Before I became the popular blogger that I am today, I was a struggling entrepreneur. I started my modeling career in 1998 before I turned 18 and started my company Blackdove Communications in 2004 when I was just 23+. Blackdove was a modeling agency/events company and I operated from a 2-room office in Jibowu, Yaba for almost three years.
In 2006, I decided to try something that I'd always wanted to do - become a magazine publisher. My dream growing up was to be a journalist. These days many people argue whether I am a journalist or not. I don't consider myself one. I'm a blogger, though being a journalist was my dream. In fact, I wanted to study Mass Communications in the university but I unfortunately didn't get it. I got English instead. But I've always had a love for writing, putting stuff together, informing people about what's going on etc.
In in 2006, I mustered the courage and saved enough money to publish my own magazine. It was called FM&B (Fashion, Modeling and Beauty) magazine because that was my industry at the time.
Anyway, I printed my second edition (right) and didn't recoup either. The vendors will take the magazine and not pay you. Some would claim they didn't sell...some, you would chase for your money for so long you'd get tired of chasing them and then you leave them alone. And it was especially hard to get adverts for a new magazine. I would go to companies and sit in their offices for hours, hoping they would buy advertising space in the magazine, but for where? Lol. I remember I offered a telecoms company my back page and inner pages for N100k but they were not interested ...lol. (now, na them they chase me with adverts...lol).
But I managed to get a few companies to advertise (I talked about it here in 2008 and later in 2009) - it took months of being on the road - going from one company to the other, convincing them to support the effort - still it wasn't enough to print the next edition so I had to once again use my own money to print the magazine. It was tough but I didn't want to give up. I wanted to succeed by all means and I knew consistency was the key. I figured by the time I was on my fifth edition, some companies would take me seriously and start to advertise and by the time I was on my 10th edition, I would be a well known magazine publisher like my mentor back then, Mrs Betty Irabor of Genevieve magazine. So 10 editions of the magazine was my goal - but I didn't go past the 4th edition - though I paid part payment for the 5th edition but it never came out.
You see, right from when I was young, sleeping with men for money/come up was never an option for me. In fact, I found girls who engaged in such back then, disgusting. Now that I am more mature, I kinda understand it, I don't condone it but I understand it and I am not so quick to judge these girls. That's why I'm trying to help girls with dreams instead of condemning girls who find different ways to survive. It's tough out there, guys!
Anyway, for my 4th edition, I didn't have enough money to print it...and I was so sad about it. The magazine was ready but no money to print. It was going to cost me N500k back in 2008 to print 2,000 copies and all I had with me was N150k. I needed N350k and I was determined to print this magazine. I wanted it to succeed by all means so I decided to do something I'd never done before. I went to the bank to get a loan.
There was a neighbor of mine back then who I found out was the chairman of a community bank on Ogunlana Drive Surulere (all community banks have since shut down). So I approached him for a loan ...N350k, the exact extra amount I needed to print the magazine. I promised that I would pay back once the magazine was published and I was able to get ad money out. This was in 2008. After weeks of going back and forth and the bank staff coming to my office in Surulere then to see where I was operating from, I was given a loan of N350k. They actually made out the cheque to the printing press so the money didn't come directly to me. It was a short loan - just three months - and I was supposed to pay back with interest and I was so sure that I would pay back - I had three months and I was a hard working girl, I believed I could do it. But you see, sometimes, life does what life is supposed to do - it happens! With no questions...life just happens.
For some weird reason, I was only able to pay back N100k after the three months deadline. By now I was owing close to N400k including interest. I asked them for more time, and they gave me time ..and I managed to pay another N150k or so after a few months. After then, I became stuck.
My business wasn't going well...and for months I was struggling. The guys from the bank came to my office and told me I had a month to pay up or they would have to do what they usually do get their debtors to pay, that the reason they hadn't done it up until then was because of my neighbour relationship with their chairman. I promised I was going to pay and a week or so later, I was able to pay another N30k.
And then very early one Monday morning, sometime in 2009, my younger sister, who used to work with me at Blackdove, Sandra, quietly entered my room and told me that some men were looking for me, that they were at the door and that she'd seen them talking with the bank chairman. She said she suspected that they were police men.
If I tried to describe to you how I felt at that moment, I wouldn't be able. I stopped breathing for at least 3 seconds. I told her not to let my parents or any other member of our family know the men were outside (Only she knew about the loan and actually went with me to get it). I found something to wear and went to meet the men outside. To be honest, I was hoping they were from the bank and not police men but when they introduced themselves to me (three of them) I froze. They said they were men from the Special Fraud Unit, Ikoyi, and they had been sent to bring me to their office to answer for a loan I took from a community bank and refused to pay back. I was going to ride in their marked anti-fraud unit car - sandwiched between two men.
I didn't want my parents to know what was going on (it would have killed my mum) so I quickly went back in, put on more appropriate clothes, told Sandra to follow their car in my car so she would go with me to their office. I remember sitting in that vehicle as they took me to their office in Ikoyi, and wondering how I got to that point. It was like a nightmare. I couldn't believe it was happening. I got to their office and they made me sit down in front an officer who was handling the case. (Sandra was allowed in but she was sitting in another area.).
The officer brought out my case file, and said I was owing the bank N190k for almost a year and I wasn't going to leave their custody until the money was made available. You know, I've had bad days in my life...I mean, who hasn't? But up until that point, I'd never felt worse in my life. Nothing I'd ever experienced up until that day, sitting in front of this man, and beside other offenders/debtors, was anything close to this. Nothing! Even now, I can't even express how I felt that day, what was going through my mind. I felt like a failure. I remember my eyes welled up, because I knew I didn't have N190k and I didn't know anyone who could loan me. I started to explain to the officer, then I began to beg...and I talked and talked and then I began to cry. I couldn't believe the situation I was in. I knew it would break my parents hearts if they found out where I was.
I remember Sandra just sitting there and looking at me...and trying to be strong. She was broken to see me so broken but she kept it together. She started calling people, asking for a loan, I heard her from where I was sitting, calling friends and asking if they could loan her money. No luck. We were there for hours, eventually the officer came to me and said they'd decided to be lenient, that they would give me a month to pay the N190k back to the bank and failure to do so would be automatic arrest and I would not be released until the money was paid. They gave me a form to sign but said I needed a surety and without a surety I would not be released that day. I called a friend who came and signed for me. The officers told him they were releasing me to him and would also pick him up if I failed to pay up. Fortunately he agreed and that was how I was released. I was there from morning till evening and those hours were some of the worst hours of my life. Thankfully, other members of my family didn't immediately know this happened to me. (They found out months later).
But fortunately I recovered quickly. I knew there was no time to mourn. I had just one month to raise N190k or myself and my surety would be picked up and locked up.
Today, I have shoes that cost more than N190k, but back then, that was a lot of money to me...and I didn't have it. So for the next two weeks, I put myself on the road. I started chasing all the agencies owing me money. I ran up, down, to a hole, up a ladder and every where in between and finally raised the money which I paid back to the bank. It was an ordeal but it was finally over!
Months later, I raised some more money to print my 5th edition (above). The content was finished but once again, I didn't have enough money to print it. I had only N200k and I needed N500k. I wasn't ready to give up on this dream. No way! But of course I wasn't going to go to a bank again..lesson learned there...lol. So instead I turned to the printers. I told them I had only N200k and would pay them the balance of N300k when the magazine was out. One printer agreed, took my money and half way into the job told me he couldn't go further without any more money. He basically held me to ransom. I pleaded and threatened for months and they wouldn't budge, wouldn't print without more money and one day I was like, 'you know what?' I give up! I'm done!' I told them to keep the money and the magazine, that I was done. I was just tired of it all. And that was the end of that dream.
Then I decided to face another business idea. I wanted to start a fashion, modeling and beauty school. This time I went to real banks (not community banks..lol). None, not even one looked at my business proposal. I was hoping to get N1million to start this business, but no bank was even willing to talk to me. After months of chasing this idea, looking for money etc, I also gave up on it and moved to the next thing!
A few months later, I shut down my office (after my landlady increased my rent - I could not afford to pay it). I gave out some of my office equipment, sold some and packed the rest of my things and went home. I was going to continue operating my business from home.
This was in 2010. I turned 30 that year and I remember having the worst day of my life - so far - on my 30th birthday. I'd lost my office, I'd given up on my magazine dream. My other businesses weren't doing well. I'd been hustling since I was 17 and I thought that by now I would have made it, but here I was at 30, losing it all (or so I thought) and starting all over again.
But you see, in all of it, no matter how bad a day I had, no matter how tough it was, no matter the other dreams I gave up on, there was something I never stopped doing, I never stopped blogging. I would cry, wipe my tears, pick up my laptop and blog. If I didn't have internet at home, I would go to a cybercafe, pay for time and blog there. This work/passion ultimately changed my life.
Sometime in 2012, when I'd started making money from blogging, a young lady talked to me about her struggles. She needed just N85k to start a nail and eye lash studio. She had someone who was willing to give her space to operate from, but she needed money for other equipment needed for the business. She told me that N85k would change her life and that of her family. She wasn't even asking me for the money, she was just talking about her struggles and how hard it's been for her to raise capital. She mentioned she'd approached a bank for a loan and no bank was willing to give her. She said she didn't know how else she'd get the money but sugar daddy wasn't an option. I remember smiling and I made the decision right there and then to give her the money for her business.
I remembered my life as a struggling entrepreneur, getting picked up by the Anti-Fraud Unit over N190k. I remembered how much help I needed and how little I got. How nobody could really help because they had their own issues and struggles. I remembered my dark days. I remembered all the people I begged to help me, to believe in me, to believe in my dreams. I remembered all the doors that were shut in my face. All the office receptions I sat in for hours. All the Nos I heard. All those who turned their backs. And how sometimes, I just wanted to give up. And I knew there were plenty girls like me out there, with ambition, with dreams, with fire burning in their soul...but who can't get far because they have no one to help, not just with money but also with words. And I made up my mind that day, that whenever I get to a position where I could help other young ladies with dreams and aspirations, I would help. Because I've been through it myself, I know how difficult it is to start or run a business in this country. That's why I want to focus on young ladies with dreams and good business ideas.
So far, I've touched 15 lives (see here)...I hope in my lifetime, that I am able to touch thousands more. God willing. This is the project I've decided to take up. For as long as I remember my over 8-hour ordeal at the Special Fraud unit in Ikoyi, I will always be here to help a female entrepreneur - if not with money, then with advice and guidance.
I struggled o. I used to do an annual fashion show called Style Night. I did it from 2004 to 2010. (see some pics here, and here here). I also tried to do a reality show called Nigeria's top model search with Linda Ikeji...no sponsor. I give up...lol. Catwalk with Linda TV show..no sponsor, I give up! Lol
I was still working on my dreams when companies started asking me for advert rates for my blog. I created my ad rate in early 2011 and my life hasn't been the same since. I left everything else and concentrated on this. Sandra is now the CEO of Blackdove...:-)
Sandra and I pictured above (She worked with me at Blackdove from 2004 when I started until 2011 when she took over the company. She was my rock for years! I doubt I love anyone more. She's older than my other sister you all know, Laura. )
Anyway, I plan to do all I can to help as many young women as I can. I'm using my money for now but I would eventually talk to rich people and corporate bodies to get involved and raise as much as it's possible as start-up capital for young female entrepreneurs. Too many unemployed individuals in this country. Let's start creating jobs instead of always looking for one. Plus I don't want anti-fraud people coming to knock on your door...lol.. or you turning to men. I hope all your dreams come true...and I hope no matter how tough it gets, you never give up.
I will catch you guys later. For now, let me take this new Chief and his Lolo to America to spoil them a little. Lol. Kisses. Catch you soon!
1,957 comments:
«Oldest ‹Older 601 – 800 of 1957 Newer› Newest»Wow I learnt a lot frm dz
*lib's namesake*
Ohhh my God, I thought my own was the worst but you gave me the strength to get up again, I hope my dreams will come to pass like yours. You are My mentor. NNENE
Linda oh,in the 4th FMandM Mag,you talked about anal sex and wrote Ever tried it?Why you should or shouldn't.I am sure that edition didn't sell because of the holier than thou attitude of Nigerians.Women are demanding it these days but will not talk about it in public or even with their partners.Congrats for finally overcoming all obstacles in live LINDA.
Wow! Well done girl!!! Stay blessed and keep inspiring others, you're a true gem.
Hardwork really pays,it may not be immediate,but eventually.Nice piece ma'am,greater heights I pray for thee.
Am just speechless, don't even knw what to comment seriously..... But God bless u αи∂ keep enriching u with his strength αи∂ grace...
It pays to be consistent with what one does, it seriously pays to be hard-working...now ur reaping †Ñ’ξ very fruits of ur labour....
No matter †Ñ’ξ situation, we shouldn't give up....have my own ordeal..(Something I will stand up one day αи∂ testify) cos I knw am moving forward...αи∂ I won't give up either till Success comes out of my story......
No matter what, these words will always be on my lips.....(It will only get better, it must end in praise)
I said must cos its not negotiable with d devil....it must end in praise I'd say again
#it will only get better
#it must end in praise
This story made me cry.
Am just speechless, don't even knw what to comment seriously..... But God bless u αи∂ keep enriching u with his strength αи∂ grace...
It pays to be consistent with what one does, it seriously pays to be hard-working...now ur reaping †Ñ’ξ very fruits of ur labour....
No matter †Ñ’ξ situation, we shouldn't give up....have my own ordeal..(Something I will stand up one day αи∂ testify) cos I knw am moving forward...αи∂ I won't give up either till Success comes out of my story......
No matter what, these words will always be on my lips.....(It will only get better, it must end in praise)
I said must cos its not negotiable with d devil....it must end in praise I'd say again
#it will only get better
#it must end in praise
So inspiring..........resilience does pay....may u continue to move from glory to glory....ur pocket will never run dry..........now using u as a point of contact to baba God. ........bless me abundantly beyond my imagination oh Lord.my pocket will never run dry ...Amen...
Am so hardcore buh this one made me cry...keep doing what you are doing babe, almighty gat ur back..no doggy...
This story made Me cry
This your story Linda speaks to me, thank you
Linda all I can say is God bless you.
This is so touching and i pray for you that God give you more strength and wisdom to do all that your heat desires. As an entrepreneur myself i fully understand what you are talking about my sister, no be yam to run a biz in naija as a man not to talk of a lady, its a crazy world out there.
Wowww,to say this piece didn't touch me I'll be lying. Thank you Linda for not giving up years back and thank you for being a source of encouragement to us who almost lost hope. I pray someday I'll get there too with God on my side. Be a girl isn't that easy in this contemporary time that we find ourselves but like I always tell myself in the mist of these all,there's a testimony to share. Thanks once again
Haha. You suffered o. The joy is, it has shaped you to be a better person. Life na jeje. May God bless you more.
Linda may the Almighty God continue to Bless you.
Linda may the good lord bless u more for being a helper to this ladies. You have travelled that way and u knows exactly how it is. U also have a good heart. I pray that God will grant all ur heart desires Amen. Chief and look enjoy o.
Reading this just made me weep,after years of struggling I manage to get a job at d Nigeria immigration services and buhari is trying to take that job frm us.
Whao so inspiring am happy for u linda
You are simply Great! You've done very well for yourself. I am happy for you. Inspirational Journey!!!!
Awesome!…a long road to success indeed.I guess u have done d help already,d rest is history to those who will work hard,believe and achieve! May d Lord strengthen u an give u more wisdom to achieve greater heights for yourself and most of all…MANKIND!
God bless you darling
U just made me think.....GODBLESS U
Story
Inspirational! Definitely touching.
You've paid ur due Linlin, God bless u more for blessing others..this is so inspiring
So touching, you wrote this just for me and it just what I wanted, may God always be with you and make your light shine brighter every day..much love for linda.
God bless you Linda for sharing this. I read this with my fiancee this morning and we're both really touched and inspired. Keep up the good work dear.
aww. May God bless ur handwork
Touching storry oju Eni ma la ari
Very inspiring and motivating.. It's timely for me to read this.God increase you more.
Amazing. Simply amazing.
Your experience is great.
Wow.... just wow.. that's all I have to say!
"Consistency is the key" #idratherbeselfmade# thanks babe u r a true inspiration
Hmmmm, you know I have always looked at you with one kain eye but today I know you are a kind person and you do not need any validation from anyone to tell you that. God bless you. My only issue with you is how you do not have sense sometimes..it is allowed oh, we are not perfect. I want to really criticize you but not today and definitely not in this post. Thank you for creating opportunities for people. I pray that this good work will speak for you on THAT DAY.
If you like no post my comment, mshewwwwwwww
Happy that your dreams came true,happy that you can be your family's rock, happy that a girl child can be everything she wants to be without doing runs. Happy that you can make your parents happy.
nice one and i read every bit of it. enjoy because you really deserve it.
Linda God will bless u for me, u hv a heart of gold, not everyone will help others after they have passed through all this, the will rather want you to suffer more than they did, I thank God for u. I wish u will extend your kind gesture to men. I hv had a similar situation in life since 2005 I hv been struggling to make it, I struggle my way through the University coming out to face more challenges, I will never give up. Linda it is a long story. I will mail you.
Wow! well done Linda.
inspired Linda
I'll miss you! #tearskisses
Hmmmm what a story...am so happy you're giving back to the society despite what you've been thru in the same society it takes the grace of God to do this...He will always be your inspiration,guide and protector IJNA...am inspired Linda...safe trip&best of luck...
God bless you, yours words encouraged me right now at this point of my life and my present situation. You will achieve more and fulfill your destiny and desire
U are an inspiration Linda. Reading about your struggles made me realise perseverence, patience and determination is key. Though hard but always works. Thank you for sharing your story
Wow, so inspiring.
Please would like to know when the next batch of i'd rather be selfmade would commence.
Thank you.
Very nice initiative
Wow. God bless you Linda. This is inspiring!
Nice n inspiring ...they deserve it
Quite inspiring ... Really nice.. ..
You really INSPIRED ME WITH YOUR STORY... WOW!
TO THINK I MYSELF ISNT FINDING IT EASY, BUT THE MOST IIMPORTANT THING IS NEVER GIVING UP ON YOUR HUSTLE.
MY REVERENCE FOR YOU HAS JUST HIT A RECORD HIGH.
I REALLY APPRECIATE YOU. YOU DESERVE EVERY REASON TO BE MERRY FOR THE REST OF YOUR LIFE IRRESPECTIVE OF SOCIETY PRESSURES.
STAY BLESSED ALWAYS.
Inspiring
Wow! Am inspired.av always loved and admired u.kudos
Linda this is a beautiful story you have shared here... Thank you for touching the lives of Nigerians... I hope to be a job provider someday too. I am already building my dreams (and i hope to sponsor it myself from my salary). Just like you, I have come to understand the "runs" girls but i also do not condone it. I love you dear. You are a true sister
Let me do a little advert In here Linda...let me also benefit from your goodwill uno....Thanks...
I wish to introduce my humble self in respect of offering my expertise in the field of security services to you or your company.
B'tunde Paul-Aiyewunmi is my name,an Adult,Nigerian,Male,From the south west part of Nigeria,Resides in Lagos& FCT,Abuja.
Am a trained security personnel who has worked with some of the best private guard companies and VIP's in Nigeria and beyond,also a CLOSE PROTECTION OFFICER(BODYGUARD) trained in both LETHAL and NON LETHAL basis,
into V.I.P/EXECUTIVE PROTECTION by some of the best instructors in the Close Protection World such as ex metropolitan and SAS officers from United Kingdom and South Africa respectively.
I am equipped with the technical and professional competence as a Close Protection Officer,an instructor in general guard services and basic performances as a security officer,with the pre requisite,local knowledge in the art of
security services and CLOSE PROTECTION.....
Looking for or In need 4a Close Protection Officer/Personal Protection Detail(Bodyguard)...Note..not a (Bouncer)...contact me@
BB pin:2A2E4D31
Email:paulkingtunde@yahoo.co.uk..or
call +2348131243384.....thanks..TPK®*NG*
Linda,you're God sent to me this morning. God bless you!!!
wow!First time making a comment on your blog.May God bless you the more.we need more people like you
Truly inspiring and touching story. Linda u have raised my hope and I will never give up. When I the time is right by his Grace I will make refence to this comment and will share the story. I Don see wen. But there will light at the end of the tunnel.
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm 2015 September
God will bless you abundantly and give you more. That's my prayer for you Linda.
God bless you. Hardwork really pays. Your story gives me hope.
Really inspired. A young entrepreneur in a fix now. But this story just made my day. Will keep d dream alive. Thanks
Wow! Your life story is really inspirational and motivating. It is a catalyst syndrome to the upcoming achievers. Please kindly check your Gmail account for an important message from abimbolaogunleye@yahoo.com. I celebrate you dear. God bless you more.
God bless your hustle Linda… Give ur parents all you can, they deserve all… Enjoy!
God bless you. People think we just stubble upon success when they see you, if only they know. My friend and I talked about how far we have come from the days of hunger and no house to live in to now owning cars, having kids and been landlords. God has truly blessed us and he is still. Pls let us know how we can help out a real good job you are doing
Linda may GOD continue to bless u and keep u alive u really inspired me dis morning,may GOD turn my life around d way he did urs amen
God bless u more Linda
ooohhh, Linda you are such an inspiration. I pray to the Almighty who is the maker of ALL that you will never run dry, and all you have been secretly praying about will be fulfilled very soon. As you also delight your parents, your biological and adopted children will also delight you. Hugs and plenty kisses.
Whoa!dis is so inspiring I have to read it all through,ure truly a lady with a large heart and I'm not going to stop until I'm self made!i finished school too in 2008 and since den hv been trying to raise capital to start my fashion house too but to no avail d journey has not been easy like u said but I believe one day I will get dere!txs for sharing dis story and please let me know wen d 2nd edition will be coming up,txs
So touching... God has his reasons for everything
ooohhh, Linda you are such an inspiration. I pray to the Almighty who is the maker of ALL that you will never run dry, and all you have been secretly praying about will be fulfilled very soon. As you also delight your parents, your biological and adopted children will also delight you. Hugs and plenty kisses.
This is the best article I have seen in this blog and my first of commenting here for over two years I have been reading from your blog. Linda you are the SPECIAL ONE.
#Go spoil dem mehn.....u get mouth(hustle pays)
God will bless you beyond your imagination.
Linda I ve always admired u from afar, but after reading dis my admiration has gone thru d roof. If really u achieved all this wtout compromising, wtout any man, wtout using bottom power, then u r truly blessed n a model for young females. Unfortunately I remain Thomas
Wow... in short NEVER GIVE UP HOPE !!!
truly exhilarating...linda God bless you-and safe trip o
My Virgo Queen... Selfless and Strong, relentless, fighter! God bless you for embarking on such project that seeks to transform lives of young women. I see some of me in you ( my personality), and experiences too and I push knowing I would win. Am September too.20th. Well... I pray for you more grace and more blessings to continue, you inspire me Aunty Linda! Safe trip as u ave a lovely time with your parents *verydeserving & a hbd in advance to you. You rock!
May the Lord continue to help and strengthen you IJMN
Inspiring: u struggled for more than 15years and then finally u made it. Rome definately wasent built in a day. But the mentality of youths of now is so immediate. God bless and uplift us in our struggles..
Wow.Am inspired......I need no other inspiration..... Despite d odds u scaled thru.I learnt from ur experience. Tanchu u Linda.....
Very well dear. Wonderful testimony and taste the money!
Pls spoil them wella na #Godwin and safe trip
This is so inspiring, it's really tough trying to follow ur passion but I have to keep the dream alive. Thanks for you words of inspiration. I really do admire you a lot.
God bless u 4 dis write up, all I ask 4rm God 4 u is loke loke; u will publish my story soon IJN
Very well dear. Wonderful testimony and taste the money!
Pls spoil them wella na #Godwin and safe trip
Wow! Am short of words....just Wow!!!! You truly are an inspiration...God Almighty has indeed set you aside for greatness...cos when u realise success is not about you then greatness is inevitable...i tap into your anoiting today Linda Ikeji and we will indeed meet some day on the table of greatness to compare stories.....remember Tega said so!
Wow!!
Keep going higher
Welldone Girl..Nice write up.I love to see ladies with "Die Hard" mission n goals to succeed. I remember my cousin who few days back told me he had Ram for sale. I was like "Ram" again. How many things you wan sell sef???lol..And he was like i want to be like you and our Grandmother now.."The Merchants"..
Linda Dear..U are a Great woman, a good Mentor.. May all you wish for be fulfilled by his grace. Go Linda..Go Linda..Go Linda...
U jst inspired me 2 keep fightn nd nt givn up..m.struggln 4 d future.....Tnx Linda I love uu. frm Onuoha Amarachi Judith
Quite an inspirational story...
God will continue to elevate u linda
Oh Linda! Quite an emotional piece. I'll rather be self made too!
Feel like crying right now, i aint a woman but you got me inspired too, more grace to your elbows
Linda. I love you to the moon now because of this. Well done for being of help.
Kuddos linda
OMG! this is so inspiring. please how do i recommend someone who i feel should benefit from your project
Linda, God will bless you and protect you. May all your dreams and desires be realized. May you live to see your children's children and may your generations be blessed because of your goodwill. No harm shall befall you or your family. I Could net help but cry at the sincerity of your narration. Thank you for sharing.
So inspiring...happy for u,despite all the ups and downs u still kept the dream alive...Anything for male entrepreneur like me as well??
Thank you Linda.. You great trying to make others great with words and funds.. Bless you
So inspiring!
Thank you linda
WOW!WOW!WOW! Thank u LindyLuv,am inspired,thanks for sharing,Godbless u real good.
Linda look alike.
Ur story is inspiring ..I swear ...it really soften every part of mi.
U know....I'm also a struggling person who's trying to make it in life....the part where u said u wer 30 & everything crumbled really really made mi learn sometin ...dat being said ..I kno I will make it …no mata how long it takes :-)
Determination + God = success :-)
Linda that was touching and inspirational. I shed tears at a point. I READ EVERY WORD.
Story learnt:Never ever give up on ur dreams
Wow.....quite something. All I can say is May God bless u real good dear. May u never run dry.
#TeamBlesses#
Wow so inspiring. God bless you
Wow.....quite something. All I can say is May God bless u real good dear. May u never run dry.
#TeamBlesses#
Nice one Linda. Now i knw u story and honestly... I respect u more....
God bless u linda......u're truly an inspiration to us all...av fun with ur folks
May God guide and protect all of you as you embark on your journey to the states, for your sake he will seal the land, air and sea with the blood of Jesus and may your heart desires be granted in Jesus name i pray, amen. Enjoy your trip.
Linder after reading your very constructive blurb, all I can say is that you're so sweet and sublime. I haven't met or seen you but your aura makes me want to live to be a better person. And I hope to see you physically some day. You've got the strength to change the world around us so keep up with your good work and God will continue to fortify you with wisdom.
Each time i come across ur life story i always encourage myself u are a source of inspiration to me proud of u.
Wow sooooo inspiring, am a guy who also run my business in d entertainment industry, its quite streesful but its worth it,bcos I don't ve 2 wake up by 5am,listen to bullshit(sorry) from my wicked,cruel boss, so much more, and most importantly am making twice my salary in a week, thanks 4 sharing ur story, u can't imagin how many people u r helping just by telling us all dis, may GOD continue 2 bless u,favor u,protect u.
Just what I needed this morning thanks Linda this is my first time commenting on your blog something happened to me and well I just gave up but this piece right here is the deal,very inspiring,God bless you and your parent ,Allah rahnmah always to you
If u not inspired by this write up. U need a brain surgeon.
Inspirational. Have a safe flight. And have all d fun with them.
Thanks for sharing your story, Linda. It really moved me. You deserve every bit of the success you've achieved. You are proof that hard work really does pay and I hope you continue to inspire other young ladies. God bless you.
Aunt Linda. Thats part of the price we pay to hustle. Been a photographer is not also easy. Begging for clients etc. Make baba God just make hustle pay.
Wow!! This is deep.I am really inspired by this.I pray I 'll be able to touch lives also and treat my parents to more luxuries.God bless u for this
Wow! Very inspiring!
Wow am touched
They deserve it my Dear, Spoil them oooo
Wow!
Linda, dis is wht I call frm grass to grace. May d living Lord abundantly bless u and enlarge ur coast. Thank u so much for sharing dis inspirational story of ur life so dat all ur reader's can learn and benefit from it.
We all luv u and sweet kisses 2u and everytin dat concerns u. Safe trip to and fro 2u and ur folks.
Happy Birthday in advance 2u.
Shalom!
But why are you not married yet?
Linda,
I really admire you because of your hardwork and dedication, but sometimes I feel that these your personal stories are not complete. You always manage to omit the LOVE angles - good or bad!
No story makes for an interesting read without the love angle. Remember Titanic, Pearl Harbor, Half of a yellow sun, etc.
It's difficult to believe that in all your street struggles you never thought of an easy way out, and no boyfriend supported or disappointed you - you be gay?
Wow!
Linda, dis is wht I call frm grass to grace. May d living Lord abundantly bless u and enlarge ur coast. Thank u so much for sharing dis inspirational story of ur life so dat all ur reader's can learn and benefit from it.
We all luv u and sweet kisses 2u and everytin dat concerns u. Safe trip to and fro 2u and ur folks.
Shalom!
Wow!
Shalom!
God bless you and uplift you.you are on the right path and you would always excel....This has inspired me.im an aspiring pilot and there are days I just want to pull on the reigns and stopppppp...but it's times like this I'm fueled to move on.we all have our struggles but we also have our breakthroughs.it is well!
Wow.... am inspired
Lolz tnks ma'm lovely parents you gt dere,am so inspired goin 2tru ur write up dis morning n it has serusly encourage me more not to give up anymore.I hav my own dreams/goals I wanna fulfil,smtimes I do give up on it but God has really used u to encourage me more.tnks
...Am gettin dere...
Wow!
Shalom!
Don't get me wrong. I strongly believe you're an exceptional lady, but the stories never complete. Abi other parts dey come like our home videos?
Linda,,i felt lyk crying, ,u re indeed a wonderful lady, u re great,,God will bless you dear
WOW... The struggles people go through in life... I have never had the patience of reading such long articles especially if it is not related to my new startup www.Dwiggle.Net(Dwiggle helps you find fun places to hangout wherever you are in Lagos)but reading this has given me a reason to continue.
A reason not to give up on my dreams, a reason to see a brighter future where i can take my parents overseas at anytime i want just to spoil them. Thanks Linda for sharing..... Thou not a girl BUT I WOULD RATHER BE SELF MADE....
Wow!
Shalom!
For what is officially my first comment on this blog, let me simply say that this is probably the most inspiring piece of work I have read this year. It is thought provoking, it is inspiring to the target audience, and it is a challenge to the "big men & women" out there. I have always felt that if they cannot help people with funds (and of course they can't help everyone) then they should @ least share their stories, so that young and aspiring ones can realize that it isn't always rosy and that they too can survive. I thought you said it was that long? I didn't notice.
Truly inspirational well done girl
Wow!
Shalom!
Wow!
Shalom!
Wow so inspiring Linda! God who has made you a source of blessing to your family, will also do it for others who steadfastly wait on the Lord.
God bless you for reaching out and bless Chief and Lolo!
Wow!
Shalom!
So touching nd inspiring. I can only pray d gud Lord to continually shower his blessings on u.Congrats to Mum nd Daddy, dey deserved it.
I having been waiting for this article...for the past years I have been following your blog
No dey come here dey tell us rubish Abeg, ur shoe is 190k when I sent you a personal email asking for just 18k to complete my school fees that I needed the money that I was going to miss my exams if I didn't pay! I sent you the mail about a million times no responds and I actually missed my exams cos der was no hope. But I use to eat sleep and wake on your blog deriving traffic for u now ur saying ur shoe cost 190k to hell wt it
wow. really inspiriing. the road to success is truly bumpy and the only way to scale through is peristence. thanks Linda for posting this wonderful story, i wish u greater success.
Awwww...This touched me Linda..Just like you I am hustling to have my breakthrough..I can resonate with doors shutting in your face...If we do not give up...God would surely come through for us...Thanks for sharing this part of your success story...Xoxo
N may God continue to lift you higher 4 tryin to give back to d society n I pray more grace 4 you to continue succedin no matter any obstacle on d way.I love@lindaikeji God bless you mega #hugs n rem to buy sm goodies while coming bck+safe journey 2 y'al.
Wow Linda, that's a really touching story. I'm very happy for you, and also how you're helping ladies out there- God bless!!
Wow!
Shalom!
I'm crying.
Wow!
Shalom!
LIKE SERIOUSLY, IT REALLY TAKES YOU.....GOD BLESS U LINDA FOR SHARING THIS INSPIRATIONAL STORY WITH US. THE SKY IS SURELY UR BEGINNING..... GO GIRL!!
Wow!
Shalom!
For window blinds, wallpaper and curtains please call 08160856785.
Wow!
Shalom!
Hmmm, early morning motivation. So touching.. thanks for sharing
Wow!
Shalom!
Wow!
Shalom!
Wow!
Shalom!
A beautiful piece...God bless now n always.
Very inspiring.
This is too inspiring. Just writing this alone has touched lives. Linda, i am sure you have no idea how many people are on the verge of giving up. But just reading this is enough to put a lot into perspective and push forward. God bless your hustle. Amen!!!
I don't usually comment..bt for dis..My almighty God..d creator of heaven and earth bless u wit more than u can handle...Amennn
Wow!!!!!.You have really tried.God bless you more,ur hustle is real
See how dark and beautiful your parents are. Your sister Laura no get home training. Am sorry to say. See how bleached and dirty looking she looks. Compared to you. Anyway everything and anything happens according to time and chance. Once God says it's your time. No devil can change it. But remember you will not be number 1 forever. Someone bigger and better is coming. Use your time and chance wisely by branching into something else. That's the truth.
Wow wow wow, speechless
it is well
Your story inspires me
Linda ur story really touch me u are a grate woman... God bless u
Wow!!!
NEVER GIVE UP!
Linda God bless ur hustle
Wow! This is beautiful 'n inspiring..
I read this to the end n I feel inspired. You truly are a humdinger of prodigy. As a young man, I think I went thru similar route, though perhaps yet unbroken to d point u attained. However, I'm still in d race, never wanting to give up. Kudos!!!! U jst inspired me d more, n pls keep dat flame of assistance burning. Today, U join d list of ma mentors
This is quite inspiring and may the good Lord continue to bless your endeavours. You should make this into a book for our young girls and boys to tap from.
Linda, you are the sweetest thing to ever grace our TIME. I love love and love you and your ZEAL for SUCCESS. Indeed, success come to those who NEVER GIVE UP. You deserver all the success you are getting.
Normally I don't post comments. You Are Blessed Sister!.
Thanks for sharing this.
My question for you is - while you were being taken away for 190k, you did have a car. So, why didn't you sell the car to pay up? You choose to keep the car and still hope for the bank to give you more time? There is an adage which goes thus "cut your coat according to your size."
Anyway, nice story, sorrowful life's events. It is well. You are now enjoying the fruit of your labour.
Hope you've got plans to help the young males out there who need supports to achieve their life's purposes?
My question for you is - while you were being taken away for 190k, you did have a car. So, why didn't you sell the car to pay up? You choose to keep the car and still hope for the bank to give you more time? There is an adage which goes thus "cut your coat according to your size."
Anyway, nice story, sorrowful life's events. It is well. You are now enjoying the fruit of your labour.
Hope you've got plans to help the young males out there who need supports to achieve their life's purposes?
Quite inspiring Linda... May God continue to bless all that your hand finds to do in Jesus name. May he give you a man that deserves you and may joy unspeakable never depart from you...
If Miss Ikeji is really sincere with all she's shared about her struggles and now reaching out like this, then may God continue to strengthen you for such a good cause cos it's hard almost impossible to find people like you where men are generally "rotten" morally and ONLY seek women and girls to defile with this rottenness thru every means... and the hopelessness is just horrible cos more than 98% of the female folk are " made" by these debased men which you already know
Aunty linda nice one i wana be like u if i grow up
I am inspired. God bless you! I hope to meet you someday and share my own story too. I pray that the Almighty God will continue to enlarge your coast and make your prosperity last for posterity. You are a blessing to our generation. Stay lifted!
#1st time Commenting
All I can say is I LOVE U LINDA
Linda can't wait to see u marry
Linda, u too much God bless u wells. You deserve all d good things of life. Regards to Chief,Lolo n Sandra.
This woman inspires me..I can also make it..I can
Tnk you Linda,this was really encouraging. I woke up to your story this morning. And it reminded me never to give up on my dreams. God bless you.
This is so inspiring. Thank you for this Linda.
For once, I feel I love you. May God's grace see you through. Shine on!
Linda, I salute your business accume. This story has inspired me the more not to give up and I pray the young ladies you help understand what hustle u saved them from. God bless and strengthen you.......niyinugar says so!
Congrats to your parents. spoil them well oooo
Thanks Linda,GOD Bless and increase you continually IN JESUS NAME.AMEN.
Real life story, am really inspired and I hope to help people someday
Linda you na too mucher, really. More greas to you elbow on this nice project of helping young ladies get self made. Luv ya
Oh linda! Am moved to tears* God bless u
aunty Linda you made me cry this morning. really touching and inspiring. God will see us ladies through. Linda I want to get to know you more if not for anything just for advice. you are a great motivator, God will see you through. Amen.