Photo: Lagos doctor dies after attending to patient | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 27 December 2015

Photo: Lagos doctor dies after attending to patient

A Lagos-based medical doctor identified as Dr Akingbade of Veritas Clinics Limited, College Road, Ifako-Ijaiye Lagos died inside his office shortly after attending to a patient recently. According to a report by Vanguard, family sources say he might have died from exhaustion and stress but also had a history of hypertension. ‎One of the nurses on duty, Toyin Ifesan, while narrating what happened said
“Our boss died at about 10.30pm shortly after he had closed for consultation. He went to see a patient on admission. Thereafter, he retired to his office and sat down. A nurse later went in there to ask him to go upstairs, where we have sleeping facilities, to sleep, having been working since morning.
‎ On getting to the office, the nurse spoke to him but she got no response. She then pushed him, only to find that Dr Akingbade had passed on. The situation attracted everybody in the clinic. He was not sick before death. The only thing we noticed was that, on that day, he was not jovial as he used to be. Unlike him, he talked to the staff without looking at their faces. He looked at the floor while talking to the staff. Our late boss was a very jovial person. He joked a lot with the staff as well as with patients before attending to them. He would ask the patient where he came from, and when he told the place the patient came from, always had one or two things to say about the patients place and people. He was a problem solver when it came to illnesses. If you cry to his office, you will smile coming out. He hardly attended social functions because of the fear that a critically ill patient that may be bought to his clinic may die before returning. So, he was always in the clinic most of the time. Even anytime he hired a doctor to help attend to patients, most of patients still preferred his consultation because of his wide experience. Some would wait, no matter how long, to see him. Others would go and come back.”she said He will be buried early next year.

147 comments:

May his soul rip

This life sha! Rest on sir.

Life tho,someone who treats people to live can't even treat himself! Life!

May God grant him eternal rest

my God! A kind soul. may God grant him eternal rest. RIP

***我爱你 (Wǒ ài nǐ)***

Enter your comment...nawaooo! Sad news everywhere! D gud ones going down day-by day. Its guinness malt all d way

omidan abby said...

Hypertension..the slow killer. Rest on doctor. That their job tho, tedious. They hardly rest...

Sad news.

June said...

So sad, May his soul REST IN PEACE

May His Soul Test in Peace !!!!
All Iz Well!!!

*DEW*

tosisochukwu said...

Him time don rich nah!

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

I AM SELFMADE said...

rip

debutante aka who anonymous don help said...

ehh ya..He was sick n didn't speak out..

waxxy said...

when a doctor cant help himself... only God is the healer.. RIP to the dead

No WA VIDEO: Afrocandy releases n'ude video in her Washroom

Uzosafetyblog said...

RIP Doc. #IRepLIB

Cherry girl said...

ehya rest in peace

ThankGod Oboh said...

Lol. Ebola?

Troubleshooter® said...

Rest in peace baba

#troubleshooter

Cherry girl said...

ehya rest in peace. he served humanity

Mo said...

Rip doc.

Mrs CJ said...

So sad
Rip doc

Becky said...

May his soul rest in peace

May his soul rest in perfect peace, Amen.

May his soul find eternal peace in the blossom of d lord

kiki said...

Eeya,he's in a better place now

Eeeeiiiiiyya better thing no dey last fa....rip Doc

Sir benkord said...

RIP to him....his works shall speak volume after he's gone to d world beyond.

..What will they say about you after your demise

LindaAssistantBF

Dottyroll said...

Wat could it ve been?
Can LIBers see me at all? Am I invisible?

This is not surprising, Nigerian doctors work around the clock simply because there are a lot of expectations as a result of the lifestyle they adopt. Doctors are highly respected no doubt about that but they work so hard to meet their demands. Government policy, provision and welfare arrangement do not help the situation as well. They should take it easy because there is life after job. May his soul rest in peace......#just be just#

Such loss. Rip!

Chai our family Dr....rest in peace dear Sir

He touched lives, left good legacy before he passed on....RiP Doc.

AliBaba DeKingMaker said...

1. May he rest in peace 2. It isn't our culture but ppl should go for medical check once in a while 3. Cardiac arrest/heart failure rarely announce their arrival 4. That was how my dear uncle died in 2008(may he RIP) 5. #MYOPINION#1. May he rest in peace 2. It isn't our culture but ppl should go for medical check once in a while 3. Cardiac arrest/heart failure rarely announce their arrival 4. That was how my dear uncle died in 2008(may he RIP) 5. #MYOPINION#

CHYGURL from CHYNA said...

Negodu, just Negodu this doctor. Why did he suddenly start looking at d floor when talking to his staffs, cld it be that he knew he was going to die? Hmmmm...strange tho. Rip Doc

Rip,ppl always ve good things to say about the dead
#needanalibitojoinmetastethenewgeishasardine

Okogba said...

RIP doc

Eyah! May God grant His Soul eternal rest.

NAWA O

AUNTY LINDA....

End time death.
RIP doc.

#linda give me 1bottle#

End time death.
RIP doc.

#linda give me 1bottle#

Eyah! May God grant His Soul eternal rest.

RIP . Such is life. God comfort his loved ones.

Rip doc

RIP sir...at least he celebrated Xmas unlike others

RIP Dr..

mz *Ada said...

Need new friends especially from abj add me 2AF78093

Olaidex blog said...

RIP doc. Olaidex d secret fan

Ruphina said...

R.I.P linda do something

CherishD said...

May his Soul Rest In Peace.

Rip doctor #linda's pearl #

Probably cardiac arrest or hypertension... RIP #donjazzy's ex

Choi! Such a good man died just like dt....why mama mmadu bu garri is stil sitting on dt seat with our money under his lanky ass...waiting for us. 2 die of hunger...

disney101 said...

What a loss! RIP to him

Enyaaa such a nice man. Rip sir

~make I go take one bottle of beer~

Rip in heaven

Na wah...
RIP Doc

Hmmmmm, r.I.p to him. Linda bestfrnd

Mufliat said...

RIP sir

#Hajia Mufliat

Sad! May his soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

HUMBLE EVE said...

O my. R.I.P

Is it ebola or vertigo....maybe your village heads

Allah ya gafarta wa magabata.amin

I hope it's not Ebola? RIP Doc

Ehyaa. May God grant his soul, eternal rest..

that quite a sad story. Rest on Doctor. u have fought a good fight. may God grant ur family the fortitude to bear the loss.

May his gentle soul rest in perfect peace in the bossom of the Lord.

Oppss!!

R.I.P

Anon said...

May his good soul RIP

The headline doesn't suit the story. Like say na the patient kill the doctor.

Wow... Very sad to hear this because he was our family doctor for years. I remember first meeting him when I spilled kerosene on my body and slept in the soaked pants as a kid. Ended up with sores all over my bumbum. I do remember he gave me tetanus injection because of the pain. That was at Round house in Alausa. He treated my dad before he passed on and saved my brother's life and education; and was aa personal favorite of my mum. Will have go easy with telling mum about this....
RIP Doctor Akingbade. Your service to humanity will never be forgotten.

First time to comment on Linda. Rip to my doc from birth. Will miss him so much

Rest in peace Dr Akingbade

«denkoh» said...

linda wats is the point of this news now..who killed him

May his soul rest in Peace.Amen

RIP. Dr Akingbade

May his soul R.I.P

TOM FORD said...

rip........

AliBaba DeKingMaker said...

1. Chai, may God console the family
2. Rip man
3. #MYOPINION#

RIP sir, linda post o

May he Rip

MIEA HOMES - Handmade bags, souvenir/gift bags, sandals and palm slippers (unisex).Call or WhatsApp 07068178480 said...

Physicians take care of yourselves before you take care of others. My condolences to the family

d Don's wifey said...

His assignment on Earth is over, RIP!

Eiyah ..rip

Rest in peace sir!!

Lola said...

Badru Olalekan said...

Inna lilahi waehina lilahi rojihun

Quite sad, RIP

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

fresh presh said...

Ehya, RIP to him

Gods own said...

May his Soul rest in peace

Gods own said...

May his Soul rest in peace

Na wao...make dem check well o.

Eddee Baba said...

REST IN PEACE DR

That's my doctor. He was trained at Harvard College of Medicine, he was asked to locate his hospital to VI or Lekki,he refused saying his rich patients can drive down to Ifako,but the less privileged may not be able to come to VI. May his sou rest in peace. Gave his all to support humanity. I mourn a great man.

Hmm strange

So sad. RIP Doc.

So sad. May he RIP. Doctors saving lives at the expense of theirs.

ANTHONY OKOJIE said...

POSITIVE

Rip

Indeed a great loss. May his soul RIP.

Wild flowers!

waffymercyjohnson said...

Ehya. May his soul rest in peace.

Rest in peace

He knew he was going to die that's why his demeanor changed on that day. People should give their lives to Christ and stop joining all these secret societies. They probably told him that his time is up in this world.

MY GOD. IT'S WELL

lilly sammie said...

Naomi said...

Oh my Gosh. May his soul rest in peace

Eyaa rip

Charry said...

So sad. RIP

Eyah. May his soul RIP

Eya, RIP to a good doc

passions said...

May his soul RIP....eseokodugha75@yahoo.com

Rip to him

Hmmmmmmm. May your kind soul rest in peace sir. #Linda'spal

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

How sad! RIP sir

lulu said...

may ur gentle soul rest in peace sir.

Sena Job said...

RIP to him....he treated me 23years ago when cornflakes shucked in my chest and I was unable to breathe then at Lagos house

Heaven said...

Rip.

Deepee said...

Rip Doc, May ur soul rest in Peace.

Mayberry said...

May his soul RIP

Rip

My family doctor. Really nice man was at Mt late mum's Beck and call without complaints. Chaii this life

beeyee said...

Baba was a true professional, his like will be hard to come by again, I met through work,i am a pharmacist, he was a doctor. May his soul rest in peace.

Enter your comment...May his soul rest in peace
So many deaths this year

orela said...

Not everyone that knows their time of death is in a secret cult. .read the bible .and you will know

This is my family doctor.. He is truly a problem solver as regards illnesses.. After God I owe my life to him.. Rest in peace Doc! U sure v touched a lot of lives.

This is my family doctor o ..He was truly a problem solver as regards illnesses.. After God he saved my life.. U v surely touched so many lives. . Rip doc! We wld all miss u @Veritas.

Rip Dr Akingbade. He was a very fine doctor and treated my family for years. He will be sorely missed.

B.... Jagaban said...

He was my doctor....a very pleasant and kind elderly man.....One of the best cardiologist in nigeria...RIP sir...

Sir Vin said...

any one that says I and my household will not see the end of the year and enter 2016 ..HOLY GHOST FIREEEEEEEE...there was a coutry

He is my uncle and has bn my Doc thru'out my life, it sure will look awkward to look fr another Doc to tk ova frm whr u stopped. A great philanthropist, who put his patients life ahead of bills. Big Daddy as I usually call you. I miss you and wont forget all you told me... Keep Resting in d Bosom of the Lord.

Pearlie said...

I dont know why good people dont last long

Dr Akingbade....hmmm....we will miss you sir. Not sure we will have another family Doctor like you.
Harvard trained Doctor....great man and role model...very kind and humble....been treating my family for over 25 years.GOD used him alot...saved my brother when he had a minute to live....treated Dad even when we didn't take money to the hospital...bought mum additional 5 years in the battle with cancer...helped a family friend in the battle with diabetes...saved my siblings from illnesses severally. Thank you for letting GOD use you and thank you for a life well spent. May GOD comfort your family. @70...u certainly deserve a good rest...RIP Daddy Akingbade.

Lol?? Really???

wch kyn gist be ds naa...rip

MISSVEE

My customer
RIP sir

Madam N said...

May his soul rest in peace.Amen!!

Madam N said...

May his soul rest in peace.Amen!!