When George was executed in 1944, he was so small he had to seat on a phone book in the electric chair. He's officially the youngest person to be executed in the U.S. in the 20th century.
George was found guilty of beating the girls, 11 and 8 years old with a railroad spike. His trial lasted only three hours and it took the a jury of all white people just 10 minutes to find him guilty - this was just 3 months after the girls were found murdered. This was back when there was a lot of segregation in America.
George was arrested after he confessed to the crime, but his older sister always maintained that George was coerced into confessing and couldn't have committed the murder because he was with her the day of the murder.
Civil rights advocates have been trying for years to clear George Stinney Jr's name. They managed to get the case reopened and yesterday morning, Judge Carmen Mullins tossed the murder conviction.
224 comments:
«Oldest ‹Older 201 – 224 of 224Very sad new but record needed for record purposes.
Hmmmm.....Man justice has been served. Now Lets Awaits GOD's Justice!!!
such a sad story.lets focus on the major reasons for our existence and avoid racism.
such a sad story, lets focus on the major reasons for our existence and avoid racism
Oh God.
Good news for all BLACKS!
I am proud to be a black but mind you this statement "This was back when there was a lot of segregation in America." for me is not true. There is still a lot of segregation. Look at the "ferguson" and "I can't breathe" cases.
70 years later...the story continues
70 years later...and the story continues
If the people that convicted him as still alife, let them be prosecuted.
That way, others will learn. So sad.
70 years ago...
70 years later...and the story continues
Even if he was guilty, you dont kill a 14yr old
very bad,that's racism,the same way Nigerians are politicizing and turning everything to religion and tribe,is just so sad,may God help us.Same thing with #MikeBrown
The home of the brave and land of the free indeed.
what next too late.so sad.aunty lili post my comment
lord have mercy
God will judge them
This is sad.
what diff those it make...RIP !!
The did has been done already, so sad!!!
shame he is no more
DId they get the real killer afterwards?
Na wa ooo
Lol..... Linda readers sha