Wife of NFL player Lawrence Okoye sues her former employers for racial abuse and sexual harrasment | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 19 May 2015

Wife of NFL player Lawrence Okoye sues her former employers for racial abuse and sexual harrasment

27 year old British citizen, Phillipa Okoye who is married to Lawrence Okoye, a British Olympic discus thrower and defensive end for the San Francisco 49ers is suing the investment firm she worked for, deVere Group for being demoted and then fired from her job as a senior investment adviser after she complained about the  racist and sexual harassment at the firm.

Mrs Okoye alleges that one co-worker told her: 'I think it’s disgusting when white women go out with black guys.

She said one time, her boss asked her "How many cheerleaders has your boyfriend f–ked today?” He’s probably f–ked the whole cheerleading squad by now.’’
Philippa says she was the only woman in the Midtown office when she was hired as a senior investment adviser in October 2013.

Surrounded by about 21 male co-workers, she was exposed to sexist antics the first day, she said.

“So can you handle the banter or are you going to be a woman about it and be sensitive?’’ An executive at the firm Benjamin Alderson snipped, she said.

In her lawsuit, Phillipa said when she was still engaged to Lawrence, another co worker said, “Don’t change your surname to Okoye if you marry Lawrence, because people will think you’re black,’’ she said.

“Yeah, and that’s not good for business,’’ Alders allegedly added.

When other women visited, the men would rate whether they were worth “f–king,’’ Philippa said.
Philippa said that when she complained to Alderson, he seethed, “This is why I didn’t want women in the office.’’

Philippa says she was demoted and fired. She is suing for damages.
“While the suit can’t repair the emotional distress our client had and continues to experience, the employer must be held accountable for their unlawful actions,” said her lawyer, Kenneth Katz.

The taunts didn't stop at racism, either, Mrs Okoye says. She alleges that Alderson, a senior area manager for deVere, openly made it known that he wanted to pattern his office after 'Wolf of Wall Street' and 'Boiler Room.

DeVere Group are denying the charges, calling Mrs Okoye a disgruntled ex-employee who was fired for legitimate reasons. 
'These false and incredulous allegations made by a disgruntled former employee are vigorously and categorically denied,' the company said in a statement.
'We are shocked and dismayed that a legitimate employment termination has sparked such a malicious response.'

39 comments:

Their headache..

Okokobioko

I don't know why racism is so much in Britain. They're worse than americans.

Ok lets see the outcome

I find this piece of shit offensive because i'v dated a white girl before. But sadly yeah, many of them will not change their last name to your's even when you get married to them. Because they don't wanna be expressed as 'an african'.

This lady is disturbingly slim and beautiful.seeing the two of em reminds me of that movie king Kong

They're just jealous of her & lawrence.

Wakili Abdulmuluku Musa said...

racist this will never end

Guy, U wan kill the girl.
See the tiny girl. See the huge guy.
Omo there is God oi

This okoye of a name keep reminding me of psquare i swear.... She should just leave them abeg.....

All the best to her with the law suit. Linda take note!

jamal cojo said...

I hate white people...far too kind

Hmn

Linda the man that collapsed along stepping stone bus stop satellite town dis morning has. Died...

This woman get mind o. She no dey fear size?

Sue all of them. And tell them to go and fuck their wives

All these racism stories make me angry. Why d hell does color matter? That's y people like Dencia would want to overbleach just to fit in!

Okay heard

Chai!!! D difference in size though #smh#

Datz really bad....

Very bad.

Ok na

I hope she wins the lawsuit. But why didn't she talk since?

Nawa oooooo wetin we nogo crack our head for in order to comment?

things wrong with the world: poverty, racism, corruption, terrorism and all round stupidity

SWILL MARTIN said...

It happens a lot all dose woman rights association go sooo shooow dier seef eh esp when she go carry better female bad ass lawyer,e don finish.

Yeah...
* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * *

I love day stomach of hers. ..
* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * * *

JJ said...

It is just as bad in America. Racism is the whiteman's disease. They really can't help themselves. They say they are the more civilized ones. I laugh. If you know them, you will understand that their behavior is like that of animals. They like to put others down so they can feel good about themselves.

If you live in any of these countries, you may think you are better off but you really aren't. This people will always find ways to hold you back. It is in their nature.

This is just pure cave man behaviour.

LOL ode. You do realise this is in America and she's just British? Hian...having experienced both countries...Britain is MILES AHEAD of America on this racism talk.

Wht a shame dat dis act stil happenseven in d developed world. I pray she wins d case.

OMG.Did he die on the spot or at the hospital? RIP to him

Wetin blacks even do the world??? Poverty, suffering, underdevelopment and many more....and yet we still face racial chants from all other races.... The whites always have a way of manipulation us blacks because they see us as people without any contribution to the development of this world because we are totally dependent on them.....This is why when I see YAHOO BOYS dealing with them....I don't feel sorry for them because that's our only way of paying them back.....Bitch ass white people....

Im glad she sued. By the time they are asked to pay an exorbitant amount of money, they will be forced to negotiate and act right.

prettiyz said...

That one concerns them

Linda, don't mind them and their denial, eventually they're going to settle with her. They cannot afford to have the case linger. I have seen and participated in several of such cases. Majority do settle outta court.