Yay! Senate passes bill to criminalize female genital mutilation | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 6 May 2015

Yay! Senate passes bill to criminalize female genital mutilation

The Nigerian Senate on Tuesday, passed Violence against Persons (Prohibition) Bill which seeks to prohibit female circumcision or genital mutilation, forceful ejection from home and harmful widowhood practices. The bill also prohibits abandonment of spouse, children and other dependents without sustenance, battery and harmful traditional practices.

The Bill was sponsored by the Leader of the Senate, Victor Ndoma-Egba. It is also intended to eliminate violence in private and public life and provide maximum protection and effective remedies for victims of violence, and punishment of offenders.

The bill equally prohibits economic abuse, forced isolation and separation from family and friends, substance attack, depriving persons of their liberty, incest, indecent exposure, among others.

In his remarks, Deputy President of the Senate, Ike Ekweremadu, who presided at the session, said that the passage of the bill would provide adequate protection for the vulnerable in the society and punish those who take advantage of them.

He commended the senators and other stakeholders for their efforts in ensuring that the bill was passed, adding that it was a good step in the fight against violence in the society.

“The primary responsibility of government is to protect lives and property and as a responsible arm of government, our primary responsibility is to enact laws that will not only protect our people, but also protect their property.

“Today, we have discharged one of our responsibilities to the vulnerable in terms of violence. Congratulations for this achievement,’’ he said.

NAN.

89 comments:

Good one. Lindaobsv

They shud pass one already on prostitution

Amen I hope it carried out

DAT is awesome

This is goodnews for d ladies dat wil not hav to pass thru dis.

Way to go. More of such should be implemented.

Peejay said...

Awesome!

Wow! I'm so happy, as a student then in Secondary school, I belonged to a group that championed this cause.
So happy its today a reality.

Finding Nneka said...

Happiness!!!

Finally!!! This should be publicized in remote areas where d practice is done mostly...

lucybings amebo said...

Excellent! I love dis

Nice one. Our women must be protected.

Ruthcindy said...

Linda u sound excited about it.so u have never supported wat was done to u.

I love this. Finally!

Gud news then...

Finally!

This is great!

Good news.......Nice on

So loving this new law

HALLELUJAH! this has made my day

This is a welcome development.

***ECHOMASS***

Thumbs up to them for passing dis law, and more power to their elbows.

Some good things GEJ's government will be remembered by. Great one!

bomsec29 said...

Nice 1

Welcomed development

I think this is great but it's a pity a bill has to be passed before people know how terrible it to carry out female circumcision. Thank God for this anyway. 2pet 5:7-8

That's nice

Paul Ofou said...

It's one thing to pass it into law it's another cup of tea for the implementation... That is the bigger challenge.

Jflick Photography said...

long over due

Yayy!!!Next should be six months maternity leave

Great!

Must you talk? Amebo!!!

Woow...finally. Thank God. Now let's see those barbarians that won't comply with the law.

That's good; veeery good!

Very good I must say

PARENTAL ADVISORY
***explicit content***

Conji go kill...

Kponskii said...

Nice one.

nice one

Commend their efforts.

Nice one.

Excellent.

yay gini? shame on them for taking this long to pass it.mtchheeww. *cyber knight moves on*

GREAT!

i support ds...tomjerryswit

thank GOD!!! FINALLY

MISVEE

Great stuff we want more from them

Yipee! Dey should come to Delta state immediately. D people no dey hear word at all. Linda take note!

Awesome move

ASAMPOKOTO said...

What kind of barbaric question is this? Did she have a choice? Kmt

Dats good...I wish dis bill is passed 20 sometin years ago...

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Finally, child support. Directly or indirectly. Shout out to a lot of useless Nigerian fathers. The law sees you now

Nothing can be done on prostitution,it has come to stay,it has been there before we were born,is even in the bible,good one from our senators

But it is islamically right to circumcize na for females what will the Muslims do...OMG great news. ...I laugh in swahili

It is islamically right to circumsize a woman ...so now what will the Muslims do...hahaha backward religion...hahaha. .great newz

OMG! WAY TO GO, EXHILARATED AT THIS NEWS. ITS WAS HIGH TIME ALREADY. WELDONE YA'ALL.

Ok good

Some aspects of this bill isn't clear, ..the Nigerian police I know will use the excuse of indecent exposure to harass girls. At the same time the bill apostolates criminalisation of hindrance to liberty. Are the girls not at liberty to wear what they want? .they should state the kind of liberty.

dharmmy said...

Dey should work on underage marriage tooo and rape

Emmynado said...

9ice one!

Nice1

beautiful! wanna here more of this good news

Nimelda said so.......

grandmas in the villages wont like this, but thumbs up SENATE

Good!!!!

Wonderful! We ar stepping up gradually

Very good move

If they pass one on prostitution where would ur dad, ease of his tension............plus would u give them work.......prostitution is a decent job for the brave .......

Is it just me, the bill also include prohibition against indecent exposure. That means, nollywood actresses would be found guilty...

U be better she-goat ooooo........so ppl that had there hand cut off for a crime shld support the act......sweetheart where is ur brain

Yinmu# i op those in the rural areas know abt thia laws abi no be nija we dey?"its our tradition"

All the igbo girls have dated that were circumcised nko..... they should start paying them monthly allowee for damages done

Thank God.
I am soooo gonna snitch on people I find practicing it

This is the day am bean waiting for, am very happy set

Ope o!

Great news!
#dancing

<< LIB Addict >>

So una dey work dia hmm one tin wey dun hear say una do dia

And what about Male Genital Mutilation?

ASAMPOKOTO said...

I've been waiting for someone to point out the vagueness. That indecent exposure is about to cause mad issues. They need to chil or define it properly abeg!

candymoni said...

nice start

Wow!!!.... Awesome, now we can heave a sigh of relief. this is a Red Card to those stupid insensitive reveneous wolves that calls themselves husbands who see their wife as a prey instead of a praise. looking so innocent when in real time, they are nothing but can of worms.

Nice one.

start implementing please.

Thank You Jesus...This is the best news i have heard about Human Right in Nigeria in a long while. Especially in my Igbo Commununity where this barbaric practice is being carried out (female genital mutilation) all in the name of circumcision. Its been a long time coming but it did.

Very good news!

Great news!!! Where are all those women beaters?

Thought of that.

Implementation of this law is easy cause it is crime against human beings. Unless the victims refuse to speak out due to victimization, like most of the rape victims. Although I must say I am surprised that such a law is just being passed now, in 2015, but this will definitely go a long way in bringing discipline, especially to a lot of men, and in the long run, create better and longlasting marriages. Cos when a man realises that its not business as usual to abandon his family, he will think twice b4 doing so.

May thunder fire u everlasting there Henry Eze for that senseless comment! U're so brainless walahi! *spits*

Henry be sounding like he has one. I mean a brain. Anu!

Nice 1