Nigerian who fled to Australia & became a successful model jailed after police lured him to London with fake photoshoot | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 19 May 2015

Nigerian who fled to Australia & became a successful model jailed after police lured him to London with fake photoshoot

30 year old Nigerian successful model Ben Fiberesima, skipped bail in the UK, fled to Australia where he lived for seven years under a false name, modeled for Calvin Klein, Tom Ford, boasted of jet set lifestyle, wrote a self-help book, called himself a millionaire, claimed he was in the Great Gatsby and bragged about being an 11-time underground rap battle champion. The fugitive was arrested after police lured him to a fake swimwear photoshoot in London. Read full story after the cut

From UK Evening Standard
A gangster who launched a successful career as a male model and musician while on the run in Australia has been snared in an extraordinary police sting.
Fugitive Ben Fiberesima, 30, appeared in campaigns by fashion designers such as Tom Ford after skipping bail while facing trial on fraud and weapons charges in London seven years ago. He also performed as a critically-acclaimed rap artist under the name Roky Million, releasing singles and videos downloaded by tens of thousands of fans.
The gang member from South Kilburn was picked as one of the first people to trial the “Google Glass” for a style magazine, and in a self-help book published last year claimed he was “worth seven figures by the age of 26”.
His jetset lifestyle - which he claimed also included hanging out with supermodels and stars of Aussie soap Home and Away - ended when Met detectives swooped last year using an elaborate sting to detain him.

Officers from Brent’s Wanted Offenders Unit received an anonymous tip-off that Fiberesima was back in London in August living under a false name but were unable to locate him.

Then detectives discovered he was on the books of a respected models agency based in Covent Garden.

An officer contacted the agency claiming to represent the fake company WOU Photography and booked Fiberesima for a casting call to model a range of luxury swimwear.
When he arrived for what he thought was his next assignment at the studio in Kentish Town, Fiberesima was arrested at the door.

Fiberesima was jailed for three years and nine months after being found guilty of two counts of theft, two counts of making false representation and possessing an offensive weapon at Harrow Crown Court earlier this month.

He also pleaded guilty to three counts of making false representation and one count of possessing a prohibited weapon.

Fiberesima was originally arrested in September 2008 after calling police claiming someone was attempting to enter his flat in Christchurch Avenue, Brondesbury, north-west London.
When officers arrived, there was no intruder but they did find a stun gun, a can of CS gas and stolen chequebooks belonging to a neighbour.

He was arrested and charged with fraud, theft and possession of an offensive weapon
The gang member from the South Kilburn estate was granted bail but failed to appear at court and was subsequently discovered to have fled the country.

Fiberesima’s Established Models biography claims: “Raised in London Roky used his talent for rhyming to be crowned UK Underground rap battle champion 11 times. He has travelled extensively modelling for international brands including Calvin Klein, Nike, Tom Ford and YSL.”

It also states that “Roky appeared in Baz Luhrman’s film, The Great Gatsby” although the Standard was unable to find his name in the film’s credits.
During his time on the run, Fiberesima published a self-help book called Roky’s Power Gain 50 – Rules To Live By To Gain Power, Money and Influence.

He said he had gone from “working class to millionaire in 15 months”, writing: “I grew up in government housing and have been for 80 per cent of my life. I am now worth seven figures at age 26. I used my in depth knowledge of power to change my fortunes.”
The last message on his Twitter feed, posted in December last year, said: “To all: Roky’s in the 5% of rappers that can genuinely be described as ‘real’ so as is life he’ll be away til further notice #management.”

In one interview for an online fashion magazine Fiberesima talks of how he started travelling the world at the age of 23 and visited countries including France, Belgium, Spain and Australia while he modelled for designers including Calvin Klein, Tom Ford and Yves Saint Laurent.
He declares : “I have had ups and downs, trials and tribulations, like everyone else” and said in his youth he mixed with gang members but had since changed his life.
He added: “ I keep it as honest as I can.”

Detective Inspector Pete Wallis of Brent CID said: “There is clear message here, that we will not forget you if you offend, and we will explore all options in tracing you and bringing you to justice.
“Mr Fiberesima used false identities to evade capture for five years and developed a very public persona in Australia and internationally as a rap artist and model.

“Thankfully he is now paying for his crimes, due to the perseverance of Brent’s Wanted Offenders Unit.”
A spokesman for Established Models said he had been on their books as Mr Million for a few months two years ago. He said : “He was not working, so we let him go. “

81 comments:

Sorry bro

APPLELIPX said...

Naija!!! Always representing
Whenever its evil, u hear them tag the nationality

Eya!
This fine boy.

Jegede OLu said...

good for him.

VISIT www.rityonyi.blogspot.com
FOR HOTTEST ROMANCE GIST***

Huh?

So Mr million it's time to pay for your crimes, course nothing is hidden under the surface of the earth may be when you come you might likely change.

Wow! Oyibo Police! No matter how long it takes, they don't give up on any case. Lol

Humphrey said...

Its a pity wasted potential, plus this are d guz that keep geting all the gals, hard working guys are still very single

Hmmmmmmm., dey should pardon him

Eeeyah. O ma se oooo

Fish brain.. U think you're smart Abii? Ngwanu lets see how u will get out of this... Isi Aki!

Princyd said...

Wasted talent .... Mtcheeeeew

He should have lay low.
Dumb Fuck.

Chai! D things greed can cause one to do. Linda take note!

oga Ben, million de follow you o. You go chop at least one million nine hundred and forty four minutes for jail. That roughly translates to 45 months or three years nine months.

Hmmmmmmm, dis their cup of tea, and personal business.

Asa said...

Brain guy,sorry its didnt last,but tried, too smart

Everyday for d thiefs one day for owner

Busted!

Awww, always try to be clean...

Damochedxb said...

Well i didnt come across it in one single part of the article where he was called a Nigerian. Anyway, shit happened to him..3 years will be over in no time and his Life go on..

Ngwanu

One day is for the thief......

Too bad for him,serves him right...

There's always a day of reckoning, no matter how far one runs.

Why was it so difficult to just lay low when you knew you were on the run...

Lol....not smart enough

Busted

@wizkidayo Fanatic said...

Omor...wait oo..dis stuff z serious...its dis kinda dude dat wud go out nd be spoiling our name...y won't they call us Black Monkies?..they'd not allow people like me to go...

Bissy said...

Pls Linda stop calling him Nigerian cuz I ready the story this evening in London Evening Standard and there was nowhere that it was stated that he's a Nigerian but a West Londoner

what a story, 7 years on

Bissy said...

Pls Linda stop calling him Nigerian cuz I read the story this evening in London Evening Standard and there was nowhere that it was stated that he's a Nigerian but a West Londoner

Yeye pikin

Lol mr million is finally behind bars Hehehe go model there,am sure ur inmates won't mind

olodo...lol.

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

My Okrika Brother, why u dey fall our hand?

He looks like a rat. Maybe he was is teenage mutant turtles movie

Chai!

stanlo boranti said...

Linda u dey fast em. Was reading this story on The tube this evening on The London evening Standard. Now now u don duplicate. Welldone o

kemikane said...

Smooth.

Unchained said...

It is hard to commit a perfect crime and go scot-free. Especially when you are black. Imagine after 7years.lol

...NA ZO

I trust Europeans and Americans. It serves him right.

They don catch her bah.... Thats the most important thing......

Everyday for the thief, one day for the owner of the house

Ifeanyi Smith said...

Nemesis!

Ifeanyi Smith said...

Nemesis!

Pls what is NIgerian about him?

Lolz, good for him

Compose ur customized sms for your events/occasions αи∂ design ur corporate website within one week. Contact me for more info

I Rep 27th May

Damilola said...

Sins will always catch up with you. Kudos to the police though for persevering

Ben so this true. I can't believe that ben was a fugitive all this while. I remember working with him at Topshop oxford street in 2005. I saw him on an "outback" commercial in the states five years back na wa!

mzmaris said...

Everyday for d thief...........

Lol he's lived a good life, now it's time to serve his time. I can't judge him tho, we all just tryna make it, long as he didn't hurt anyone.

New arrivals!! Looking for your next signature outfit? We've got you covered!

konga.com/aura-by-titi

aurabytiti.blogspot.com

Just Sayin' said...

Sorry to the people who bought his self-help book.

They would have read it and believed that their own lives stank.

Not knowing his 'motivational story' was a pack of lies.

Sazzy C said...

No sinner will go unpunished

I don't get why the headline states that he's Nigerian! It wasn't included in the article and it's things like this that discredit Nigeria! Please next time simply put the headline as it is in the article! Pretty sure he was referred to as British!

Good he was finally caught he has to serve his jail term but thank he stars he really got a career he could fall back to when he is out

nunulicious said...

blah blah blah blah.
the original crime wasn't that bad. and why do they keep referring to him as a gangstar?

This is guy is seriously dumbe!Why did he ran away?Had he stayed in England,he would have done les than half of the time he is going to do now.Stupid clown!

He wasn't called a Nigerian you just had to add your own spice in order to attract comments including mine unfortunately!!

lami said...

Good time to do the time

Fine boy?

samni said...

You just got served what you deserve bro, karma is such a slimy bitch you know. Pele

Enemies @work. God will vindicate you if u are innocent.

You obviously don't understand the British press. If this guy had done something despicable (like rape, murder etc), THEY WOULD HAVE CALLED HIM NIGERIAN. However, because he showed some sort of ingenuity in turning his life around, making money and even writing, then they prefer he is British. If this guy was white, they probably would have made a movie about him, book deals etc. You don't understand.

Dr90210 said...

I like dis Guy.....

If only he didn't skip court then! Nawah! All ds people tarnishing our image.

Chai.

I have a strong feeling if this guy was American especially 'white'. He wont be treated like this.Even the press report would not sound like this

dessymal said...

GTA San Andreas

BUSTED!!!

See Hus Nigerian eyes

Prison mustn't be the end for him. With good behaviour he might get a reduced sentence as he has already reformed his life.

Guy you captured every essence of my view.

it is always the greed that gets dem...how will he go bk to the uk after he ran away from dat same uk..hediot...greedy mofo

Dis is wht I call second chance. Wht a shame.

Got'eeem lool

prettiyz said...

Chai,he has finally destroyed everything he worked for

7 years? Eyah.......sori