The pilot of a Delta Airlines flight turned the plane around to pick up a Phoenix mom and her children on the way to their dad’s funeral.
Marcia Short’s husband of 32 years wished to be buried by his family in Tennessee. The 56-year-old died of lung cancer and his body was flown to Memphis Dec. 19, one day before the Sunday funeral.
So when the Shorts’ Dec. 19 flight out of Phoenix was delayed by more than an hour and the gate to their connecting flight in Minneapolis closed without them, they fell in despair.
“The heartache and thought of missing that flight hurt tremendously,” Marcia’s daughter Nicole told the Daily News via Facebook.
Through tears, the Shorts began waving their arms and screaming in a desperate attempt to catch the pilot’s attention.
They pleaded with an attendant who said nothing could be done to stop the plane from taking off.
Marcia was consoling her daughters when the Delta employee got a call, the pilot had seen them and was returning to the gate to let the family board.
“When the phone rang at the desk and she said it was the pilot who insisted on bringing that plane back to the gate to let us on more tears came,” Nicole Short wrote to The News. “But these ones were happy tears.”
A Delta spokesperson identified the pilot as Captain Adam Cohen of Endeavor Air, a Delta Airlines subsidiary.
“This Pilot deserves more praise than my family can give him,” Nicole Short wrote. “I hope others reading this will think twice and spread more kindness around.”
Source: New York Daily News
94 comments:
Dts touchn....he shouldn't b sacked ooo
GOD BLESS YOU PILOT.
Dts nice
Aya....so good to know,RIP to the dead.
Is dis compassion or wah?
Great Man!
Thatz a good heart!God bless the pilot! And may God comfort the family of the deceased! *princezz*
how nice....
Good for them...that kindda thing might only happen in Nigeria if you are an influential person.....ProudlyDeltan
The pilot is a darling...woow nice one...
~make I go drink one bottle of beer~
Heart of gold @ the gracious pilot
wow! kind hearted pilot.
eyaaaaa thank God
Awww
OKORO UPGRADED
Okay.....Good morning here
#LindaThumbsUp
that was very kind of him . shantel5050@yahoo.com
wooooow...so kind of him.
Linda me no understand....
Eyaa. That's a gd one. The family wld always b grateful 4 ds kindness.
woa! that's a nice one. God bless you pilot.
My Lady, that's really touching, hope the pilot did the right thing..!
Heya. Nice. But hope he doesn't lose his job
Good news. #IRepLIB
The President Speaks: New year message to Nigerians
Such kindness. God bless him
Wow what a kind heart..linda observe carefully
So kind of the pilot! Bless his kind heart,am guessing the family is white.
Really a good one...mary nwanmo
Breaking rules of flying #sneh
So touching and emotional...
That's what kindness is!
Eyaa#slimmy
hmmmmm
the pilot was thoughtful
RIP nice one Mr pilot
Dats gud of d pilot. God bless him.
Linda's bestie...
Nwa Nnewi.
kind heart pilot
new comer
Enter your comment...Seen Seen Seen
#Haveyouprayedfornigeriatoday
Awwwwwwww so nice of him....
Wow! So nice of him. ZINO
The pilot has a kind heart
Good !linda this is injustice #Abi#
Wow.. This is unbelievable. Good of the pilot tho but risky business. He can be fired for this u know.. He tried.
Wow.. This is unbelievable. Good of the pilot tho but risky business. He can be fired for this u know.. But he tried... 👍
That's what kindness is about... God will reward him...
Eyaaaah this is heart warming am in tears now.
so emotional. cute. followme on instagram at @arhcent. i follow back. #lindaitsurboy
Eyaa, that's nice of the pilot.
Ehya
Okbye.
Eyah,very nice of him.
Eyaa!!! That's very kind of him
That's so touching.
@Lindaikeji No. I FAN
EYAH...
NEW WIFE SPEAKS
EYAH...
NEW WIFE SPEAKS
Awwww
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...
#kpomkwem#
So nice of the pilot....
Awwwww so sweet of him
Eya...nice one
Haha. So nice of d pilot. #IamMe
Kudos to u pilot
How much is fuel now biko?
Owkk... Weldone my gud man.. Gud one
Hopefully the pilot doesn't face sanctions or even sacked for that.
Eyaa, good hearthed people still do exist , but what if the pilot and woman were having something between them ? Just saying
good man, keep on your good works.
But these ones were happy tears...Believe
Great pilot
God bless him so much.
Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yahoo.com
Delsu calling
Teary eyes#God bless d pilot
Awww..so nice of the pilot
So touching. Olaidex d secret fan.
I actually shed tears reading the part the pilot called to pick them up. Nice one. I can imagine not being able to attend tbe funeral of a loved one when you have planned being there.
Jesus is Lord!
Eyah. But what about the inconvenience it caused other passengers
That is so kind of the pilot. The LORD will reward him. Want to make it financially in 2016 through network marketing. CALL 08033187482
Nigerians should emulate this.angelmakiz@yahoo.com
That's a good heart. The pilot is a darling. If is Nigeria forget it ooh.
good man
new comer
Nice one BT make your good no come with sack letter
Lovely pilot...
.....just saying.....
That's nice
A gud heart
Really nice of him.
Smilin.....wat an impeccable gesture! God bles u my pilot.
If we all do random acts of kindness daily, we might just set the world in the right direction. So inspiring.
Wild flowers!
Awww! God bless the pilot for this act of kindness
Oyinbo people have so much respect for the dead
wow....dat was a huge sacrifice
It sounds so wonderful but d pilot break d rules too. Turning back to pick pple when d plane s to take off
Chaai
EYAHHH. TOUCHING