What inspired I'd Rather Be Self Made...the day I was picked up by Special Fraud Unit...:-) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 3 September 2015

What inspired I'd Rather Be Self Made...the day I was picked up by Special Fraud Unit...:-)

I'm going to be MIA for a few hours. I'm on my way to the US with my parents. They made them Chief and Lolo in our village and I wanted to take them abroad to spoil them a little...:-) (My dad's first time). Anyway, while I'm flying, I wanted to share a story that I've been meaning to share here for a while now...about why I decided to help some young ladies with start up capital for their small scale businesses. Please continue to read! (It's quite long o, so...-))

Before I became the popular blogger that I am today, I was a struggling entrepreneur. I started my modeling career in 1998 before I turned 18 and started my company Blackdove Communications in 2004 when I was just 23+. Blackdove was a modeling agency/events company and I operated from a 2-room office in Jibowu, Yaba for almost three years.

In 2006, I decided to try something that I'd always wanted to do - become a magazine publisher. My dream growing up was to be a journalist. These days many people argue whether I am a journalist or not. I don't consider myself one. I'm a blogger, though being a journalist was my dream. In fact, I wanted to study Mass Communications in the university but I unfortunately didn't get it. I got English instead. But I've always had a love for writing, putting stuff together, informing people about what's going on etc.

In in 2006, I mustered the courage and saved enough money to publish my own magazine. It was called FM&B (Fashion, Modeling and Beauty) magazine because that was my industry at the time.

For my first edition, I used my photo (duh...lol) left. It took me months to put this together and I used money I made from my business to print the magazine. I did a grand launch and really hoped for the best. After it was released, I didn't recoup the money I'd spent on it but I knew I couldn't become a successful magazine publisher over night. I knew the road was long and hard and I had to keep at it, I knew I had to print more editions before people and sponsors could take me serious.

Anyway, I printed my second edition (right) and didn't recoup either. The vendors will take the magazine and not pay you. Some would claim they didn't sell...some, you would chase for your money for so long you'd get tired of chasing them and then you leave them alone. And it was especially hard to get adverts for a new magazine. I would go to companies and sit in their offices for hours, hoping they would buy advertising space in the magazine, but for where? Lol. I remember I offered a telecoms company my back page and inner pages for N100k but they were not interested ...lol. (now, na them they chase me with adverts...lol).

But I managed to get a few companies to advertise (I talked about it here in 2008 and later in 2009) - it took months of being on the road - going from one company to the other, convincing them to support the effort - still it wasn't enough to print the next edition so I had to once again use my own money to print the magazine. It was tough but I didn't want to give up. I wanted to succeed by all means and I knew consistency was the key. I figured by the time I was on my fifth edition, some companies would take me seriously and start to advertise and by the time I was on my 10th edition, I would be a well known magazine publisher like my mentor back then, Mrs Betty Irabor of Genevieve magazine. So 10 editions of the magazine was my goal - but I didn't go past the 4th edition - though I paid part payment for the 5th edition but it never came out.

Something happened with my 4th and last edition (right) that almost broke me...and that inspired 'I'd Rather Be Selfmade.'

You see, right from when I was young, sleeping with men for money/come up was never an option for me. In fact, I found girls who engaged in such back then, disgusting. Now that I am more mature, I kinda understand it, I don't condone it but I understand it and I am not so quick to judge these girls. That's why I'm trying to help girls with dreams instead of condemning girls who find different ways to survive. It's tough out there, guys!

Anyway, for my 4th edition, I didn't have enough money to print it...and I was so sad about it. The magazine was ready but no money to print. It was going to cost me N500k back in 2008 to print 2,000 copies and all I had with me was N150k. I needed N350k and I was determined to print this magazine. I wanted it to succeed by all means so I decided to do something I'd never done before. I went to the bank to get a loan.

There was a neighbor of mine back then who I found out was the chairman of a community bank on Ogunlana Drive Surulere (all community banks have since shut down). So I approached him for a loan ...N350k, the exact extra amount I needed to print the magazine. I promised that I would pay back once the magazine was published and I was able to get ad money out. This was in 2008. After weeks of going back and forth and the bank staff coming to my office in Surulere then to see where I was operating from, I was given a loan of N350k. They actually made out the cheque to the printing press so the money didn't come directly to me. It was a short loan - just three months - and I was supposed to pay back with interest and I was so sure that I would pay back - I had three months and I was a hard working girl, I believed I could do it. But you see, sometimes, life does what life is supposed to do - it happens! With no questions...life just happens.

For some weird reason, I was only able to pay back N100k after the three months deadline. By now I was owing close to N400k including interest. I asked them for more time, and they gave me time ..and I managed to pay another N150k or so after a few months. After then, I became stuck.

My business wasn't going well...and for months I was struggling. The guys from the bank came to my office and told me I had a month to pay up or they would have to do what they usually do get their debtors to pay, that the reason they hadn't done it up until then was because of my neighbour relationship with their chairman. I promised I was going to pay and a week or so later, I was able to pay another N30k.

And then very early one Monday morning, sometime in 2009, my younger sister, who used to work with me at Blackdove, Sandra, quietly entered my room and told me that some men were looking for me, that they were at the door and that she'd seen them talking with the bank chairman. She said she suspected that they were police men.

If I tried to describe to you how I felt at that moment, I wouldn't be able. I stopped breathing for at least 3 seconds. I told her not to let my parents or any other member of our family know the men were outside (Only she knew about the loan and actually went with me to get it). I found something to wear and went to meet the men outside. To be honest, I was hoping they were from the bank and not police men but when they introduced themselves to me (three of them) I froze. They said they were men from the Special Fraud Unit, Ikoyi, and they had been sent to bring me to their office to answer for a loan I took from a community bank and refused to pay back. I was going to ride in their marked anti-fraud unit car - sandwiched between two men.

I didn't want my parents to know what was going on (it would have killed my mum) so I quickly went back in, put on more appropriate clothes, told Sandra to follow their car in my car so she would go with me to their office. I remember sitting in that vehicle as they took me to their office in Ikoyi, and wondering how I got to that point. It was like a nightmare. I couldn't believe it was happening. I got to their office and they made me sit down in front an officer who was handling the case. (Sandra was allowed in but she was sitting in another area.).

The officer brought out my case file, and said I was owing the bank N190k for almost a year and I wasn't going to leave their custody until the money was made available. You know, I've had bad days in my life...I mean, who hasn't? But up until that point, I'd never felt worse in my life. Nothing I'd ever experienced up until that day, sitting in front of this man, and beside other offenders/debtors, was anything close to this. Nothing! Even now, I can't even express how I felt that day, what was going through my mind. I felt like a failure. I remember my eyes welled up, because I knew I didn't have N190k and I didn't know anyone who could loan me. I started to explain to the officer, then I began to beg...and I talked and talked and then I began to cry. I couldn't believe the situation I was in. I knew it would break my parents hearts if they found out where I was.

I remember Sandra just sitting there and looking at me...and trying to be strong. She was broken to see me so broken but she kept it together. She started calling people, asking for a loan, I heard her from where I was sitting, calling friends and asking if they could loan her money. No luck. We were there for hours, eventually the officer came to me and said they'd decided to be lenient, that they would give me a month to pay the N190k back to the bank and failure to do so would be automatic arrest and I would not be released until the money was paid. They gave me a form to sign but said I needed a surety and without a surety I would not be released that day. I called a friend who came and signed for me. The officers told him they were releasing me to him and would also pick him up if I failed to pay up. Fortunately he agreed and that was how I was released. I was there from morning till evening and those hours were some of the worst hours of my life. Thankfully, other members of my family didn't immediately know this happened to me. (They found out months later).

But fortunately I recovered quickly. I knew there was no time to mourn. I had just one month to raise N190k or myself and my surety would be picked up and locked up.

Today, I have shoes that cost more than N190k, but back then, that was a lot of money to me...and I didn't have it. So for the next two weeks, I put myself on the road. I started chasing all the agencies owing me money. I ran up, down, to a hole, up a ladder and every where in between and finally raised the money which I paid back to the bank. It was an ordeal but it was finally over!

Months later, I raised some more money to print my 5th edition (above). The content was finished but once again, I didn't have enough money to print it. I had only N200k and I needed N500k. I wasn't ready to give up on this dream. No way! But of course I wasn't going to go to a bank again..lesson learned there...lol. So instead I turned to the printers. I told them I had only N200k and would pay them the balance of N300k when the magazine was out. One printer agreed, took my money and half way into the job told me he couldn't go further without any more money. He basically held me to ransom. I pleaded and threatened for months and they wouldn't budge, wouldn't print without more money and one day I was like, 'you know what?' I give up! I'm done!' I told them to keep the money and the magazine, that I was done. I was just tired of it all. And that was the end of that dream.

Then I decided to face another business idea. I wanted to start a fashion, modeling and beauty school. This time I went to real banks (not community banks..lol). None, not even one looked at my business proposal. I was hoping to get N1million to start this business, but no bank was even willing to talk to me. After months of chasing this idea, looking for money etc, I also gave up on it and moved to the next thing!

A few months later, I shut down my office (after my landlady increased my rent - I could not afford to pay it). I gave out some of my office equipment, sold some and packed the rest of my things and went home. I was going to continue operating my business from home.

This was in 2010. I turned 30 that year and I remember having the worst day of my life - so far - on my 30th birthday. I'd lost my office, I'd given up on my magazine dream. My other businesses weren't doing well. I'd been hustling since I was 17 and I thought that by now I would have made it, but here I was at 30, losing it all (or so I thought) and starting all over again.

But you see, in all of it, no matter how bad a day I had, no matter how tough it was, no matter the other dreams I gave up on, there was something I never stopped doing, I never stopped blogging. I would cry, wipe my tears, pick up my laptop and blog. If I didn't have internet at home, I would go to a cybercafe, pay for time and blog there. This work/passion ultimately changed my life.

Sometime in 2012, when I'd started making money from blogging, a young lady talked to me about her struggles. She needed just N85k to start a nail and eye lash studio. She had someone who was willing to give her space to operate from, but she needed money for other equipment needed for the business. She told me that N85k would change her life and that of her family. She wasn't even asking me for the money, she was just talking about her struggles and how hard it's been for her to raise capital. She mentioned she'd approached a bank for a loan and no bank was willing to give her. She said she didn't know how else she'd get the money but sugar daddy wasn't an option. I remember smiling and I made the decision right there and then to give her the money for her business.

I remembered my life as a struggling entrepreneur, getting picked up by the Anti-Fraud Unit over N190k. I remembered how much help I needed and how little I got. How nobody could really help because they had their own issues and struggles. I remembered my dark days. I remembered all the people I begged to help me, to believe in me, to believe in my dreams. I remembered all the doors that were shut in my face. All the office receptions I sat in for hours. All the Nos I heard. All those who turned their backs. And how sometimes, I just wanted to give up. And I knew there were plenty girls like me out there, with ambition, with dreams, with fire burning in their soul...but who can't get far because they have no one to help, not just with money but also with words. And I made up my mind that day, that whenever I get to a position where I could help other young ladies with dreams and aspirations, I would help. Because I've been through it myself, I know how difficult it is to start or run a business in this country. That's why I want to focus on young ladies with dreams and good business ideas.

So far, I've touched 15 lives (see here)...I hope in my lifetime, that I am able to touch thousands more. God willing. This is the project I've decided to take up. For as long as I remember my over 8-hour ordeal at the Special Fraud unit in Ikoyi, I will always be here to help a female entrepreneur - if not with money, then with advice and guidance.

I struggled o. I used to do an annual fashion show called Style Night. I did it from 2004 to 2010. (see some pics here, and here here). I also tried to do a reality show called Nigeria's top model search with Linda Ikeji...no sponsor. I give up...lol. Catwalk with Linda TV show..no sponsor, I give up! Lol

In 2010, I wrote an inspirational book titled 'It Takes You' to encourage people not to give up on their dreams. I spent a lot of money to get this published because being an author was one of my dreams and I was determined to realize that dream. I made it come through!...:-)

I was still working on my dreams when companies started asking me for advert rates for my blog. I created my ad rate in early 2011 and my life hasn't been the same since. I left everything else and concentrated on this. Sandra is now the CEO of Blackdove...:-)

Sandra and I pictured above (She worked with me at Blackdove from 2004 when I started until 2011 when she took over the company. She was my rock for years! I doubt I love anyone more. She's older than my other sister you all know, Laura. )

Anyway, I plan to do all I can to help as many young women as I can. I'm using my money for now but I would eventually talk to rich people and corporate bodies to get involved and raise as much as it's possible as start-up capital for young female entrepreneurs. Too many unemployed individuals in this country. Let's start creating jobs instead of always looking for one. Plus I don't want anti-fraud people coming to knock on your door...lol.. or you turning to men. I hope all your dreams come true...and I hope no matter how tough it gets, you never give up.

I will catch you guys later. For now, let me take this new Chief and his Lolo to America to spoil them a little. Lol. Kisses. Catch you soon!

1,957 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   1201 – 1400 of 1957   Newer›   Newest»

its really touching. the end justifies the means. u re made! its so bangd up and ravishn bein part of ur day. all thanks to Alpha n Omega for his Wisdom. pls, if theres anyway u can help me pls do. Am hardworking n am struggling to make it, bt money is impeding mi movement. pretex4luv@yahoo.com

So inspired by these "when ur life is filled with darkness note that "stars shine in darkness not daylight"

you are a blessing, keep doing it because of God. plus you honour your parents, you will enjoy the promise of Ephesians 6:2-3

Tear of joy! Tears!! Tear!!!

A step begins a journey, now I know giving up isn't an option for me. Thanks a lot for sharing your story.

i love u Linda. u are an inspiration to hustling young ladies. we shall make it by God's grave Amen

F.A (whizee) said...

This is the most inspiring piece i have read from Linda Ikeji. the reason for your blessing is just being fulfilled.

All I can say after reading this is God bless you! You are such an inspiration and may God Almighty fulfil the desires of your heart.

Can't believe I finished that! Linda ya such an inspiration! Good you shares this with us cos I always frown at my friends in school when they say you slept your way to the top. It gets me mad (funny? I didn't know how you made it, yet something in me told me they are lying) atleast now I have a story to tell them whenever such convo comes up. Bigger you I pray

Musleemah said...

Thank you so much for this Linda...you'll really have no idea how much this has touched my soul...May God listen to your heart and meet you at your point of need.

KoolTonero said...

. . . . I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO TELL YOU ON THIS TOUCHED STORY OF YOURS. BUT, I SO MUCH BELIEVE GOD HAS A WAY OF HELPING THOSE THAT HELP THEMSELF. MAY HE CONTIUNE TO USE YOU TO TOUCH INDIVIDUALS WHO ARE READY TO CHANGE LIFE. I WILL SAY . . CONGRATULATIONS LINDA. BIGGER YOU I PRAY! YOUR FATHER ABRAHAM'S BLESSINGS WILL BE YOURS IN JESUS NAME, AMEN.

Truly inspiring.

Aww, hmm this is uber inspirational. Lawd! Girl you're refined just like gold. Keep the good work up, and my God help us too to persevere as we find our purposes here on earth. Congratulations to your parents. Xoxo.

Thank you for sharing your story with us. I am glad, God blessed your efforts.

Anieto said...

it is always like that yea... a hard start. But today who would mention blogging without mentioning Linda ikeji. it is all about interest and perseverance.. check out www.tochukwuanieto.blogspot.com. may the good lord guide you.

With Goose Pimples all over my body, it would be only fare to say; God Bless you Linda!!

Pls i also need finanacial support to start up my buisness.

ebony said...

#tearsrollingdown# I love u Linda. May God bless u richly.

Wow!!!! Am so inspired

Thank you so much Linda for this inspiring write up. This is just what i needed, it came just on time (at my breaking point ). God bless you and happy holidays to Chief and Lolo.

For some strange reasons I never liked you but I read your blogs everyday! However, your journey from "nothing" to "something" kinda of change my impression about you. I wish you a safe journey in life.

Finally Godwin...

That's so touching.your story is really motivating. Thanks for sharing

Loomzy Business Community said...

Lindodo may God bless you a thousand times. Your story is very inspiring and truly, nothing good comes easy. A lot of people would be envying you and believing that you don't deserve all the good things you have but they do not know how far you have struggled to get here. Kudos to you sister

mehn,it wasnt eaasy but you stayed stuck to your belief. Thanking God on your behalf. Omo i salute your courage o

;told Sandra to follow their car in my car; ATLEAST YOU HAD A CAR....YOU FOR JUST SELL AM LOL....LINDA YOU SUFFER OOO AND YOU TALKING NOW BECAUSE YOU FAMOUS...SOME PEEPS SUFFER PASS YOU OOOOO ATLEAST THEM NO GET CAR TO SELL...YOU EXERGERATE THE SUFFER AS IF NA ONE BED YOU DEY STAY..YOU EVEN GET YOUR OWN ROOM LOL...WELL AM HAPPY FOR WHAT YOU DOING FOR THE YOUNGER ONES OOOOO BUT BABE YOU NO SUFFER OOOOOOOO YOU REALLY NO SUFFER...ATLEAST YOU GO SCHOOL FINISH SERVE.........ALL YOU WERE LOOKING FOR WAS TO GET FAMOUS SHIKINA LOL SOME PEEPS AINT LOOKING FOR THAT..THEY LOOKING FOR SHELTER AND FOOD DAMN

frank Ugo-Dike said...

Waow!I shed a tear for you.keep it up,I hope some one does the same for us guy.
Your challenges made you stronger

Touching!speechless...

Wow Linda this article of urs is quite touching. Never knew ppl like u experienced such. It's through what they said, to climb the ladder of success one has to overcome the obstructions along the way

With these marble words, you have made a million people more. Just keep it up!!

Barry9ice said...

am thrilled & also got motivated by this message of urs madam Linda, tears filled my eyes seeing the struggle u went thru in life b4 u eventually bcame who u ha today, may God almighty continue to strengthen u & uplift u in every endeavour of ur life, once again thanks on behalf of those hearts u have touched openly & in the closet. Dis I pray, may almighty God grant to u ur own suitor dis yr in Jesus name.

Still reading.

Awww Linda...you made me cry.

Am so ispired. Linda,Keep it up. you are really a self made!

LINDA... plenty story. read later.

One thing I can't just take away from you is you such a mentor to me. I let people know that no matter d situation in life, don't ever give up.Greater height more for you sister. IrepLindaTeamDaily. GodblessU 🙏🙏🙏🙏

Nkay said...

wow! Linda... with your story and given that you are made today after all the struggles and hustle, i am highly inspired and firmer in my struggle for better living.
i must say you have got a good heart. keep it up and God will surely continue to bless you and your family. if i were to be in lagos i would have keyed in to your program, lol... but is okay, your story has enlightened me even more. much love from me.. muah!

Oh Linda,the giver of life will continue to bless, protect and guide you and your siblings.No evil shall befall you,you are forever blessed.Congrats to your parents.

Nkay said...

wow! Linda... with your story and given that you are made today after all the struggles and hustle, i am highly inspired and firmer in my struggle for better living.
i must say you have got a good heart. keep it up and God will surely continue to bless you and your family. if i were to be in lagos i would have keyed in to your program, lol... but is okay, your story has enlightened me even more. much love from me.. muah!

mz dre said...

WhaOooooooooo God bless u Linda dats all I can say

There's always a story behind every Glory. Resilience and Faith in God is all you need to make it in life. Well done.

Truly inspiring! Well done Linda and may God richly bless all your endeavours.
All we need in this country is just a few more people like you with the willingness to help...with no strings attached...and with pure intentions. May God bless you and continually pour His choicest blessings upon you and your family!

mehn,it wasnt easy but you stayed stuck to your belief. Thanking God on your behalf. Omo i salute your courage o

mz dre said...

WhaOoooooooooooo God bless you linda

Wow this is quite inspiring. Well done Linda!!! You have done well for your self. I admire the drive as a woman. And your sister is also strong n bold. She's finer than Laura though. Laura got her own swag anyway. I am inspired. God bless yr hustle. Next is to settle down Linda. Men are often scared of success even when they have good self esteem. All the best and keep rising.

Mademen said...

Omo dada ni Linda o. Life wil alwayz get beta. Letz Kp up the positive dream!

mz dre said...

WhaOoooooooooooo God bless you linda

Wow!!! Linda Ikeji, I love you. May God continue to bless you.

S.king said...

inspiring ....God bless you but please let it not just be female entrepreneurs . S.King

Never believed people like linda still exists....

anieto tochukwu said...

it is always difficult at the beginning but today what is blogging without linda ikeji. may the good lord guide you.check out www.tochukwuanieto.blogspot.com

please I need to be among the lucky girls...thanks

Is awesomely inspirational. ...

I need to be among this pls, this is so inspiring.

Wow,linda this really touched me.God will continue to bless and uplift u dear

*iyawo Obama

You inspire me Linda...I hope to share my story like this one day.

yeancah said...

so Inspiring,Linda the Messiah of our time,you went through alot, i love and admire your courage.God bless you, Your Parents must be proud of you.

Inspirational. Keep Climbing.

God bless the work of your hands mightily.
I'm a male entrepreneur and I really have been inspired by this wonderful write up.
Journey mercies

Lammy Adesh said...

Waow, this made me cry! Aunt Linda, u're my role model, love u

Wow!!! Can't believe I cried reading this..... God bless you real good.....

God bless U for taking good care of ur parent.but what I still don't get is Y u don't want to get married?cos U wouldn't tell me dat no man has approached U for marriage b4.well,iam just saying so dat U to will have someone to take good care of U when d time comes.all d best.

oiza said...

Am so touched, you really inspire me. I hope il be able to scale through and share my story also. Thanks for the inspiration. For bridal hair packing, makeup,hairstyling,nails,skin care,facials and training in niger state,abuja and environs add pin:2BFFE1E4. First timer here

You are an Inspiration Ma'am!

Temmy said...

Very inspirational, this to me is more than millions of dollars. With God on my side, I can do all things. Ride on Linda and don't forget to return all glory back to God Almighty who has brought you this far.

very inspiring story.....You just strengthened my resolve to keep pushing...

My bosom just caught fire...Thanks Thanks Big sis Lindodo..I am super inspired.

Ade said...

The reason I just couldn't take myself from this blog is because it's hope for me, even before this story u shared, I've always known that struggle and I've cling to it that someday I will also become a great entrepreneur, no sugar daddies involved, will provide more jobs than you Linda will do...will help many(men and ladies)...will look back just like you doing now and will be grateful to God and to not giving up. thank you Linda for remembering others...keep up the good works...keep being blessed.# OneLove#Worldchangers

Frances said...

Aaaw!!! I feel like crying but just had tears in my eyes.Indeed Destiny can be delayed but not be denied. God Really blessed your Hustles and will continue to Bless You...In Jesus' name Amen.

Nd see me.too I was a model.with chinwe d girl up.there was jst tired of how all dis designers would wat to sleep wit u so I left started doing makeovers too for like 7yrs nd also felt I wasn't too well married nd here I am o day sitting at home doing nothing I av an idea of what I want to do but no money, God bless u linda for helping pple,u will neva lack coz d bible has said it givers neva lack

Damn you Linda Lol!! you don't hustle fah thank God your hustle pay up

God bless your good heart.

L. A said...

Linda, this is a great initiative and I join you in prayer that you will indeed touch the lives of thousands of young girls/ladies through this project and also help turn them away from a wayward life as you impart them. God will indeed reward and replenish you bountifully.
Go girl!

What a story

Love ur stories linlin. I'm inspired. I have one suggestion though. 'Demand' success from those u're helping and when that happens, reward them if they can assist others. It'll create a ripple effect, and even though u can't directly help everyone, u would indirectly have reached out to much more.

Heritage Poems said...

Linda
I Love Your courage,
I Love Your strength,
I Love Your resilience
And above all, I love you.

Your strong Mind of faith
Has proven that when there is will
there is way

aunty linda, u are a blessing to our young girls, keep on doing the good work.. May God strengthen you to do more.

#gracias...

L. A said...

Linda, this is a great initiative and I join you in prayer that you will indeed touch the lives of thousands of young girls/ladies as you impart them through this project and help them turn away from living a wayward life, all in the name of 'survival'. May God increase and replenish you bountifully.
Go girl!

Wao aunty linda, this is a very lovely story, may God continue to bless you. You inspire me

Linda dis ur father nor dey ever smile,Haba!!!

kels said...

I just love you Linda! Even as a guy, this was inspiring and had me shed a few tears. Keep up the good work!

Remi Abioye said...

I have gone through your life account and sincerely appreciate your determination to succeed without losing your prestige. This will serve as a lesson to other struggling folks. I wish you all the best in your endeavours. Cheers!

sharon fortress said...

OMG! This has so inspired me...thank You so much Linda..i tot my case was worst

Somzie said...

i'm an entrepreneur myself and i must add dat this is such an inspirational and heart-felt piece. keep up the good work and best of luck with your projects. i recommend you publish a second book. take hints from Richard Templar. I reckon you'd be a terrific author. Nno (or however it is spelt)

Somzie U-D
www.dnamimedia.com

This is so inspirational,i have the urge and zeal to start up something, but I just have a problem with identifying what I love,this minute I know it,the next minute it looks like it won't get me anywhere. I need a reply please

shovey said...

so touching and encouraging... that's how I always share my story with young girls nowadays, if an orphan lyk me can go thru university and now training my four younger siblings in the higher intitution, as a single lady. then they can achieve their dreams too.

ZiZi Kokoye said...

Thumps up Linda,Please keep doing good.God bless you

hrm paul ojeih said...

Lol it was a touching story do not blog on your flight against aviation rules.do land come give us better gist

I don't Knw ow to express my sef now,but reading Dis maDe mi cry n stronger but one tin I knw is dat I won't give up.Never.FanKs a lot linda

This is so inspiring. Thanks linda for sharing this because at this point i'm close to giving up but reading this has motivated me. Thanks again and again

New to Ikeji said...

This is inspiring....

*teary eyed* This is inspiring. Linda Ikeji has always been a role model for me from back when I read about one of her struggles and how she never opted for sleeping with men for money. We are just a few people in the world who choose to work hard and enjoy the fruits of our labour instead of taking the easiest ways out. GOD bless you, Linda. I too will be great soon. Its only a matte of time. I believe and I will achieve, AMEN.

Ur story made me teary Linda and u really deserve everythin u hav and u her now cos u did not give up unlike some dat are not even tested to dis extent before goin into prostitution full time.. u hv always been hardworking and I pray dat God will crown all ur efforts with a loving husband n beautiful children.. u are reallly an inspiration not only for me but odas out dere.. God continue to bless u.. and I know I will have my own story to tell too one day.. flex mumsy n pupsy well o

PRISCABABE said...

what a very inspirational write up. so inspired. thanks so much for raising my hope of survival in my dream business. I believe with determination I can make it as you did. may God Almighty continue to keep my parents as He kept yours to reap the fruit.

Wow Linda..been refreshing ur blog since morning..pls come back online.

proudlywoman said...

Linda linda...do you know you just made my day....you have just encouraged me not to give up. Am also at that age of 30, and i must say I am still struggling with my dreams, but reading this has encouraged me. Thanks and God bless you.

Sheriff said...

Thumbs up Linda!!!

Inspiring

For all your quality and affordable female wears, accessories, handbags and footwear,kindly add us on bbm pin: 2bb40d42, we deliver at ur doorstep thank you.

So touching

corisande said...

WOW!
linda is a go getter! One hell of an achiever! So many would have given up but you didn't.
I Admire your strength

Bia linda...na partia be dz...we are all equal b4 Jah both genderz oh...Try run package 4 we guyz too...Enuff bright niccurz dey Efcc n SFU unto debt matter oo

Nyelu said...

God bless u so much Linda. This actually inspired me a lot. I will keep pushing to achieve my goals. Thanks

Awwwwwwwww aunt Linda,u are such an inspiration. Ur story is really touching. God will surly reward u.

How beautifully written and expressed. You brought tears to my eyes. I'm proud of your success and it's so refreshing to hear that it neither came overnight nor via selling your soul to the devil. It's been you and God all the way!

Vivian. O. said...

I love you Linda Ikeji! You are such an Amazing person and an inspiration . I will tell my own success story soon by Gods special Grace! Amen!!!

Linda Linda, why you no get package for guys too we too de hustle na, no help too, abi make we transgender nawah o! Man own worst sef.

Vivian. O. said...

I love you Linda Ikeji! You are such an Amazing person and an inspiration . I will tell my own success story soon by Gods special Grace! Amen!!!

Everyone has his or her own past and present stories, may God bless the work of your hands.

Liddieberry Daramola said...

LINDA, wow..... You have no idea how your story awakened the giant in me. I WON'T give up on my dreams. I WON'T, I WILL TRY HARD TO FULFILL MY PURPOSE. I WILL GIVE IT MY ALL. I WON'T GIVE UP. GOD BLESS YOU HUN

Well done to you. This is what we want for our daughters, to be self reliant. We need more role models like you in Nigeria. God bless and all the best.

rily inspirational...:-). am api for yu hun *hugs

MYS fabric bags lagos 08134794565, D60E8C4D said...

Inspirational!!!!!!! I just wish nd pray dat one day I will also look back at my struggles nd put on a contended happy smile

PoshCutie said...

Wow Linda...you just ignited a fire within me. God bless you for reaching out.

Chichi said...

Lindiwe u don try. God bless you and increase you. And may God cause your path and that of your God given spouse to meet this year in Jesus name Amen.

Remi Abioye said...

Sorry Linda! Now that you have achieved this goal, what stops you from resucitating other suspended (not failed) projects, Egan Magazine? More jobs can be created by this! What do you think? It's well with you.

na u BIKO 1 LOVE #PREACH ON #BEAUTIFUL SOUL

Linda Nwaoma Ikeji, you inspire me to the moon and back! Ive been a banker for over 6 years and i wont lie, i'm really sick and tired of it all. I have dreams and business ideas, but no capital. I even have fears of resigning but i'm miserable in my job. You are inspiring me follow my dreams. God bless you abundantly for what you are doing. My prayers for you are countless.

Linda Nwaoma Ikeji, you inspire me to the moon and back! Ive been a banker for over 6 years and i wont lie, i'm really sick and tired of it all. I have dreams and business ideas, but no capital. I even have fears of resigning but i'm miserable in my job. You are inspiring me to follow my dreams. God bless you abundantly for what you are doing. My prayers for you are countless.

Babakazzo said...

Inspiring and Motivating.

j.o.y. said...

Am so touched by your story. We kind of have similar stories. May The Lord continue to bless our hardwork.

Ab_dot said...

Wooooooow u've been through a lot, I salute your courage! And I pray that God shall make u bigger!

joyous babe said...

Wwaaahoo,chief miss lolo lindodo ,lol. Ibu real nwa afo igbo.chie e am over inspired wy this ur story.may God bless u d more and give u ur mising rib.l luv u like kilode.

beautiful

Am speechless. God bless you real big

tonyovisu said...

And here i was almost giving up on my dream.. I am glad i read this Linda Ikeji.. thank you a million times. God bless you. www.ghmoviefreak.blogspot.com

Am speechless. God bless you real big

LOVING YOUR STYLE ON HOW YOU INSPIRE PEOPLE...KEEP IT UP DEAREST...KUDOS TO THEM!!!

your journey of life made me shed tears.. if you can make it now inspite of all odds and humiliation, i will also make it... your story is exactly mine..

Thanks for an inspiring piece,
U know when u start something n it doesn't work n u switch to another,people begin to look at u like u don't know what u r doing.
That's my fate ryt now,am in my 2nd venture n so far so great.
I almost gave up a lot of times but thank God I didn't.
However, I think u should also consider some boys

Your story actually brought tears to eyes, as I am in the situation you were some years ago. Though no anti-fraud yet but I pray it won't get to that and I know I am going to make it.

Amazing Story! I cried a bit....May God keep blessing you Linda....Nothing comes overnight....i learnt from this..

June said...

Linda making Mama Proud since 2011

Lol u r just a few years my snr yet so wise.
Those years u were blogging in cyber cafes I was also in cafes quite alright, but I was chatting off in yahoo chat rooms lol

Hmmmmm olorun se emi naa ni olu omo

Linda, You are an Inspiration!!!

karen ubani said...

Very Inspiring!

#Inspiring!! #Never Give Up!.....Congrats To The New Chief and Lolo!!

livingstone said...

wow, really inspiring. tnx have a safe light and a wonderful time in the states.

ALINCO NONI said...

Thank you Linda.. I cried all through while reading this post. There's hope for everyone. Am not 30 yet but am getting close. It hurts more when there's one of your sibling's is very successful. You actually feel like a failure. Like everything you going through is all your fault or as a result of Bad Choices. I won't give up on myself. I will be very successful. There are people I need to disappoint.

Wow!!!!! So inspiring. God bless u Linda

Ugo Nwanyi You have done well and we umuibe is proud of all umu ADA. Daalu

N234 said...

That's truly inspirational Linda, the struggle real and the success that comes with is no mirage either.
I could spill as much as you have right now but what's the point, you just have said it all.
Good luck on helping this girls.

i Just love you linda, i am working presently but i also have a shop where i sell drinks. i pray one day i will be a very big distributor. God bless you more for what you do.

i thank your parents for bringing you to this life.

Amakanwa said...

See... Sandra the hardworking one has been low key. But Laura the onu ikputu and lazy one is the person that is showing off and flaunting money she did not contribute for. That's why they said empty vessels make the loudest noise.

Linda, though I dislike your style of blogging, you will always remain my inspiration. I will not give up on my dream or quench the fire of entrepreneurnship. God bless you and your good heart.

Awwww.....you so went through a lot. Same ordeal happening to me too right now....and I am TIRED...TIRED....GIVE UP a voice I always hear in my head. But with this your write up, I promise to never give up. Thank you Linda

walter said...

Dear Linda, this is your best article yet. It's really inspired me. May God keep you and use ur inspiring life to encourage women out there to keep @ it, inspite of all the obvious odds piled up against them. such an encouraging article, straight from your heart (i'm right abi *wink). Do keep it, and publish it,in your next book. cheerio k. God bless ya.

Linda, your story is inspiring. Love your determination! Enjoy your trip
ify says so

Linda, your story is inspiring. Love your determination! Enjoy your trip
ify says so

Tetrina said...

Wow!!!....Stories like this keep me moving on even though I have no help at all. Well done super woman!

Inspiring!

Linda am in tears already. I mean what's the essence of existence if not this? Your story just removed the lil fears I do have and am not giving up...you are an inspiration and may God bless you

jyde said...

Inspiring...

Aww. I love you Linda. This write-up brought me tears. I wish I'd known you back then. May God increase you even more than this. You're truly an inspiration. I pray God brings the right man your way and wonderful kids to make this a happy ending. Thumbs up girl!

Inspirational... Do i still need to read your book?

Wow, I am so inspired by this. I must make it big o and I am determined o.

Indeed ur life is a message!

Linda you have inspired me, you fell and got up again and again

Chobby said...

God bless you Linda. This is a true story of SUCCESS. Not just your struggles and how much you've made or how much you are worth, but how many lives you've been able to impact with the resources you have. Many more success stories will surely spring up from this.
I have a job but at the security time I'm a budding entrepreneur. One day I will also share my story. Will love to collaborate with you too.
Love to everyone who stood by you, especially your sis Sandra.
And to those who could but wouldn't help, I pray God will keep them alive and healthy to see the TABLE HE HAS SET BEFORE YOU. LOL....

Jeffortran said...

Good bless you Linda, Success is an iceberg, thats what most people see, what people dont see are the struggles, persistence, dedication, hard work, failures, sacrifice, disappointments that leads to the success. What a story, i pray i have a better story to tell..Keep up with the good work!

Amazing, may God continue to bless you as you bless others. This is truly inspirational for those of us hustling and grinding and never considering old men (young men) with money to elevate us. With God, and a can do attitude the sky is the limit. This has always been a goal of mine too, women must elevate each other, until we learn we are not each others enemies but a force to be reckoned with. By God's grace, I will be able to touch as many lives as possible too.

Good job, Linda

Ezzy said...

Really inspiring

Please include young men on your I'll rather be selfmade project.

Love you

Teeboyer said...

Motivation. God Bless You..

Afrospiral said...

You are truly an inspiration Linda

But miss Linda, what if these young entrepreneurs are struggling students who managed to go abroad and lost everything, just like you almost did do they not stand a chance to at least gain something from this greatness you have set-up? because i for one know that aristoism isn't only trending in Nigeria it's out here too. please guys don't come for my head i fear your comments.

that yarobouy said...

Never judge a man/woman till you know where he is coming from....#RespectLinda...

Lillygal said...

Wow!!!! Linda you've really made my day great... giving up is never an option, now I know I haven't even started, I hope to be telling my own story in the nearest future..

Nice one dear, am really inspired. Just 1 thing I like about you, you are really very humble, you don't have too much gragra and show off. God bless your handi work, looking forward to see you in person

IWP said...

Nice one linda...there r opportunities everywhere lucky you n now u r enjoying from your brain work....www.iwonpopular.com

Me I actually don't know what to type oooo bit I just av to cos u are a blessing to this generation.

Speechless! wow I see myself in you. The struggle is real but I would rather give the glory to God for everything. You see, your story is very inspirational but you should know something Linda: even though you're intelligent, strong woman and so compassionate towards your fellow young women, it's not by your might, it's God's power. Do you know how many girls tried as much as you did, how many did more than you did but still never made it like you did? NAGODE. Please Linda, learn to give God the glory above everything and everyone else even above yourself. He's the one in control, He gives seed to the sower. We're not here to celebrate Mammon the god of money, we give glory to God Almighty. You are not self-made, God made you and everything you own, He can take it away anytime. I appreciate you and your works, I'm not undermining but everytime I read about your personal experiences and opinions, I feel like you give less place to God in your success's story. BE CAREFUL with those illuminati people, they recruit people like you to inspire young people out there but it's obvious that they don't want to hear God in all those success's stories. Never let GOD OUT OF IT. Jesus is Lord, He is coming soon! When you partner with God in everything you do, you are more than self-made, you are made for life and you are the real winner.Peace and love! Congratulations for your parents new titles!

One of the few stories I have read on your blog from beginning to the end. I actually got goosebumps all through. You are a very inspiring woman. Am also an entrepreneur and I understand your struggles being a female entrepreneur in Kenya. It is equally as challenging to make it as a woman and I share a lot of your sentiments.
Keep being a inspiration Linda.

Linda I sent a proposal to u for herlp . no word. I hope that email is your direct email oh so someone else doesn't read the proposal hence the tendency to steal someones idea. Why im glued to u miss Linda Ikeji is because your story is very relatable. Men are so bad, u take an idea to them they are ready to offer the money to u but on a condition. And when u refuse they flaunt the money in front of you till you weep. God bless u for always sharing and encouraging. Because with this im so confident that theres nothing wrong with me after all but the world is just filled with bad men. Have fun on your trip... Love!

anslo said...

Very inspiring. I think some of us give up too easy. We look at successful people and envy them but do not find the courage to persevere and keep on that path that leads to success. Feeling inspired.

Thank you for encouraging...

I woke up and realised i havnt got my holiday job and my dreams are still on hold.. Den i came online and read this, my God its not just me who is having it bad. Every woman dat wants to succeed at sm point had a realy rough patch.. I kno mine wnt last i will work for my break through. Tanks linda for sharing this

Catherine said...

May God continue to increase U Linda.

What a motivational story. Thank you Linda. God bless you

Am so inspired by your words dis morning God bless your handi work, looking forward for an opportunity to meet you in person

Wow, thank you so much Linda for this. You just lifted my spirit. I ensured I read every word. With this I know I have to keep pushing. Been on it since 2004 till date and it seems nothing can come our of my life. I even decided to work till am able to save enough. The highest paid job I got is 25k for a graduate. But with this message from you I have to keep pressing and refuse to give up. Thank you Linda, I love you and God bless you

It takes you to be you. God bless and continues to bless you.

Beautiful story! I ddnt like the, now I had shoes worth more than 190k' part sha but inspiring true story. I'm mostly happy that you brought sunshine to your family. Tenacity, consistency!

Abigail Onyin C.C said...

Though Lenghty But I enjoyed Reading This.. Ive A Dream That Very Soon Linda ll publish me n My Story too.. ll be an Inspiration to soooooo Many People all over the world

YAWNS. ur bragging on a daily basis takes the essence out if any message u may be trying to forcefully pass across. I hate u more more on a daily basis even tho u are even llike a mate.

WOW! God bless you Linda,your best is yet to come....

This is so touching. I'm inspired. keep it Linda

Debora chidume said...

Thank you Linda for been a source of inspiration to women. Read to the end,so inspiring

Hmmmm...really short of words with this touching story. Journey to success in life is sooooo long and could be so rough. At the end, there comes light at the end of tunnel. I am really challenged and highly motivated. I've been following this blog since 2008/2009 while I was in Damaturu Yobe State. I knew it would be like this one day. Congratulations aunty. I'll be sharing my own success story to the whole world soon. God bless you and more great success.

Berry said...

Wow Linda. What an experience in few years of your life. God knows why he let's hardworking people pass through struggles....Sure u have the experience now to handle any wealth achieved. Keep up the Good work!

Berry said...

Wow Linda. What an experience in few years of your life. God knows why he let's hardworking people pass through struggles....Sure u have the experience now to handle any wealth achieved. Keep up the Good work!

Linda i cant say how much inspiration i got from this write up i go on your to get info and so on. but i had never put in a comment. i wish to really commend you for having the mind to even offering to help other young ladies. i am an aspiring entrepreneur who is almost at the verge of giving because of the too many challenges. But i read this piece am more than alive again to stay true to my dream. I wish other can also reach out like this the world will be a better place. Godbless

Awwwwww I just had to comment, God bless U Linda.....

Very inspiring writeup, a reminder to stay strong especially when all odds seems to be against one's dream. Thanks

Karyn Nnaji said...

I cried reading your story, I thought my life was over until I came across this article, I am 23 and I am still struggling to find my feet, I feed on depression, I am tired of struggling, I went for an interview yesterday and the man started coming unto me asking me to visit him in an hotel, I went back home with tears and thought to my self that if I just slit my wrist all these will be over, I am tired of living, I cried myself to sleep, I woke up this morning and happened on your story, Linda you gave me life, I will not give up, I will not compromise my standard for monetary gains. God bless you abundantly.

http://charlonicben.blogspot.com/ said...

An awesome true story from an awesome person. Keep it up Linda. Never see yourself as been there already,that is the only way you can keep been the best and at the top. From: Chukwuemeka Charles

And the tears could no longer wait. #wipesatear @officiallindaikeji my love for you just trippled. You are a great inspiration. This surely is going to my blog someday

www.trendwithgloria.com

inspiring story, well done, NEVER GIVE UP.

Oh my!!! i so had to read this story, i have always known the 9-5 was not for me, but the courage to quit and start my own business has always eluded me. But i am ready to throw caution to the wind and take that leap of faith. Thanks for sharing. Yes, I'll rather be self-made!!!

Seriously Linda you brag too much! You can help people without throwing it to their /our faces. Abi na you be first to suffer and first to make millions? Enough abeg!

yabsy said...

Truly inspiring Linda.I cried when I tried to picture how u were detained over a sum of 190k. I bless God for your determination never to quit. It is my prayer that God blesses you with a good hearted man , one filled with the Holy Spirit that will be ur lover, true friend and forever better half IJN.

You deserve a hood hearted man. Please promise to send me a wedding invite. Also, thank u for reaching out to other young girls and for creating wealth and employment. If only other successful people and firms can take a cue from u.

You are indeed a blessing to this generation. May u live a life time of happiness IJN

southeastransparency.blogspot.com

«Oldest ‹Older   1201 – 1400 of 1957   Newer› Newest»