"A successful woman with no husband will not be respected" Mrs Nike Akande | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday, 29 October 2014

"A successful woman with no husband will not be respected" Mrs Nike Akande

2-time Minister of Industry and a respected entrepreneur, Mrs Nike Akande said in a recent interview that if a woman is successful and does not have a husband, people don't respect her. Mrs Akande who has been married to her businessman husband for over 40 years now says it is better to get married no matter how successful you are...
"I always tell people that it is better to be married. The younger ones are not patient. Marriage is a journey of give and take. I am not perfect, my husband too is not perfect but we have to bend over to compliment each other. The younger ones are not that patient. It is better to be married. People respect you more when you are married. Unless it is impossible to live with a man because some men are impossible." Continue..
But for little, little differences, you have to tolerate each other. Companionship is nice. I will tell him my experiences and he will advise me. If a woman is successful and she does not have a husband, people would not respect her" she told Encomium
Who agrees with her?

233 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 233 of 233

Ok well any married woman dat calls any single girl that marries her husband as 2nd 3rd or 4th wife wud be punished n destroyed by GOD.since u all say it's African culture to be married,so also is polygamy African culture.so married women get ready to have co wives cos d single girls must be respected.so dey MUST marry ur husbands.thank GOD I don't abuse any single girl I pray for them to get married n not all dis rubbish talk.curse me n it lands on u n ur family AMEN.lind u must post dis message.RUBBISH

Fucking abdusalam steadily and claiming to be happily married.shio

IjeUSA said...

I see what she's saying but I don't believe people do not respect single women of a certain age, however they start feeling "pity" for them after awhile and that is worse in my opinion.

All these people telling Linda to go and marry, why not pray for her to meet a great guy or will she marry herself.....

I don't know whether feeling occasional pity for and not respecting mean the same thing. I respect those single successful women who are not grumpy. I feel occasional pity, but they may not even need it. I do not see any difference between single and married women as long as they both behave themselves. Some single mothers love their lives and don't seem to sense any public perception of them.

Oprah is in US and we r talking abt Nigga n African tradition. If u hv a sister or u r a woman, then do not marry n let's see how ur life will b like.

Na so na. And so because of the respect they are looking for, some get stabbed to death thirty something times, others are blinded in one eye, and yet others are killed and the house burnt by the killer husband to give an impression that they died in a fire incident. Society does not give a damn about that. I don't care either way as long as any woman, whether single or married, does not behave like a prostitute. And if they both don't behave like prostitutes, I don't have a preference. Some things don't trip me that much.

Some married women with children go use work take press their co-worker for office because of one story or the other.... 'My husband , my daughter, my son' . Any day and any time dem fit come work na im dem go come and when dem come, dem go leave when dem like because of the story. How I want take respect dat one over who diligently dey do im work, if e like e single. If dat single get child, nothing again o.

I beg make madam Nike shut up her smelling mouth. After she has slept with all the young & old men in Nigeria, she has the effontry to stand up and be talking plenty rubbish. We know your past madam, u better keep quite b4 we open your yellow bleached ass.

Mrs Akande had an opportunity to say something that would improve the status of women in Nigeria but she decided to say this crap instead.
It is true that Nigerian men don't respect women that are not married. But to support that mentality by saying oh that's why women should get married is wrong. Get married because it is beneficial to you, not because it what is expected

Nike Akande is a cover up woman who
uses "being married' as a cover up for high class prostitution she engages in. She is no example to any
one. Just a self conceipted, very greedy woman.

At first,I didn't want to comment.
But truth be told marriage is honourable not only to a female but also to male. As human beings,there is that natural instinct to love and be loved that is where the issue of coupling now comes to place.
In order to get it right we marry,so all the singles should focus more on getting love because love comes with commitment.

At first,I didn't want to comment.
But truth be told marriage is honourable not only to a female but also to male. As human beings,there is that natural instinct to love and be loved that is where the issue of coupling now comes to place.
In order to get it right we marry,so all the singles should focus more on getting love because love comes with commitment.

Snick said...

It may be so, but the fact that it is so is very sad, the fact that it is so is of our own making as a society. A woman that works hard to be successful should be respected whether or not she is married, just as a man who is unmarried will be respected if he is successful. It's like our existence as a human being in and of itself is not enough to warrant respect, unless we are attached to some man or other. She may be correct Linda but it's sad all the same.

People with different backgrounds will always have a right to their own opinions. After all different strokes for different folks, at the same time it could also be a wake up call to what our norms really are.

People with different backgrounds will always have a right to their own opinions. Different strokes for different folks, At the same time it could be a wakeup call to what our norms really are.

Dave Mide said...

@anonymous 1:50 PM ....STFU ?? really? You see why you cant even earn infinitesimal amnt of respect! Any married lady wouldnt start a convo with such vulgar ....shows how true this post is. Get a grip, ur losing it...sucker!

So it's better to get married and still sleep about, prostitutes now hide under marriage umbrella to operate, madam I strongly disagree with you o!

Its such rubbish comments like this that push ladies into marrying the wrong people or staying with an abusive husband. Pleas marry if you are sure he's the right one for you not just because some people have an opinion. Because they will not suffer with you if you marry the wrong person. A word is enough for the wise.

And for those fake "my marriage is perfect" women...no one's life is perfect. should we follow you or your husband and bug your house so we get the real story. the louder you have to proclaim perfection the more issues you are probably hiding.

A man did the same to a relative of mine, squandered, Stole all her money, she woke up one day the husband had moved out and is now married to another woman. This do or die marriage mentality will send a lot of women to early graves

abujakenneth said...

Good talk mommy. Tell the Lindas of this generation so that they can use their money to buy husband.

Don't mind all these women, their husbands will be sleeping around but they will come out and be pretending to be happy.

Anon then stop making her up buhahahahaha

You know a lot of women with low self esteem then and u know what they say about birds of the same feather

true, no dispute,respect is give and take.

hahaha! i:ve always known that this educated illietrate is mentally challenged.

Why is it dat all those against Mrs. Akande's view are hiding behind anonymous. Why don't you guys come out in the open and reply her. She expressed her self confidently as a married woman in the open.if you guys are confident and not ashamed of your single/unmarried status,why not come out of hiding and respond with confidence.

ANON @ 8.48pm LOBATAN. TELL THEM.

Why is it dat all those against Mrs. Akande's view are hiding behind anonymous? Why don't you guys come out in the open and reply her. She expressed herself confidently as a married woman in the open.if you guys are confident and not ashamed of your single/unmarried status, why not come out of hiding and respond with confidence.

life... I pray some we in Africa will devise and gain wisdom in solving how society depicts a woman's worth...

I am not afraid or choose to meditate that I choose my worth over men that think that what the society has given to them as laisser faire is acceptable.

By His Grace and only His Grace can minister to us His love.

One in fact two women came flaunting in my face oh My husband this my husband that... y you not married balabalah.. I just tell God eh God see me wahala. I no came find these women but na them waka come. Only for the Lord to reveal the nonesense in their union they call marriage... One adulteress another she didn't even want to marry the guy. Cry her life!
This too shall come to pass, in the past were women not wearing wrapper and lace everyday... where ur worth will not be defined by ur status!

Poor woman, I guess she is talking about her family members.

One of the most promiscuous women in Nigeria. I guess she is to be respected for being one of many wives of Chief Akande. Some people don't look in their closets before making such statements. Show me a woman who does not wish to be married, with children and happy. I guess she uses Society to make judgements on herself as well. Shallow mindset might I say!.

Maybe Nike Akande should also say "women with no children like herself are not respected", thus, has she ever thought, that one day God will provide to each and every one in due time?. Nike Akande's Havard training and Swiss Management training has not taught her that when you observe a void in someone,it does no good to stress on it, rather, assist on the solutions of issues. Nike Akande and the so called society who would not respect women who are not or yet married are rather unsecured. I would deeply like to apologize on behalf of this woman Nike Akande whom may have offended
any woman by these reckless statements. Would it not have been better for an old elderly woman of 70 yrs to have wished every woman on earth blessings and respect in all their good endeavours, rather than bringing out some inferior Societal feelings. You can all now imagine how recklessly these types of people have served Nigeria.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 233 of 233   Newer› Newest»