Man Charged With Defrauding Nigerian Students of $148,000 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 15 December 2014

Man Charged With Defrauding Nigerian Students of $148,000

The former director of Pittsburg State's College of Business is facing federal charges of defrauding Nigerian graduate students recruited to attend the school.

Federal prosecutors said Wednesday that 61-year-old Michael Muoghalu of Pittsuburg faces one count of wire fraud and one count of money laundering.

Muoghalu is accused of taking more than $148,000 in refunds due to the Nigerian students in Pittsburg State's Masters of Business Administration program.

The Pittsburg Morning Sun reports that prosecutors allege that beginning in 2006 Muoghalu worked with an unknown accomplice in Nigeria to persuade 15 Nigerian students to give him part of the refunds they received on deposits for tuition and fees.

Muoghalu was suspended in June and resigned Sept. 15.

Source: AP

154 comments:

Seen. Hizson.gg@gmail.comu

Dis is mean

GOOD ONE FOR OTHERS

Seen. Hizson.gg@gmail.com

Even as old as he is? Unbelievable.

I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Wetin we no go see??

Tutolen said...

Ole jati jati

GOOD ONE LESSON FOR OTHERS

GOOD 4 him

Dr Akinsowon Olusegun said...

Rot in jail. Ole(thief)

Diamondberry027@gmail.com

khemorah said...

Tutolen said...

Ole jati jati

omenah said...

He should return their money..all dese ole we have as fathers n grand fathers

Mz Whitney said...

Dr Akinsowon Olusegun said...

Rot in jail. Ole(thief)

oluwamakin babatunde said...

na wa oh, everyone just dey find monney.

Dotted lines said...

Naija students get moni o

The evil that men do live after them.

***ECHOMASS***

Dotted lines said...

Nt fair @ all

Dotted lines said...

Onli God will help our universities

So sad. aomotoye@gmail.com

He should return the funds and go to jail....old man thief

See as em keep face like loi loi

Dotted lines said...

Happy ending #he resigned

See d old man..rosepowell0@gmail.com

Val nwannem kedu ebe igara since? U no try oh.....

LET THEM INVESTIGATE PROPERLY BEFORE WE FINALY CASTIGATE...AKA...JUSTICE

Gab, I particularly wish u sucess in ur hustle o

thief

See as em keep face like loi loi

Dotted lines said...

Pls remember 2 refund :hummm

Hmmmmmmm

The love of money tho 'smh' he should face the punishment with no mercy #onelovefromSnow#

That's a large sum of money. See him looking like the crime he commit«QUEENMAYA«REPORTING«LIVE«

khemorah said...

Lmsao!!!! It's a tight hustle man.

Marburg said...

Good 4 him

Dotted lines said...

#happy.....linda I don dey si my comments even if I m nt d 1st 2 comment......LIB member satisfied#smile

Weyrey

Dotted lines said...

Na ur papa or uncle?

okiezman said...

Fraudsters errywhr okesimaa@gmail.com

louisa said...

He is a thief

If people could transfer the creativity they put into negative acts into something positive the world would be a wonderful place.

thief

Baddoo.... Thank God they don catch am...

Ok naah

Chai!!!!

adebisix@hotmail.com

APPLELIPX said...

With that bald head,
Maybe he was planning to get hair implant

Hhmmmm! Bad news everywhere. jacksoninem@yahoo.com

Role reversal!

I like blackberry because it can perform thousands of different task and d best part of blackberry is its email which is very unique the hardware and software has been program in such a way that make it easy to upgrade the IOS automatically. I also like BlackBerry because it makes business very easy for users. Hmconcept2000@gmail.com

Princess G said...

Gab pls this is not xmas give away post. Comment reasonably. Some Comments is so annoying.

Ok dats gud 4him. Good evening Lindway, please oh I was left out last year on LIB. Giveaway, people like Bonario NNAGS VIA NOKIA 3310, now NOKIA LUMIA, and Onyx Godwin, and the rest of LIB here, the prince was also left out because he was not longer commenting here, so I don't want to be left out dis year oh, I was among the people who thank u for the house u build for ur parents last year, I was using Swagg isimemen to comment here, it was latter I start using google accnt some months ago to comment here, to u to no that I have been ur follower for 2 years and half now. But if am short-listed among LIB this year again, I won't be happy with u @all. Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

Faithylicious said...

Gud 4 u

At his age.

Lol..ole

Hmmm!!!
tenumahlaureen@yahoo.com

Princess G said...

Thanks to God, he is caught. Wicked man.

Dotted lines said...

Na so o.......lolz

wicked man God don catch u

U see nw, stealing di ojoo,stop it ok..xoxo da duchess

Your extremely funny @Princess G

Hmmmmm, obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

He deserves it,anyway this is why i love blackberry.
For the best typing experience only one brand does it the best. That brand is BlackBerry.
BlackBerry. Nobody likes a typo.The phone feels like it will be perfect for people like me: People who need their phones to do a lot of work, a lot of email, a lot of reading, and a lot of business stuff like PDFs. If iPhone and Android are socialmedia tools, then the Passport is a workproductivity tool
Amazingemy7@gmail.com

Sandra said...

Oloshi buruku...
Sanadaslife@yahoo.com

Aunty Linda please I am begging you in the name of God, even if it is N5000, send to me to add to my school fees. I have no helper. May God hear your prayers. preciousde3rd2015@yahoo.com

Na wa ooo, so he actually is a fraudster??? Tot old ppl are supposed to be more religious cos they will soon die na... Lolz...

Dt serves him right. D punishment melted out on him should be grave.

Sighs

gidis said...

Guess we r @ d receivn end nw...so much eyebrow won't b raised!!!!!!! Eit?

See him face like fraud master

Jeni_zee said...

Wear glass like better person

chai,,,there is god oooo

See his face. Via obaleye007@gmail.com

Fraud has become such a normal thing these days .........subomioloruntobi@gmail.com

U see,is nt good to steal,change....sowee tru ur yrs of sorrow..is well

they haff catch him

Jay said...

Na wa oo

Nawah

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

at his age? ..let me don't say what I have in mind
-------LIB prince-------

Old man. obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

Ole long throat

Widow Caught Red-handed Cheating with a Man in an Abandoned house

School girl trying to sneak out of the school got stuck

Woman beaten and stripped for kidnapping a 4 year old child in lagos

Lesson learned. obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

Gbam!!! I dey tell U...

Not easy

God done catch am. obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

my question is where did the student get the cash from...love2nicee@yahoo.com

When you talk to Nigerians of something, they don't want to hear and they see you as a small child due to they believe they are more expose than you are based on the fact that they have travel to the UK, PARIS or what so ever place outside Nigeria.... I came across this man's documents sent from the U.S as documentation based on a MINI MBA Program/BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION. of that same school, I told the man I was with that this is fraud but he didn't listen to me.
Thank God I was given the eyes to see these things ... I have been defrauded in the past based on travel, I took my time over the years to learn and study documents. The lines of documents are very important and when I hear things being said by a fraud star I do recognize their tough. God help us and give us the grace to be humble.

Grab the shit that's his time

students get money o
evedyqueen@yahoo.com

Dey can neva stop mtew maryadell49@gmail.com

ok. synbola4u@yahoo.com

Thief ole cari am go....
J.jimoh3@yahoo.com

Thief ole cari am go....
J.jimoh3@yahoo.com

Olleycynthia@yahoo.com

Thief ole cari am go....
J.jimoh3@yahoo.com

Chidinma Grace said...

Shame on u.

I like blackberry because it is very durable. I have been using my blackberry phone for 5 years now and yet I have not repaired it for one day! Although it is old and my friends are tired of seeing me with the phone I still love it! Another reason is because of the affordable data plans. Again, I like the fact that I can have access to my mails and even download documents that are in Microsoft office format and still be able to view them on my blackberry phone. I can edit the documents if I want and even do my assignments on my phone and print it out for submission. I also like bbm. It makes it easier for one to communicate if u probably do not have airtime to call.

Sidllionaire said...

As a manager, my clients tend to see the professionalism in me whenever I bring out my blackberry to take the phone numbers/email ads.

sjhewton@live.com

I don't understand why some Nigerians have sworn not to represent us well overseas. If not murder, its theft. Nawa oo.

Nawa o

Hizson.gg@gmail.com

Maya Marie said...

Serves him right.
™THAT EDOBOY.COM~

This world......I tire

uchay said...

Hehehe! You must be from imo

achesangel@yahoo.com

Thief.

Crazy mentality of going abroad, anyway let d old fool vomit the money

Nice one .... Wilslydsun@gmail.com

Daniel trigga is here

trigga of africa

prize possession said...

At a tym like ds when other Nigerians are try to make us proud. Some are busy doing the opposite.

I don't know why pple still include their email in the comments wen it's not required

Loi loi.... u must be a rivers person

I sabi this guy gogo. I know he has a PHD in 419 from d University of Eko in Nigeria. I'm glad he's applying his skill internationally here in America

Nawa oo

south ockendon said...

Nigerians are gullible, very very gullible. They show too much desperation in travelling overseas and in the end most are duped.
The man took advantage of the victims.
But @ d fraudster, he will languish in jail.

Ebami kigbe ole ole ole.kai walahi barawo bansa!!!

thercey said...

Na wa o. tessyuduehi@yahoo.com

See him Thief eyes

Ikmoney11@gmail.com

Dis one wicked o. Ikmoney11@gmail.com

His surname should be fraud.Idiot

Some Nigerians, embarrassing us since 600BC.

The year of reckoning for him

luvtel said...

Good move
Megalurv@yahoo.com

MZ G said...

D guy nid money nw, christmas don show

The man nah thief..

if na Naija scam oyinbo now, story go plenty

latoyaaches said...

Prettyasi@yahoo.com

Bush meat catch d hunter, how did he defraud a Nigerian even? That Nigerian really let us down

This is getting out of hand, Aunty Linda did U that this is what is currently happening at MAN Oron Campus were ND Students are paying 150,000 Naira into an unknown Account. My Friend and many Others are all victims of these. Though the Culprit is yet to be Fished out but is been believe that he is one of the school staff.

DEDE SAMSON...........samson_dede101@yahoo.com said...

IT IS WELL

u.c. pep said...

God will fire them soon

419 man

Black Anchor 2 said...

look @ him, and he wants his children to prosper in life.. God dey sha.

Uche Emma said...

Too bad

He should be jailed for life.

This is what prolonged poverty can do.

Wicked man.

God will punish him severely.

well shit people do this days dosent surprised me anymore rubbish.

Rotting in jail fraud master God wil expose una one by one

this is so bad, very wicked act. tubbytracy@yahoo.com

God help us cos u dont know who to trust anymore

benita said...

theif

Charles Nwogu said...

Can a leopard for once change its skin?

Charles Nwogu