Alleged diversion of $600million railway loan: Okonjo-Iweala reacts | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 16 August 2015

Alleged diversion of $600million railway loan: Okonjo-Iweala reacts

Former Finance minister Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala has reacted to reports of a diversion of $600 million from a $1 billion loan collected from the Chinese Exim Bank meant to be used for the construction of a standard gauge rail line linking Lagos to Kano while she served as Minister of Finance in the last administration.

Representatives of the Transport ministry had on August 10th told President Buhari that $600 million had been diverted from the railway loan. Read Okonjo-Iweala's reaction as signed and released by her media aide Paul Nwabuikwu today after the cut...

Since this story was first reported, we have continued to receive media inquiries regarding an allegation reportedly made by the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Transport, Alhaji Mohammed Bashar, that a substantial part of a $1bn loan obtained from the China-EximBank by the Jonathan administration for a Kano-Lagos rail project was diverted to other projects.
I want to state categorically that there is no truth in the reported allegation. Anyone who is interested can cross-check with the China-EximBank or the Chinese Embassy.
It is noteworthy that even though President Buhari, in his reported comments on the allegation, made no reference to Dr. Okonjo-Iweala but rightly stressed the need for due process and transparency in the execution of public projects, a sponsored media campaign has once again been launched by political elements to make the former Minister the culprit in a non-existent scandal.
The alleged diversion has no substance for the simple reason that the Kano-Lagos project was not even among the projects presented for funding by the China Exim Bank for several strategic infrastructural projects across the country.
In fact, it was the Lagos–Ibadan rail project, not Lagos-Kano rail project that was proposed in the original application to the China-EximBank. But in the end, no funds were assigned for the Lagos-Ibadan rail project by the China-EximBank.
The fact which can be confirmed is that the following projects which are at various stages of progress are being funded from facilities obtained from the China-EximBank:
- $500m for the expansion of four International Airport Terminals in Lagos, Kano, Abuja and Port Harcourt.
- $500m for the Abuja Light Rail project
- $984m for the Zungeru Hydro-electric power project
- $100m for the Galaxy Backbone project
It is also important to note that even if the alleged project was on the list of China-EximBank funded projects, diversion of any Chinese funds would have been extremely difficult because the terms of the contract and the processes would simply not have permitted such action.

The procedure is that funds for approved loans remain in the China-EximBank and are released directly to the Chinese firm executing the contract only after the presentation of duly certified proof of work by the responsible Ministry, in this case it would have been the Federal Ministry of Transport, based on the agreed milestones.
For the sake of emphasis, the China-EximBank does not disburse money directly to government and therefore the issue of diversion does not arise.
This is yet another example of the kind of whispering campaign of calumny, innuendo, misinformation, and outright distortions being perpetrated by certain political elements against Dr. Okonjo-Iweala in a bid to try to damage her reputation.
We are confident that those behind this campaign will continue to fail.
We respectfully request the media to refrain from attaching Dr. Okonjo-Iweala's name and photographs to spurious and unfounded allegations. Dr. Okonjo-Iweala as a Nigerian citizen in a democracy, a citizen who has served her country with honesty and integrity, also has some fundamental rights to justice and fair play.

Thank you.

Paul C Nwabuikwu
Media Adviser to Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala

123 comments:

All of una matter dey God hand

I just they pity this woman,her cup will soon full,be deceiving yourself with plenty Grammer, by the time you enter hand kpam! That ur head tie go turn helmet! Barawniya!

Pls ooo dey shld leave my ngozi okonjo alone....biko

What a timely reaction. Action always call for reaction.

***ECHOMASS***

Whatever.

No need for long story plsssss,,,,she wil visit the jail soon

The procedure is that funds for approved loans remain in the China-EximBank and are released directly to the Chinese firm executing the contract only after the presentation of duly certified proof of work by the responsible Ministry, in this case it would have been the Federal Ministry of Transport, based on the agreed milestones.......Nigeria and Buhari administration shld cut this woman some slack, she did her best as a minister and we are proud of her, ppl cook up stupid stories without checking facts

They shud just give this woman some rest! Goddammit!

Umpire said...

Well clarified..we need to hear both side of a story b4 we judge. Nice checkmating from the chinese banks.

Wonder why they keep attacking this woman right , left and centre. This was the same way they attacked Arunma oteh and today we know where she is. Why does this country dishonour it's heroes?

Foolish apc pple always lookin for stories to tell.plss face real problems like pple not bin paid salaries for months..jus fix d country n leave story for d gods

We have heard from u guys, proper investigation should be carried out before conclusion..

Okay o seen.

Wow! Dis press statement is well detailed and analyse detailing all info dat u we need to know abt...

Indeed "This is yet another example of the kind of whispering campaign of calumny, innuendo, misinformation, and outright distortions being perpetrated by certain political elements against Dr. Okonjo-Iweala in a bid to try to damage her reputation. We are confident that those behind this campaign will continue to fail."

Waiting for Mr Adams to react again!

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Okonjo-Iweala don suffer for the hand of Buhari and his men!

Shame to the devil masquerading as an angel of light!

Mister said...

The permanent secretary who has all the records and details have told the world that $600m was diverted and u are here writing thrash to defend that rogue.i will suggest u go get a job otherwise I can't see why u are still a media assistant to a jobless crooked up woman.

Daily diet tv said...

IT'S EASY! EASIER THAN YOU PROBABLY ENVISAGED. That brings me to the BIG QUESTION. How do one make this money? I have seen people go from living at the mercy of others, to SWIMMING IN THE POOL OF ABUNDANCE. How did they do it? By simply referring potential property buyers to estate managers like me. All you have to do is to link potential house/property buyers to Havado island limited. You can reach us through 08105368992 or 08071417966. CALL NOW!!! ACT FAST!! STAY SCHEMING!

sweetie said...

This shameless woman should find somewhere sit,

Noted

Thanks Madam due process, we appreciate your service see you in 2019... Nigeria will need you for future growth of the country...

My president .....why naa....why not ask the Chinese b4 making it poblic????? Is it part of the old age ????? I understand...na small small shaa.

Bitch pls.
This whore is a FRAUD.
I ve never admired this product of extreme capitalism. Pray she ends up miserably for exploiting her OWN Country.
Fucking liar.
Unpatriotic idiot.

It's quite unfortunate that they (APC ) and the north just want to smear your good image, but you know what? They can never have an intelligent brain like yours

This woman of no integrity have a way using long stories to muddle up every issue thinking she is smart!
To think, not surprisingly though, that she sat atop ALL the scandalous economic scams against the Nigerian state, and yet spew these trash shows that she is an unrepentant enemy of Nigeria; the only unclear issue is who her principal is, the West or the devil!

APC APC APC. WE DON TIRE FOR UNA. PLS GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT BEFORE PUBLISHING. 8S THE PERM SEC FOR MINISTRY OF TRANSPORT NOT AWARE OF ALL THESE DETAILS OR HAS HE JOINED IN APC CAMPAIGN OF CALUMNY AND INUENDOS

For window blinds, wallpaper and curtains please call 08160856785.

Mihearty said...

We don't even know who to believe. Na them sabi abeg

Madam i hope you are innocent. I have a lot of respect for you.

Mama, u r a thief and a thief u shall remain. The wave of justice will soon spread over you and your accomplices. Ole buruku agba iya

When you defend yourself, you cannot be found wanting. I almost believed this her statement 100% if not for this line of reasoning.

Madam relax, time never reach. You go still come explain. Linda take note!

Arsenal said...

Hmmm...
I wasn't there when it all started.

◇◇◇◇◇◇ If ignorance is bliss, wipe the smile off my face ◇ ◇ ◇ ◇ ◇ ◇

Charles said...

I knew from on set that the allegations were orchestrated lies the divert our attention from the glaring limbo the current regime has fallen into. Their cluelessness and confusion is so vivid that even the blind can attest to it.
Their only policy is to bandy unsubstantiated figures on the pages of newspapers and shout 'kwaraption' to high heavens to bamboozle the unsuspecting public.

May God vindicate the innocent. That's the negativity that we suffer under APC. Unverified allegations. Image damaging and lies. Abeg let move forward

the idiots headed by dwarf oshiomole should leave the woman alone

HonsylGlobal.Com said...

Dr Okonjo is right here after all. Sai Buhari's officials need to verify properly first and talk with caution.

Wetin this thief dey reply?
Madam you are thief.
You and your boyfriend GEJ

Madam you are thief.

APC and lying. This their propaganda is making Buhari look really daft. So they did not even know the conditions of the loan before running to the pages of the newspaper.

Can someone please tell APC that they should start governing and shut up. If they don't have facts and evidence they should shut up! This is embarrassing.

Guam! I like this woman. She states her points clearly and so APC lying machine over to you.

Buhari's handlers are truly messing this man up. They should learn to have evidence before they run their mouths. Haba.

Come to think of it why would China give cash to Nigeria to pay Chinese companies? Doesn't make sense. That permanent secretary ought to be sacked because it is clear he is a real olodo.

Madam don't mind the idiots. even those of us that supported this govern,net are running out of patience with their constant talking talking talking. Every day they run their mouths and there is nothing to show for it. 3 months and it is still lying.

This is very embarrassing for this government. Why do they always run to the papers before knowing their facts and evidence. This is just irresponsible of people in government.

So all these road expansions and reconstructions were being sourced from the loan, what then happened to all the monies from crude oil sales under gej? This is so crazy.

This is what I have been saying that Buhari and his handlers are just empty barrels making the most noise.

The witch hunters will die trying to get this woman. I just love love and admire her.

Ooh. I am just tired of all the lies and propaganda in the papers. Can APC just shut up and do the work they were elected to do.

The international community must be laughing at the government because of all the blunders they are committing. What kind of nonsense is this. Why must they talk before they have facts and evidence. I just tire for the parrots in government.

Sea Angel said...

This dirty woman
.. Y is it always u?

Oshiomole and El Rufai must be frustrated because God is really fighting OkonjoIweala's battles. All the lies and propaganda have fallen like a pack of cards. Someone to tell Buhari to start governing and stop all this nonsense by his witch hunters.

See how this lady has just carpeted the parrots in government,

Once again this Madam has shown these illiterates that Khaki no be leather. Instead of chasing the former Minister of Petroleum who is a thief, they keep harassing this Madam. are they afraid of that woman? It doesn't make sense at all or have Oshi- Omo Ole and El Ruffian been settled by her? How come it is always Okonjo Iwela this and that? We are sick of all the crap. Buhari must just govern and stop these stupid people from publishing useless propaganda

Look APC I am tired of all the lies and propaganda and the May takes by moonlight. Start fulfilling your election promises NOW! Nonsense.

Haba APC. Why tell lies?

That permanent secretary has to be sacked. It is clear he does not even know what he is doing. Goodness! Olodos

I dey laugh ooooo! Someone did not educate that Aboki Perm Sec. He went and lied to Presido. He has embarrassed this government. Wetin be dem own with dis woman sef? Instead of governing an only noise everyday. Liar Mohammed, Garba Shehu, Oshoms, El Rufai and co should just shut up! They are no longer opposition. We don tire for all the noise.

This is just quite unfortunate that a permanent secretary does not even know the terms of a loan under his ministry. Then what is he there fit? And Buhari has to learn to stop exposing his ignorance in the media. He should be told to read read read. And be slow to speak. He is already slow!

Than you madam. I think the permanent secretary is just angry that this smart woman made it impossible for him to smell the money.

OkonjoIweala is just so smart. She tied up the loan in such a way that those thieves in the civil service and their politician counterparts will never have access to the loan. That is the frustration of these people and their constant attack on her, it is clear that she is not one of the. Otherwise they would have not been attacking her the way they are.

So because the money was not released to the government but instead kept with the China Exim bank, the criminal civil servants are angry. Thank you OkonjoIweala for this otherwise we would have been told many other lies and stories.

Until we restructure Nigeria and sack the over bloated civil service that is draining the resources of this country we are going to keep looking fir funds to invest in infrastructure. How can a country spend 77 percent of its budget on salaries and think that they can develop their infrastructure? Anyway madam thank you for this clarification.

nunulicious said...

I really pray NOI comes out clean after all the cleanup. i said it long time ago that she should have resigned tey tey from that clueless president's cabinet. But wait oh, how can a whole permanent secretary make such spurious allegations? and it is his own ministry that issues the proof of work? that means that the mohammed bashar himself is clueless. a permanent secretary that clueless needs to resign and step aside.

Femi Awosika said...

wow! This woman has carpeted these people. Tori Olorun APC should govern and keep quiet. They are becoming a major embarrassment to Nigeria and Nigerians and frankly we are running out of patience.

You are an armed robber. Onyeoshi. Demonized person like you. God punish you.

Psychiatric Juliet when did you escape from your ward?

Very sound reply!! Making these sweeping allegations without facts, and having them demolished in public will eventually make Nigerians see this war on corruption differently. Governor Oshomole made a few of his own, but has quietened down a few months down the investigation line. Trying to justify campaign rhetoric on which election victory was secured in a hurry, will backfire. The process can be carried out quietly while other equally serious issues get attention. As concrete results emerge, they are announced without infringing on innocent people’s rights. And by the way what was won is an electoral contest, not a war in which supporters of the other parties were conquered. This is why “sensible” African leaders prefer dying in office. Obama forgot this part in Kenya

Prostitute like you will never see any purity in others because you are a pevert. Stay alive long enough and keep seeing OkonjoIweala go higher and higher. Aids won't kill you yet.

From your name it is clear the name of the demon troubling you. You need to go for deliverance.

Some people re very daft, hw do u think a bank can release that kind of cash to be misappropriated not to talk of Chinese bank dt is very meticulous.

Pig like you. May your hatred consume you. And may all you days be full of others committing libel against you. Oloshi.

Foolish statement. Permanent secretary who has all the details? Permanent secretary that does not even understand the terms of the loan. It is only illiterates like you that will be jumping for an Olodo permanent secretary. Stupid.

You sub human should be locked in a psychiatric ward. Orbits painful that yet again your lies against the star OkonjoIweala have fallen to ashes. May your hatred for OkonjoIweala burn and consume you.

Loser! Frustration is already Klimt you so no need to add to your misery or sure demise. Sipping my juice.

We already have a gov that won't care if anyone suffers. We're just stupid in this entire country nobody cares about anything so far the senators can get their salary who cares if anybody perish. Don't worry maybe when they sell this country maybe again maybe we'd standup. Nobody cares about anything until Boko Haram started killing people in their hundreds nobody realized that we had a toothless military all our soldiers can do is beat their wifes and burn down police barracks. Dstv will do their own wait who's is governing those ones? People would just be their spitting rubbish. Youth will come on Linda to drop nonsense. Wetin concern Linda as for as she'd get money from her adverts Who cares if she give us Kyle Jenner toilet story. Everybody is just doing whatever they like. I could remember people saying Jonathan was the best president we've ever had and I was just praying for the rapture cos if this is next generation Abeg we better pack up and ask for Jesus to come quick. I just don't get it everybody in this country is just idiotic. Landlord will be the first to carry bible but he is keeping malice with the entire neighborhood. Abeg everybody in this country should put up or shut up

Illiteracy is the disease worrying you. You read but still can't understand. The only thing you are useful for is to be sent to primary school to start all over again. That is if your propaganda fried brain is still of any use.

Darrel tom said...

Lols ds Juliet na real motor pack touts
The way she uses pidgin ehn
Lols mad womam

RD said...

The position of the Minister is not true. The loan was one of the main source of funding for the project. What was NRC going to China for the loan negotiations for. The Minister is openly lying again

Cray aboki you must be very sad that once again the lies of your fellow Abokis in Abuja against this woman has made you all look like the daft people you are. Tell Aboki Buhari to go and read and stop spending all his time with cattle.

You have been marked for suffering. Because when you slander a woman God has blessed then you will know only suffering and God's wrath. So keep slandering so that the wrath poured on you will be undiluted. May your hatred burn you up.

Loser frustration is already killing you so no need to add to your misery or sure demise

Your brain has since been fried by the propaganda and lies. You are try the definition of wasted. If this simple statement is difficult for you to understand them you are truly finished. Blame the propaganda machinery of APC for your demise.

Aboki I can understand your pain. No body in your generation will ever attain the height that OkonjoIweala has attained. And she has just made your fellow Abokis look as daft as you all truly are. Pity yourself. Yale Univeraity still applauds OkonjoIweala but you, your hatred will kill you.

You will have your fellow Oshiomole to keep you company in jail. Or do you prefer psychiatric ward? Ode

They attack her because she is not a crook like them. They are all compromised and so for the fact that she is the light shining brightly they attack her. But God will keep fighting and defending her. This is light versus darkness and OkonjOIweala is the winner. They will all be put to shame.

Pay salaries wth ur tongue Or d same money wth are talking abt? Anonymous park well

ANONN said...

Specie or what is your name, it's somebody's mother you're calling a whore, do u realise that? You're silly and wasted! Go and die, you born of a sitch!!!

Aboki na real Aboki. How can you say she is speaking grammer when she articulated her explanations in clear, simple and precise English and gave a very straight forward explanation that is verifiable from the Chinese embassy. Illiteracy is a sin and infact should be a crime. It is people like you that should be jailed together with the stupid perm sec of the Ministry of transport.

Visit the jail for what? Saying the truth and shaming your dead brain president and the illiterate Aboki perm sec that is trying to pls his new oga stupidly?.

Mister stupid did you read the article at all. You really sound daft. Even a 5 yr old can understand the right up. The perm sec should be sacked with immediate effect. How could he not have known the terms of a loan that was sooo simple. Infact as simple as ABC. He didn't even know the projects covered by the loan. I guess he is just there chewing groundnut.

Anonymous 11:39
Yes I will be alive in JESUS NAME Amennnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

I will see her in prison very soon
Mark my words

Sweetie pls go back to nursery school. You need help because even a nursery school student will understand after reading this article that the perm sec is clueless

Rare specie Z you are really an alien and not only that a f....cking prehistoric one. What is the lie here. If you want to verify go to the Chinese embassy. FOOL

Anon 10:38 the wave of justice will only spread over you and generations to come in your lineage for accusing someone falsly without proof. Anuofia!

Juliet you have forgotten to take your medicine again. You most not forget to take it regularly unless your illness might regress to your dancing naked in the market square

Anon 11:40pm i think you are right from the way she thinks that sea angel must have mummy water spirit disturbing her

If in the end it is proven that no fund was diverted, misapplied or misappropriated, one will be wondering who gave a job to the Perm Secretary who does not know what is going on in his Ministry.

This anonymous

Are you not tired ? same pattern of writing and concurrent timing..... shut okonjo iweala ur a thief... May God judge you... A clear conscience fears no accusation. Ur response just showed how guilty you are..:.

Clueless government. Shouting wolf where none exists. We are still waiting for one court arraignment. All excuses. America said this. Obama gave that list. Nothing on governance...even Mrs Buhari appointed her personal ministers first before baba GMB. We are watching. Next week Dollar will drop to 220 after CBN sale and will get to 240 by upper week. Soon Oye gun will say GEJ is doing it from otuoke. Tz

Mumu.
Pray u end up miserably.

Ebi Ebidei said...

It is such a shame that the APC government is always in a haste to sustain the myth that the Jonathan government was corrupt through and through. So everybody is trying to outdo one another in an attempt to prop up this myth. It is quite unfortunate. If the Permanent Secretary himself is not acquainted with how international institutions such as China Exim Bank works, it's just a big shame! It's cheap blackmail. Thank you madam Okonjo Iweala for straightening the records. Every attempt to paint you black will always fail.

Big Fool! Aboki get sense?

I think u r suffering from dementia. U r so gullible.Pray for a discerning spirit.

unfortunately a lot of people here on this blog are kids in the business world. Anyone who understands ho government business in Nigeria works will understand that the Ministers are not at all corrupt in most cases. The real OLEs are the permanent secretaries and directors of each of these ministries. These guys are far richer and than some states in this country. They control the ministries and ministers and are always there to show a new minister how to steal or divert money as the case may be. You need to work as a contractor in these ministries to know. If there was at all any diversion, then the permanent Secretary should be jailed first before anyone else is accused. They do all the approvals and bring to the minister to sign

BIBI-IKEJI BENJAMIN said...

IF U DON'T KNOW HER, WE DELTANS KNOW HER. SHE IS OUR MOTHER, SISTER AND DAUGHTER. SHE IS INTELLIGENT AND VERY TRANSPARENT. TRY ANOTHER MINISTRY PLS. NOT FINANCE. VOICE OF UMU-OGWASHI-UKU FOR NGOZI OKONJI-IWEALA.

BIBI-IKEJI BENJAMIN said...

IF U DON'T KNOW HER, WE DELTANS KNOW HER. SHE IS OUR MOTHER, SISTER AND DAUGHTER. SHE IS INTELLIGENT AND VERY TRANSPARENT. TRY ANOTHER MINISTRY PLS. NOT FINANCE. VOICE OF UMU-OGWASHI-UKU FOR NGOZI OKONJI-IWEALA.

U are stupid for saying such a thing it shows u don't know what office she held in this country and in world Bank goat

My brother u will leave long for seeing the truth and speaking it out this is the only way the stupid Nigeria media can celebrate her for all her good works mumu country

Lol @ prehistoric alien#