Etisalat sues MTN over Visafone acquisition | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 8 February 2016

Etisalat sues MTN over Visafone acquisition

Telecommunication company, Etisalat Nigeria has sued MTN Nigeria and Visafone Ltd, challenging MTN’s use of the 800megahertz (MHZ) spectrum following the acquisition of Visafone. MTN closed the deal acquiring Visafone in January this year.

A statement released by Etisalat says the suit was filed in order to prevent the use of the spectrum by MTN at this time, as it will entrench the dominance of MTN in the retail data services market.

The statement released by Etisalat's Head of Media, Chineze Amanfo reads in part;

"You will recall that MTN Nigeria was declared dominant by the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) in 2013 and remains dominant in the wholesale leased line and retail voice markets. The use of the 800MHz spectrum to deploy broadband services ahead of its competitors, particularly those who prior to MTNs purchase of Visafone, held similar spectrum bands as MTN, will further entrench MTN’s dominance in the Nigerian telecommunications sector”.

51 comments:

1. Akuko. More Instagram followers for you all

2. Hahahahaha,Mtn haff suffer o

3. Hmmmm Ok their cup of mokite

4. Healthy competition, we consumers benefit solely at d end..

5. shuu..

hw that one take concern them na

meenah_wakil on instagram

6. shuu..

hw that one take concern them na

meenah_wakil on instagram

7. Who's to blame. I see no sense in the suit. Its a business strategy

8. Telecommunications drama, lol

9. in the UK,they are bodies that checkmate issues like this. issues that relate with company's dat try to suppress competition. the market should have a reasonable amount of competition and not monopolized. If this is resolved it will be fine.

#LibBadBoy

1. How many times will Etisalat sue MTN? Na wa o.

10. Make them digger am there
    They are making too much money in this country

11. MTN doing in Nigeria what Glo wont be allowed to do in South Africa.
    it's time their dominance of the Nigerian market is checked.

12. Let d war begin...

13. dis one na Gbege! eazy guys.

14. I dont understand this post oooooo.......
    Can sum1 plz kindly explain..

15. I don't understand.....thank you

16. Dem headache not mine
    Am temporary out of service
    Pls try again later
    Linda dont take note!

17. Telecom's Drama. Hahahahah!#Lindangwanu#

18. THAT'S a useless suit. A poor business excuse by Etisalat

1. It's not a useless suit, as some of you might think. Even Google has been sued several times by MSN, Ask, etc. due to their market share in search engine. So, it's left to the judiciary and NCC to decide if it is an unfair competition.

19. Na who get money buy nah! How dat one take concern consumers??? Linda take note!

20. Don't understand their stress.

21. It's not a useless suit, as some of you might think. Even Google has been sued several times by MSN, Ask, etc. due to their market share in search engine. So, it's left to the judiciary and NCC to decide if it is an unfair competition.

22. MTN is more strengthen as they face challenges by the day. notin dey shake dem o. they remain big stron and reliable.(smiles) Eti go do ur home work well

23. in the rules of fair play etisalat is correct. can't have an organisation dominate a telecommunications industry. same with DSTV.

24. owakah (A.K.A. Innosometin)8 February 2016 at 17:52

LOL JOBLESS

25. Oya! Sharp sharp.... Release the broadband. No time

26. Etisalat you should have stepped up your game and outbid Mtn for visa phone. It is just dawning on you guys what you lost.