Girl whose African dress to prom was called tacky by a teacher says the teacher has apologized | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 22 May 2016

Girl whose African dress to prom was called tacky by a teacher says the teacher has apologized

A High school student,Mayalaya Zanders, who was told by a teacher that wearing an African dress to prom isn't really "something you wear to prom" went ahead and wore this gorgeous Ankara to her prom. She took to her IG page yesterday to say the teacher has since apologized, she has forgiven the teacher and has moved on. She also stated that she didn't want it to be about racism but about sharing her African culture. Initially she wrote:

"Thank you to everyone who gave me kind words on my prom dress. My date doesn't have social media so he's kinda nonchalant lol. The dress came after seeing the beautiful @jessnnecee wearing one similar to a ball. After discussing how beautiful it was and that I would do a african theme with a ) teacher I was told it wasn't really "something you wear to prom" Hellbent on proving them wrong and being someone who loves our culture and African glamorous style , me and @indelible_dc decided to take the Ankara dress and put a twist on it. Little did I know it came out more beautiful, then I could've ever imagine!! My dress was to make a point. That African style is beautiful. That I am comfortable with my Melanin and roots. And finally that there's nothing like Black girl Magic❤️
Then yesterday she wrote:

45 comments:

De dress tho!

Linda don't take note!

Nice one from the teacher

Top Leak – Yoruba Boys Lured And Forcefully Rape A Junior Secondary School Girl In The Bush Watch

Video – Exposed !! Naija Student Caught Fucking Eachother Inside An Unused Classroom After Finishing There Exam

She better be ... But the dress is fine na

Truly its tacky NNE....let's face fact! Ugly outfit

Lovely gown, beautiful body

Oh p-l-e-a-s-e!! Publicity stunt jare to promote the dress. If not please give us the teacher's name.

Good that she has apologised

Fine dress like this is what someone is calling tacky? I demand to see what that teacher looks like sef!

Fcvk

neo said...

OK seen.

Beautiful dress,na the teacher sabi

DNoble said...

U Look gorgeous on it dearly ............ gracia

Its beautiful

African beauty....she looks so gorgeous and d style

Beautiful

Lovely dress dear.

The dress is lovely but what with that thing around her waist

She looks exquisite

The teacher is simply jealous! That gown is stunning!

afolabi said...

Haba those whites Ehn!! U look good baby girl

That teacher needs to visit her optician for new spectacles 🤓👓.. It's obvious she's losing her sight.. This dress is fantastic and she looks great in it. 😉👍.. That stupid teacher needs to be put on racist watch and close monitor because she has indirectly shown she doesn't like blacks..

Looool

Leonard Omotayo (Hormortaryo #Frosh) said...

Beautiful dress, stunning lady...

Nne no mind the onye ara! Your dress is gorgeous. Linda take note!

hrm paul ojeih said...

Thunder fire d teacher wetin she sabi retarded asshole dis ankara iss so lovely on the girl.

Mehnnn this gown is the truth. I likey.

She's stunning

Being African ain't shit!

So called teenagers looking 35 and screwing each other before they are 14. Must your books hang out Lil miss thing?

Good. Silly teacher

Adaobi said...

Whoever that doesn't like this dress is a pure 'sadist'

I beg it's tacky joo

Okay, we have noticed her.

Beautiful dress!! Don't care bout the teacher's apology tho.

Now that's a lovely dress...not racism just lack of sense on the abusers part - Bane

send that teacher of us to specsavers I will foot the bill.cos she sure needs some bottom bottle specs.

This is the most beautiful African atire I have seen,

I have a crush on @rudegyaljennik I don't knw how to approach her on IG any advise, pls I need advise on how to go about it

Her cloth is so beautiful.

She's just so jealous

Chuks Bruno said...

You got swag gal.

Linda that your headline is wrong, your English this days is beginning to scare me ooooo.