Abia governorship: Ikpeazu insists he is still governor, faults INEC's issuance of Certificate of return to Uche Ogah | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 30 June 2016

Abia governorship: Ikpeazu insists he is still governor, faults INEC's issuance of Certificate of return to Uche Ogah

Earlier today, INEC issued a certificate of return to a member of PDP, Uche Ogah, following an order by the Abuja Federal High Court on Monday June 27th, mandating the electoral body to immediately issue Certificate of Return to Ogah who came second at the PDP primaries in the state in 2014. The state governor, Okezie Ikpeazu has released a statement reacting to the development, According to him, he remains the Governor of the state since he has filed an appeal against the ruling.

Read his statement below

I have received with concern, report of the purported issuance of Certificate of Return to Mr. Uche Ogah by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), as governor of Abia State, despite dependency of a notice of appeal and motion for stay of the orders made by Justice Okon Abang of the Federal High Court, Abuja.

Our laws are clear on this matter. No one may be issued with a certificate of return let alone be sworn in as governor, when there is a subsisting appeal and application for stay.

I want to appeal to Abians to remain calm and law abiding in the face of this provocation, unless and until the appellant courts have conclusively resolve the appeal, the status remains, I am still the Governor of Abia State.

Dr Okezie Ikpeazu
Governor, Abia State

43 comments:

OKAY!

Hmmmm, nawa o, this people too like power greedy politician.

LIB REP (中华人民共和国) said...

Okay let them have two governors...Next Pls???

Obey law Mr. Ikpeazu and vacate the seat.

This is getting interesting

CRYING OF A DEAD LION
So ABA NOW GET TWO GOVERNO'S HUH?
Mr man emulate Jonathan than all this shame u are putting ur self in.
GOD HAS VINDICATE HIS PEOPLE.
BETTER KEEP THAT 10 BILLION U WANT TO USE FOR BRIBE BECAUSE U GO ANSWER ALL.
YOU LOCK ONE OF MY FILLING STATE AND THINK THAT GOD WILL LEAVE U HUH?
NGWA CRIMINAL GOVERNO'S BETTER KEEP THAT 10 BILLION U WANT TO GIVE SAN'S OO.

CRYING OF A DEAD LION
So ABA NOW GET TWO GOVERNO'S HUH?
Mr man emulate Jonathan than all this shame u are putting ur self in.
GOD HAS VINDICATE HIS PEOPLE.
BETTER KEEP THAT 10 BILLION U WANT TO USE FOR BRIBE BECAUSE U GO ANSWER ALL.
YOU LOCK ONE OF MY FILLING STATE AND THINK THAT GOD WILL LEAVE U HUH?
NGWA CRIMINAL GOVERNO'S BETTER KEEP THAT 10 BILLION U WANT TO GIVE SAN'S OO.

You not the the Governor

Odi egwu!! For how long will u reamain there?

He had better comply

Lol.
See Coup.

linda ikeji's driver. said...

Get d he'll out of dat office, its only in nigeria dat u hear stuffs like dat,is it by force to rule the abians?tel me?or u want to leave disgracefully. Nigerian politicians are really greedy

two gov. in one state, INEC OF life ...............

Is as if INEC has interest in that case... Why will they hurriedly issue the certificate when the case is in appeal court. Do we still go by the rule of law in this country

************************meerenu dix man ebere..... its not easy to lv dat seat...... how can u wean a baby boy @3months.. ???????e no go easy for una...... muna free am...... uche biko zuo ike..... mbosi ozo iputa.....

Fight back man,which stupid INEC is that?

Uncle Arthur said...

Wrong Your Excellency. A subsisting appeal and an "application" for a stay does not suspend judgement execution. That is the actual function of a stay of execution. As you have said, you have APPLIED for a stay, but it has not been awarded.

mopelove said...

Why do i have the feeling this uche guy that has been issued certificate by inec will join apc later after becoming gov. I think they want to come into SE through the back door.

Who can bless me with a browsing phone??? This one am using is giving me hell of a problem and I can't afford one for the now pretty.one@yahoo.com

Very greedy I never see...nuel

The oil has been spilt...... Dr. Ikpeazu pls go and concentrate on academics (ie lecturing) . Not even easy to be addressed as the former govnor of Abia State.

Eyah! I feel for him

WOW!!!!! THIS IS REALLY GETTING INTERESTING, PLEASE SIR REMEMBER OUR ROAD NETWORK IN ABIA STATE

#AMIABLE #LIB #FOLLOWER

Their headache. Linda take note!

hrm paul ojeih said...

Guys dont get it wrong he wont vacate until the appeal is heard. if the appeal upholds the decision of the court then he will vacate. Inec goofed by giving the other guy certificate they should have waited till after the appeal bcos the appeal might favor the incumbent and then there will be a situation. But the incumbent is a gunner the Appeal wont save him let him start stealing money now so that when they throw him out he wont be broke.

I WONDER O

AUNTY LINDA....

Oga, please vacate the seat

Aj Gabriel T said...

Exactly my thought,its so obvious with the rush Inec issued the certificate

hmmm

This is just not funny..

Anaigbo said...

SO THERE ARE STILL STUPID PEOPLE lIKE OGAH IN IGBOLAND. AMAZING. IKPEAZU SHOULD NOT RELENT ON PROVIDING GOOD ROADS AND INFRASTRUCTRE TO ABIANS.

Well, as for me, I dey dance ooo. This is the beginning of God's deliverance for Abia state an Abian's. Abia state is the only state without governor since 1999. All the so called 'governors' were armed robbers in suit. Ikpeazu was imposed on Abia by the immediate past armednor, Theo Orji, so that he would cover his loots. God has come for Abian's, so also He will come for the deliverance of Igbos

peaceful said...

Leave already... it's not ur birthright..

Freeborn Bamislam pls what is the name of your station?

Ok cool

Hahahhahahaahh. Drama. Two governors in one state.

Interesting...

Sky said...

I thought as much.

God help us

Hmmm Na wa 4 naija

Now the arithmetic is this;.. APC urges Uche Ogah to take down Okezie at all cost with the help of INEC, their brother and they will support him and put him on the seat of Abia state as governor and after few months he will decamp to APC.. Buhari and APC are bunch of evil people. Your plan to put Abia state and its people in pandemonium has failed. Shame on you people!!!!
Now attention to u evil party APC: leave Abia state alone, this government has abandoned us long enough so we don't want any further maltreatment. Enough is enough!!!