Police say Barbara Dawson, 57, collapsed Monday while being escorted in handcuffs from the Liberty Calhoun Hospital, where she went for treatment for breathing difficulties. She was arrested for disorderly conduct and trespassing when she refused to leave, according to police.
In a statement Wednesday, Blountstown police Chief Mark Mallory said the medical examiner's office in Panama City found that Dawson died from a blood clot due to being excessively overweight.
The autopsy report, police report and dashcam footage of the incident have not been released.
Mallory said the officer who arrested Dawson removed the handcuffs after she collapsed and escorted her back into the hospital.
"We were told by a doctor once she got back in the hospital that her vital signs were good and it was their decision to readmit her," he said in a phone interview. He said the dashcam footage from the officer's car does not show the incident but does pick up the audio.Florida Department of Law Enforcement officials have been called in to investigate, department spokesman Steve Arthur said. He declined to comment further.
The Tallahassee Democrat reported that Ruth Attaway, administrator and CEO of the 25-bed hospital, said staff did everything they could for Dawson.
"They did their best trying to save her," Attaway said. "Our staff was very aggressive with her treatment."While doctors initially thought Dawson was stable and should be released, she felt as if she still had breathing issues and wanted to stay, said Tallahassee attorney Daryl Parks, who is representing Dawson's family.
"The most reasonable thing to do is to let her sit there and be able to settle down until she felt well. Instead, she is forcibly removed and put in cuffs," Parks said. "The early facts of this case should cause a great concern for everyone."The Calhoun-Liberty County chapter of the NAACP held an emergency meeting Tuesday. Dale R. Landry, who is the regional vice president for the Florida State chapter of the NAACP, met with local leaders and the family.
Landry said he and others are glad state law enforcement officers are getting involved, "but we strongly believe the death was due to negligence by the police department and hospital."
The incident comes amid increased scrutiny of police treatment of blacks in the wake of several high-profile police-involved deaths. Dawson was black, the family's lawyer said. Mallory said the officer who arrested her is a white man and is on his regularly scheduled days off.
116 comments:
Eyah I feel so Sad for her.... May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace.. #LIBBOO
I just knew they'll turn it to a race issue!!
Wicked whites
Check that hospital well. They knew she had it. RIP
May God rest the soul of the deceased! #amen. People are funny sha
@CruiseControl
mercycruise@yahoo.com
eyah quite unfortunate
it would always get better with her,......happy. X'mas Eve Linda and libers
Now she's dead, they shld release her corpse..
She refused to leave †ђξ hospital because she knows she's still unwell, they shouldn't have forced her na. Now see what has befallen her
RIP ma'am
#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE
Orisirisi....
Apotieri says so via Infinix Zero 3
Hmmmmm! She might be mentally disorder!
!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere
Good help.
what a world.
How to make money writing articles online in a Nigeria as a freelancer
RIP....nd dis could v bin avoided..
I thought these motherfucker are ment to pretect life...#Believe
Wow. Weird
Hanhan...na wah ooo. What a pity...Police gan sef, they don't have d understanding heart. #Linda still on d matter jawe surprise me personally with my christmas gift since I didn't get any of your prizes. "Wealthwale@yahoo.com" #LindaThumbsUp
Too bad,may her soul RIP
WEIRDO!
PARENTAL ADVISORY
^^^Adult Content^^^
Blacks re racist, any little thing u channel it to racism..
Civil rights groups in usa must take this up , I am sure the hospital actions is race related. Even when the patient said she was not well enough , the hospital went ahead to forcefully discharge her or do they feel she would not be able to pay the bills, if it is, it's unacceptable
The hospital should be sued
Dis is really bad.
Now dat z bad
We just have to speak about this things,BT the truth is they will always exist.
After all we still have our own issues with tribalism n religion bigotry.
Imagine! They can't do that to whites but will do to blacks! Even in Canada, they won't use force! that was harsh I beg! The family will sue and make millions but the woman is already dead so!# sign# few days to Xmas!
Hian! May her soul rest in peace
Dts very bad of them. Rip
Is well..rest in peace
Mk them go rearrest her,,foolz....sexy lindy I am waiting to see Ur pictures and I want small Xmas gift from U..annutom24@gmail or senga_rosy@yahoo.com
The woman knew she was not okay, that was y she refuse leaving but those Yeye people no wan hear. Now she is died, they wan speak English
Na serious gobe be that and its pathetic in nature to loose her. She quite knew she was not too well.
chaiii, Linda take Note
Na serious gobe be that and its pathetic in nature to loose her. She quite knew she was not too well.
Eeeeeeeyah! May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!
May she rest in peace
Nothing person no go see
Linda mark my name on the register
Cruel people. RIP woman
What do we call tis...Cruelty or just racism.....smh...Humanity is its own greatest weakness
#AmNewHere
#AmGettingOldHere
#HarshTreatment
eyaaaaa feel for her, the hospital slf nawaoooooo do they even have right to tell her to leave? Abi na fear of boko too for out side country?
Wicked people everywhere
Enter your comment...may her soul rest in peace
Too sad
Mtcheeeww. And yet another case of racial abuse or should i rather say negligence? RIP to dat poor lady.
#Crying in HD#
. . . .T∈∋-J⊙SH says so. . . .
nkan be leyi o
Hmmmm. Sign of end time. Rip woman.
So sad! I hope the do a proper investigation on this. We can't keep losing people due to negligence and racism. It's well.
They shuld bring her back o
Difficult things are happening every where may her soul rest in peace
datz so sad.
That hospital is very cruel.
How could they have arrested her? Its really unfair.
May her soul rest in peace.
Lolz. There must be a reason why she doesn't want tk leave. Probably she's getting free food. .. if I were she I won't leave sef.
Eeya RIP
#Hajia Mufliat
Blacks getting maltreated err where.if say na white woman,they go kick am out?....munachiphilips@gmail.com
RIP.
Enter your comment...
Not only in Naija?
RIP.
Enter your comment...
Nothing we no go see... Choi poor woman #truetalk GOD HELP ME
Eyaa...
They just acted like Nigerian police. Rip
Okbye.
Nawao ...
2 bad... They should be arrested.
She probably don't have insurance and the hospital didn't want to treat her to the fullest hence they rushed to discharged her. The hospital should have detected the clot thru MRI. I think the police were just doing their work but shouldn't have cuffed her.
The police and the hospital should be held responsible.
Haba nah, dats not nice.. if she wants to stay, let her nah.. now she's dead.. this world and pple inside eeh
D way ppl die dis days isn't funny at all,hmmmm RIP
#I don get alert, na Godwin and Lindiway o!# Lindiway Darling, I truly appreciate the 100k you gave to me. May the Good Lord replenish your resources 10thousands folds. Your going out and coming in is blessed, Favour shall become the order of your day. Man and Woman would honor you and call you blessed cos the Lord has lifted you higher above all your peers. You shall not die but would live to declare the Glory of God Almighty. Henceforth, you shall begin to flourish like the plant dat is planted by the river bank. It is well with you and your household. God bless you abundantly. Thank YOU! Linda take note!
Dis's unfair! If she were 2b an American would dey 've treated her like dat?? Nonsense! I hope d lawyer would proceed to d court.
rip to her
Am sure they would not treat a white the same way.fools
So sad. RIP. Another incident of a black. Best regards. @securityman
Imagine racism is all I see hia, just dat someone died in it may her soul RIP, hope law dealt wit dem #sneh
Enter your comment...d woman knows dat shez nt yet ok to be discharg daz why she refuse to go, those police should o and eat her corpse
Enter your comment... Rest in peace.
Enter your comment...rip maam. Its guinness malt all d way
You see? because she's black. ken2k211@gmail.com
But its their work to send her away especially of she wasn't paying the bills
Pure racism....when will it stop? RiP mam.
Dats height of negligence nd ill-treatment.she is not a psycho
Rip
This should not be over looked, why would doctors and nurses entrusted to handle the lives of other be this brutal?
Hian, wetin dem won investigate for there. She died of obesity period. But could she have sensed dat she wasn't fit to leave d hospital and dat was why she refused to leave? Anyways RIP.
Na only you waka come!
Its a pity,it truly was negligence on the part of the hospital management.. Seen!!
anaekwe.ucheslimj@gmail.com
Its a pity,it truly was negligence on the part of the hospital management.. Seen!!
anaekwe.ucheslimj@gmail.com
God have mercy.
Nawa o,what a wickend world where human life's are being taken for granted.rip
What a pity. Rip
Silver.............said so...
1 of d sins of being of black descent.... Poor woman
Total negligence on the part of police and the hospital....they can't be be cured of racism fa...may her soul rip fa
As much as I hate to think it is, but the truth is that I believe this story has got really to do with the skin thingy. I really feel for African Americans. The family of this woman have every right to sue the hospital that discharged her and seemed to be forcing her out without giving her a scrupulous examination which of course they wouldn't dare with a white patient.
9 Things Ladies Do To Test If A Guy Truly Loves Her
Ah o ga oooo......may she felt she wasnt k yet.now she is dead....RIP
So who do we blame now...
~make I go take one bottle of star beer~
cos she is black
Dats bad! Sometimes doctors send patients to early grave. She's the patient here, she knows the part of her body that is bordering her, if she's fine she won't be there. Now she's gone. May her soul rest in peace.
You see the woman refused to leave because she knows that she is not fit. ok she is dead now what have they gained. Mcheew
Chai, imagine. May her soul rest in peace
it is well. Rip
1. Eyaa, may her soul RIP
2. #myopinion#
3. Let me add that the culprits be dealt with
d hospital is to b charged for her death
Toh seen
THATS SOME STORY
bloody racists!
Eya tragedy. What negligence can cause
What a loss......cruel world
Is just racism
Eyah, is a pity..
What a sad way to die. She wasn't feeling well enough to go and they forced her to leave. The doctors are liable for maltreatment of a patient. The police did their lousy job of use of force as expected. Shame
Eyaaaah!...
What a pity! May her soul rest in peace....
May her soul rest in peace. #Iambae
Most times its a patient dt knows if she 's fit to leave the hospital or not the doctor. U can only discharge them wen they are fine/on request. Ds woman was forced to leave against her wish. I consider it as unethical practice. #Linda'spal
Did u read the article at all?
Wow, What a Excellent post. I really found this to much informatics. It is what i was searching for.I would like to suggest you that please keep sharing such type of info.Thanks www.diminishedvalueappraisal.org/