The Nation correspondent kidnapped in Abia state | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 18 November 2014

The Nation correspondent kidnapped in Abia state

The Abia state correspondent for the Nation Newspaper, Mr. Ugochukwu Ugorji-Eke has been kidnapped by unknown gunmen. He was kidnapped on Sunday November 16th in front of his premises at Toengine Crescent, off Ovom Road, Ogbor Hill, Aba.

According to an eyewitness report, Ugorji-Eke was returning from an outing at about 7.30pm when he was accosted in front of his house by the kidnappers. He was dragged out of his car and whisked away in the kidnappers car. 

The abductors are said to be asking for N20million to free him. They warned his wife not to involve the police in the negotiations or risk losing him. The state Police commissioner sas they are investigating the matter.

22 comments:

Haba! Why are they kidnapping our journalists?!

Kidnappers at it again this time. I pray he's released safe and sound. 2tim 4:18. BishopDammy#

Where do this kidnappers expect the relatives to shit out 20mill? Do they think this correspondent is Dangote's brother? Na wa o

Uche Emma said...

Not again please

Haha i thought they said, if the police are contacted they risk losing him, and that is exactly what they did. Infact miss Linda Ikeji now publicised it.

security and welfare are the primary responsibilities of govt towards its citizens. when a govt fails to perform its duties, then it becomes imperative for the electorates to change such govt through their voting power in the coming election. it's your choice. the ball is in your court. vote for change in 2015.

Ogbor hill is a dead zone.

And i thought this kidnapping stuff is long dead and gone i swear.....

what!!!!!! uncle ugochukwu has been kidnapped???????????? really????????? chineke

He get reach 22 million for him account? These guys should be realistic with the ransom demands.

God kip dem

Job Vacancies in Nigeria said...

Kidnappers at it again. If not Boko Haram then Kidnappers. I pray for peace in Nigeria

God kip him

Olusoji said...

What is this beloved country turning into? Not just government's hand must be on deck, our is more important

This is serious

this kidnappers never seize to amaze me.God help us

Hope this news won't impede on the man's life since they warned the wife not to involve the police.
This post should come up after successful release from the Kidnappers.
Just hope they don't read lib.

na ember season again nw, bois no dey smile. but d 20million wey demsef dey ask too much na.

Exactly!! This was bad judgement. You said they said not to involve the police or risk loosing him and you write about it, stating that the police is investigating it. Hmmmn

Ugochukwu Ezenwa said...

He will be released

its the season for kidnapping

I am sure the Abia Police will rescue him, they have done well so far