Doyin Okupe reacts to backlash he received for comparing GEJ with Jesus Christ | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 16 December 2014

Doyin Okupe reacts to backlash he received for comparing GEJ with Jesus Christ

Senior Special Assistant to the President on Public Affairs, Dr. Doyin Okupe took to twitter today to react to the criticisms he received after he compared President Jonathan with Jesus Christ on a Channels TV program (read here). Okupe says he was misunderstood. See more tweets after the cut

246 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 246 of 246

There is nothing wrong in what he said.

johnplanet said...

Idiot

I cant fault the point he has made..I think you are right doyin in your own context

So true @ Dr.Doyin Okupe.The statement he made by likening oga Jona to Jesus Christ was apt.People failed to read the true meaning of the statement. Jesus Christ bore our sins,carried the load of the whole human race,oga jona in his own little way is bearing the burden of this nation.Besides,in Christianity,we are admonished to be like Christ.Christianity in its etymology means Christ like.He didn't blaspheme. Ignorance is bliss.

When u talk without thinking, you will be expected to do plenty explanations/talking to free yourself.

Abeg shut d fuck mouth why you will compare goodluck with God massages

Eagle Eyes Media said...

Face of a foolish man!

Cry me a river. How dare him compare gej to Jesus Christ? We have accepted ooo and we Nigerians are ready to crucify him

Whatever it is you want to say, just don't liken him with the son of God, it is wrong

Oga Doyin Okupe stop defending your stupidity. You made a blunder by comparing Jesus(The most high) with Ordinary Jonathan (Gej). What has Gej done dat he is now your model for comparison as Jesus

we have heard you SIR

Good leadership is imperative now more than ever if the country is to progress; to transform the economy, to create jobs for its teeming youth, establish a strong manufacturing base, process and export finished products; reduce poverty, inequality and unemployment; improve and establish quality health and education systems; improve our infrastructure – roads, water and electricity. Improving power supply and addressing the insecurity, kidnapping and terrorism require good leadership. These are the issues that should determine who you vote for in the next election. No one religion has a monopoly of people with good leadership attributes to tackle these challenges. There are Muslims and Christians, and even atheists that have the ability to address these issues. To demonize one religion or ethnic group is a disservice to the country and its people.

gud for him

Lmao......imagine!!!

Does this man knows what it actually means to be a christian? Somebody should warn him now before he gets himself into an everlasting destruction and woes all in the name of selling the image of GEJ to Nigerians. I wonder how Mr. Doyin Okupe could be comparing GEJ, a man who cannot keep to his words, to our Lord Jesus Christ.

he was misunderstood adaseries@gmail.com

baba don reverse his statement...lolzz

Lip sealed...tubbytracy@yahoo.com

GO TO SLEEP DOYIN

Does this man knows what it actually means to be a christian? Somebody should please warn him now before he gets himself into an everlasting regret and woes. I wonder how Doyin Okupe would be comparing GEJ, a man that cannot keep to his words, to our Lord Jesus Christ.

JooWilliams said...

I don't like this man but he has a point.

I'm not surprised. I expect no less from such a blasphemous and mediocre fellow such as himself to compare an ordinary being with GOD. It's only in Nigeria that the height of bootlicking and hypocrisy is encouraged. No one would DARE try that with Prophet Mohammed (S.A.W). PGEJ bears bloody resemblance to OUR. LORD IN HEAVEN. #fact#

Linda, selection to win the BlackBerry Passport shouldn't be by voting or who your readers think deserves to win it. You said the guys @ BlackBerry will choose the best comment. And here you complain that over 6 thousand comments are too numerous for you to read. Here's an opportunity for you to empower the youth by creating small contract jobs. Get 3 guys who'll work as comment readers for the period of the give away. They have a target to read least 2,000 comments daily (most of which are repetition, 1 sentence or just e-mails). They each submit the best 10 to you. Out of the 30 they submit to you, you pick the best 10 and let the BlackBerry team choose their best 2 for the giveaway. When you announce the winners also publish their winning comments for us to see why they were better than the rest. By so doing you would've empowered 3 guys, you would've been objective in your selection process and those who didn't win will try harder some other time. Regards

This okupe man chai. if you were my father(that can never happen) I would disown u

Abeg no dey compare...

pls tell us who ur father is?

Otondo! Wish very well coz he can never be like ur father who will also prefer to hide under anonymous nd talk rubbish like u.

Please don't bother explaining APC members.
Olleycynthia@yahoo.com

Otondo! Wish very well coz he can never be like ur father who will also prefer to hide under anonymous nd talk rubbish like u.

Let this man go and sit down.. he talks too much.

Ola Lukaz said...

Aw! C'mon Doyin, we expected you to use the first opportunity you got to apologise to Nigerians especially the Christians whose sensibilities you clearly offended through the fatal error you made on National TV and also distance your principal from the gaffe. You are instead trying to pull the wool over our collective eyes and at the same time attempt to hide behind one finger with your lippy and equally disrespectful explanation. In the Sunday school song you referred to, the singer "wishes" to be like Jesus in "meekness and grace". That is called "supplication" whereas in your provocative and belicose interview, you stated unequivocally that Jonathan "is like Jesus" because of the burden he's bearing for Nigeria. That is called "comparison". Doyin, get a life, apologise now! bobolalukaz@yahoo.com

but u said u re learned sir , hv u forgotten that X is used to indicate movies that cannot be shown, X indicates something that isn't correct, X can be used to indicate someone that is unknown, X also means ''crossed out'' indicating that a matter is removed or ended. X is not a positive ''word'' or letter, we should learn to put Christ in Christmas and Christ in Christianity

Story for the God's

Exactly . But u v judged already

Those so called Christian criticising Okupe are christian religious bigot did Christ ask you to fight for him or did Christ ask you to judge ,it is a pity that some of you are already behaving like some moslem that will fight and kill when anything bad is said about Mohammed or the Koran but when the koran was burnt in the last bombing in kano those religious bigot couldn't destroy Boko haram the real enemy.

Story for d gods. Attributing Christ like to deadly, devlish, politricking. Ndi ala

doyin shut up

To d best of my little understanding of English language. To compare means to say one is better Dan the other but there's no such in okupe's statement but just liken PGEJ to some virtue of Jesus. Am not a fan of any of them though

Rusty old man...

Must Doyin always open his mouth to speak

Foolish man! That is just the best way to describe this useless fool.

ohai said...

Even Christians some times exhibit the highest level of ignorance expecially on social media. When Fashola compared the striking doctors to God,were there this kind of hate words? Fashola said doctors are like God and should not go on strike because God does not go on strike. Now doyin Okupe is here tutoring all you ignorant christians that christ was a burden carrier as He carried the burden of the world to the cross & prior to this time,he admonished all who are heavy laden to come to Him that He wil give them rest. Okupe who is a bible student unlike most of you negative and destructive comentstors now likened Jonathan to Christ in the area of burden carrying, as jonathan carries the burden of the missing chibok girls, insurgency, economic melt down,d fall of naira to dollar and even d incessant heavy bombardment in the area of character assasination by the opposition amongst other negative issues that have befalling Nigeria in recent times. Are all these not enough to even say Jonathan carries more burden than Jesus? Jesus came to carry burden for the world and even die in the process, for that was His calling. Jonathan did not become our president to die for us but to take us to where we ought to be. Jonathan is heavy laden with Nigerians burden as Jesus was laden with the worlds problem. The differences between Jesus and Jonathan are that Jesus is God without sin but jonathan is human laden with sin. Jesus came to die for us that we might gain salvation but Jonathan came just to lead us as a sinful human but definitely not to die for us for his death will profit us and him nothing unlike Jesus who's death profited us and Him for He is glad that we all can now come to the father as a result of His death

sweet malo said...

Bims.......you are very funny...hahahahha

NUBIAN PRINCE said...

Jona is in no way comparable with Jesus. He is not meek, neither is he selfless. Someone that is not ready to sacrifice his inordinate ambition for the lives of Nigerians staying in the North. Dear Okupe, was Jesus clueless while on earth? which question was he asked that he didn't give more than the apt answer for? in the case of Jona, he is totally clueless. ask him a question and you will start getting irritating answers like 'America will know'.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 246 of 246   Newer› Newest»