Selma stars; David Oyelowo & Carmen Ejogo’s home coming for Lagos Movie Premiere. | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 2 February 2015

Selma stars; David Oyelowo & Carmen Ejogo’s home coming for Lagos Movie Premiere.

On Sunday 8th of February, David Oyelowo and Carmen Ejogo will Grace the Red Carpets of the Lagos Premiere of the award winning movie, Selma at the Rock Cathedral, Lekki Lagos. The Movie, Co produced by Oprah Winfrey who also starred in the film will be premiering in Africa for the first time at the Rock Cathedral, Lagos, Nigeria. 

The Event as many speculate, will serve as a homecoming gala for both stars who share Nigerian origin. David’s parents are Nigerians who live in the UK while Carmen is born to a Nigerian Father and a Scottish mother both of UK Nationality as well. 

The Lagos premiere is Hosted by the Rock Foundation of the House on The Rock Church and the United States High Commission in Nigeria.

In a statement, the senior pastor of House on the Rock church, Paul Adefarasin said “Peace and harmony is important to us all. Regardless of our ethnicity, religion or political persuasion, our country Nigeria must remain united and peaceful. This is why House on The Rock Church, positioned as a centre for Social Justice and Equity has decided to bring people from various classes in the Nigerian society together for a remarkable event where we can all stand united for peace at a time like this. We also seek to remind individuals with the Selma movie premiere event that regardless of any differences or grievances we may have, violence is not the answer, thus non-violence must continually be our stance.” 

Adefarasin further stated the need for the Church to be the voice of reason promoting non-violence in the times leading to elections and beyond stressing that ‘’the pulpit of God is not for partisan politics but for promoting the Kingdom of God”

Among Oyelowo’s co-stars in the movie are Oprah Winfrey, Cuba Gooding Jr., Wendell Pierce, and as Coretta Scott King, Carmen Ejogo.

According to sources, The Lagos Premiere promises to Host Nigeria's Top Actors and Actresses from Nollywood, Top Music stars and A-List Celebrities from the Social, Media and Fashion scenes in Nigeria.
The Red Carpet starts by 5pm on Sunday 8th February 2015

Tickets to the premiere are Free but registration is required at www.afritickets.com/selma

82 comments:

They are all welcome

Nice..

Amerie's blog said...

www.ameriesblog.com

Coool

make them fire on

Can't wait to see the movie!!!! Yaay

Abdul Mk said...

15 febuhari. can't wait.. jst saying

sweetbreadgirl said...

David.. Have loved you from days of blood and oil! Oprah must really like his works tho, second time they are costarring. Welcome home!

I must be here!!!! This is huge OMG! Big ups to house on the rock, these guys always doing big things!

Awww they are highly welcome

Ok we await you

Aiit we await you

We await der arrival,Morny peeps.

lily, you dey sleep, you dey try ooo, you went to bed by 2:am and work up by 5:am. kai. All the best shaa.

www.udokajane.blogspot.com

Registration will be rowdy...ooooooooo

Hmmmmm, well that's a nice one. Very encouraging.

Grt.good stuffs....

Wonderful ... @filix

The pulpit of God is not for partisan politics but for promoting God's kingdom. Rightly said MOG!

Shaniquapatty@gmail.com

Ok good

Pretty cool

K

Dave Mide said...

Cool ...they are welcum

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

Goodmornin pple. #happymonday

Austin said...

ok that's good.. buh, who they don help??

Nyc movie. I watched it and indeed I was inspired. Great actor in d person of Oyelowo.

Good.

David Oyelowos time has come. After starring in blockbusters such as Lincoln,The Butler,Planet of the Apes,the guy has paid his dues. I first saw him in 'The last king of Scotland' 10 years ago where he played a small role of a Doctor. Now he is one of the biggest stars in Hollywood.

Cynic*Igbo*Guy

Bimablinks said...

Aii nice

that's nice. such a good actor, that David.

Liflblog.WordPress.com

LIVE YOUR BEST LIFE EVERY DAY!

News.

CHERRY said...

Nice!

Not interested jare....

mccoy said...

Cool stuff.
House on the Rock rocks!!!

Pls na for church una dey premiere movie. Una no see genesis cinema. Our actors keeping doing their best. LIB EMPIRE

Nice one and cool.
Thumbs up to them.

Welcome to our land

Vry nice.. cnt wait to c d movie

Ok...we're waiting...

noted

is oprah coming aswell?

SWILL MARTIN said...

Gr8 exposure coming to nollywood.letz seee

good cdoof09@gmail.com

Thats nice...

Black History Month 2021 said...

Wow, cant wait to see them... lovely movie

Naughtybunny said...

Dats nice...

Una welcome back home. Linda take note!

im so gonna be der....well at least in my imagination....lol princesslivia89@yahoo.com

MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o.

Wow! That's cool.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

Wow! Nice...

oiza said...

thats a good idea

Its Good.

Katherine said...

Can't wait to watch d movie
Oluwaseun73@gmail.com

yass can't wait for the movie .....bring it on

Welcome home homies

¤¤¤¤¤QUEENMAYA¤¤¤¤¤¤

good
they make us proud

Nice going!

Great people

Ohm coming....nice one

Anyi anugo linda! Lolo1

they look good

Ike Ani said...

That's nice and good for more growth in that dimension. www.ikeani.blogspot.com

Ok seen

Hanario said...

Cool. As we watch this great movie, may we, clergy and citizens alike, be reminded that it takes courage, sacrifice, and consistency to change the corruption and oppression that continue to hold Nigeria down. In the march from Selma to Montgomery, just like from Lagos to Abeokuta, MLK and other good people were beaten and turned back, three times. in their quest for voting rights. They were relentless!

cant wait to see the movie

Good. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Nancy110 said...

This Carmen Ejogo. Hates black people but only stars in black movies. Confused mixed race chick.

rick1dude@yahoo.com

GOOD

Doc A said...

Linda, David lived in Naija for 7 years o!

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/profiles/upwardly-mobile-david-oyelowo-on-going-from-tooting-bec-to-tom-cruises-jet-8483779.html

We welcome you guys