Photo: Compare these stations; one in London, the other in Nigeria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 16 June 2014

Photo: Compare these stations; one in London, the other in Nigeria

I think we should start comparing after the train in Nigeria has operated for at least two years...there's no basis right now...but kudos to our government for effort...good job!

102 comments:

Them weldone. I think he should do Before and during GEJ for Boko haram insurgency.

CoolDiva speaks!

Linda , you are so right, compare after it has been used !

xtinexxx said...

Compare the old train not d new one

It shouldn't be compared in d 1st place.

Nigerians own look good if not better, but the problem is not how good or better Nigerians own look, its can we maintain it? Because there is a lack of maintenance culture in Nigeria

Good job indeed! #Bringbackourgirlsjare! And leave story!

Our maintains culture is very poor

Lindodo forget dat tin jor.....ours is better.....kudos 2 our Govt

Nikeh El' said...

Exactly, yu're right linda. There's no basis for comparison right now. Kudos to the govt all d same

SouthEastern said...

Oh yes lets see how good they will run on our dilapidated rail lines in the next couple of years before comparison All the same the effort is appreciated. Kudos GEJ and your team.

#God answers all prayers#
Happy moments - Praise God, Difficult moments-Seek God,
Quiet moments -Worship God, Painful moments-Trust God,
Every moment - Thank God.

Keep deceiving ur sef.......

Dear Reno, first of all may God punish you for having the effrontery to attempt to make this better than it actually is. We do not remotely compare to London. The UAE is our oil producing counterpart. I'm sure you know that the ugliest train station in Dubai is a hundred times nicer and more efficient than our best international airport.
This train thing your people have done is nothing to write home about and you all should bury your heads in shame! Most of you don't plan riding on it, so I'm not surprised.

It a gud job first of all ..bur as u can see pix no dy lie...d 9ja one is too cramped up n may be d terminal could be made an indoor terminal n mayb work out more space for d loading area of d Train so ppl don't av to b all sqashed n close to d rail ..bur all in all it a Gud work ..#Tslicky

Good one #bright bravo#

Forget it !! Jonah is the one to fix this country !! They all know it that's why they ar doing all the can to paint him black now all his works are hardly heard of while the boko stories make headlines daily , we can't be fooled we know this strategy long time ago... But God remains his strenght...jona has chosen the impossible !! (Fixing nigeria without shadding blood) if it were to be rollings of ghana by now all this old thieves would hv long been killed so the country will have a fresh start! He is doing his best to fix power without stepping on the toes of all those that long embezzled the funds earlir pumped into the sector... He is trying to slowly fix the rails without stepping on the toes of ppl like dangote+peace+young+agofore+ekedilichukwu and all those in the transport business.....trying to fix our roads without jailling all those that stole the monies ealire meant for the roads including OBJ+IWUanyanwu+Bola+Atiku pls leave jona alone or ull face the wrath of the nigerian masses , enough of the moneis stollen and enough of all the drama u ppl arr using this country to play....we know u all including Tinubu who owns Two airlines and two private jets + Atiku who awarded the contrract of the national stadium abuja that is now stinking if u like keep building hotels in Dubai one day monkey go go market e no go come back! ............Gods son via TRUTH PLANET.

Yea Linda i agree, also i think he meant to hash tag Fashola and not GEJ

Jamie007 said...

Ours is the real deal jawe! #Tiwantiwa#

Thats not hw to do it mr man, yu bring the best frm london and lets compare and not some low life train station ok....

Omokri naa, how much do you get for this nonsense you are doing??? THE GREMLIN HAS SPOKEN!

DOBY DOBY said...

Yea kudos to our govt.. I hope it doesn't lack maintenance. . Team gej

Exactly! D underground trains in London have been in existence 4 ages n so have most of the stations, so let's give d 9ja trains and stations just 5yrs and see what will happen(of course we all know how the state of both the trains and stations will be so no need to wait *bbm rolling eyes* )

Tinuboye said...

Exactly! We should compare after time has gone by. Maintenance is the challenge in this part of the world.

johnsonblingz said...

You don't just compare the rails and the trains, u compare the environment itself.... Now taking a look at the environment, I think people can easily detect which is more user friendly... DRE

You no even happy say you get working trains given the standard of the country.... Pshewww!!!

LYNNE said...

Quite impressive

scareface22 said...

we are still epic down here in naija!!

Are u blind bastard?The difference is clear.your administration is nothing but failure,worse than useless.God will punish your generation.

Angie Cape said...

Hmmm....Not bad, for starters!
Quite an achievement.

*My R1.50c comment*

One is working one is not. we can not be fooled by the red carpet waiting for GEJ. 'igbolabiKiri' your choice of pix is totally wrong why disgrace us this everybody can see that your train is going nowhere!! Na wa for you ooo. and you dey collect salary for this?

Dr. Me said...

lol this reno is drunk...the one in london is more than a hundred years old and is still very organised and finer...you should see train stations built in london in 2014 pls..btw I can still see red carpet in the lagos one...reno has no chill.

Lol. There's an up stair in Earl's court n there's none in Lagos's own, only zinc. Not spacious like London's.. Maintenance will tell better tho.

There's no base for comparison and 2years is certainly not enough. those wooden roofs will fly off in no time. Even the sophisticated bus-stop shelters that Fashola did in Lagos is beginning to fall apart in some locations. Nigerians build but lack maintenance policies!

I give them 6 months u will see all types of seller's and homeless agberos on that pavement..mtchew

Solodemz said...

Hmmm no doubt we ar moving ahead! More gresse 2d elbow of our federal Govt.

bloodmoney said...

nice one for nigeria.i hope dem no go take sheet decorate am soon

amakasparkles said...

linda plz are you among d people dt ar against Gej? they said compare not analyse....hmmmm. Gej is working

Stupid Reno , why don't you compare their econimic status and your country Nigeria which one is the best . Boda ode oshi , aridin , omo ale jatijati .lindodo Pls post my comment ooooo
***Stainless***

Dt of Naija make sense pass, u no see the red carpet.....I love my country....

XDON D DON

#King said...

Dis stupid man won't rest..A-hole like u..u de compare naija to london..why must it b dis london train pic?? U won't put beta ones..keep deceiving d pple u can deceive..maga............................#KingOfKings

hw can u compare?? dis reno is obviously stupid. there is a difference btw a train station n rail track.

The one in London has more commuters

smog said...

pls take the pics again in 3months time...

I tink nigeria government has improve on dat kudos

Nice to see we r getting there. All that's needed is a good maintenance culture. IAI

Linda pls don't be deceived with dis iddo terminus pics,d pics was taken on the day the new train was commisioned and dats y d terminus was looking neat.I use d train daily,d new one is 750 from iddo to ijoko,d dirty old one is 230 from iddo to ijoko.d old price was 500 for firstclass and 150 for the regular coaches.oya tell me what dey have done to help us

This mumu man don start again. Compare ur life now and before u secure job in Aso villa. Let me know wat you think. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

BOOTYLICIOUS said...

whats it with the red carpet gan?

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Nice one. For once let's speak positive about Naija. Am sure someday things will be a bit better. God bless GEJ and Nigerians..

pls let's stop Dis comparison wif London and oda countries outsyd African's coast let's compare it wif SA.

Mischievous said...

This man called Reno is a funny character! What is the basis of comparison? The railway system of Great Britain, the principal territory of the United Kingdom, is the oldest in the world, it dates back to the 1840s and it is still serving the people well.
The truth is that: Nothing works in Nigeria. What happened to Nigeria Airways? Let's wait and see.

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Good job. As long as the right management is in place. It will remain the same. God bless GEJ...

Let's see the video of the train moving before we start comparing.

diamondblinqZ said...

Linda u r very correct! Its too early 4 comparisons, let d trains here work 1st 4 2yrs! Nyc feat dohhh!!! Kudos!

compare when ur naija have DLR/underground,Jubilee,c2c,hammersmith lines...Mumu idiot

Geraldopino90 said...

Abeg dis Reno gan sit down abeg mtcheeeeeew

i totally agree to comparing after at least at least 2 years. the train station and trains in London have been running and well managed for several years. I hope and pray the Nigerian government keeps up

Geraldopino90 said...

We try small sha

i totally agree to comparing after at least at least 2 years. the train station and trains in London have been running and well managed for several years. I hope and pray the Nigerian government keeps up

For once Linda,you made sense.
First things,do I see a red rug?in a station that is meant to cater to heavy human and baggage traffic?.

Two years?!! Try two decades! We never get train before? And is that red carpeting I'm seeing?!! Sheeesh! These niggaz...

Rubbish! Good point Linda, horn blowers!!!!

There's a lot of improvement. Bravo

IFY NWAJESUS said...

Niger for life!

jowamoh said...

can he deceive us wit one of d worst rail station in london and d best in nigeria? Rubish.

Non-sense all these trains are no longer in operation in London again. Even at that the station is still far better than the one the one in Lagos And it is one of their oldest stations. So what is He talking about!!!

ori won buru, which 1860 train did he copy to rep london? highly unfair lol but kudos

The roof

Mrs DAvido

Bode said...

Lol! Linda! Abi you don dey collect Money! Anyway, I hope Nigeria gets better!

Bode said...

Lol. God bless Nigeria

The one in Lagos looks like its been in a crash before. Seriously look at the front despite the paint, you can see bumps.

The train station in Lagos be like joke

Grand celebration of mediocrity. Kudos? In this age? What is the job of the Government sef? Kudos. Na wa o

uche said...

The London trains are functionally carrying ordinary people. The Iddo station spots a red carpet and a train that is going nowhere!

GHOSA said...

Earl court station is just an old station, most trains that ply this station are underground trains. If u compare the way the Britton manage the transport system especially the train system it far away different from Nigeria.

I feel this trains are just new(as they called), please let's see them in the next 6 months. Train that were refublished to Nigeria standard. The UK underground system is over 151 years, In this country we have no plans for the first underground.

The trains brought by goodluck are Overground trains, so if u compare them to UK overground , you are making a huge mistake.

Building is one thing,Maintenance is another,I pray it shld be taken care of.Good work F.G.

Angie Cape said...

I agree... Maintenance is the KEYWORD!

Great job GEJ!! Maintenance is very important!

Rubylicious said...

Remember the ones in London have been there for a while. The Nigerian situation just got revamped. Let's wait a while before comparisons are made.

@ Mischievous, this ur name no suit ur comment at all. To the matter, I concur to ur comment, the comparism is totally baseless and ridiculous, u don't compare a system that has been in existence for centuries and still efficiently and effectively run, with the one that is just born and I can assure there is no system in place to see to its maintenance; even the naija train was panel beaten into shape. However, I commend the Govt for the effort made and hope that a system as such should be regularly maintained otherwise its a waste of money putting it in place in the first place.God bless Nigeria! #WiseOne#

Yawns......

ologbenla tayo said...

Linda as much as I like reading stuff on ur blog...seems like you are over sympathetic to this rotten government...which is ok because that is your decision to make...however thank God you and I have lived in the western world and know what obtains out here....who campaigns on railway and road system in the US or Canada...it is their job and they have to do it....keep celebrating early 19th century locomotive while the country keeps breaking into bits and pieces...nonsense even from the so-called enlightened ones...LINDA YOU MUST POST THIS OOOOOOOOOOOO

Maintainance culture is important. Also I hope there would be light on d train .I think Nigerian govt should just allow the graduate to run it nd not pple like my oga at d top!
A lot of money goes into London underground am not sure if Nig is able to put so much money into train stations esp when it's for common people.

This Reno is just a big fool. Jonathan has lost the plot and needs to go.

Stop taking credit for Fashola's work!

I am a LIBer but hardly Comment...Reno Omokiri ogun will punish you and your family because i dont know how much you get paid for this...You are so Dumb for comparing a London train and station to this Crap you call a station...I am sure you know deep down you are deceiving average Nigerian...Oju ti la we are now exposed this is not a Train station.

globaldeji said...

how dare he compare Earl's court station! why is there a red carpet at a train station anyway????

eka said...

why are we so negative in our thoughts? Cant we appreciate and encourage progress and even if we must criticize; cant it be constructive. Building of a great nation is not a one man's project, its collective effort; so let us the "NIGERIANS" help maintain and sustain our infrastructures first b4 insulting any leader.........

I hope that is not a rug I am seeing in our train station biko

Weldone Jonathan! This is a major improvement!However I feel the issue of constant electricity should have been dealt with first before I just hope even when you leave, the person after you will be involved in maintaining the structure.

Nigerian politicians have a terrible habit of not taking over the work of their predecessors due to fear of making them(the predecessors) look good or something. That is why they always want to start something new instead of just improving what was there before. Oh Nigeria..God help us.

The London Underground dates back to 1863 and is the oldest underground in the world. It's still operating till this very minute ( just taking it home at the moment) and this foolish man has the guts to compare it with a train network that hasn't even functioned for a single month?!
In a civilised society, this man would have been terminated from his post ages ago.

Petite Diva said...

@ Anonymous 10:06am, God bless you for stating that we should compare ourselves with UAE not old London. Please people if you have money go to Dubai not to shop but to see how good governance and leaders and not hungry men make do with their resources. Na the same oil we get, no o, we get more oil than UAE and they don pass us since. And this over paid and over stuffed person would come and be doing stupid PR on twitter. May God forgive all our corrupt politicians because after going to Dubai i have sworn for all of them! Wicked human beings! Is that one a train or what?! And yes! i dey vex!!

journalofapetitediva.blogspot.com

Afi to copy signature oni signature. Ole!
*** forst to comment ***

This is becoming quite childish from the FG, Earl court station they are showing here was opened in 1871.....yes, it is that old but it is well maintained.
The trains in the picture were introduced in 1980, so I really don't understand the basis of the comparison. The British people did not STUPIDLY go and buy 30 year old trains in 2014 like our FG did.

This guy needs to go sleep. How can you compare a Nigerian Station with a London station that is over 100 years old, stupid comparison.

They will chop the maintenance money na

Gud job 9ja Govt. At least we hv one tin dat is better dan it's liks in d UK. Am happy 4 my country.....am happy 4 beeing a 9jirian.

FightThePower said...

Again Reno speaks too soon. The Nigerian station was obviously photographed on commissioning day when the train was yet to lift one passenger (red carpet on platform makes that obvious doesn't it?) while the London one is clearly a functioning, packed with commuters affair. Nice try but non is fooled.

FightThePower said...

Again Reno speaks too soon. The Nigerian station was obviously photographed on commissioning day when the train was yet to lift one passenger (red carpet on platform makes that obvious doesn't it?) while the London one is clearly a functioning, packed with commuters affair. Nice try but non is fooled.

Pimoey said...

I saw one this morning on my way to work.It looked like they were enjoying the ride + the AC.

Pimoey said...

I saw one this morning on my way to work.It seemed to me that they were enjoying the ride + the AC.

Ade said...

Please we need be corrected, the Ido terminus was repainted by President Obasanjo and not President Jonathan what has changed is the newly purchased 68 seater diesel coach with 100km/hr speed limit. Please take note.

I just returned from a vacation in Dubai, and I must say I literally cried wen I saw how things work in the UAE. Who is dis our govt fooling sef? Abi what is Mr Reno referring to sef? Cos wat I see here is panel beated steel from the past and painted green. Train in 2014???? An era where metros are in operation and driverless coaches and dis is what you have to show? Dubais oil contributes only 7@ercent of their GDP and dts Wats used to develop the land. They don't even extract up to half of wat we do. No offense to doz dat see dis as a milestone o, bt as far as am concerned dis is BULLSHIT!!!! Its high time Nigerians get angry at Mr Reno and associates and make things work. Before and after GEJ ko before and after our forefathers ni. Abegi jorr.....