President Jonathan signs N4.425tn 2015 budget | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 19 May 2015

President Jonathan signs N4.425tn 2015 budget

According to a report by Punch, President Jonathan has signed the 2015 Appropriation Bill into law. It was revealed that Jonathan decided to sign the budget into law a couple of weeks ago.

The Senate had passed the 2015 budget on April 28, following the passage of the same bill by the House of Representatives on April 23, with an expenditure budget of N4.493tn, up from the N4.425tn proposed by the Executive.

Nigerians were concerned to know if the budget will be signed before the May 29th handover date, now we know it's been done.
However, a Presidency source informed Punch, that the President signed the budget about two weeks ago immediately after the document passed by the National Assembly was transmitted to him.
The source, however, said he did not know why the President chose to sign the document without making it public.

When contacted, the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Dr. Reuben Abati, also confirmed that Jonathan had signed the budget.

The Senate, in passing the budget, slightly reduced the N2.607,601, 000,300 proposed by the Executive to N2.607,132,491,708 as recurrent expenditure and simultaneously scaled down the capital expenditure from N642,848,999,699 estimated in the proposal to N556,995,465,449.

The Chairman, Joint Senate Committee on Appropriation and Finance, Mohammed Maccido, explained that the details of the figure approved by the Senate in the document were not different from the version passed by the House of Representatives.

He added that the budget would be driven by $53 oil benchmark, an exchange rate of N190 to one US dollar; 2.2782m per barrel crude oil production per day; and a deficit gross domestic product of -1.12 per cent.

The budget also put fiscal deficit at N1.075tn; N953bn for debt service; N375.6bn as statutory transfers.

Education takes the lion’s share of the budget with N392.3bn; followed by the military which gets N338.7bn while police commands and formations will receive N303.8bn.

In the same vein, N237bn was voted for the health sector; N153bn for the Ministry of Interior while N25.1bn was budgeted for the Ministry of Works.
Source: Punch.

45 comments:

NOTED.

Gdmoni Linda nd Libers...Do av a blessed day

who dem help? using sector to lie, hian.

Good for him

PARENTAL ADVISORY!!!

Less down 2weeks to go #wecan'twait

Wakili Abdulmuluku Musa said...

hmmm sharimg the national cake

stancheph said...

maggie said...

All these?? Linda take note

Golda Awosika said...

All dz paper money that we Nigerians neva get to see. It is well
#*Karlishah*

It's well wt Nigeria

This goodluck Jonathan is up to something.... I don't trust him with all this at all...time shall tell

all these monies mentioned?!

Jona hmmmm,takin hz tym 2 mk thz ryt.

Damilola said...

Pls can I have 10m from the budget?

So basically; we're giving America oil for free. Smh what a daft bill.

...NA ZO

Unchained said...

Ok. Waiting for press release from APC.

charles said...

that's the president in action

God is watching

Ha so nigeria has a lot of money like this! Yet my country people go dey cry for money every now and then. Choi

Whatever!
I can't wait for May 29

Dr. Who said...

Trillion, trillion evrywhr, all na for dem pockets.

Finally

All that money, yet nothing to show for it. God is watching us all. Linda take note!

This bastard signed budget at the middle of the year and kept it secret because the cash is not available. Bastard POS man!

S.M.K said...

Budget in trillions...later billions is missing...debt in billions...same ol story...#LibAddict

Human Being said...

N25.1bn was budgeted for the Ministry of Works.

HMMMM . So we should expect few roads and no bridge to be built

Human Being No Be God

Okay heard

WaTCH OUT FOR PART TWO FROM ALL DES MINiSTRIES...TOMJRRRYSWIT

Dave Mide said...

Good man my ass! Why couldnt he just wait for the next admin to do that?

The same animals slashing developmental projects and hicking their outrageous salaries and allowances. Animal farm we call a country

Whoever that is advising
Mr PEJ to be making all
this drastic decisions shud stop!....

Jona u only started working during your exit, whatever happened to 6years, and u had to drag some innocents down with u cos why, u are pained. Still won't change d fact that u have been stigmatised as d grandfather of corruption in Nigeria.

andre kelvin said...

Weytin dis 1 dey do?

He is signing it now just some days to his handing over. God help us.

the money is not yet available they are just planing on money nigeria is planning to make for the said period

Taking time to make things right....hmmmmmm,km..post a free classified advert

I don't get this man sometimes, the hastiness in hiring and firing and signing and redeployment are too much, yes I know we have to keep the country running but seriously that budget can wait. Why rush it

Redcandy said...

All I see in those figures is thievery and corruption. But hey what do I know? Jonah says corruption is not stealing. Still tying to understand him though.

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Linda, please why don't you just tell the horridly ignorant lot on your blog to please stop!!!!
Or you could add the meaning of the word "Budget" to your post to aid them in commenting and so their thoughts could touch base with sanity!!!!
The idiocy of many of them stinks!!!!!

I hear

Honestly their idiocy I'd beyond conceptualization let alone comprehension! Whenever I read through the comments here I lose the tiniest bit of hope I have in our young generation! Linda need not define budget for them to understand. I have since come to realize and indeed believe that Nigerians have become socially negatively wired and cynicism has built a palace in their mental space! It is sad that our youths have vehemently refused to seek knowledge! Very sad!

Statuesque said...

pls they should pay contractors their money o!