'If elected, I will ban importation of rice and tomatoes' - Buhari | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 3 February 2015

'If elected, I will ban importation of rice and tomatoes' - Buhari

The presidential candidate of the APC, Gen Muhammadu Buhari says he will  ban the importation of commodities such as rice and tomatoes that can be produced in Nigeria if elected. Buhari said this while speaking to members of the organized private sector in Lagos yesterday February 2nd
"How can Nigeria be importing virtually everything? How can we be importing even tomatoes? If I am elected, basic items like rice and tomatoes, which we have the capacity to produce, will be banned from being imported" he said

199 comments:

Buhari all day every day

Yes please do it just like d Ghanaians use mostly all their products in their country, everything will be proudly 9JA!

How sure is he that he will be elected.. All these promises.. Hmm

Yes please do it just like d Ghanaians use mostly all their products in their country, everything will be proudly 9JA!

Akudo Nnaji said...

How can we grow as a nation if we dont embrace what we have#change

First to comment. :)

Hez given a sound manifesto there.. lets patiently wait on God. It is well. 2tim 2:1-3. @Bishop_Dammy

Two thumbs up for that, we have it in abundance.

Abeg spare my basmatti rice oooo...cant afford not to eat basmatti sativa

dimma said...

Ok nah

That's going to be a bad market Pdp and stomach infrastructure their project. Sai Baba, Sai buhari! My president to be come February 14.

Stories! Stories!! Stories!!!
Stories 4d god's...

Sweet talks dat end when sworn into power.

Egbe onu!

Ok,we have heard u.

That's going to be a bad market Pdp and their stomach infrastructure project. Sai Baba, Sai buhari! My president to be come February 14.

If that is if oh you become president, i see you banning virtually everything banable. as for the matter of banning rice and canned tomato, your yoruba supporters'll be in trouble cos they always have one thing or the other to celebrate and thank God for. Double wahala!!!!!!

Take several seats aboki..... What do u know????

Bokohari i hail oooo. Notin do u shaa. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Importers no go vote am.
E don cast.

We import evrytin ,including refined crude ,our under a spell?

First to comment. :)

See why Dangote will fund Jona's campaign? They r all scared to death of u! General, u don't need to mention things like this now. Wait till u r already elected. I hope to God u win, cos this country needs u badly!

omenah said...

We sit dwn dey look

We hear u sir, I even wish u stop ur brodas of killing pple n those trading on dollars

Way to go! Baba.
Sai Buhari.

Abdul Mk said...

go go go GMB... jst saying

that's good ,maybe that's when rice will be cheap

Guess that would bring more job opportunities

ayomide said...

Good idea...

AQO said...

Hmmm.

Akuko!!
No be today we start to dey hear am

Even locust Beans n Coconut too

this guy abi man should just shut up abeg.

Shea na rice and tomato be our major problem for this country abi??

Story for the gods, talk is cheap

Hmmm mr Buhari, importation of rice yes, but importation of tomatoes I no gree except if na daura, that's his home town den dey import d tomatoes go sell for them. I go gree.

Better
Bt i doubt it sha

Nigeria needs buhari,We need a stubborn person to rule nigeria! i don't care if he's going to be using military style to rule...We need to try new hands mhen! Good bye ebele.

Ban rice with our population and rice a staple food. BUHARI OH! YOU HAVE TO INCREASE PRODUCTION BEFORE BANNING RICE PLS

If the whole of Nigeria can live on locally produced rice, then why the hell not?!

As for tomatoes being banned I say YES! Companies that import tinned tomatoes should go to Jos,buy arable land in Hectares and produce tomatoes on them. They don't even have to be tinned.They can be put in satchets. The unemployment rate is alarming bikonu.

As an Agronomist If Buhari says this... I won't vote for him. You can't just ban importation of rice. Nigeria will hv serious food issues. Even though I am all for increased production with our population, we need imports to support our food demand

Zeme said...

1st carry yourself to the presidential debate before you talk about bn elected

So mk we dy chop abakaliki rica abi? U no go win be dt

And he will also stabilize oil price, provide 24/7 electricity and feed all children in public school daily.
He ll also provide pocket money for all graduates looking for jobs.
Then he ll crush bokoharam and corruption and open a branch of heaven in Nigeria.

He ll ban the importation of Rice, Tomatoes, beans and groundnut oil.
He ll ban Orijin, Facebook, Twitter and even blogs sef.
Fresh nonsense like this!
Politicians?? Na the same people! We've seen and heard about them over the years.

Life in Japan through Helz' lens. said...

Mi wey come like gh rice nko? Or Afghan rice nko?

Your child dey study abroad and u wan band importation.. Lolz.

Till den Mr buhari.

Very good thought.

i SUPPORT D BANNED OF MOST THNGS..tomjerryswit

Dont worry your old self. Akinwunmi Adesina is already doing wonders with rice and agriculture generally.

I used to buy garri 500 per paint bucket now i buy it 300-350

Ijebu garri is now 250

Rice was 13k now it is 7-9k

Thank you granny. You may now take volumn 10 for sleep and rest your bone.

Abeg bros , if u enter no ban importation of spirits, whiskeys and brandy o... i no sabi drink ogogoro.

We hear...

Sir thats why you need to come & debate issues like this, my question now is Did you ban rice & tomato when you were there before?

What...!!!!! me like imported rice jare ooo. U go ban okirika too...????

That would be a very very good move.
Once the ban on importation of fruit juice was put in place, we can all see the impact - juice factories sprang up, jobs were created and value added to the nation's GDP.

This will give the local rice farmers and miller's a chance to succeed. Sane way the ban on Textile imports allowed our Textile industry to survive.
Good move.

I thought obasanjo has banned rice b4

Abeg make we hear word.

GEJ TILL NIGERIA WINS WORLD CUP.

@SOPHIA STEPHEN

I think all that this man want to come and do are already in place.

Why not support GEJ and lets move the country forward. One must not be a president before and elder like you will assist your own very country.

I am beginning to see that you are very selfish. Allow the younger ones and advice.

Dis man self enter first b4 u start to dey make mouth...

Jonathan is already achievin dt gradually,go 2 big stores like sahad n even mkt n c hw local rice is being sold,its a gradual tin whic I knw wit tym no1 will eat Thai rice anymore.n dose naija. Rice r properly processed n packaged.so Buhari u didn't score any point on ds.

All dis one an wash, mr buhari pls state how you intend doing dis. Rather than promise heaven on earth

This Buhari is not ashamed to be visiting his colleague OBG and IBB for endorsement. Buhari should be in such position where people go to him for endorsement.

Selfish old man. Who told you that IBB and OBJ will not do better than him but have simply chosen to respect themselves.

BUHARI old papa youngi.
Ashawo no dey old

We import virtually everything we uses in nigeria. How can we survive if we're sanctioned liked the Russian. We need active leader not passive one fellas. Vote wisely.

Abeg o...I don't like local rice...whether we can produce it or not, I think variety is best

i look forward toward decrease in inflation & exchange rate, security, unemployment and electricity.

oiza said...

is that all you willdo when elected? you and gudluk should continue decieving yourselves..

Skipper25 said...

Ok..Noted..

Ok my nest president.Vote for #change#! He can do it. Don't let people deceive people party, deceive u.They are coming again! Shine ur eyes well, OJB, called them hawks that surround GEJ, Its has been proven that we are not moving forward. For past 6 years now, all what they do is to recycle themselves, and continuity embezzlement of Nigerian money, people deceive people party, that is their mentality, my people the rain may fall, the sun may shine, but doesn't disturb the snail to get to its destination. No matter what people deceive people say, about GMB, u nd I'll overcome them! Nigerians! Wake-up! the time has come my people lives matter. PDP party and corruption insecurity darkness no electricity bad government must go. Dear Nigerian's pls forget tribalism especially we the youths, we need change in our country Nigeria, pls lets vote right nd make Nigeria a better place for u nd I,ur children/unborn children nd the next generation. We re tired of CORRUPTION, GREED, ND INSECURITY, etc. That has eaten so deep into our past nd present leaders, the unfair treatment to the masses especially,the rich getting richer while the poor are getting poorer. Its so sad. May God continue to be with us Amen. Vote for #change# vote Buhari and Osinbajo. For president next month 14th.

Zoë said...

Why would he ban the importation of rice or is he planning to build a rice factory? I was expecting him to say I will reduce the importation of rice and put down policies that will attract private sectors into farming, encourage farmers and potential farmers . If you ban the importation of rice, smuggling will increase and the price if rice will be inflated that the common man won't be able afford the most common food.

Oga go and debate period!

You want to become a black market? We no want black market.

Jonathan all the way joo

Hehehe!

Why would you ban their importation when our local rice is too fucked up to be eaten by humans? Please!

Fantastic...GEJ what have you banned in four years! Febuhari Sai baba o

Didi said...

Desperate times calls for desperate measures......

#after Jonah has lifted Nigeria to d status of exporting rice!!! Sai Baba! #don't build on Jonah, create ur own paths so dat dey don't end up saying dey created d platform for u to succeed! #word!

This man is a disaster waiting to happen. I can't believe he is contesting. He makes all sorts of mistakes and he is full of antiquated ideas. Look at some of his blunders
1. He said in an interview that Nigerians will suffer for five years before economy becomes stable
2. He also said he will stabilise oil prices
3. In response to a question by an insurance practitioner on the need for continuity in governance buhari said: if a man is going down a cliff will he continue that process
4. Regarding issue 3 above this basically means all policies of the current government will be jettisoned
5. The man has refused to apologise for the monumental human rights abuse of his regime.
If he wins I am on my way out of Nigeria. This man will ban social media and jail critics of his administration. Shine your eyes and stop listening to buharis spin doctors.

#already producing rice lol!

This man is a disaster waiting to happen. I can't believe he is contesting. He makes all sorts of mistakes and he is full of antiquated ideas. Look at some of his blunders
1. He said in an interview that Nigerians will suffer for five years before economy becomes stable
2. He also said he will stabilise oil prices
3. In response to a question by an insurance practitioner on the need for continuity in governance buhari said: if a man is going down a cliff will he continue that process
4. Regarding issue 3 above this basically means all policies of the current government will be jettisoned
5. The man has refused to apologise for the monumental human rights abuse of his regime.
If he wins I am on my way out of Nigeria. This man will ban social media and jail critics of his administration. Shine your eyes and stop listening to buharis spin doctors.

This man is confused o

Dave Mide said...

Nice! hes even standing. i kinda like this man

BECKYS WORLD EVENTS /NAIJA BAKERS BLOG said...

Dat one Na yawa talk, u can't ban food items once elected until we start mass production. Pls, rice go cost

perfect mood apparel said...

Later the likes of Doyin Okupe will say GMB can't speak, if you watched d session yday you'll know Nigeria has a bright future under him
#GMB15

HMmm....all dis impoters go make sure say dis man no enter aso rock sha....u neva enter u don dey threaten....na wa ooh

Yasss sir...

Lady C said...

Nd our dear president waz talking abt diversification in agriculture still yet there is still importation of tomatoes nd rice.

Nna...Please b4 you ban make sure that we are equipped enough to produce!

Why?

AZEEZ RIZQAH said...

Well, if he can actually do dz, Nig will be beta 4 it, cos Nig is more of service oriented dan production oriented nd dz is killing our economy.
Davido's GF

Yes you can ban the importation of rice, but do we have enough to cussion the effect of that ban? last December we say rice price as stable, this is ad a result of locally produced rice being available. The present administration is encouraging local production so that in the near future the need to import will be non existent.Check the facts.

Isidoro said...

is that all he has to offer? Rice and tomatoes indeed.Nigerians I am now beginning to think you all deserve this man. APC missed a trick by not nominating a younger and more intelligent person all in their quest for Buharis famed Sharia Inspired popularity.

Papa have you pre-design an alternative before implementing it? or you want to bring back what happen during the 80s? Nigeria is not north north Korea. i said it you will never change.even in america and Europe they import and inter change commodities. You are still out of touch .

General... announcing this your plan of action - jailing corrupt officials, etc - could cost you the election. Why would I vote for someone that wants to conscript me to wearing only cheap ankara, eating stony rice and suffering blighted tomatoes? Why would I vote for someone that could put my dad in jail just because like every single politician and government official out there, he did what he had to do to send me and my siblings to Yale, Havard and Johns Hopkins? Are you going to jail yourself? Are you going to jail Tinubu and the rest of your sponsors that have contributed to your campaign and to the ruin of the economy? This can only mean that your supporters' allegiance is to Jonathan. As long as they have Lagos state, they are okay. READ BETWEEN THE LINES SIR! Keep the plans to sanitise the economy to yourself. Nobody will put their hand in fire because they know it will burn!

Tell em Buhari. Tell em all.

Buhari ooooooo stop contradicting ursef ooo... u re beginin to tok too much. #okbye#

Truetalk

NO VACANCY IN ASO ROCK FOR BUHARI

A MAN OF HIS WORDS. ACTUALLY IT IS IRRITATING AND ANNOYING THAT WE IMPORT FOOD. EVEN CANADA THAT BECAUSE OF THEIR WEATHER HAS A WINDOW OF 3 MONTHS TO PLANT AND HARVEST, STILL THEY FEED THE ENTIRE COUNTRY AND EVEN EXPORT. NIGERIA HAS THE WHOLE YEAR FOR AGRICULTURE AND STILL BUY FOOR FOR THOSE WITH FEW MONTHS. IT IS CRUEL AND WICKED ON THE PART OF GOVT. BUHARI WE SUPPORT YOU.

Noted but wait until u're elected!

Active solution need an active decision n d decision shud come 4rm an active man like GMB

Roman! said...

Good intention

Oga come nd debate,aboki lik u

Let him come out on debate and expaciate more...no be to hide behind the curtains and tell us how he will ban rice and tomatoes... Buharia come out and speak the English on debate, Hausa suya man! GEJ 2015👍

Though I'll vote for him but someone should please him oral diarrhoea before he talks himself into trouble

Its easier said dan done

pls dont ban orijin o

(twitter/ig)

I pray that GMB wins d presidential election

Story, come bck 2019 to ban it, abi e far?

Ike Ani said...

Ok! We've heard you! www.ikeani.blogspot.com

Buhari is at again. Dnt mind him oo.
www.splashnaija.com

Sai buhari.....

Add to it poultry and sea foods.

WE DON HEAR.....AKA..FEB'UARI

Na lie jor,,,we go manage jonathan like dat

Nanu said...

Isn't that what GEJ is doing already? Developing our agricultural sector by equipping our farmers, and has even placed a restriction on the importation of rice? Its not just about banning, anybody can do that. At least first ensure that our farmers are able to produce enough for the Nigerian population before you starve everybody to death. Haba! its a gradual process GMB.

Y will dangote support you? But is good idea sha

We'll start eating abakaliki rice

That's a big place to start. Indigenous production

I support him.....in northern states tomatoes and rice are produced there....and importation of those products that Nigeria already have is making us dependant on foreign goods which doesn't help or improve our economy

•••••••QUEENMAYA••••••••

I hope u provide means of producing them here.No be only to ban oo

Come and debate pls

That is if you become President

STARGAZER said...

THE FACT IS ONLY FOOLS WILL LISTEN TO YOU AND THE GIBBERISH YOU ARE BRINGING OUTTA UR MOUTH, BECOS THE WISE ALREADY SEE THRU YOU AND UR GIMMICS......LOSER

IF U WANT TO TALK COME OVER WHERE UR MATES ARE TALKING.

GEJ 2019

If u are thinking of banning the importation of rice, Na inside your house you go enter o,Na Dangote rice you wan make we dey chop abi? God no go gree you!!!

BAN importation of rice? good but na for mouth? you get the technical know how? the technical know how is what the minister of Agric is doing and is not a day things

How does he plan on going about that without starving the common man? Our politicians have a lot of dreams and promises but very little plan, no road map to success. Blowing hot air every time they open their pie hole.

Victoria said...

All lies, you're a thief that's why you' ll run away. Sai Buhari!

Don't kinda o,love em..lol

GOOD POLICY IN OTHER TO BOOST INTERNAL GDP THROUGH AGRICULTURE SECTOR, BUT OUR IMPLEMENTATION STRATEGIES ARE POOR DUE TO SELFISH INTEREST

Afraid dey catch me, this man will ban soo many tins ooo if elected...linda shine ur eyes oo cus,no freedom of speech for u again.plsssss dnt ban human hair ooo...naija vote wisely.

What he is saying is archival. An advanced and upwardly mobile would say that he will produce rice and tomatoes and create a glut in out market which will force down prices and make importing these products unattractive . He has no ideas and he thinks he is still in the military

That's why you are a native doctor. You won't understand positivity

U better start packing ur luggages coz he'll surely win. Febuhari!!!!

So we will be going to the back of your house to get them, abeg say what's real

Victoria said...

Banning importation means tariff will be high on those commodities thereby forcing consumers and marketers to search for lower alternatives, in turn producers ( farmers) will witness increase in demand and produce more and better quality. That's how economy grow and develop. Sai Buhari!

It is good to ban rice and tomatoes so that we can start producing our own. This will create more jobs and reduce pressure on the dollars. I pray that you have courage to do it when you are there.

Ebsuvilla said...

Stop braging

martins ushie said...

Nice one do it to open Nigerian markets with Nigerian made goods imagine Nigeria even de inport toothpicks

Show your face and I ll bless you with instant elephantiasis.
Bonkom!

Practically speaking like an illiterate, you strategize on how to provide an alternative production on what you're banning, if not, you cause a pandemonium in the country otondo, olodo wey wan rule Nigeria. *whew*

He will ban virtually everything including oxygen

Rotfl...chaii dis is a big blow o.kudos anonymous

Dare! Dare! You are blessed beyond measures.
Nice question. I am not #TeamGEJ, neither do I support ;#GMB but these men should just stop being euphemistic every election year, spitting out promises without thinking.
Ban rice without increasing local production?
How dumb could that be??

Sincerely soaking the mind of Amadioha

That's why he didn't say "when I'm elected", he said "if".

Bet you didn't see that magic word 'IF'.
smh...

Baba, I believe you die but just reserve your comments for now. Linda take note!

all their promises are lies. wil he bring his children to cum and farm or they wil b at oversee.

Yea it will be marvelous if rice and tomato is been ban in Nigeria, sooo that we can start producing ours in large quantity, employment rate wil be high and ssoooo on, sai Buhari.............

Till then General

make sense but then you need to fund the agricultural sector big time so enough can be produced.

Before you ban rice and Tomatos, do you have enough production that will go round our population. Mr dictator. That is why God will not allow you to rule this nation again.

Lwkmdh...... truly u re a native doctor.... 100 likes to ur comment

Who can import tomato??? that sounds lie-ish.. I have never heard of international Tomato

U keep annoying me with dis. Is NEXT nt NEST. Thank me later!

Kemikal said...

Dream on, Buhari, General Oluwole. Dream on, Muhammadu Buhari. I don't blame you. I fcukin blame the fool that allowed you to 419 your way into the Nigerian Army. You been exposed, already. Own up to your sins / mistakes. Personally, I will so grammatically and dramatically deal with Muhammadu Buhari that he'd think I'd been reading Patrick Obahiagbon's dictionaries. No just try me at all at all o. Just like Jesus, I have not come to bring peace to dictators and tyrants. For his fraud and perjury, Buhari must publicly apologise to the nation.

Listen, Buhari, your days of deceiving Nigerians are over. You rotten, crooked and ugly FRAUDSTER and CRIMINAL audaciously deceived the Nigerian Army and defrauded Nigeria for so many years. With all the CRIMES you committed, you insultingly still had the temerity to stand for election. You must think Nigerians are fools. You are a disgrace to FULANI people, Nigeria, Nigerians, Northern Nigeria, Arewa Consultative Forum (AFC), Katsina and APC. Even though your fraudulent behaviour was exposed over a week ago, you still don't deem it fit or have the decency to come clean, tell the truth and apologise to the nation. You are fcukin hopeless and a total disgrace.

How are you going to be elected when the very essence of you is tainted? How are you going to be elected when you have no legs to stand on? Goodluck Jonathan had no shoes when he started out. Buhari had no legs (INTEGRITY) when he started out. Everything that Buhari is today was built on the wrong foundation: LIES, DECEPTION, FRAUD and IMPUNITY.

February 2015 election is more than issues about rice, tomatoes, gimmicks or CHANGE for bus fare and recharge card. Buhari is stuck in the dark ages. He belongs in the past. He is very patronising and very annoying. He must not be allowed back into power or he'll impede Nigeria's progress and prosperity. Buhari needs to be reminded that under democratic system of government, the President is not Kim Jong Buhari who was intoxicated with power, despotic, dictatorial and had feudal powers. Buhari still thinks he's in the military. Buhari has never changed, will never change and will never ever be allowed back into power.

When I'm elected, I will ban Buhari indefinitely from public speaking and restrain him from tendering affidavits and bogus credentials and calling himself a "General." lol

He won't!

Mumu mallam...anything the old fool says is ok by you and your blind apc colleagues who fail to see that rice importation has drastically reduced and most of the rice consumed today in Nigeria Are produced and packaged here in Nigeria, keep living in the past ok? hypocrites!

What of female trouser?

Buhari is a wickend man he can ask the tomatoes producers to poisoning the tomatoes and send to christians to eat...

No mind am. Yeye man. U will never rule Nigeria, Never. Attend presidential debate, NO. U dey for backyard dey tell ur deranged followers how u will ban tomatoes and rice. Anu mpama. Bella

Chyachebe said...

Bonario thank God for u oh! U don upgrade to Nokia lumia, the last time I checked it was 3310

I hope u won't just wake up one morning & ban rice without ensuring dat we hv sufficient supplies & hv started producing ours already, cuz u politicians can talk 4rm ur Anus wen clamoring 4 positions.

Besides I want 2 hear I would stop boko-haram, no be rice & tomatoe , datz not our problem ryt now!!

Mandymice said...

he should shut up abeg! thats wat they always preach...hain! let him fix the refineries then we know that change has come. as for me, any govt dat neglects the issue of our refineries and is focusing on other matters is not yet ready and is just same as all others! stop importation of petroelum products in nigeria!thats wat we want!!

CELEB said...

I remember before obj stoped importation of chicken, we ised to buy a cartoon at 3k, now its 11k in the east, now my question is, why is imported goods cheaper than locally produced goods.

I stil knw dt Goodluck wld do beta,com 4 debate u no gree na empty promises u go sabi tok,God wld neva allow u win to make dis our noble land an islamic country,God forbid!!!

Good vision. Nigeria needs to develop its potentials.
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

First i did not see any organized private sector in what i watched on news, all i saw was same APC Crew, El Rufai, john oyegun, fashola, amaechi,fayemi and finance commissioner in Lagos and other cabinet members of fashola administration. meanwhile president Jonathan is doing all this man (buhari )is proposing no Nigerians, unfortunately buhari and most of u are not in touch, the federal government has reduced import rate and when we are self sufficient, we will put a stop to most of the importations. Buhari should have told us how he is going to make us self sufficient before saying he will stop importation.

Beautiful question....

Mercy E said...

Buhari pls stop lying and deceiving Nigerians.....we dn't import tomatoes.

Mercy E said...

Buhari pls stop lying and deceiving Nigerians.....we dn't import tomatoes.

Nah!!! This man is missing it...... next candidate

sweet malo said...

What restriction? We r talkin abt total ban so that our agric sector can grow like india and china. Dont u know gej is restricting importation to favor his boyz as usual,its time to get serious man,better wake up bro,sai buhari!!!

Yes is true that we are importing tomatoes and virtually everything we are using and that is why we depend so much on developed nation before we could do anything in this nation, how long are we going to improve in this nation. And why are some people so dump that they can't even face the reality. As a nation of ours we need to started producing things ourself before the 30th century.

horlahnrewahju said...

At mercy how can you say an old man is lying u don't have respect, as for GMB statement, ordinary looking deep down to our general economic problem that we are facing like unemployment, inflation, lack of security,and balance of payments, we all know categorically that if GMB stop the importation of rice, meaning our local industries must have been in shape that is nigeria will experience decrease in unemployment, reduction of price off those Goods because they will be subsidize by the govt. At least by this we will be moving to somewhere in this nation.

We import evritin we uses.....choi yoruba people and deir english

Yes is true that we are importing tomatoes and virtually everything we are using and that is why we depend so much on developed nation before we could do anything in this nation, how long are we going to improve in this nation. And why are some people so dump that they can't even face the reality. As a nation of ours we need to started producing things ourself before the 30th century.

his right why should we be importing such when we have it here and it will create employment to we the youth. GMB for CHANGE comes FEB14.

This one na long talk! He should come and debate!... not drop half baked promises..

@ celeb, when a product is banned the government needs to have national subsidies on ground. These have the long term benefits of industry development and national employment opportunities.
Obj banned the importation of chicken because he is a poultry farmer and only saw the benefit of his prevalence in the market.
In this case, rice and tomato farming is common in Nigeria. Banning their importation will mean Nigerian farmers can stabilise the prices, increase revenue from agriculture and also create employment. This should lead to Nigeria being an exporter of these products.
PS. It is appalling that a west African nation would import food products. Countries like the UK with far less fertile land than Nigeria have reduced significantly their food imports. The government encourages local produce by subsidising local farmers and educating the public on the benefits of buying local.

You are not smart at all.

You are foolish.

He is letting us know he is a man of the people. Revenue from agriculture will do great things for our country. Let GEJ and co die on top of their oil blocks. Oil is not the only resource we have.

Faceless coward!!!

Thank God he used the word
"if"... Some of these people, i just don't know what's going on in their head..I am sure he doesn't know what he is saying..Before taking such a move, there should be alternative but i am certain he never thought of that..I bet "IF" he wins, we all will go back practicing subsistence farming.. Omo a serious food scarcity go dey ooooo

So that we can get back to those days when ew were forced to spend hours in my mother's kitchen sorting stones from Abakiliki rice? How about you talk about growing the rice industry in Nigeria through grants that will result in the gradual phaseout of imported products? Illiteracy combined with ignorance and lack of common sense is a curse.

you need to start planting first before u BAN stuffs. mumu

Just go to school...thats d only solution to your dumbness...!

Hain!!!

Yes pick chris okotie instead..!

Buhari all d way Linda if u like no post am ... Febuhari !!!

@anonymous 11.44am, rice is still being imported but bagged in Nigeria. Buhari's approach would provide more employment.

Nigerians need to go to school and get smart. Really deserve an illiterate like Buhari.
So u want to ban rice importation? Why are we importing in the first place? Have you asked? Or you think there are foolish money-miss-road that will have local rice but choose to import? Is you local rice agriculture capable of meeting local supply? How many hectares or tonnes do we currently have, how many do we need? How long does it take to build a rice paddy, How much will it cost? There are a million things u must do first before banning. When they say go to school and grow your brain you no go gree...

NA THAT RICE ONE I DEY FEAR O.

WILL WE PRODUCE RICE THAT IS AS TASTY AS THE ONES FROM INDONESIA ETC THAT WE ARE USED TO.

#smh The incumbent government should be ashamed that it has crowned Nigeria with no more production of cocoa, ground nut, palm produce, cassava, etc that we are known for.

No, Don Mba just doesn't understand English to that extent..sad.