Boko Haram: 13,000 Nigerians take refuge in Cameroon- UN report | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 12 November 2014

Boko Haram: 13,000 Nigerians take refuge in Cameroon- UN report

According to a report released yesterday November 11th by the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), 13,000 Nigerians fled from Nigeria to Cameroon in October after the attack and capture of Mubi town in Adamawa state by Boko Haram members.

According to the report, which you can find here, some 13,000 Nigerian refugees mostly women and children, fled Mubi town in over 300 vehicles and settled in towns of Guider and Gashiga in the North region of Cameroun and to Bourha, Mogode and Boukoula in the Far North of Cameroon.

Although some Cameroonian nationals say most of the Nigerians that arrived their villages have returned to Nigeria and have settled at the refugee camps set up in Yola, the Adamawa state capital, the UNHCR say it is investigating claims that those who returned to Nigeria were forcefully sent back  
"We are also examining claims that some of these refugees may have been forced to return to Nigeria. We are seeking assurances from both Nigeria and Cameroun that the return of these people was done on a voluntary basis. Cameroun is hosting thousands of refugees from Nigeria and Central African Republic and we encourage Cameroon to continue with its policy of welcoming refugees,” UNHCR said.

25 comments:

ewoooooooooooooooooooo ewoooooooooooooooo ewooooooooooooo ewooooooooooooooooo shame to nigeria politicians when the ones that we vote for the monster has flee then who will chai may gods judgement fall on aso rock ooooooooooooo

THANK YOU LINDA... I'VE RECEIVED MY MONDAY GIVEAWAY PRICE...
GOD BLESS UR HURSTLE

What has happened to the almost N60billion raised for the Victims Support Fund for these people. I said it then that it was for 2015 Election because we are yet to hear of anything done with that money. Should it be Cameroon giving Nigerians refuge? Please God, come down and intervene.

We have trains na, let our government go and pick them with those new trains.

I'm sure we all can see the number and you know it can never be exactly 13,000 it would be more than "13,000plus" so if you sit there and you not believing what Boko Haram is up to..you would be surprised.. U had better start praying as your prayers would count in one way or the other. 1 thess 5:17-18. BishopDammy#

Isn't rather a shame that we can't defend this great nations with vast resources and a strong military reputation in other countries? And our citizens are taken refuge in a much smaller country that we should be granting their citizens refugee.

we know this before, this is stale news

Where is Mr president?

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

Bolateetoh said...

Why there n not Southwest or d East or South-south? There's still enough space in Nigeria to contain d sane Nigerians n leave d war torn for d insane ones.

Naija is really doomed..... God help us abeg....

Uche Emma said...

Serious?

God please protect my country

#king said...

And we have a president.........................#KingOfKings #6ixGod

Hmmm and them wan do election for those ends, who wan vote, Boko Haram?!

Very shame on our Government.

funmsy said...

So sad

In spite of our religious beliefs, we must all cooperate to pray for our dear country Nigeria.

And we have a president lol

Jonathan is a disgrace to humanity!!! I wonder why his Second term ambition is more important than human life!!! Self-centered ungrateful fool......
Why can't he simply equip and inspire our army to victory?

APC has nothing to offer Nigerians
Cos I just finished watching Adams Oshiomole's 6th year anniversary in power, i didnt get anything from the whole thing apart from PDP this, PDP that.
This APC people are really really confused... tufikwa

A pdp man is the commander in chief of Nigeria armed forces, it's his duty to protect lives and properties of nigerians irrespective of their tribe. This has nothing to do with the opposition.

And we have goverment

Jonathan is a failure, he shuld jst resign, how can our own citizen be refugee in Cameron!! He shuld go and pick them up and bring them to Lagos where they are always welcum....

Shame on Northern leaders.

No one shld vote PDP or APC. ... I think what nigeria needs is a fresh start, vote wisely my people. . Enough is enough