CEO of TasalaHQ salon, Dupe Talabi took to instagram to narrate how she was robbed
last night while in traffic at Eko Bridge, Lagos. Narrating her
ordeal, she said they were 6 men and they made away with her handbags,
phone and every other thing they could find in the car. She revealed
that the worst part of the experience was that other road users made no
attempt to help them while the robbery was going on. Read what she wrote after the cut...
"The most traumatising thing that has EVER
happened in my life happened this evening. After an amazing day at
@tfdseries , I was stuck in traffic on eko bridge, literally 5 mins away
from home. Next thing I know both the front and back windows of my car
were smashed in by armed robbers. My driver was driving and I was in the
back. There were 2 on each side and 2 on standby literally just
grabbing everything they could from the car. My handbag and another bag.
One even grabbed my wrist as my phone was in my hand.
@bsrasaki@fifidilly this was while I was chatting with you guys. It
happened so fast I could not even comprehend what was going on. My
driver immediately got out of the car and told me to get in the drivers
seat and drive home immediately. I was so shaken I couldn't move at
first but had to snap out of it. The saddest part is that no one tried
to help as my driver attempted to hold one of them down. There were so
many cars and people on the road but everyone just looked on. I thank
God that we are both safe, alive and well. Everything that was lost was
material and the car can be fixed. I've heard these stories before but
in my 4 years of living in Nigeria, this was a first for me. Apparently
these things happen more during the festive season. Please let us all be
extra careful and vigilant. These are hard times in Nigeria and people
are desperate. Keep safe!! I'm just super grateful to God that we were
not physically harmed. The thieves can enjoy rocking my handbag and my
possessions for all I care
#staysafe#Nigeria"
36 comments:
Hmm
Too bad but thankGod for ur life
At this critical moment...,quite sad! May God replenish all that was stolen.
Chaiii... Dat's unfair, lagosians try n be ur brother's keeper abeg
What does she expect other road users to do??? Make person no go use head carry another person death. Na Police she suppose dey vex for. Linda take note!
All in lagos! Imagine!TOMORROW IF THE MOB LYNCH AN BURN THEM A FOOL WILL SAY JUNGLE JUSTICE IS EVIL MAY THUNDER FIRE U. My dear ur fellow road users looked on because they don't want to be rob or attack while some don't know what was going on. NOW ASK UR SELF IF THIS LADY GET OPPORTUNITY TO LYNCH THESE CRIMINAL IF SHE WILL NOT. i blame ambode for this because his not helping the matter at all. MY DEAR JUST THANK GOD FOR UR LIFE.
say yes to jungle justice on criminals and apc.
All in lagos! Imagine!TOMORROW IF THE MOB LYNCH AN BURN THEM A FOOL WILL SAY JUNGLE JUSTICE IS EVIL MAY THUNDER FIRE U. My dear ur fellow road users looked on because they don't want to be rob or attack while some don't know what was going on. NOW ASK UR SELF IF THIS LADY GET OPPORTUNITY TO LYNCH THESE CRIMINAL IF SHE WILL NOT. i blame ambode for this because his not helping the matter at all. MY DEAR JUST THANK GOD FOR UR LIFE.
say yes to jungle justice on criminals and apc's.
***********************Lagos state na jux one over hyped shit of. A place *********breeding togues and Ekperimas upandan ***********
This same tin happened to me on lekki ape express way traffic last week. They smashed my car passenger window and took my colleagues bag from her lap. And no one within the crowd traffic came to our rescue.
My dear, thank God ur alive that's what's most important. Dnt expect anyone to help u cos no one will want to risk their lives knowing they might get killed. Life is too precious.
Long Live LIB
That's Lagos for you. Thank God for your life.
Na waoo
Sorry dear. It happens everywhere
rough play.....its really a sad one,poor security!
Thank God for the gift of life. .... Thank God its not more than that....
well sometimes they just can't help. pele
Sorry ooo,but eko bridge is notorious for this. You should ave taken precautions
Chatting when in traffic is a big NO... Especially at night when the light if ur phone easily attracts d miscreants... Also all other valuables shoukd have been kept outof sight, under the chaur or even in d trunk...
So sad that nobody could help, tnk God 4 ur life
Thank God you where not hurt.
As long as you were not harmed, thank God..
When will traffic robbery end in lag?
Wait oo, so if u saw dem robbing someone along the road close to you, b truthful, will u go and fight for the person? Those are criminals and can do anytin, not everyone is ready to risk his or her life. Stopping saying no one did anytin but stand there pls. Be realistic. Sorry for ur experience tho! And thank God u were not hurt
@CHERYL Dats True ,Nobody will lyk to risk their lives, nd what does she expect them to do
Sorry for your loss... but how can the driver ask you to take over the steering knowing fully well that you were still in shock?
People especially ladies, should please stop displaying their gadgets in traffic. You attract thieves to yourselves. I corrected one yesterday night and she thanked me.
Thank God both of you are safe.you were expecting people to save you or what se they were not taking pictures when the robbery was going on that is what we have become may God deliver us all.
learn your lesson. Do not keep any tantilising object in your car where passer-by can see it. Otherwise, you are on your own. I have learnt this the hard way at Oshodi bridge.
learn your lesson. Do not keep any tantalising object in your car where passer-by can see it. Otherwise, you are on your own. I have learnt this the hard way at Oshodi bridge.
Other motorists were just looking on while the robbery lasted. It's so sad we live in a cowardly society. The robbers themselves are cowards and they will not be so brazen if people stand up against them but they know that no one will oppose them.
#Dave wept.
Eyah! Thank God they didn't hurt u,i don't blame them o,people are scared of this country
Thank God you were not hurt. I had the same experience at lastma building before oshodi oke sometimes in late September this year @ about 9.30pm.My valuables was snatched by those miscreants while driving on traffic. Nigerians do not help their fellow citizens. It's quite sad. God would keep protecting us.
Sorry about what happened madam. Truth be told will you advice your husband or brother to help in a situation like that? Be honest.
Thank God for ur life that u weren't hurt.that's why I can't live in Lagos lie lie
Don't chat with ur phones at night while in traffic... Very dangerous. If you had kept ur phones inside ur bag and continue looking on... No one would have noticed u...be more careful next time... Dont chat in traffic, It is wrong in lagos
I wonder why the driver got down and asked her to drive? Was he gonna be a hero and chase after the robbers? Eko bridge is notorious. Police and Ambode should put extra security there. Ambode I beg look Lagos o. Not only Epe
That's the most shameful thing about Lagos. Selfish & self centred people. This can't happen in Abuja or anywhere in the north.