Lagos shuts 53 churches, mosques, hotels | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 10 December 2015

Lagos shuts 53 churches, mosques, hotels

Lagos State Government yesterday shut down 53 churches, mosques and hotels over noise pollution and environmental nuisance in the state. Some of the worship centres were shut because they were converted from residential apartments to places of worship thereby contravening the law and constituting nuisance to neighbours.

Lagos State Environmental Protection Agency, LASEPA General Manager, Engr Rasheed Shabi, while commenting on the closures said the agency received lots of complaints from residents and neighbours of the worship centers ‎
“In recent times, most of the petitions kept coming back to us. It was as if we are not working at all. That was why we shut the premises. You cannot have makeshift structure and say you want to be conducting services or vigil there. Definitely, you will be disturbing your neighbours. So, the government won’t allow the use of makeshift facilities as a church or mosque. Nobody is allowed to make noise above 55 decibel during the day in the residential area and only 45 decibel is allowed in such area at night. In the industrial areas, 90 decibel of noise is allowed during the day while the noise rate must not exceed 80 decibel at night in such areas. The compliance level is increasing. More residents now understand the effect of noise. Some of the religious houses are also complying with the noise pollution regulations,”.

73 comments:

GOOD!

Kilode?

SMURF said...

The noise some make is way too much and their choir or soloist singing off key or singing the song wrongly doesn't help

Fat ambode! What are u doing about the state of insecurity?

Kaiser said...

Good job

Very good.

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Ambode is working!

please let them come to my close in festac...if they got numbers i can call that would be so much appreciated. these people are disturbing the peace of my close.

Haba why church and mosque

Good... ka ndi mmadu nuo mmiri toba iko...

We should not even have churches or mosques in residential areas at all. I once beat up a pastor on my street for disturbing my peace

People are making 200 decibel of noise here on tis blog. Linda should make efforts to shut them down

Is this our priority now.....?

edDREAMZ said...

If it helps then is all gud....

lol, so this man is this clueless? he's counting these unnecessary actions as accomplishments.. smh..

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm,do as u like,it is your turn but lagos is some thing else when it comes to noise.

Na wa oooo Ambode, u wan start wetin u no fit finish

Okokobioko nice development,mosque own worst pass...4 churches u mustn't open a new plc of worship to tell ppl u serving God,u can still do ur evangelical work/ministerial work in that ur church u dn't need to open a new church....it's all these tins that cause greediness up n down in christian domain....4 hotel I no get anytin to tell una.

It's very necessary

I hope the mosque in my area is one of 'em..

Susan O. said...

Very Good... How I wish Gov Oshiomole of Edo state can do the same... thumbs up for Ambode

The massage is well presentable,

Unique Bee said...

Ambode is quick to close down churches, but slow to curb crimes.....the cane that will flog u is still boiling in hot water.

Pls how do one make complain I have one @ the back of my house in ebutte metta area of lagos mainland. They make nose 24/7 we don't sleep at all. Pls I need email or phone number to call tnx.

its a nice move. lagos too noisy abeg!

D noise thing no be small ish at all. Linda take note!

Emdos Supernova said...

Yeah, that's a nice move. Them go dey disturb others all in the name of praying.
#emdossupernova

The Rasheed Shabi guy even has a muslim name and he is busy shutting down mosques. Ambode should focus on drainage and flood in Lagos instead of focusing on trivial things like shutting down mosques and churches that are meant to be praying to God for Lagos to be a better place. Be careful so that the wrath of God dont come upon you. Fashola never had time for such things. This is Africa and not a grave yard or western countries that are allergic to noise.

shugabae said...

Hehehehehehe.......nice one...
Please guys where can I get a very nice cake on the mainland in lagos.

Instead of you to be going after religious bodies, go after corrupt people. Focus on your agenda and leave those that want to serve God alone

This Lagos state people have misplaced priorities. Is it by shutting down mosques and churches that will show that you are working. Is "noise" part of what you promised us? What about education, electricity, unemployment, bad roads, flood and infrastructure??

nice one

This Lagos state government have misplaced priorities. Is it by shutting down mosques and churches that will show that you are working? Is "noise" part of what you promised us? What about education, electricity, unemployment, bad roads, flood and infrastructure??

Better biko

Nice move! Nigerians are too religious but not spiritual. Putting a loud speaker outside your church or mosque will not change the heart of man, not even the worker in church. Evangelise,if you need to win souls. Disturbing others is like constituting a nuisance.

Welcome step. Please publicize the list of the affected organizations so that it could be a deterrent and will help to ginger others. May God save our soul. Toks

yea was hoping someone would fix this.

Amaka said...

Same should be done in Enugu. Abakpa to be precise. Cypaco hotel is more than a nuisance to the good people of Ugbene.

Kelvin said...

Amaka said...

Same should be done in Enugu. Abakpa to be precise. Cypaco hotel is more than a nuisance to the good people of Ugbene. I pity the children being raised around the hotel filled to the brim with hoodlums and prostitutes. The type of words that come out from their mouths. God have mercy. Thank God for providing me with an alternative accommodation, at least for the sake of my kids. Enugu state government, l implore you to toe this line and act as fast as possible.

Amaka said...

Same should be done in Enugu. Abakpa to be precise. Cypaco hotel is more than a nuisance to the good people of Ugbene. I pity the children being raised around the hotel filled to the brim with hoodlums and prostitutes. The type of words that come out from their mouths. God have mercy. Thank God for providing me with an alternative accommodation, at least for the sake of my kids. Enugu state government, l implore you to toe this line and act as fast as possible.

The effect of his own leadership is in churches, no other place

Thank God!!! Now I can sleep in peace...please can we have a number to call and report???

Lol. ..you are too funny. That's why I read comments on this blog

Working where?

TOUCH OF RAY said...

Great! As much as I don't want to react, i can't help it. Closing this places, will it increase witches or demons? This people think religion will take them to heaven. As for the Mosque early morning wahala, that is another case. Oh the noisey hotels, those ones should be bound from residential areas. People have lost it. Business at the expense of other. If you don't knw, not all church be church likewise mosque etc, close them all, so no hard feeling... Pill out

@Shugabae contact yetabol cakes on 07063847733.she does fluffy cakes.

It is the mosque in my area that wakes me up every morning at 5am. The loud speaker is so loud. I have decided to accept it and use it as my alarm clock.

U wish...

What of clubs?!

Miss Ferragamo said...

I'm telling you. Please if you find their contact lemme know. I have like 3 around my house at satellite town...lol

Is a good thing

Your comment sounds really unfair and inconsiderate. Do people not have a right to their peace because of religion?. To even make matters worse, you are linking this issue to God's wrath. The earlier we stop being hypocritical on religion matters,the better for us. This explains why a lot of people will die in silence all in the name of religion.

ogechi0502 said...

Mr governor why not focus on building bridges to ease traffic in lagos,

He is working cunt!

I'm a Christian but they really need to check out my area in Ojo, about 7 churches on one Street. And at least one of them must hold vigil everyday.

U talking bout my boss.. gm lasepa.. only womanizer in this life.. he is frst to complain nd shut companies nd chtches wen he doesnt av an effluent treatmnt plant.. nd keeps trying yo sleep with all his IT students.. cow

just list the name of the churches and mosques or clubs here and their locations our agents are here to take note and take action EKO ONI BAJE OOOO

@Amonymous 9:35pm lets be frank here. Is it only mosques and churches that make noise in Lagos? What about junctions where u have buses waiting for passengers and conductors shouting out the name of the place they are going to and disturbs the whole area. Such bus conductor noises wake me up in the mornings as early as 4am. What about people that use canopy to block streets without taking permission from the neighbours all in the name of party. What about siren making noise when governor's entourage is passing your area? Pls lets stop being hypocritical.

@Amonymous 9:35pm lets be frank here. Is it only mosques and churches that make noise in Lagos? What about junctions where u have buses waiting for passengers and conductors shouting out the name of the place they are going to and disturbs the whole area? Such bus conductor noises wake me up in the mornings as early as 4am. What about people that use canopy to block streets without taking permission from the neighbours all in the name of party. What about siren making noise when governor's entourage is passing your area? Pls lets stop being hypocritical.

Lagos in general is a noisy place. It is not only mosques and churches that make noise in Lagos. Ambode should thread softly

I dont have a problem with shutting down noisy places but there are many noisy places all over Lagos, why punish only mosques and churches?

There is the sound of generator all over lagos making noise on a daily basis. Even your next door neighbour's generator is noisy and a nuisance to your ears. Why didnt they tell the neighbour to pack out and shut down the house? Generator noises of many neighbours dont allow me sleep well at night. Why have they not barned the use of generators because of noise? Why are they attacking mosques and churches. Stmcheew.

How come you beat up a pastor? Are you a juju worshipper? Is the Pastor's prayers disturbing your witchcraft and occultic evil activities? You never talk true. Gerrarahia

I hope Anambra State govt is seeing this!?