avoid aggressive women so that I wouldn't have to unleash my anger on them. When a lady, by omission or commission, makes herself to be an aggressor, I would not make myself the punching bag, make no mistake about that"
There was this rumour that he was a wife-beater, with this statement, I believe them...this guy needs to get his face slapped.
On why his wife left him
"Sorry for the correction, She didn't leave. The truth is that every of my relationship that crashed, I've always said I'm fed up" Is this guy for real?
On another woman having his baby while his divorce was yet to be finalised
"My first marriage crashed and I needed to date some other people so that after my divorce I should be able to make a choice. I dated some people and discovered they were not what I wanted, so I didn't end up marrying anybody. If she (Nancy Ekedo) has a baby for me, to God be the glory"
There are talks that the second woman has also left the relationship...reading this piece, do you think he's a woman-beater?
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 12:56 PM 23 comments
I've been asking relationship questions and people think it's about me? Lai lai. I have a way of doing things to drive people crazy, keep people on their toes. I'm so smart its stupid lol. For those who care to know...I'm still very much with Mr F...
The relationship questions I ask is to create a mini-forum where people can exchange ideas, learn from each other etc etc...
But seriously, I have a married model friend who is madly inlove with a guy who loves her deeply, but the problem is she's married. Married to an Igbo illiterate man at 19 because her parents needed a rich in-law, she's 24years now, has two kids and is unhappy in her marriage. She met this guy who wants to marry her, she loves him and had planned to leave her husband and marry this new guy, they had been together for 2 years and had already done introduction and then all of a sudden she decided to go back to her husband and miserable marriage...because of family pressure and her children. She's been crying non-stop since then. What I want to know is how do walk away from someone you love deeply? How do you forgive yourself for not going after your happiness, for not thinking of yourself first? She's gone back and is determined to stay there and this other guy can't believe that she could just walk away from what they had...it's sad right?
Naija entertainment gists and gossips coming your way...stay tuned!
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 12:02 PM 8 comments
In Nigeria, all workers are staying home today...May 1st is a work-free day in celebration of workers...Don't know if it's same in other parts of the world.
Happy workers day everyone in Naija.
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 7:57 AM 6 comments
Posted by Linda Ikeji at 12:14 AM 6 comments