White cop shoots unarmed black man 5 times in the back, handcuffs his lifeless body. He's now been arrested and charged with murder | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 8 April 2015

White cop shoots unarmed black man 5 times in the back, handcuffs his lifeless body. He's now been arrested and charged with murder

Unbelievable! The video of this shooting is so shocking. And all this happened because of a broken tail light. Black people are now game for police officers to shoot down? The moment a white police officer in North Charleston, South Carolina shot a fleeing unarmed black man five times in the back then handcuffed his lifeless body after he crumpled on the ground was captured on camera and it's shocking. It was captured by a bystander who has been hailed as a hero. He's now in hiding.

Police officer Michael Slager, 33, opened fire on father-of-4 Walter Scott, 50, on Saturday morning April 4th after stopping him over a broken tail light. The police officer was arrested yesterday April 7th after the video was seen by police. He had initially claimed he shot Scott because he feared for his life, but the video shows Scott actually fleeing from him. The officer shot 8 times, three missed Scott, a US Coast Guard veteran. He has now been charged with murder. The video is quite shocking. Watch here and continue to read the story

Scott left and his killer right
Keith Summey, the mayor of North Charleston, termed the killing a 'bad decision' at a press conference announcing the charges.
"When you’re wrong, you’re wrong. When you make a bad decision, don’t care if you’re behind the shield or a citizen on the street, you have to live with that decision.'
On Monday, the police officer's lawyer issued a statement putting across Slager's version of events. He said the officer 'felt threatened and reached for his department-issued firearm and fired his weapon. "Officer Slager believes he followed all the proper procedures and policies of the North Charleston Police Department'.

But after seeing the shooting tape yesterday, the lawyer said he was no longer representing Slager

Under South Carolina law, Slager could be eligible for the death penalty if convicted of murder.

A lawyer for the family said that the footage shows Slager 'casually' taking Scott's life, and acting as if there would be no repercussions.

Attorney L. Chris Stewart said: 'This was a cop who felt like he could get away with just shooting anybody that many times in the back... He just casually shot a man that many times in the back. At the moment he turned and ran and was not a threat to anybody else that officer was completely unjustified.'

Stewart said the family would also pursue civil charges against Slager. 

Anthony, right, spoke alongside Walter's younger brother Rodney, left, at a press conference Tuesday
He also said that without the video, and the 'hero' who recorded it, there would have been no murder charges.
He told TV crews: 'What happened today doesn't happen all the time - what if there was no video?'
'What if there was no witness - or hero - to come forward?
'The initial reports stated something totally different - the officer said Mr Scott attacked him and tried to use his Taser on him. But somebody was watching.'

Scott's brother, Anthony, spoke after his brother's death. He said Walter had a fiancĂ©e, two siblings and four children. 
The Mercedes Scott was driving when he was stopped apparently over a burned-out tail light

Video below... Source: New York Times/Mail Online

124 comments:

Hmm.. If na black do this thin now, him name na sorry! Baboons!

How To Overcome Shyness With Girls

That Function Gurl said...

What is wrong wiv these people sef??

My goodness, this whites are nothing but beast in human flesh! Smh

FIVE WHOLE TYMS??DS WHITE COPS VE A BLACK HRT...TOMJERRYSWIT

7F098C19 said...

Guns take life faster than God himself. The world of sudden death. Engr Emy

He should be jailed for life

Madness of a racist cop

Most American white cops are evil. Rip lad. Lindaobsserve

Mad people everywhere. 0bviously, he thought he'd go scot free. RIP to the dead. ----C21

Favour belle said...

This barbaric and insanity of the highest order...and he claims it was self-defense. I thought this nonsense has stopped

God will Punish him severly

And Nigerians on twitter n Facebook carry d matter for head,meanwhile 147 kenyans were killed,nobody said anything, bother bout ur own pple b4 bothering bout Americans! World power didn't say anything bout 147 pple killed,but will talk bout 1 black man killed,wen will Africans have sense?

mel20 said...

All this white people so evil, I just don't understand there aim at killing blacks any opportunity they get, will that wipe out the entire blacks? May God punish him n entire generations. RIP to the dead.

Even if he isn't given the death penalty,he's as good as dead in prison .First he's white.he's a cop and lastly,he's a white cop that killed a black man.HE'S SO DEAD!

my oh my!!! These white cops, why are they so callous, wicked and inhumane. Rot in jail silly!

FIZZICHILLIO said...

This is INSANE to say the least. Such a terrible height of evil attained in the world today. I think he should be in prison for the rest of his miserable life. What ever happened to rubber bullets? What ever happened to shooting him in the leg (if that was even ever necessary)? Useless evil Racist gun-wielding trigger-happy white ass state police officer!!! RIP to the deceased

#FiZz

Obama is so helpless...perhaps clueless like GEJ

Kingsley Lotanna Ezeonyido said...

You can imagine the discrepancy. ..

Wickedness

This is bad....

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

Linda pls post comments,ur blog is becoming too boring!

Whoaaaaa racism, tribalism wen will all ds end lord tk control.

What is wrong with these white rabbits?

optimisticlady said...

Felt so sad watching this video..what!this is because past cops that shot blacks where not charged..if not for this video,am sure this man would have claimed'i was scared for my life'..and as usual,he will be freed.#notorascism.

Phew! Racism is rife.
He must face the full wrath of the law.

May Slager's soul never find peace (prayer in advance)

bored bae said...

Everybody knows most US police officers are KKK members

christiana said...

Gosh! most of this white guys on uniform are psychos. Jeez! e b like say this police uniform na cause. They feel they are above the law bcos they are on uniforms. Same shit everywhere. 'ANGRY!!!'

WTH??? That's creulty at its peak.....can you imagine?? Dear Lord, may his poor soul rest in peace!!

Oyibo, pls kindly stop dis hatred and injustice on blacks. Xo heartbreaking

WTH??? That's cruelty at its peak.....can you imagine?? Dear Lord, may his poor soul rest in peace!!

christiana said...

Gosh! most of these white guys on uniform are psychos. Jeez! e b like say this police uniform na cause. They feel they are above the law bcos they are on uniforms. Same shit everywhere. 'ANGRY!!!'

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

He looks like a serial killer... This is murder and he should be hanged.

Racism everywhere!!! God help us..

Imagine!
Racism at its peak.
Wicked man

Enough is enough. And to think this happened in the deep south while many of the others occurred in more supposedly liberal areas without this kind of charge against other officers. South Carolina finally gets it right in telling cops they aren't above the law. I hope the jury doesn't set him free. #blacklivesmatter

I don watch am.That was appalling!

OLOSHI EN GO SUFFER WEN EN REACH PRISON DEM GO RAPE N KILL HIM DIA BASTARD

Ah,, that's so bad... Racism and tribalism everywhere... Lord av mercy

olori buruku, omo ale, ko ni bo be. they must sentence him to death o, anything less wont be funny.

He's a damn RACIST! May his soul rest in peace!

Wow this is so sad!!!this tension between blavk and white in us when is it gonna end????I think the numbers has risen to the highest since oboma became president what for???gush I cant even begin to imagine what this man must have gone through God have mercy!!!JC

Wonders shall never end. Dis is unacceptable, and they must b served accordingly d crime they committed.

He should be killed, otherwise this is war, its unacceptable.

This is horrible. I think this force called police is the worst uniform men on earth no matter any country dey re in. God of isrealite, wht was dt guy thinking, firing 8 shots @ a humanbeing. Evn a hunter cant do dt to an animal. Infact even an armed robber might nt shoot smeone that number of bullets @ a go. Dts very ridiculous.

idrizduch said...

god punish this racist oyinbo idiot. is it a crime to be black?.........

idoma boi said so

I pray that the late Scott gets justice. May his soul RIP. Linda take note!

Celine Oma said...

Dat cop needs to be hanged, flogged and hanged again *in Gaius' voice from Merlin

#linda's apprentice says

I see the Enemy within dividing the U.S apart unless they do something about the white cops taking on the black guys, there downfall is not far from now.

Killer Cops.
The footage explains it all, but i must confess its gonna mess my remaining day after watching it and seeing the Killer Cop shooting the innocent man, with the bullets discharging from the barrel in quick succession. Typical example of shoot to kill.

Racism cannot be taken away from America. These white policemen are taking laws into their hands and the government seem to be doing nothing about it. www.motherlandjobs.com

Oh Lord!

Racism at its pik. Convict him 4 murder joor

Pamscrib.blogspot.com

Human Being said...

Its an unfortunate incidence. He panicked which he was not suppose to as a trained officer. More over the threat was already fleeing. Not easy being an officer oh. Few seconds to make right decisions

If you download the video and watch it slowly, at the beginning (around 00:17 -00:20) you could see that there was a struggle between the two and a pistol fell on the floor just as the black guy was about to flee. The officer panicked and quickly pointed his gun and fired. But at this time a single shot on the leg was enough as there is no longer any threat since he is unarmed and running a way.

The officer found out he had goofed quickly went to pick the gun from it fell at the beginning to drop near body, unfortunate for him the was a camera. If not for the video, they might have covered it up to say the guy was armed while running away and thus a threat to the society.

Human Being No Be God

Flavia said...

This is so messed up...WTF!!!...and everyday we admire the westerners. Every country and their demons sha

Linda he was shot 8 times....point of correction

5thMarch said...

OMG! This cop should be killed by firing squad. We should he shot such an unarmed man. #NoToRacism

wtf!!!! wats this rubbish, this is so barbaric....gosh

MISSVEE

Wicked soul,i hope he rot in jail.

CYNICALSKEPTIC. said...

those of you that think america is paradise better think again.

Blatant abuse of power and unjustified killing of another black citizen.

This life sha

RIP to the dead.

why all these killings everywhere for Gods sake...Gosh

Like I'm seriously starting to believe that too and the worst thing is there's really no répercussion for thé cops except this one who got arrested because of the video.

This is becoming unbearable.

Oboma kor! Obioma ni?

It's totally unacceptable. That cop is so guilty, and justice should take its course. It's really unfortunate some white folks decide to remain proper fools. They even made a support group for the cop, Michael T. Slager on facebook saying the video was altered. This is plain bullshit!

Very bad...Racism can't just stop in de world.

White people and racism. He must pay for his crime

Surprised this fool Onyx isn't downplaying this as black people playing the victim. He did manage to find another unoriginal angle. This story is in direct competition with the Kenya massacre. Focus only on the massacre. Dude, stay working on your curves. Multi tasking by thinking about two or three serious topics at once aren't your forté.

Are u naturally this stupid or u are trying to appear stupid in other to gain attention, it would have been best if u were aborted..........how is shooting an innocent man by a law enforcement agent, similar to a terrorist action........ U statement smells of racism.....

miz bonita said...

may God have mercy, over to Obama if u do not say something abt dis shooting then I will officially black list you, this is now a trend. taking lives like selfies

I don't understand, he was shot but i cannot see any blood stain

U are a stupid bastard,ur family bastard,ur sisters bastard,ur father bastard,God destroy ur entire generation

baba said...

Dis is the problem with Africa leaders if they.made africa a good place to live we wont see our fellow black ppl being hunted down lyke animals very soon black ppl will be extinct if care is not taken

Ur are a goat,cos ur mother aborted ur siblings mean mine would have aborted me? Get back to d hole u came from cos na me and u for LIB! U just started what u can't finish,ishebi na here we dey? God punish alll ur generation, u will never know peace...

Shut o ther onyx,u stupid gay,dem go don fuck all ur yansh hole open.idiot waste of sperm

8 TIMES!! Incase you can't count!

you people can see how this white people hate we blacks and still we blacks hate our self in nigeria we nigerians do racism to our self's
#saynotoracism

@ henry Eze..Hw can u say some one Shud hv been aborted...we on LIB know u as the guy that comments on half naked women and is all about porn.....get a life

Respond like person wey get sense, what has his statement got to do with you calling out his parents and generations. Mannerless chap

They can never extinct black pple. They are not God. They need us wether they accept it or not. We help immensely with their economy.

Ewoooooh! Onyx biko calm down, you've finished the boy already. @Henry, you should learn to use ur head when commenting. How can u say it'ld hv been best for his parents to hv aborted him? Jeez! World people and their basket mouth.

Definitely dis should b brought to book, and investigation should b conducted to find out wht really happened,

Onomiroro Dono Okeh said...

This is chilling. I wonder if this man will get justice. *sigh confusedly*
The present world's population is nothing less than 7 billion people with four temperamental behavioural personality. In essence, humans tend to act or behave in similar ways sometimes.
Kindly click
A Little Bit of me in You. Yes! We're all a Reflection of One Another Character

The end is near. I hope Late Mr. Scott gets justice.

sonny pown said...

We the black in America is having an impact with people that doesn't have any good in there harts, they wanted to make sure we're finished by using police officers in killing Africa American, they get paid for this when it works well. Some people get more money than their salarys for this purpose usa is what you just see.

Oh my goodness. This is racism at its peak!

And d worst of all is there is a black police standing by him God ve mercy

Wow! CNN says 8shots while Linda Ikeji said 5shots and I ask,who copied from who??? #confusion #everywhere

The mayor called this mindless killing by a law enforcer 'just a bad decision'..doesn't that tell it all!

THIS Onyx is just an idiot.whatever happened to his wasted Gay brains

chizota gold said...

racism may never leave the mind of people nomatter the height and level of the people involved. we are all one plz. may his soul rip and may the culprit be brought to book

But will the constant killing of blacks by white cops ever end biko nu? This has become a re-occuring decimal.

The two of you are funny looking Beings @Onyx and Dude Eze#

For me, it's not about dis one black guy but many that have been shot to death by these white cops. And all the blacks will do is cry, smoke, drink, arty and forget. Then the cycle starts all over

@henry no mind am,air don enter him brain from his busted ass,anumpama

He who lives by d sword, shall die by d sword. An eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth Good, let d police officer be brought to justice under d law

He was a back up and not an accomplice.

What's the difference with Nigerian tribalism? We blacks are pressured, we don't even like ourselves, if a royal father is giving a death threat to a particular tribe because his own tribes men are contesting and another tribe will die if one of his own doesn't win. It's same as white police men shooting black men unjustly.

ufuah.eugene said...

So Sad. At times I just wish God will just clean up the earth because of its wickedness.

osavic90 said...

While I strongly condemn the action of this policeman and those of other policemen who have committed the same atrocity, I sometimes wonder why most of the victims create the avenue for this so called law-enforcement officers to take this kind of dastardly action- knowing full well the racial tension that still permeate the American society (whether subtly or explicitly)
I have noticed that the video of most of the victims of police killing have always one way or the other tried to resist arrests. My question is why resist arrest if you know you have committed an offence again the law. Look at this present case now. Just because of a broken tail light, the victim is gone. All he could have gotten for the offence would have been a fine or 'patapata' let's say the car was stolen, no be to go court? and if he has a good lawyer, he ends up paying a fine or go 'small jail term'. 2nd case. the victim that was wrestled to the ground by more than 5 policemen. Why would I struggle against against 5 law enforcement officers (even 2) and expect not to be subdued. I be man of steel? One should be very careful with most of these policemen-be they in Nigeria, America or where ever. Most of them are power drunk and egoistic. A subtle challenge by civilians on their ego triggers unprecedented and shocking reaction.
A case in Nigeria some years back involved a friend of mine who was travelling from lagos to one of the south-south states to attend a friend's wedding. It happened that due to traffic at Ore, he ended up arriving the state late in the night. At one of the police check points on the road leading into the state, he was commanded (not politely asked o)to drop 'something' even after they found out all his vehicle 'particulars' were complete. When my friend objected (on the annoyance that they should have asked for 'egunje' instead of wasting his time all the while) one of the policement with a gun who had been quite all the time they others were arguing with my friend simply walked up to him and silently spoke into my friend's ear. You will not believe what the policeman told him. " Oga you just they argue like say you get choice for here. Look this road well! well! You see as e quite? You know say if I shoot and kill you now say you be robber, nothing go happen? Shocking right? My friend said he almost soiled his 'boxers'. The reality is that what the policeman said was true. innocent lives have been taken by policemen and nothing had happened. quite a number of Policemen have used innocent lives to gain promotion. Please my people, when you are challenged by overzealous law-enforcement officers, please be wise not to give them the room to unleash the beast in them. There are other ways of fighting and getting justice served some other time if you must pursue the case.

To the people insulting themselves, it is uncalled for.

People should learn to respect other people's opinion. Everyone is entitled to one. Calling out Onyx was not right at all. No one called you out for the comments you posted. You can never know if you will meet this person tomorrow and he or she will be the person that needs to say the word that will help you. People should not abuse the privileges they have on the internet by using it to insult other people. Everyone should respect each other on this forum. My Opinion.

FUNKE said...

Watched it on CNN. Some white officers need to be examined, only an animal would shoot someone harmless. #Linda he was shot 8times not 5

Goaldyn Boy said...

Chai! This man's life was wasted just because of driving without trafficator light! That white man is a beast! He wouldn't have done that if it were to be his fellow Whiteman! Thank God the State he committed this heinous crime punishes murder with capital punishment! He should be killed likewise!!!

Lida it is 7 times oh not 5. 7

Onyx....na wa oh

Onyx....I feel ur comment today die...e be like say dem no fuck u today for yarsh.

I just love social media

What's that black officer doing there? An accomplice?

Dem don kpuff that guy for kamala. So, minus the video, forensics would not have looked into the issue to ask why the deceased was shot in the back if he was 'supposed' to be attacking the police man; and secondly, forensic officers would not have questioned the distance of the shot since he should have been close to the police man to be able to taser him?

Na Nigeria Police work be this.

Felt the ranting too, Shim was so wild and prolly in a killer mood.
Dude Eze should better watch out.

@humanbeing u just hit the nail on the head,....

Blood sucker... u dey tell person wey u don shoot finish "put ur hand behind ur back" God is watching u

Lol @white rabbits.....

You mean multitasking "isn't" his forte..... I kinda like Onyx though, please free him ;-)......

There were 8 shots fired, 5 struck the victim...