Buhari is inheriting the worst economy in Nigeria's history- Osinbajo | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 20 May 2015

Buhari is inheriting the worst economy in Nigeria's history- Osinbajo

Vice President-elect, Professor Yemi Osinbajo says the incoming government will be inheriting an economy that is currently in perhaps its worst moment in Nigeria's history. Professor Osinbajo said this during the opening of a two-day policy dialogue on the implementation of the agenda for change in Abuja today May 20th.
"We are concerned that our economy is currently in perhaps its worst moment in history. Local and international debt stands at $60 billion. Our debt servicing bill for 2015 is N953.6 billion, about 21 per cent of our Budget. On account of severely dwindled resources, over two-thirds of the states in Nigeria owe salaries. Federal institutions are not in much better shape. Today, the nation borrows to fund recurrent expenditure.
The figures of extreme poverty in our society- 110 million by current estimates- makes it clear that our biggest national problem is the extreme poverty of the majority. Thus, no analysis is required to conclude that dealing with poverty and its implications is a priority. In the course of the election campaign, we ran an issues-based campaign that identified certain areas of public policy as high priorities for propelling Nigeria forward. We addressed the challenges of the economy, insecurity, corruption and jobs creation. We spoke on the challenge of providing opportunities for self-actualization to millions of our young people who face an uncertain future with understandable anxiety. We also addressed the challenge of providing for the most vulnerable segments of our population by equipping them with the tools to emerge from the crippling limitations of poverty to achieve dignified and productive citizenship. This is also against the backdrop of a highly unequal society in which, by some reckoning, the largest chunk of the benefits of our national wealth accrues to a small percentage of our population. Our manifesto offered a vision of shared prosperity and socio-economic inclusion for all Nigerians, that leaves no one behind in the pursuit of a prosperous and fulfilling life. Our goal this morning is to interrogate these positions and propositions before a wider audience and to launch a robust public conversation on policy directions and priorities that will help inform our administration’s approach in the next four years. This forum exemplifies the sort of consultative and consensual approach to policy-making that our party and the new administration intend to model in office.”he said

140 comments:

Not true. Lindaobserve

Stop making excuses already...you haven't even started the job

This baboon u no go rest?

Osinbajo or Obasanjo

He's kinda right cos of the debts nd BH ish.

WORD!!!!!
Some divine invocation from the Deity to recover all the LOOTS which we gon do One thief at a time.

You talking about osibanjo, yet you put that gorilla's face picture?

kiki said...

With God's help,there will be an improvement in the economic.

Shebi una be change?
Oya come wave ur magic wand

You need to change the picture that's Obasanjo...lol

Segun said...

pls change the picture

It wasn't GEJ's fault, though he allowed an enabling ground for impunity, decay and corruption, the people around him are responsible for this decay! Unfortunately he will be remembered for what he allowed happened under his government and not what he actually did.

Linda what is Obasajo's photo doing in the place of OsinbaJo

True talk

It has been like dat right from tym. Dat shouldn't be an excuse for not bringing d change we voted for. We don not need excuse. Give us change, debt or no debt we want to see change

AS IF ABACHA LEFT A GUD ECONOMY...TOMJERRYSWIT

Linda, get yourself together. The picture is Obasanjo and not Osibanjo.

Unchained said...

How does the story related to Obasanjo's picture?

OSIBANJO IS A LIER!!! TINUBU/BUHARI MOUTH PIECE/ YES MEMBER
=============================
THIS OLD TRICK OF SWEEPING ALL THE MONEY LEFT BY THE PREVIOUS GOVERNMENT AND SHARING IT WITH BUHARI/APC/OSIBANJ SSUPPORTERS....AND DECIEVING NIGERIANGS THAT THEY ARE OWING. THIS IS A BIG TECHNICAL LIE.

WHY NOT TELL YOUR FOOLISH COUNTRY MEN THE TRUTH. TELL THEM THE $60B YOU MENTIONED IS WHAT APC-BUHARI-TINUBU INTENDS TO STEAL BY BORROWING ON BEHALF OF NIGERIAN GOVERNMENT. YOU ARE CREATING A CONDUCIVE ATMOSPHERE IN THE MINDS OF PEOPLE SO THAT THE WILL NOT COMPLAIN WHEN YOU ALREADY HAVE STOLEN IN AREARS. THE SUM OF $60B AND THE COST OF DEBT SERVICING WILL BE GRADUALLY SHARED AMONG YOU APC PEOPLE.. WHILE NIGERIANS WILL BE SUFFERING.

I beg to disagree wit him. For crying out loud he sounds as if they r inheriting d govt frm a millitary regime.

Making excuses. If you don't know what to do in government, just pack your bible and get back to church for tithe collection

Shut the hell up short man and fix it. We don't care to know anymore about how the economy has deteriorated. We just need it fixed and that's the reason why your black asses were elected in the first place. That being said, Ms Linda Ikeji, why is OBJs pic up there instead of the vice president,or I'm I getting crazy?......@Bia Bia🐒🐒🐒

Laying the foundation for excuses abi!!!?. A good leader sees such challenges as an opportunity to shine not cry foul. If it is that bad then make it right that is why you were voted in. By the way do not forget your campaign promises in the process

Okay heard

Osibanjo shut d hell up,who sabi you sef? You don get mouth abi? By d time that aboki is thru with you and your yoruba clan,una go sabi whatsup..

Lord knws this man is saying the truth.....

Dickson okeke said...

hehehe wrong pics its not obasanjo but osinbajo

Pidgin Mistress said...

osinbajo or obasanjo? becos its objs picture i see there but the heading says osinbajo...hmmm

So why do we have a photo of Obasanjo instead of Osinbajo in this post?

WIZKID's Adviser said...

Who Demsave??

So why do we have a photo of Obasanjo instead of Osinbajo in this post?

Larry Chivalon said...

Linda please place the right picture on this story.
Its Osibanjo the VP elect and not obasanjo
cheers

Yes I agree with you sir.At a business meeting yesterday,my colleagues and I were left dumbfounded at the deficit figures we compiled.

Our advise to everyone is to hold on to as much cash as they can.The incoming administration is in for a tough fight.The DR Jonathan led government has left NOTHING in the kitty nor outside,Yet,NOI says Nigeria is not broke.

Nigerians,NIGERIA IS BROKE!!!!!

GOD help us.

Koko said...

U ppl are just fishing for excuses. Shei una get the magic change wand. Start to wave am o cos we so ready to attack u mofos if u slip up.

Story for d gods....d gods o

Yet some people still want GEJ to continue, the level of corruption and impunity in this government is outrageous,may God help GMB/PYO and guide them to liberate Nigerians from shackle of corruption and poverty.

God please heal our Land. Linda take note!

Emmanuel Fan said...

No excuse my friend.Cunning people

Kudos to President Jonathan! He set a record as the leader of the most corrupt government Nigeria has ever seen. And to think some people actually wanted him to win a second term! Nigeria would have just faded off the map of the world. Thank God for His mercies. He heard the cry of well meaning Nigerians.

no said...

Dear Lindodo, please change the picture oh, it doesnt match the topic ma.

Excuses! Excuses!. It's that why it is called the biggest economy in Africam sshhm!!!. Osibanjo listen the answer forward is not far fetched. Cut down the cost of governance and explore other means of revenue generation than oil. Use the money generated to impliment grassroot projects and let the administrators of the project (eg state and local governments) be honest men with intergrity. shikena!!.

linda but the picture is obasanjo .....n not prof osinbajo

Stop complaining pls. U said u have the magic wand so rectify it, afterall u are.a Prof and ur oga a general. We need light, continuous gd roads, stable prc for our staple foods, flow of pms, ago, jet a fuel etc. Una never know anything. He!he!he!.

AGB said...

Jonathan is the worst thing that has ever happened to Nigeria, let's be honest. The man ran this country down into flames.

God Bless Nigeria. Amen.

And still yet they would come here and be asking for forgivnes after they Ave put us in jeopardy.

7F098C19 said...

U started the worst history as u tag it. 1975 when u were transfers millions of naira aboaand. Edi Amin of Uganda flew ur money plain down, and u later change the naira note. The demons and legions are now pretending to be saints and angels. God is still speaking. Engr Emy

But why is Obasanjo's picture on the headline?

And why is Obasanjo being credited with this great paragraph?

You guys are taking over a country that has been completely messed up by stealing is not corruption.

The outgoing administration has ruin our great nation.... May God help us to recover from this great loss.

Well this has nothing to do with obasanjo tho

Emmanuel Fan said...

Hian! Ndi ofenmanu ozo? Obasanjo has dealt with us, it is now Osibanjo.God pass una.

whats wrong with this picture?

this is obasanjos pics and noy osinbajo .

Jonathan put us in this current mess. Dumb president.

Thank God it all began from u... I hope you're not pointing finger at Jona Becos your the main criminal..

Adeyemi said...

Hello Linda, am seeing a picture of Chief Obasanjo rather than that of Prof Oshibanjo. Please make amend.

Joshtech said...

Why obasanjo pic ?

BB said...

So why do u have OBJ's pic here?

Ferida said...

Did u say Osibanjo? What is Obasanjo's pix doing there. Confused.com

Linda, which one is Obasanjo's own in this matter?or are you confusing the two?

Sweet Stuff said...

Linda so obasanjo is now osibanjo? ??
Chai dumb

So what is Obasanjo's pic doing there? Linda take note!

Adeyanju Best said...

LINDA DATS NOT OSINBAJO PICTURE NW..... DATS OBJ

Amazon said...

Did you just realize that after the campaigns? Didn't you present yourself as the messiah to saved Nigeria? No excuses...that's what failures do. You promised change, we need change!

Linda! Haba. U said Osinbajo and u are showing us Obasanjo. Shebi u don dey smoke abi

too many excuses

Excuses!Excuses!Excuses!Excuses!Excuses!Excuses!Excuses!Excuses!Excuses! Excuses!Excuses!Excuses!Excuses!Excuses!

Very sad

Different excuses...

This is how it starts. You guys are already giving the excuse ahead why Buhari's government will fail. we refuse. So called CHANGE you must bring.

Prof, you better sit down and work. Enough of this excuses. That's why we elected you.

Ehhh, but Baba you knew all these before you contested now. are you telling us anything new? NO, YOU ARE NOT!!! Just bring change like you promised. We don't want excuses o. One Naira to One dollar. I am sure you people thought goevrning Nigeria is beans and bread. Now that Jonathan has given you people power, you are already seeing the realities ahead and subtly giving excuses. We refuse. Change you must bring.

Why do i have a feeling that these continuous talk about the nations economy is just a soft landing to make excuses in case Buhari's govt fails?

@#PresidentJonathan#BringBackOurMoney$$$$$$$

I don't need a babalawo to know. Very obvious

Hmmm he is right. May God continue to strengthen Buhari and Prof Yemi Osinbajo, to lead Nigeria in jesus name Amen.

Linda name Baba be VP now?

andre kelvin said...

Sigh*

You see why I get disgusted at the way apc members talk? Osibanjo was quick to tell us that the country is in debt but failed to tell us the reason why the funds were borrowed and if those projects were actually carried out. This whining ought to have ended with your campaigns. It's time to work! You told us all these when u were campaigning and even promised to perform miracle. Nigerians don't need this now pls.

GEJ scattered our economy like kpanti ewa (beans shaft). May God help Buhari and his team if they truly mean well.
I wonder where those who think GEJ is a Hero come from.

ataboh@edebor said...

waitd a long tym for such a speech dat will mak me smile#tukquitsomtym

GEJ has spoilt this country for us.

So what's d picture of baba iyabo doing in d post

Lucasbalo said...

Corruption over so many administrations have bastardized Nigeria's economy. May God help the incoming administration. Corruption must be tackled with the might of the federal government. If Nigeria doesn't kill corruption, corruption will kill Nigeria.

Please what is happening Linda. What is Obasanjo picture doing here. Its supposed to be Oshibajo picture not Obasanjos.

Please make ammend & revert.

Lindway the picture you used is Obj own not Osibanjo- Take note

Story for the gods...the economy was in no better shape when GEAJ became president...so why have u and ur party painted him black????which past president inherited a perfect economy? Nigeria has been in working progress ever since..so STFU and give d people ALL u promised...Simple

lami said...

It Is good they ve identified this, atleast they know the seriousnes of the task ahead.

Grammar. But he is right. The economy is shit right now

After reading this someone would come and say that Jonathan is a good man. Just smh see the debt piling and that man has the guts to let 20billion dollars miss. God is watching you Jona he really is watching you. If 20billion dollars is paid out of 60billion 40 is something one can cope with. Sir Presido elect make sure u get that missing 20billion from Jona and his cohorts. and use the cash to service debt. Foolish Otuoke man.

Unchained said...

Lol. Linda, beht why? I had read this post and it was obasanjo that i saw there now u have changed it to osinbanjo throwing my previous comment off point. Better look for that comment and dont post it before ur kids(my brothers and sisters here) will chop off my head.

O preach it Prof.

Better days ahead said...

Royal priesthood, u have never been in support of this govt change. Ur response does not matter pls

Chyke said...

You won't feed pupils in primary schools again?

Fix it, thats what leaders do, stop whining

Pls shut up

Tinunus puppet please shut up!

Who know you? Buhari doesnt even know your first name-

You sidelined puppet sent by Tinubu who you help?

Jay said...

Baboon? You are a mannerless goat! Let's see your own picture an. It's only asses you display in your profile picture, I bet you look like a dog. Show your picture let's all have a good laugh. You may not like Osibanjo but he has accomplished more in his life than you will ever do. Learn to respect those not just older than you but also more successful,

Your father is the criminal

What is this thing saying self?

Ride on sire

I thought d hate campaign has stopped. Now is time to roll up our sleeves and work. Looking backwards is not change. Negative reminiscences will not get d job done. Just pray u don't fall out with ur boss. Remember Paul Diya? He was also a lawyer. Text Fortune to 33020.

APC slogans are CHANGING already. As if you didn't know the state of the economy all this while you've all been blabbing. My humble advice: Better beg Jonathan to continue.

Some Igbos are Animal sha.... They do not deserve to be part of Nigeria!!! SMH

In research, U av to first of all "state the problem". FCOL, It's a policy dialogue n the obvious needs to be stated. Since the outgoing govt has been lieing to us. Nigerians should jx chill, cos Osinbajo hasn't outrightly said they won't deliver on their promises. Let's stop making inference.

Do u guys have brain at all?es trying to make u understand wats on ground,and es not saying dey are not goin to work es just letting us knw where dey will be starting thir work and why they are starting it there.

Why are you replying the uncultured lowlife? Such a nobody.

Geeday Dina said...

How can one even call a leader a gorilla. God help Nigerians, trust me.

Then let them seceed. Let them go their way to form the nation they want.Biafra. Why is it so difficult? Or even better grant them a referendum to decide.

Geeday Dina said...

As if u are not black. They are not saying that they will not fix it, just implying that things are rili bad and poverty has eaten deep into d people of Nigerians. Truth be told PDP has left a debt and bad economy APC will make Nigeria great again. You guyz shd relax and take a chill pill.

Geeday Dina said...

Is not about tribe, is about Nigeria a better place. That's all am sure u r going tru a lot in buying fuel or is only affecting certain tribe. Pls open up ur minds and dont be blind about tribal nonsense.

But they told us they knew all these things before promising change. Why is Osinbajo fishing for excuses even before they start? Shebi una want government? You don get am, go do the job! Somebody must to do am, do do am...see him face.

No wonder they were desperate to win so as to keep this information away from Nigerians. Now they've been made accountable ...ara na agbazi ndi ara!
...Mama J...

Fool wat do u knw abt leadership.modafucker do u tink is abt commenting on LIB.ram

Mumu wat do know.go do ur research b4 u comment lik d bitch u re

Mumu wat do knw.do u tink leadership abt bleachin ur skin?abino

Foolish comment from a foolish person 4rm a foolish tribe livin a foolish life.whore

Shut up u yoruba snitch.talkin shit

Na ur father dumb.ewu

To hell to all of una !!!! Thief all corner

the man is indirectly telling the nation that he is not capable of doing it better than what is on ground. he has accepted failure before he started the journey. farewell

when obj left d govt, our debts had bn cancelled & we did not have a deficit. His admin was also responsible for the largest fdi influx into this country (even jpmorgan & google moved in). He privatized useless govt companies which reduced govt cost. Eleme petrochemical is a shining example of dt. He kiled d leader of boko hara & destroyed their riots in maiduuri. He left money ino our excess crude account. All GEJ did was award contracts. No end result. Bad leader, comands no respect, illiterate phd older. Msscheww.

Anon. Your hatred for the igbos will only end up killing you. You still don't know that no matter what you say or do against the igbos it's never going to stop their shine. Who God has blessed no man can curse.

abujakenneth said...

How did my pastor know. He is not an economist, he is a professional colleague. He has not engaged the services of auditors to audit Nigeria. How come this conclusion

miss endowed said...

Goods will if u like attack everyone who says anything bad it doesn't change d fact that this present administration has done more harm Dan good!!she bleached her skin what did u do to urs?? Ugliest male specie on earth with ur head like circumference

miss endowed said...

Pls go back and play that piano in jabi lounge cos dats d only thing u know how to do!!triangle face fool

miss endowed said...

Goat keep talking!! Menses like u

The trut is bitter. Osinbajo just said the bitter truth and people are reacting negatively. Why is it paining you? and why are you getting unecessarily worked up because you heard the bitter truth? Jonathan was too weak to confront corruption. The people around him were those eating money and he could not talk to them. Let them try to eat money in the in-coming government and see what will happen to them. They keep saying Nigeria is bad meanwhile they are the cause. Corrupt fools

My conclusion:- All those attacking Osinbajo are all corrupt. It is only corrupt people that don't like to hear the truth. I weep for Nigeria

na lie

Is dis supposed 2 be an excuse 4 non performance. When u were runing ur mouth during campaigns u didn't kn Naija was in her worst state.

My friend go up dere & fix it!!!!! Datz all we want!!!!

cant argue with that

do your best and leave the rest