A statement released by Etisalat says the suit was filed in order to prevent the use of the spectrum by MTN at this time, as it will entrench the dominance of MTN in the retail data services market.
The statement released by Etisalat's Head of Media, Chineze Amanfo reads in part;
"You will recall that MTN Nigeria was declared dominant by the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) in 2013 and remains dominant in the wholesale leased line and retail voice markets. The use of the 800MHz spectrum to deploy broadband services ahead of its competitors, particularly those who prior to MTNs purchase of Visafone, held similar spectrum bands as MTN, will further entrench MTN’s dominance in the Nigerian telecommunications sector”.

51 comments:
Ghen ghen
Akuko. More Instagram followers for you all
Hahahahaha,Mtn haff suffer o
Hmmmm Ok their cup of mokite
Healthy competition, we consumers benefit solely at d end..
MTN maintain oo..
Alright!
Let the battle begin
shuu..
hw that one take concern them na
meenah_wakil on instagram
MTN sharp pass nao...lolzzz
shuu..
hw that one take concern them na
meenah_wakil on instagram
Lol.
Na them sabi! * it's well*
Mtn haff suffer
PEPSI ADDICT
Gud for them
Who's to blame. I see no sense in the suit. Its a business strategy
Mtn again
Telecommunications drama, lol
in the UK,they are bodies that checkmate issues like this. issues that relate with company's dat try to suppress competition. the market should have a reasonable amount of competition and not monopolized. If this is resolved it will be fine.
#LibBadBoy
Make them digger am there
They are making too much money in this country
Mtn again
Hmmn
MTN doing in Nigeria what Glo wont be allowed to do in South Africa.
it's time their dominance of the Nigerian market is checked.
The war has begun.
Let d war begin...
dis one na Gbege! eazy guys.
I dont understand this post oooooo.......
Can sum1 plz kindly explain..
I don't understand.....thank you
Dem headache not mine
Am temporary out of service
Pls try again later
Linda dont take note!
ok.
Don~ jazzycrush
Telecom's Drama. Hahahahah!#Lindangwanu#
www.konga.com?k_id=dave1614
HMMMM
Oya show ur power mtn
THAT'S a useless suit. A poor business excuse by Etisalat
Na who get money buy nah! How dat one take concern consumers??? Linda take note!
Shoroniyen
I don't even understand....
Don't understand their stress.
It's not a useless suit, as some of you might think. Even Google has been sued several times by MSN, Ask, etc. due to their market share in search engine. So, it's left to the judiciary and NCC to decide if it is an unfair competition.
How many times will Etisalat sue MTN? Na wa o.
MTN is more strengthen as they face challenges by the day. notin dey shake dem o. they remain big stron and reliable.(smiles) Eti go do ur home work well
in the rules of fair play etisalat is correct. can't have an organisation dominate a telecommunications industry. same with DSTV.
I DNT GET LOL
LOL JOBLESS
Oya! Sharp sharp.... Release the broadband. No time
Etisalat you should have stepped up your game and outbid Mtn for visa phone. It is just dawning on you guys what you lost.