Lagosians watch & take pics as abandoned baby dies by roadside | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 3 February 2015

Lagosians watch & take pics as abandoned baby dies by roadside

A new born baby, wrapped in a black sack and covered with a plaster on the mouth, died after being abandoned by the roadside in the Abule Egba area of Lagos by his mother, who's suspected to be mentally unstable.

According to Punch, the baby was dumped in the area on Wednesday, January 28 and when people in the area saw the baby instead of helping the baby, they left him there for six hours until the baby died. Continue for the story
 From Punch

Speaking with Punch, a trader, Mrs. Atanda Kuforiji, said they were taken aback by the sight of the abandoned baby. She added that a resident of the area drew the attention of other residents to the presence of the baby dumped by the roadside.
She explained that everybody went to the scene to see why the resident was shouting, only to be confronted by the sight of the new baby.
She said, “The baby was wrapped in a sack and placed by the roadside. I saw a crowd gather and decided to have a look; the child was still alive.
“People took pictures of the baby. His mouth was covered with a plaster to prevent him crying out. Everybody was saying what came into their heads, but nobody offered to help the baby.”
It was learnt that many of the dwellers in the area were too scared to pick the baby from where he was dumped.
A driver, Mr. Lasisi Gafar, said since the incident, nobody had seen the unstable woman in the area.
He said, “There used to be a female lunatic around the street who was pregnant, but since the child had been dumped I have not seen any trace of her. We suspect that she was the one that dumped the baby here, but nobody could find her to question her.”
It was gathered that the baby later died after struggling to live for over six hours.
A trader, who identified herself simply as Iya Monsura, said, “The child was alive as of 11am, but when government officials came around 5pm, he was dead. They took the dead body away.”
It was learnt that no efforts was made to report the case of dumped baby to the police. Some of the residents said such attempt could put them in trouble as the police might treat them as suspects.
Wow! Source: Punch

126 comments:

Omg... heartless mother.

This is what has become of us! Taking pictures instead of helping a baby! I hope they're all happy now?

Lagosians.

@Sophia Stephen

dorliipyyy said...

Terrible Nigerians doing the wrong thing at the wrong time...

dorliipyyy said...

Terrible Nigerians doing the wrong thing at the wrong time...

Jesus christ!!! Things are happening.....what kinda mother will dispose her own baby.....not every woman is meant to be a mother.....some woman are crying day and night...one church to another looking for a child and this one just killed hers....God forbid

•••••••QUEENMAYA••••••••

Dis is wickedness of d highest order. Why standing & staring wen dey know dey can't help. Mcheeeeeeeeew! Linda take note!

y r people just plain stupid..kai...quite unfortunate

Chai;dis life is somehw.here I am praying n crying 4 d fruit of d womb n anoda woman is throwing her's away n upon all,pple left d baby 2 die by d rdside.God were r u.sobbing badly

This is bad. They couldn't even remove the plaster from his mouth

Sad, they should have atleast taken the baby to any Motherless home.

Mehn
This is bad now

The baby must have suffered so much for breath before he died. kia. wat a pity.

ASAMPOKOTO said...

When we don't have proper authorities to check people's mental state and have them committed. This baby could have been given to an orphanage. I sympathize with the mother if she was truly mentally unstable.

Ogechi@ afakos@yahoo.com said...

Help would have been much better instead of pictures.

Mr nice guy said...

She is mentally ill. Cant u read?

How are they sure the baby belong to the said mad woman? Eve the sack bag looks new to me .or is it the mad woman that bought the new sack bag to put the baby inside. why didn't they inform police ? All those people that saw that baby dying didn't do well .sad

am actually feeling so down now pple cud be so heartless, to think the baby lived for 6 hrs and pple kept taking pictures and couldn't save the child is so hrtbrking

Riketoke said...

my God is just too patient ! what a wicked world, thunder shuld av just strike them as they were all lookin and takin pix. rpi to the baby. as the mum is mentally unstable im shorts of words.

Lagosians when shall thou change... These kind lunatic nawa o she is extremely wicked, cos I know of some that don't joke with their kids.

Riketoke said...

my God is just too patient ! what a wicked world, thunder shuld av just strike them as they were all lookin and takin pix. rpi to the baby. as the mum is mentally unstable im shorts of words.

oiza said...

sometimes i wpnder y some people r so stupid and y thier hearts r made up of stones!

Bystander Effect!! God please elevate Nigerians mentality, and help them to do the right thing when necessary...

We are our own worst enemy, Why are we so heartless? it's just a baby for crying out loud and so harmless, they couldn't even help the poor baby, God forgive our foolish ways.

This is so bad.......chi

Na waoo

Gosh! May God help us,heartless pipu taking pic instead of helping d innocent child

It's time the public is educated and enlightened on issues as such. When someone is confronted with a situation that is between life and death and you know by reporting to the police on time could help in averting the worst, you just have no reason not to do what is right, regardless of the stress you may have to go through in the hands of the so called police. Saving a precious soul can never be equated to whatever injustice that may be done to you by the police. and for the unlooker satanic photograohers in this instance, I would consider you murderers as well as the mother of the child. May the soul of this little angel rest in peace.

Na wa o

Too bad...God is too patience

A mentally unstable mum, my question is, are all those passer by and on lookers also mentally unstable??? Watever happened 2 calling the authorities?? Lord help Us..poor child

This is the fault of nigerian police. Whereby they put fear into inividuals. The people would have taken the baby to the authorities but cos of fear f the unknown

Maya u didn't hear the woman is mentally unstable? Anyway, I'm not shocked you'd make such a dumb statement.

Zoë said...

I always say Nigerian mentality is always the problem. Heartless mothers. So they don't have clinics in that area? May the spirit of that baby disturb them in that area cox I believe it was their noise that killed that little child. RIP

Amisa said...

it sad that these days instead of helping others we prefer to bring out our phones and take pictures so we can be the first to post on social media. that baby had a very good chance of surviving.

Sazzy C said...

It's only a matter of time and ur children will surround ur table. God has heard ur cry.

Omalicha said...

Over 6 hours? The baby must have starved to death. I would have helped
¥
¥
¥
¥
¥
¥
¥
¥
¥
¥
¥
¥
Pls visit my blog, new blogger
¥
¥ #HashTagLady

God 1st---> this is exactly one of the harm and disadvantage technology has brought to Nigeria and the world in general...I have no right at all to judge this mother of this child, too bad....R.I.P little one!
Next news please!!

Lagosian are heartless, only good at condemning others, buh one iota of kindness can never be found in that state ....& they want change

God 1st---> this is exactly one of the harm and disadvantage technology has brought to Nigeria and the world in general...I have no right at all to judge this mother of this child, too bad....R.I.P little one!
Next news please!!

Lagosian are heartless, only good at condemning others, buh one iota of kindness can never be found in that state ....& they want change

Oskirin said...

kai......ds is act of wickedness.all of una way snap picture n pass by ds baby whn he was still alive, God will surely ask una.y are we so wicked in ds part of d world? too bad....

I'm sorry, but do u knw what happens in this country when u do a good deed like 'help an abandoned baby'? they will say, sorry you can't leave her here, u have to pay hospital bill, it's u that brought her...all of a sudden, it's ur problem. I don't blame them. Our government has no function.

Sad!!

Sad!!

Even the pple taking the pictures are mentally ill.

And God saw that the wickedness of man has become too much and that all his imagination of his heart is evil.
This is the wickedness of the highest order in fact it is witchcraft. If they tell that women will watch innocent baby died while taking it pictures in Lagos nobody will believed.
Has police ever arrested anyone in Nigeria for reporting case of abandoned child.
If you have been arrested for that you can come out and let people know.
For this wickedness perpetrated by this people
God will surely required the blood of that child from their hands
I think Lagos state should move into action now and get the whole people in that environment arrested before they bring the wrath of God upon the whole land

oh wow. I see this thing in movies, just did not know it can be real, you can actually dump a baby!!!!!!!!!!?

Every one that took pictures of the innocent baby without rendering any help to save him
Shall taste Gods wrath .
Wicked and backward people .
If you are afraid of going to the police.you cannot call those free line provided by Lagos state government
The people around that place should all be arrested

Guy U realize your quest to get noticed is getting on everyone's nerves. Pressed lil mofo. Quit being so thirsty. People can we just ignore this idiot? I refuse to state his handle

Sad but true. We are a heartless people

And what is the government doing about the matter. How many people has been arrested
Those people must not go unpublished

Lagosians r smart @ doing d wrong thing @ d wrong tym. Saving d baby's life would v bn far better dan d useless pixs dey were taking. So sad

corisande said...

So touched
Innocent baby
What are we turning to,Nigerians!
I don't care attitude is killing.
Snapping and updating social medias without helping immediately.
If one of those bystanders had helped this baby, Oh lord! *teary eyes*

Linda pls pursue this case until the people that did this are all arrested and prosecute
This wickedness. Must stop
Anyone that use the picture of the baby on any social media is a suspect and such must be arrested

BumBum said...

Insanity in d name of digital culture, wolves clicking n flashing at the dying infant till life slips out after 6 whole hrs. I wonder what this world has turned to, we stand aside n watch while evil prevails. May d almighty grant him/her more rest and respect in the afterlife.

Who would want to help wen d person will end up putting himself in trouble....9ja my country no be am at all in a case lik dis. I dnt blame d crowd at all

dami said...

Took pictures and watched him for good six hours till he died! May the Lord rest his soul

oh my God,and here am l looking for a child for the past ten years,this world has gone soo bad,baby l am sorry for ill mother,l am sure she will not do that to you if the world has also not damage her brain,may you find peace in God bossom,and come back prepare for a better parent

Mentally ill and she could cover her baby's mouth with plaster. Can't you think?

Aww...*tears*

SWAAG said...

Now this is my country Nigeria for you...even the mumu telling the story was also there, looking like they care ... we need to be orientated in this country.
am confused.

God will judge every single soul that stood en watched dis innocent soul die!!!! including the wicked mother!!!!
this just broke my hrt Linda.

missvee

torish_K said...

Am sure sm lagos girls will take a selfie wit d baby showin 2 upload it on twitter... Lyk... "Chillin wiv an abandoned bae" hmmm!!! Ekosians!!! Una do dis 1 sha

joy said...

my his soul rest in peace

Dis is bad

ignorance will kill nigerians. they saw the child and instead of helping that child, they prefer to snap pics and send to linda ikeji. God will not forgive you people.

Chidinma Grace said...

Nawa for dis world o.

Ewu ooo chai. Too bad.. Wat can now wen so called mother is mentally derange. Poor baby.

The world has gone mad I know I would do something to help d baby if I saw him alive

I Prophecy into your life,if only you can say a loudest Amen,before the end of first quarter u shall hear Goodnews

Instead of looking,de cud av picked up d baby to d nearest police station or hospital.
Too bad.

I don't even know what to say am in short of words 'smh' rest in peace little one #onelovefromsnow#

THAT WAS HOW THEY WHERE TAKING PICTURES AND RECORDING THE LYNCHING OF THE ALUU 4 # NIGERIAS CHANGE UR INDIVIDUAL SELF 1ST B4 U ASK OF CHANGE

Wow!
So we stil hav tins like dis happening in Lagos...

It is really heart breaking.

Lili pls post my comment now. Don't tink I just stared following ur blog. I have been wit u since four yrs now.

One cnt blame the residents for actin irrational though...tins do happen around here...so everyone walks aroung with a rope of fear tied to dia necks...but den wasn't dia a bold person round d area?...but God knws best..Long live to all dem orphans out dia..God will see you through.

Dia is pure wickedness. Judgement day is coming ooo. People shld desist from evil. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

African foodstuff and Raw Materials said...

Which is too bad

Yusuph said...

God will punish them

Am not surprised dat dey took pictures instead of rushing d baby to safty..in d era of gadgets and fones...and upspring of social network..pple prefer to update dia status just to impress dia friends..dan to lend a helping hand.....so sad!

This is very disturbing news,

Famous Amos said...

Haba. Instead of looking, someone shd ve provided food for the baby pending when authorities come, even if they were scared. Remove the plaster n provide food, the poor baby wouldn't have died. So sad

Imagine the level of illiteracy and ignorance in our society. The baby's life could have be saved if not level of mentality. So sad.

Awww dear God....

Awww dear God

FUCK ALL OF YOU THAT WHERE THERE AND DID NOTHING...

lami said...

Its sad, that is the kind of world we live in these days. People will pay more attentionto taking pictures and uploading on social media than doing the needful to save a life , crazy world..

Too bad!
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

Is every where,not just Lagosians

Chigo said...

What a wicked world. God will surely judge us all accordingly.

Chigo said...

What a wicked world. God will surely judge us all accordingly.

What a world we live in gosh, why not take the baby to a motherless home!!!

Amen!!!

May everybody who could have helped and stood there to take pictures instead experience pain, deep sense of regret without trace,not find help in times of need because of this baby's death. I can't believe residents watched this baby for 6hrs. 6hr!. Every woman there is/was just as mentally unstable just like the baby's mum (allegedly). I m pained

Who u help

Heartless mother

No one eva said she was mentally ill...SUSPECTED was d word. + d crowd I think has committed more of a crime dan d moda hu dumped d baby. sin of ommission

heartwrenching

May God punish those people that took pictures instead of helping thus poor baby. I'm soo sad right now. Rest in peace little angel. This world was too cruel for you

sky said...

May God grant the baby eternal rest, amen

SWILL MARTIN said...

Hmmmn doe pple try ooo,dere is God in everythng de r doing.cn u imagine they stood by and wtch d child die.

There is no good Samaritan in Nigeria anymore. Nobody has d courage to help d poor baby. It is very sad.

So sad..Everybody turning into a reporter of some sort and neglecting the needful!!

Neneh said...

Linda please remove this picture as its quiet upsetting. Thanks.

sometimes i wish all our smart phones would crash so that we can all come to our senses.The devices that should make us get help easily is being misused by morons who would rather take pictures than help an innocent baby! haba!!

Amen,none shall be barren in the land!

LAGOSIANS ARE BASTARDS...

luvlyn said...

Lord jesus u're a merciful father,lord plz have mercy on us....

I feel u area! Who Dem Help...idiot!

I feel u Area! Who Dem Help

What is happening to naija??To help now is wahala.

What will I not do to find a baby by the roadside and here are mothers and father's watching a baby die without doing anything. How heartless and wicked can people be?

what kind of country is dis, u will see someone dieing, instead of gladly helping, u prefer snapping picz, y not help, then remeba to send the picz to Linda's blog as a testimony, na wa oooo, just too sad

May God help us

Sick people

Wicked people

If they (onlookers) are afraid of the police, they should have at least unsealed his mouth and called the right authorities, instead of just taking pictures. They are senceless indeed

the same people who left the baby to die are preaching and praying on sundays in church, I hope everyone who walked past and did not pick the child up and give it water to drink meets their end the same way, you are the devil

NO the mother is not heartless, psychotic maybe or deranged, it is the people who did nothing who are heartless

Your bundle of joy is on the way, never lose faith my dear

Your bundle of joy is on the way dear, please never stop praying. It's well.

OMG!