Singer Niyola reveals she was molested growing up...what she said | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 21 January 2015

Singer Niyola reveals she was molested growing up...what she said

In an interview on SoundcityCityDivas show with Pearl, EME 's first lady, Niyola, revealed she was molested, like many women, while growing up.
"I have been molested quite a number of times. Thankfully, I haven't been raped. I have been molested by both people I never imagined would molest me...and obviously strangers as well. And it wasn't once, it wasn't twice. It wasn't three times. But what helped me was that I started to try to figure out at that time why anybody would want to do that to me or to any female. I realised it was cowardice. Alot of things could be done to prevent the situations and protect yourself. I remember for a very long time, I would never visit guys. And when I started to live alone when I was in school, you would never come to my room for any reason. For a very long time I was paranoid. But I realised that if you share your experience with people, your fellow women, you'll find that it's not that big a deal that you can't come out & talk about it because it's not your fault that someone tried to molest you. Such people should actually be punished and brought to book."

109 comments:

Thank God u lived above it

Re u sure u were not raped?

@Sophia Stephen

A Lot of people went tru dis shit. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

This is just one of the few. Old enough to share their experiences.

www.glowyshoe.com said...

And now shez taking control..good for her

Visit my blog

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

This is just one of the few. Bold enough to share their experiences.

Thank God u were not raped

Same claim you 'all making

laulipop said...

Eyaa

THANK GOD U WERNT RAPED IN D PROCESS..GOOD PPLE BRNGS U APINESS WHILE BAD PPLE BRNGS U EXPERIENCE SO IN ALL DES U VE WAT TO TELL OTHERS...tomjerryswit.

Awwww pele my Niyi Ola.

CHERRY said...

Nice1 dear they should be brought to book!

Watch who u keep companies with nd who ur male frnds are and watch were u go as well,you wouldn't be molested

Na wao

I put it to you that u have been raped,if not that,who ask u question if u have been raped..mumu u

kudos to u niyola for the courage...many female celebs were molested while growing up but too ashamed to share their experience

Sometimes I do pray not 2give birth 2 a female child... most female child always have one or two things 2say while growing up.

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

Sorry, abi wetin man pikin go talk 4 dis kin tin. Next news jare linda. #lindagiveawayonmymind

Same here, one lady I call AUNTY raped me as a Boy.. Nice Experience!!!
.Disclaimer:: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

I see! That's why ur giving Banky W a tough time.

Heya sorry o

A Lot of women experienced such while growing up tho but took it as part of growing up. Those caught in the act needs to be punished severely so that the act will be reduced to its bearest minimum #onelovefromsnow#

TOOR.JUST PASSING
DON RICHIE SAID SO VIA TECNO

BLAQ said...

Its a terrible thing to be molested and it affects one physically and psychologically and one need to seek help.

Juliet Iwobi said...

Pls and pls, if u are speaking about being molested. Just come out and say exactly what happened. Instead of giving us this vague stories. It's like it has become a new trend for everyone to claim molestation nowadays. Even if your boyfriend bars you from using bleaching cream you claim you were molested.

Juliet Iwobi said...

Pls and pls, if u are speaking about being molested. Just come out and say exactly what happened. Instead of giving us this vague stories. It's like it has become a new trend for everyone to claim molestation nowadays. Even if your boyfriend bars you from using bleaching cream you claim you were molested.

Dave Mide said...

Sowie!

Juliet Iwobi said...

If dem rape u? You go tell us? Linda listen

ohhhh, sorry dear!!!!
The Lumdy Blog Review|Pharrell Williams In February Issue Of GQ Magazine

Hypertek IshOlawale said...

Thank God for your life.....

MR EDDY said this harmattan is sponsored by MTN. It is everywhere u go.

Thank God u weren't raped.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u happy new year.

True talk....talking to someone always help.....

Thank goodness you've gotten over dat experience & can now see things 4 how beautiful dey are. I salute your courage gf. Linda take note!

Eya sorry

Good thing u were not raped..

Awww! I feel her pain.

Awwww sorry about that. Thankfully you have moved on from that.

Interesting story for lunch...

Even if she was raped wil she b sincere to let us knw.

Stories 4d god's.

Hei yah, Kpele. Thank God it wasn't rape

elovi said...

Tor good ffor her

eh yah
kpele o!

Tank God u are not rape

Yes I agree wit her

Say NO Abuse of any kind.....sorry for your experience....Ladies all over are really passing through a lot but they chose to be quiet , until the opportunity to speak up comes running
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Say NO to Abuse of any kind.....sorry for your experience....Ladies all over are really passing through a lot but they chose to be quiet , until the opportunity to speak up comes running
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Gardencityoflove said...

eeehhh what a pity, sorry o.http://www.olokunbolablessing.com/2015/01/wizkid-gets-lap-dance-from-hottei.html

Aya...felt bad 4 her.

U right babe....beautiful singer Niyola,toh bad!

Ok. Sorry. At least you were never raped. So shut it.

Na wa oh!!!

@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

I love you Niyola.... so candid dear. I had such experience twice too while growing up as a teenager. Thank God I was not raped. Parents should be prayerful and protective of their children oo

Heard

I WS molested too when I WS much younger by older female neighbor

Eeyah

Monkey Face said...

Someday, I ll get to tell my story, encouraging and teaching the younger generation. Parents, your hearts will bleed if you know all the horrors your little ones face in the hands of their "uncles " and "aunties"( usually househelps). Let us be vigilant!! It's our duty to protect these young ones

Thank God for her life!

now she is doing the molesting ko?

HMMM SUCH IS LIFE.LAW007

say no to rape...

not cool for anybody to have to go through that. Very nice of her to share

OMOOBA said...

THANK GOD FOR YOU

Eya
Be strong dear
Be strong

Nwachichi said...

Hope u will be a great mum who will listen to and be a close friend to ur daughter....so she can tell u anything

OMG!WOMAN said...

Typical girls issue. But we thank God for always saving us from evil men.

Una too dey lie ...Eniola Akinbo who molest you for Ijegun....All of una go come here dey lie about wetin no happen....Did i hear you say u no dey visit guys?All them guys you were going to their houses up and down in St saviours nko....Make una fear God and stop looking for cheap publicity.

Nice one Niyola,i L♥√ع courage,i think it really helps u...well done sis

CELEB said...

The plight of women all over the world. I thank more women are speaking up so this evil can be stopped in our society

Yes,cowardice is the reason for molestation............................... #fortune#

Yes,cowardice is the reason for molestation................................. #fortune#

Too bad. Thank God it was just that

Why is speaking up now?

No be you dey my mind... Na lindodo... Still can't stop imagining the wetness.. Mehn, i hate the tight and dry.

Dis gal is ugly sha..............................#KingOfKings #6God

Awwwww

Oh Lord, terrible indeed. Its such a widespread problem and needs to be addressed. Good thing she overcame the traumatic experiences.

Zayzee said...

Very true. When we share our experiences, it encourages others to share theirs. Hopefully our society will get to the point where any case of molestation is taken seriously and offenders will serve jail time.

Thanks Niyola for sharing.

But did u die?

sorry you went through all that. But trust me. Victims fear to report to the police because of being victimized. Imagine a situation where a girl was raped and she was blamed by the police for dressing indecent.

hmmm y re pple so wicked i stay wit my sista cuz my papent re late am 24yrs old my sis husband molestd me so many wen i was in secndary sch tyms he denied it bt he was last year i pretended i was asleep he came wantd 2 touch ma boobs n i shoutd n his wife came out, d sad story is av 2 continue staying in d haus cuz i av no where 2 go b4 den he alwaz complain abt me talking 2 a guy imagine d fool.i dnt talk 2 him jst greet him n go my way cnt wait 2 leave dat haus 4 good.some men re heartless u marry my sis not me,SOME MARRIED MEN RE JST BEAST. linda plss make it a topic

christieuju said...

Hmm, just passing through..

Lekan.A said...

I love me some her. She's classy.

Buqore said...

Harmattan no dey again nwww.change this thing ooooo@linda is my role model!

Unfortunately for me, I couldn't control it i allowed it happened, for whatever reason i wished i had the boldness to runaway then. Hmm... Now i live to regret it.

Glory to God

Every female in the industry went through that haba na!!!!!!! .... abeg shut the hell up joooor .... crazy strategy, failed idiot con dey find way make us feel concerned bout her

I am tired of all these ladies coming out to say that they were molested They just make claims without calling out those who actually molested them. They go on to advice young ladies not to allow it happen. I think these ladies making such claims should start calling out those who carried out these evil acts, state their relationship with these people and mention these people's positions, so that young ladies will be on the look out for such.

Aww. She's so strong talking about it. Many women still can't face their past.

SWILL MARTIN said...

Many pple dnt have d guts 2 share such a horrible experience,buh she did and it gud coz it'll help other's to speak up.

HAWTTALKWITHTOSAN said...

i feel her pain. Brave of her to come out and talk about it. Its a pity our society mostly blames victims of molestation

HAWTTALKWITHTOSAN said...

i feel her pain. Brave of her to come out and talk about it. Its a pity our society mostly blames victims of molestation

I was also molested and raped by linda when i was young. Linda why?

Celebs with their molestation story. Why he be say dem dey always get molestation story

nini i understand.....i was also molested....bt by a woman...cnt seem to gt over it...dnt evn knw if am a virgin or nt.cos dat woman rili did a lot of bad tins to me

Thank God she was not raped! A lot of randy and useless men out their be molesting young girls, God protect us and our children!!!

This your comment is just ignorant. Especially since she said it happened by people she never thought could do that to her. Often its within families these things happen. If you are lucky to never have been in the situation, please don't give advice which is baseless.

Shut up with your useless comment. It us not a trend to be molested. Fool

Do u feel insane ?

MOSIWOMEKA said...

Thank God she didn't end up loose. Lots of women have been molested. Thank God I'm very close to my mum. People should always talk to their children and ask them questions.
Mosi Tash
@Mosi_Tash_Jazzy

Sophia what kinda question is that? U musn't comment u know!. She's so strong talking about it. Many women still can't face their past.

God bless u for the perfect reply u gave this ignorant dickhead. White Berry ko Black Berry ni, or rather Black Brain

And bigger mumu you for such a senseless and insensitive statement. I blame technology that has given riff Raffs like you an opportunity to exude or exhibit your unintelligence . Ms Feefs

And I say ALOT!!!

Some guys r useless & is better they were not given birth to in d first place.