Ghouri attended his German team's Christmas party on December 11 and was due to travel to see his family in Paris.
When he failed to turn up his family filed a missing persons report and a police appeal for his whereabouts was issued.
German media confirmed today his body had been found in the River Rhine, with no indication of violence.
Gohouri was born on the Ivory Coast, but moved to France as a young boy and grew up in Paris.
During his career he played for teams in Israel, Switzerland and Germany before joining Wigan in 2010.
He was released at the end of the 2011/12 season and went on to join a Greek side in 2013.
Gohouri played for his national Ivory Coast side in 2006, scoring three goal during his appearances.
Tributes have been paid to the player online and on social media, including one from his former UK side.
Source: UK Mirror
107 comments:
OMG......
Rip,so much deaths happening around.
Don't know him
So sad rest in peace
I hope hr wasn't murdered. Rip
R.I.P to the dead.
Glossyclick.com
Rip dear
And hz young oo...rip brother
MISSVEE
Eya...what a loss to his family
why are the footballers dying? this is a new year plsssssssssss..angelmakiz@yahoo.com
Opsssss! Omg!!! Cray menhh!
REST IN PEACE
Rip to him.i don't always like this kind of news
Rip
So sad
May his soul RIP. Mysterious death. May God protect us.
Wild flowers!
This is evil. God shall give comfort to the diseased family.
Tragic!!! May his soul rest in peace
anaekwe.ucheslimj@gmail.com
Untimely death never our portion.
OMG...so bad
#linda give me 1bo#
Rip to him
Choiiii. Warria happening, y are footballers just dying..... Rip
Rip
Na wa oooo...
May his soul to rest in peace.Amen.
Eya!
Eya!
Sad news!!! May his gentle soul rest in perfect peace
!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere
Ehyaaaa handsome dude
Aka;queenniky
Signs of rapture in 2016
RIP to the dead
May his soul rest in peace
R.I.P. how many rip today alone. God hv mercy on us
@Lindaikeji No. I FAN
Omg...rip
Rip.
Rip
RIP, mermaids took him.
So sad.. rip
May his soul R.I.P
RIP. Olaidex d secret fan.
Such a mysterious death. May his soul rest in peace.
Omg!!!... Very sad news and sad place to die.. This river is too beautiful to kill someone. I hope no fowl play. Rip dude🙏
Jesu... gbawa o.. RIP
linda notify dbanj
Rip
Too bad and sad
May his soul rest in peace
R.I.P
R.I.P man. There should be more to this story I think.
R I P
What a lose
Aunty Linda Enter your comment...
Rest in peace
Awwww so saddening! RIP
Nawao ds story get k-leg
What a lose! He cannot just die like that investigation should be carried out to kwn the true cause of his death. RIP my sympathy goes 2 his wife & family.
Eeeyaaa! RIP
R. I. P
This life. Hmmmm. The works of our shall judge us at d last day
May his soul RIP.
...#EniolaTeju#...
So sad. my condolences to d family. RIP to d dead. By Linda's baby...
R.I.P...Believe
Oh my sweet jesus,rip soo sad#slimmy
So sad Rip
My view not urs!!!!
Nawa o,this so early for the new year, rip
So sad.. God knows the best. Rip to him.
Hmmmm what is all this,painful lost #Abi#
COLD WORLD MEHNN
Hmmm!! This one this year started with footballers dieing.. Chineke biko lekwa umu gi. #LindaNgwanu#
So sad. R.I.P to d dead. #IamMe
How sad. RIP
Rip man
Rip man
Rest in Peace Steve
So sad RIP.
So sad... May his soul rest in peace...
Enter your comment...rip steve
My thought goes out to his family,God has the final answer.
Rest in peace
RIP to the dead
Something is fishy!
Me his soul rest in peace.
They have killed him ooooooo.
How sad.
World people.........
Eyah so sad Rip
What could have happened? Foul play?
What a pity, Steve was a strong man back then in Wigan.
This is sad. Rest in Peace handsome
So what happened? *sad.
Nobody predicted 2016 as black year for all superstars r i p.@lindafor2016
He has been raptured
Signs of rapture in 2016
He has been raptured
Signs of rapture in 2016
Sad. 18 plus, myxxvideos.blogspot.com
He committed suicide, they say. Rest in peace mon frère
So sad to hear.RIP bro