Pilot turns plane back so family won’t miss funeral | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday, 2 January 2016

Pilot turns plane back so family won’t miss funeral

The pilot of a Delta Airlines flight turned the plane around to pick up a Phoenix mom and her children on the way to their dad’s funeral.
Marcia Short’s husband of 32 years wished to be buried by his family in Tennessee. The 56-year-old died of lung cancer and his body was flown to Memphis Dec. 19, one day before the Sunday funeral.
So when the Shorts’ Dec. 19 flight out of Phoenix was delayed by more than an hour and the gate to their connecting flight in Minneapolis closed without them, they fell in despair.
“The heartache and thought of missing that flight hurt tremendously,” Marcia’s daughter Nicole told the Daily News via Facebook.
Through tears, the Shorts began waving their arms and screaming in a desperate attempt to catch the pilot’s attention.
They pleaded with an attendant who said nothing could be done to stop the plane from taking off.
Marcia was consoling her daughters when the Delta employee got a call, the pilot had seen them and was returning to the gate to let the family board.
“When the phone rang at the desk and she said it was the pilot who insisted on bringing that plane back to the gate to let us on more tears came,” Nicole Short wrote to The News. “But these ones were happy tears.”
A Delta spokesperson identified the pilot as Captain Adam Cohen of Endeavor Air, a Delta Airlines subsidiary.
“This Pilot deserves more praise than my family can give him,” Nicole Short wrote. “I hope others reading this will think twice and spread more kindness around.”

Source: New York Daily News

94 comments:

1. Dts touchn....he shouldn't b sacked ooo

1. If we all do random acts of kindness daily, we might just set the world in the right direction. So inspiring.

Wild flowers!

2. Oyinbo people have so much respect for the dead

3. Oyinbo people have so much respect for the dead

2. Aya....so good to know,RIP to the dead.

3. Is dis compassion or wah?

4. Thatz a good heart!God bless the pilot! And may God comfort the family of the deceased! *princezz*

5. Good for them...that kindda thing might only happen in Nigeria if you are an influential person.....ProudlyDeltan

6. The pilot is a darling...woow nice one...

~make I go drink one bottle of beer~

7. Heart of gold @ the gracious pilot

8. that was very kind of him . shantel5050@yahoo.com

9. Eyaa. That's a gd one. The family wld always b grateful 4 ds kindness.

10. woa! that's a nice one. God bless you pilot.

11. My Lady, that's really touching, hope the pilot did the right thing..!

12. Heya. Nice. But hope he doesn't lose his job

13. Such kindness. God bless him

14. Wow what a kind heart..linda observe carefully

15. Wow what a kind heart..linda observe carefully

16. Wow what a kind heart..linda observe carefully

17. So kind of the pilot! Bless his kind heart,am guessing the family is white.

18. Really a good one...mary nwanmo

19. Breaking rules of flying #sneh

20. So touching and emotional...

21. hmmmmm
    the pilot was thoughtful

22. Dats gud of d pilot. God bless him.

Linda's bestie...

Nwa Nnewi.

23. kingsareborn2rule2 January 2016 at 08:25

Enter your comment...Seen Seen Seen

#Haveyouprayedfornigeriatoday

24. Awwwwwwww so nice of him....

25. Wow! So nice of him. ZINO

26. The pilot has a kind heart

27. Good !linda this is injustice #Abi#

28. Wow.. This is unbelievable. Good of the pilot tho but risky business. He can be fired for this u know.. He tried.

29. Wow.. This is unbelievable. Good of the pilot tho but risky business. He can be fired for this u know.. But he tried... 👍

30. That's what kindness is about... God will reward him...

31. Eyaaaah this is heart warming am in tears now.

32. so emotional. cute. followme on instagram at @arhcent. i follow back. #lindaitsurboy

33. Eyaa, that's nice of the pilot.

34. Eyah,very nice of him.

35. Eyaa!!! That's very kind of him

36. That's so touching.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

37. EYAH...

NEW WIFE SPEAKS

38. EYAH...

NEW WIFE SPEAKS

39. Haha. So nice of d pilot. #IamMe

40. How much is fuel now biko?

41. Vickyfabulous adeleyevictor17@gmail.com2 January 2016 at 09:23

Owkk... Weldone my gud man.. Gud one

42. Hopefully the pilot doesn't face sanctions or even sacked for that.

43. Eyaa, good hearthed people still do exist , but what if the pilot and woman were having something between them ? Just saying

44. good man, keep on your good works.

45. But these ones were happy tears...Believe

46. God bless him so much.

Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yahoo.com
    Delsu calling

47. Teary eyes#God bless d pilot

48. So touching. Olaidex d secret fan.

49. I actually shed tears reading the part the pilot called to pick them up. Nice one. I can imagine not being able to attend tbe funeral of a loved one when you have planned being there.

50. Eyah. But what about the inconvenience it caused other passengers

51. That is so kind of the pilot. The LORD will reward him. Want to make it financially in 2016 through network marketing. CALL 08033187482

52. Nigerians should emulate this.angelmakiz@yahoo.com

53. That's a good heart. The pilot is a darling. If is Nigeria forget it ooh.

54. Nice one BT make your good no come with sack letter

55. Lovely pilot...

.....just saying.....

56. Smilin.....wat an impeccable gesture! God bles u my pilot.

57. Awww! God bless the pilot for this act of kindness

58. wow....dat was a huge sacrifice

59. It sounds so wonderful but d pilot break d rules too. Turning back to pick pple when d plane s to take off