Photo: Man buys two tubers of yam for N7000 at an African store in the US
A twitter user Wole (@Kingwole) shared this photo of two tubers of yam he bought for $23.68. (N7000). That amount should get one 20-30 tubers or more in Nigeria...depending on the size and market of course. Right?
Yam isn't grown in the State you know. Sometimes you just wanna have a feel of local food abroad. Better than spending that much on a Thai meal at a go.
And see me complaining that 13 tubers ( a carton ) here in Germany from our Mr Yam Goat for 25€ ( 7000 thousand naira ) is too expensive. I nor complain again from today... Make I come even call Me Yam sef bcos my own for house don finish.
so he is living in America and expect to get them for....how much?? Maybe for 10 dollars. Thats the amount you get when naira is nowhere compared to dollars.
I believe him,that's how I buy mine too in Maryland.That's why some people don't bother eating yam. When you try to bring it in,it is seized at the airport. Happened to me on few occasions.
BEAUTIFUL9JADELTABABE... good luck to am na US wey him dey na no b naija. Hmm anyway me am Justsayingmaownohh via ma LATEST TECNO F7. @lindaikeji d lindus am still waiting ohh
It's ridiculous. I bought one at $11.50 pretty smaller than what he has shared on the pix here in Houston Texas. And guess what? when i got home i found out Almost half of it was rotten inside. Lol
We'll, it's more expensive in Canada and it's not even this big! to get snails here nko! You. will see snails inside can for sale, but not the. same with my najia snail.
Oga, what is the monthly minimum wage in US? ($7.5 *40hrs/ week * 4). Compare @ 18,000 NGN. When in Rome, behave like the Romans, and when in US, eat burger because it's much cheaper than yam. Have you asked how much Pizza costs in Nigeria.
This is very true. I bought one yesterday for $12. Even indomie itself is $2 for 1 at an african store. Heinz salad cream is $4.99. 2 dericas of oloyin beans is $13 dollars but wetin person go do.
That is why Nigeria should start exporting food. I paid $8 for a similar sized yam yesterday in maryland. A box of about 10 yams is $68. All the supply comes from Ghana. Lots of ways Nigeria can make money but our government no gree do the leg work
He should not complain, he earns his money in $$$ not naira. Minimum wage in the USA is around $8 depending on the state, meanwhile governors are struggling to pay 18,000 naira in Nigeria. You can not compare in absolute terms. you need to consider what percentage of your earning is the 2 tubers of yam if you work in the US and what percentage of your earning is the 2 tubers of yam if you work in Nigeria. If you work 8am to 4pm in the USA like government workers do in Nigeria, you earn $64 a day, multiply by 22 working days your gross is $1408. The tubers will probably cost 500 naira in Nigeria which is 2.7% of the minimum wage of 18,000 naira. Relatively it is more expensive on your earning if you earn minimum wage here in Nigeria
It doesn't baffle me, we go through the same price issue here in Europe on African ingredients. We just have to endure and buy when you can afford them.
they should come home and farm, or better still, cultivate a farm over there...how much is N7000 in dollars...that is about 23 dollars 3 cent. that shows how invaluable our Naira has become. God help us! there was a country
He bought it cheap at N23, at Walmart, those yams would have cost way more, probably almost $40 because it's bought per Lb(weight). I once bought a very small tuber of yam at Walmart for almost $12 sometime ... Ridiculous. Tropical/African food in the US is expensive because it's imported
@ama adoma you're a freaking liar yam cost at least £4-5 in London. By why is everyone compering the price difference, the US is a far place and cost of shipping is included am sure this guy lives in Arizona or some place where Nigerian don't reside... It's less than $7 in nyc
You should know better not to compare the standard of living of America and Nigeria. It is obvious that the more you make the more you spend. LInda!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
This is very resonable. Dry yam shipped by air from Ghana to the U.S. and at the store for sale within 3 days so it is still fresh and you are complaining? You gets to pay for the loss when it is not sold on time and it begins to rot? A begi... That is very O.K. If not, eat gira...
shopping in the US these days is very expensive for anybody with naija mind. Le boo bought a top for me at macys last december wen i travelled only for me to convert it and it gives me 16000 naira. shuo! for ordinary top o. Nobody will even know where I buy d top nor how much it cost so no need shopping there for now. Thanks to our governmnet that has turned our money to akara.
170 comments:
Very possible...
This is slaying of the highest order.
Since he commot em own money buy the yam it's no big deal!
Then he shud get his ass down here and buy it then transport it to US if he think it's expensive.
that is even cheap
its no news
That's it with African food abroad very expensive.
Lol...its really expensive over there
That's prty too much !!!
*dew*
Lol nitori olohun, y wud i buy ds for 7k wen i can buy 6 or 7 of it for around 1k5 or evn lesser amount
Wow.. That's really expensive.
#WhoshouldItell
Sorry,na you carry yourself go US.
Lol... African food are really expensive over there.
Oh shit
Hehehehe no b him one go america...make him dey dere...
~Make I go drink one bottle of beer~
Na so e be o. Go to the UK then you'd know that Jesus is Lord when you pay 35 pounds.
Chai! 2 cost! Can't afford it
!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere
What? Ofcos Linda ur right. Nawao! Gues I should start yam busines over there.
@Lindaikeji No. I FAN
really expensive
#she'sunique#
And hu said 7k will buy 30 tubers of yams hia????.....abi na yam seedlings u wan buy
Ah Linda,na wa for you o.you said US.how much do you buy the Oyinbo made things you have.is it d same price as they buy there. Give us better aproko
Just 2 tubers of yarn 4 N7,000.00...this is real business in the U.S.Very Nice.
Ok, that amount will get you like 40 tubers here
that is USA for you
Thats just how it is here in the UK also. We just roll with it.
Ehn ehn! Dat money will be 30 tubers in naija
Sure, you can say that again
Wat we enjoy in Nigeria...
... merited happiness
That can fetch you 80 tubers in benue at this time.
Imagine just 2tubers of yam na wa ooo
Na wa o,,in nigeria,benue or taraba to b precise,,u wud buy 50 or mor tubers @ dat price
LINDA NOTIFY DBANJ
Let him come back home na!
Ahh! 7104thousand!enuf to buy all d yams need for bride price nd ur name will b heard in 3neighbouring villages.
Are u shitting me??? This one na cool business o, exporting African food stuffs αи∂ selling with a price slightly raised. Wow!
#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE
For bulk sms and Corporate website design pls visit
www.advertiserspanel.com
Cheap.veryy cheap.
It's very cheap for try har price in US.Come to Australia and buy it .
Hahahaha
For affordable sexy bodycon dress, crop tops and skirt add 51667be6
Its even more expensive in Dubai. That size is about 100dhs each. Which is 10,400 for 2.
Choiiii... I day madt...
#Al sah-him
He he na wa o, This one too much na...
Yam isn't grown in the State you know. Sometimes you just wanna have a feel of local food abroad. Better than spending that much on a Thai meal at a go.
God we need deliverance from slavery in this nation
Jesus is Lord
In my mums shop as at now due to cost in market this isnt more than #400.
That simply means we should appreciate what we have.
#Hajia Mufliat
And Linda funny enough I also bought two tubers for 25 pounds last Friday lol. African markets over here are making money big time
Though usually biggger than these, i buy four tubers in my area around 3000+, so it isn't bad at all for 7k in the US.
That's how is expensive over dere, I bought one tuber in houston for 7$
#7k will buy like 35 tube, cos, one is #200 in some area.
I could be making a lot of money if I start exporting yam to the US. *thinking*
And see me complaining that 13 tubers ( a carton ) here in Germany from our Mr Yam Goat for 25€ ( 7000 thousand naira ) is too expensive. I nor complain again from today... Make I come even call Me Yam sef bcos my own for house don finish.
WOW... this good,
Another one: OMG…Ex-b0yfr!end rele@ses ph0t0s of h!s former b@be he f.ucked four yrs ago +18 Only (See Photos)
Am I surprised? Nah! Does he not know where he is b4? No place like home jare!
That's th sacrifice u av to pay
so he is living in America and expect to get them for....how much?? Maybe for 10 dollars.
Thats the amount you get when naira is nowhere compared to dollars.
#XENO-FABIAN
Munabwana!
Read this! 5 Reasons You Should Try DRINKING Baking Soda
Maybe there's US greencard inside d yam
Odikwa egwu seriously. Linda take note!
He wanted to eat yam nah. Why was he now complaining? Did they force you to buy it?
Omg! U must be kidding me!
Yes is true even here in China two tubers of yam is 8500. * it's well*
Here in Malaysia I buy a tuber of yam for #5000. Count yourself lucky man.
THATS WHAT IT SHOULD BE.
Ehnnnnnnn!!?? Say Wetin happen!? My Grandma no fit buy that thing for 450naira sef.. They suppose burn the shop
#Linda OyaDab#
Na wa for Dis life sef
I knw say na najia woman go sell dat yam. Cos ther lik money die
What? In Niger state, that could get you over 40 tubers of yam.
Life in yanki no easy ooooo hnmmmmmmmm
It's true, that's the amount we buy it at the state. African food are expensive
This one cheap die. Bought one of the same size in Doha for 100 riyals (5500 naira).
Na so! Good business Very soo my own afrcan store too ll be open at the US *smile*
Waoh!
Its far more expensive than that here in Suisse.
They should contact Wangaraufoods for doorstep delivery if African food items.
He is lucky, in Australia those two would have cost more!
Yep. But it's abroad. So that's it.
#Somebody must to love me tonight!!!
Are u kidding me. does are way too expensive for jxt two tubers of yam. (Cyndy).
I'm sure the person just got to US dats why he is posting this, even in UK it's exxpensive
I believe him,that's how I buy mine too in Maryland.That's why some people don't bother eating yam. When you try to bring it in,it is seized at the airport. Happened to me on few occasions.
Lol.. don't they produce yam or farm yam in d US? Must it be african yams? Guess ours is da best!
WHAT!!???? This is serious
Lol.. don't dey produce or farm yams in d US or other western countries? Must it be african yams? Guess ours is da best
At least i can get 2 tubers for £5 in the UK;and my naija peeps will be complaining....UK better o.
That was cheap actually to compare to here in Malaysia seriously
That 2 yam will be like 12Ä· naira here
Hmmmmmm!una dey try.i no go buy ooo.na by force?
me no go buy!no b buy force oooo
Its normal na.
Well una dey try dia ooo.i wont buy atall.
He is even lucky to get two good tubers at that rate, let him come to Gran Canaria to ask for price
I no de chop yam ,so I no know how much dem de sale yam.
Igbo boys, busines that land. Make u begin dey export yam to US.
Nawaoo.......so much moni
Na witch...u no send make dem way bill a cargo plane full wit yams from naija
Na must to chop yam.abeggg too dam expensive jare
BEAUTIFUL9JADELTABABE... good luck to am na US wey him dey na no b naija. Hmm anyway me am Justsayingmaownohh via ma LATEST TECNO F7.
@lindaikeji d lindus am still waiting ohh
Yam Yam we dont even have it here,to bring it in sef na war,
Chai ... they re suffering over there o
Really??!
African store owners abroad are making it big no doubt..
Good for them
In Australia here, we buy one yam for approximately 10 dollars, African food is so expensive
Its soooo expensive here ooooo.4get it I no fit buy herm. M nt any food freak
Haba linda, 20-30 kini? For which market? 7k could possibly get you about 10 tubers and no more.
Make una dey chop burger
Linda, are u high or something, u need to go to the market, Hmmm 7000 will get u 4 to 5 tubers of yam ooo not 20 to 30 ooo,
It's ridiculous. I bought one at $11.50 pretty smaller than what he has shared on the pix here in Houston Texas. And guess what? when i got home i found out Almost half of it was rotten inside. Lol
Na gold yam be that; not the one every body no..
Hehehehehehhehe like serus,nawa ooo it's too costly.
Yes, dis is d pain pple deal with. African food is very expensive, u can spend $100 n it will be like u didn't shop @ all compared to America's food.
Am sure this buyer calculated with the new dollar rate......God bless Nigeria... #thetruthwillprevail
It is well
Am sure this buyer calculated with the new dollar rate......God bless Nigeria... #thetruthwillprevail
We'll, it's more expensive in Canada and it's not even this big! to get snails here nko! You. will see snails inside can for sale, but not the. same with my najia snail.
Linda this is not a new. That's how we buy it. A real African yam is around 20 to 30$ each. Seriously no exaggeration lol
How much is one dollar again in naira. Bro don't compare.
#PeopleMustAdjust
BIAFRA_LAND
So naira is now so worthless that $23.68 = 7k....
For window blinds, wallpaper and curtain please call 08160856785.
Exchange rate issues....
hmmmmmmm!
Omo see bizness ooooo 2 tubers of yam 7k.
Odikwa very very Risky oooooo
We dey enjoy for London oo.
Na wa oooo...Aunty linda be posting my comment oooo
Na wa dat real bizness
Oga, what is the monthly minimum wage in US? ($7.5 *40hrs/ week * 4). Compare @
18,000 NGN. When in Rome, behave like the Romans, and when in US, eat burger because it's much cheaper than yam. Have you asked how much Pizza costs in Nigeria.
Shey him life depends on dat yam ni?
"NeVeR SaY NeVeR"
This is very true. I bought one yesterday for $12. Even indomie itself is $2 for 1 at an african store. Heinz salad cream is $4.99. 2 dericas of oloyin beans is $13 dollars but wetin person go do.
Smilin.....itz coz our money is valueless datz y wen itz converted it bcomz too high.
Wow this is forking expensive mehhhhnnnnn
That's how much yams are sold at GoldCoast store- the biggest African shop in New York - 2 months ago I bought 2 for nineteen dollars
Yam. I don tire for the yam thing. Na once in 2 months for here oo.
So? Make dem no make profit? Check out the price of a yam tuber in Alaska. Na waya oooo
That is why Nigeria should start exporting food. I paid $8 for a similar sized yam yesterday in maryland. A box of about 10 yams is $68. All the supply comes from Ghana. Lots of ways Nigeria can make money but our government no gree do the leg work
I got 2 small tubber for CAD$25 it was. Instead I buy white potatoes.
I bought 2 tubbers for $25 at Toronto.
I got 2 small tubber for CAD$25 it was. Instead I buy white potatoes.
Must I eat yam while abroad?
Thats cheap .. Its $65 = 15,000N per tuber of yam here in Australia ..
He should not complain, he earns his money in $$$ not naira. Minimum wage in the USA is around $8 depending on the state, meanwhile governors are struggling to pay 18,000 naira in Nigeria. You can not compare in absolute terms. you need to consider what percentage of your earning is the 2 tubers of yam if you work in the US and what percentage of your earning is the 2 tubers of yam if you work in Nigeria.
If you work 8am to 4pm in the USA like government workers do in Nigeria, you earn $64 a day, multiply by 22 working days your gross is $1408. The tubers will probably cost 500 naira in Nigeria which is 2.7% of the minimum wage of 18,000 naira. Relatively it is more expensive on your earning if you earn minimum wage here in Nigeria
Nice one, at least he will not turn the yam to corruption.
Na business ...
What do u expect?
It doesn't baffle me, we go through the same price issue here in Europe on African ingredients. We just have to endure and buy when you can afford them.
Lol That's the price of one large tuber in Toronto. Dunno why he complaining.he got it better.
It's not expensive to him cos if he couldn't afford it, he wouldn't have paid for the tubers of yam in the first place.
Na wa o....
Yes but add logistics...it did not just disappear to the states ...
Na to chatter aeroplane full of tubers of yam sure pass o
#LibGotMeUpAllNight
I named my d*** "The Cat whisperer" because he knows just what the pussy needs
This is a lie! Lol
What's his point. That is how much we pay for it out hear. I he buys a box or 1/2 a box it comes out cheaper
See fyn yam
So true you guys.. thats what we see here.
they should come home and farm, or better still, cultivate a farm over there...how much is N7000 in dollars...that is about 23 dollars 3 cent. that shows how invaluable our Naira has become. God help us!
there was a country
Dts wt u get when u choose 2 live abroad
That is cheap! Its $15 a tuner on this side of town.
Yes o I went to Orlando for holiday bought a medium size onion for $3
That's cheap, I buy a tuber for $16
Pls don't compare U.S. with Naija. Minimum average wage is $8.50 an hour while Naija minimum wage is still well under $100 per month
He bought it cheap at N23, at Walmart, those yams would have cost way more, probably almost $40 because it's bought per Lb(weight). I once bought a very small tuber of yam at Walmart for almost $12 sometime ... Ridiculous. Tropical/African food in the US is expensive because it's imported
It's kind of wrong to conver to naira since these people earn their money in dollars. If u were earning in naira, then it's wiser to convert
$26? Come on, that cheap naaa.
Say what!! 7000 gini??? Hmmm. That's outrageous. Is it contraband goods in the US?
Linda I hv arrived, post my comment.
@ama adoma you're a freaking liar yam cost at least £4-5 in London. By why is everyone compering the price difference, the US is a far place and cost of shipping is included am sure this guy lives in Arizona or some place where Nigerian don't reside... It's less than $7 in nyc
You should know better not to compare the standard of living of America and Nigeria. It is obvious that the more you make the more you spend. LInda!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
This is very resonable. Dry yam shipped by air from Ghana to the U.S. and at the store for sale within 3 days so it is still fresh and you are complaining? You gets to pay for the loss when it is not sold on time and it begins to rot? A begi... That is very O.K. If not, eat gira...
He can get his family and friends to be arranging yam, crayfish and the rest of them for him from this end. It can be done
-LIB PIKIN-
shopping in the US these days is very expensive for anybody with naija mind. Le boo bought a top for me at macys last december wen i travelled only for me to convert it and it gives me 16000 naira. shuo! for ordinary top o. Nobody will even know where I buy d top nor how much it cost so no need shopping there for now. Thanks to our governmnet that has turned our money to akara.
Na so we see am for yankee. This africans will just charter and be cheating us here. Esp if ur in a place withfew africans and competition
Yeeeeeehhhh which walmart sells yam in your village. WALMART DON'T SELL AFRICAN YAM LIAR LIAR..OR U MEAN FARMERS MARKET LOL
seen....angelmakiz@yahoo.com
One chance
it is sold for $19 now