The 39-year-old patient, whose surname is Xie, became pregnant for a second time six months ago. Twenty-one weeks later, she had an ultrasonic test which showed the fetus was suffering from arrhythmogenic right ventricular dysplasia. The chances of survival are very low if surgery is undertaken after birth.
Xie insisted she wanted to keep the baby. And on September 22, doctors in Guangzhou conducted interventional cardiology treatment, with the help of experts from Austria. The size of the fetus’ heart was as small as an almond so the slightest movement could have resulted in damage, said Zhuang Jian, the director of Guangdong General Hospital.
Xie left the hospital four days after the successful operation. This is the first time Chinese doctors have conducted an interventional cardiology operation on a fetus’ congenital heart disease.
More photos below...
Source: CCTV News
31 comments:
Amazing!
Was jus speechless wen I saw dis 2day on CNN..congrats to d parents
I use to wonder what God used to create whites...dem be witch? thank God for a successful operation
God is great
Na was oooo...thank God
Thank God for successful surgery
ThankGod for her
Doctors re wonderful
Signed
LibBadBoy
This ia China wonder
wowww
Ndi ocha wu agbara! Linda take note!
All thanks to God!
Wow...tnk God it was successful
Wow... Quite unbelievable!
Great! Thank God for docs like dis.
Thank God for doctors
Wow what a feat
Long Live LIB
Nigerians, your counterparts are breaking new ground worldwide, make una dey there they talk about Kim Kardashian's dinner & Amber Roses sun shade or Aisha Buhari's headtie
And the doctors in upth are still on strike issokay
The secret of man's existence is in d hand of doctors. Everything about you (God) is great!
Tank God. We hop d baby doesn't com out abnormal
Amazing
Are you kidding ?
It is amazing how we celebrate other people such as these Chinese doctors, and we fail to promote our very own. One of the pioneers of fetal surgery (operating on fetus while still in the mother's womb) is a Nigerian, by the name Prof Oluyinka Olutoye who works at Baylor Hospital in Houston, USA. Prof Olutoye has been doing this procedure for several years to correct Congenital diaphragmatic hernia. Prof Olutoye got his medical degree in Nigeria at OAU. I am a doctor although still very young in the profession, and I have picked great Nigerians like Dr. OLutoye as my mentor. I hope our media celebrate the best among us (Nigerians). People like Prof. Olutoye deserve recognition.
God pass man. D whites are wise.
Splendid
Naija will never meet up
This is nothkng short of incredible!