Graphic: Court remands man for killing and burying his daughter's alleged 22-year-old boyfriend in Cross River State | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 12 February 2017

Graphic: Court remands man for killing and burying his daughter's alleged 22-year-old boyfriend in Cross River State

Cross River State High Court sitting in Calabar, on Friday, February 10th, remanded one Godwin Elewana at the Afokang Prisons for the second time for allegedly killing and burying 22 year old Douglas Ojugbo (pictured) whom he had suspected was having an affair with his daughter.

In March 2015, Elewana, described as a dangerous man chased the late Douglas upon sighting him from a distance of about a kilometer to the gate of the Cross River Basin Development Authority where he shot him on the leg and arm.

After he died, Elewana of River Basin Authority, 8 Miles Calabar, took the corpse to the Federal Housing Police Station where he allegedly connived with the DPO to bury the deceased at the Goldie cemetery.

But, the deceased father in a petition to the Zone 6 command of the Nigeria Police Force argued that late Douglas was not having an affair with the accused daughter but only wanted to collect the balance of his Mini Laptop he had sold earlier to her.

The matter which was heard at Court 8 presided over by Justice Ukpa Ebitham saw prosecution counsel Amaja Eneji tender evidence to the Court which showed that the license of the double barreled gun used in shooting the deceased expired in 2013, about 2 years before the incident.
Also tendered in evidence were two expended cartridges, one machete, a double barreled gun and five pellets recovered from the body of the deceased following an autopsy carried out after exhumation of the corpse reports.

Amaja who argued that no civilian had the right to take the life of another prayed the Court to critically assess the matter with a view to delivering judgement.

However, Defense Counsel, Clement Ukaegbu, told the Court that the wife of the accused had filed for an out of court settlement. The matter is adjourned till February 27 with presiding Judge Ebitham saying the matter will not be allowed to proceed beyond 2 weeks as it was a case of alleged murder.
Source: CrossRiverWatch

30 comments:

uniquechic said...

Ppl with influence God will fight for d poor boy..I wonder what dey r dragging in court u kill u face d punishment. Even if dey r having affair its not rape d girl consented except she is underage . D man cant kill his daughter but can kill someone else's son? D heart of man is desperately wicked

Na wa oh!NA ALL THIS SMALL BOYS THAT VOW TO DIE FOR LOVE FREEBORN HISS. They should free the guy afterall he warn the guy to stay away from his daughter he refuse so he have no option than TO SEND HIM WHERE TERRORIST BUHARI DEY.

Chei! Na wa o. Things dey happen o

Lib addict#just pasing#

DownUnder said...

Out of court settlement for a murder case?

nawa

Ife na-emenu ooo. So, human life is worthless now.he will be meted by God's judgement . Basically ibi

na wa o,why is he not tried alongside the DPO?

Wickedness of d wicked...

igboboy said...

out of court settlement for murder? na wao

YINXS said...

This story is incomplete, to my understanding the alleged assailant is not a civilian. Which part of the harm forces does he belong to.?

And what about if the young man is dating his daughter does that gave him the right to kill him.What none sense.let's even see the girl sef.

Teslim Omipidan said...

God of mercy! What a wicked soul! You don spoil val for person!
Nigerian ladies, this tantalizing soup will help you construct a path to the heart of your man! Trust me!

Oh God have mercy on your children, those people are just after oil and forgot to train there children, that's why I called them families of chimpanzees and bokoharam.

It is well o

Wow! finally, justice is about to take its course. I know this story and I am very much happy to see it published. this is what u get when u kill the son of a lawyer. More grace to u elbow Mr. Ojogbu, don't let Douglas death, go down the drain. thank u Linda for publishing this story.

Well done Linda, for bringing on this story.

Sure hez sleeping with his daughter... dee

APPLELIPX said...

Poor Douglas
We use to be childhood frnds
Den every one grew
He left for Madonna university
The rest is nw history

mautique said...

God have mercy!

I still remember this story,linder u r very good

nd dats hw dis guy lost his life...Rip

Don't talk without reason, what's the boy's offense that's worth his death penalty? God forgive you and him

Mehn too bad..

Nawa o, am people are so heartless.

I am confused. Why is a murder case since 2015 getting to court now. Why is only the murderer on trial? What about the police DPO that connived with the murderer to bury the body not on trial? He has a case to answer. Why is the defense lawyer using the guise of out of court settlement to get an adjourned? Why didn't the persecution object? Why the the trial judge agree to adjourn the case? Can a murder case be settled out of court? Please the case should not be shoddy. A young man died in agony. A shot on the arm and leg should not have killed him immediately. The woman that is proposing an out of court settlement who she be willing if it was her child?

Loveth said...

I need a gun to kill DAT woman's daughter too we all d d out of court settlement and knw how it feels jezzzz so annoying

Sick nigga

tayo said...

Freeborn you are INSANE.

If the father of Douglas agrees to out of court settlement then, I'll call him ODE. This is pure brutality, he should press for the harshest sentence or the imi nkita murderer should bring his own child to replace Douglas.