Building collapse: Lagos state govt may prosecute T.B Joshua | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 29 September 2014

Building collapse: Lagos state govt may prosecute T.B Joshua

It looks like Synagogue leader T.B Joshua will be prosecuted by the Lagos State Government over the collapse of his building on September 12th that left more than 115 people dead.

According to Punch, the state government has set up a coroner of inquest for the purpose of investigating the cause of the building collapse. This was made known in a statement credited to the Lagos State Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr. Ade Ipaye, on Sunday.

According to the statement, Ipaye had instigated the coroner’s inquest pursuant to Section 15 of the Lagos State Coroner’s System Law No. 7 of 2007.
The coroner of inquest, headed by Magistrate O. A. Komolafe, has been charged with the duty of establishing the cause of the collapse of Synagogue’s six-storey building that killed no fewer than 115 persons.
Ipaye, who spelt out the responsibility of the coroner, said its final submission might necessitate the institution of a criminal charge against the church.
The commissioner was quoted to have said, “The law requires the verdict of a coroner, as certified in writing, to be forwarded to the State Attorney General and such verdict may form the basis of criminal prosecution depending on the evidence collected.
“The coroner in this case is Magistrate O. A. Komolafe, who also sat as coroner in the Dana Air Crash case. He is expected to announce his sitting or visitation schedules and other details and to hold the inquest at the premises of the High Court of Lagos State, Oba Akinjobi Way, Ikeja.
“In doing this, he (Komolafe) has all the powers of a magistrate to summon and compel the attendance of witnesses, including medical examiners, and require them to give evidence, produce documents or present other relevant materials.”
Source: Punch

472 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 400 of 472   Newer›   Newest»

No one is above the law!! Ifeomatundeasolo@gmail.com

In everything that happened weather good or Bad we should give thank to GOD.

Rich Young Lifestyle said...

i pity him o, a man of God

tewahlade at yahoo dot com said...

I just believe that these man should be left alone he wasn't that built engineers would have told him it's possible

baliqis said...

May God see him through
baliqisahmed@gmail.com

Touch not my anointed nd do my prophet no harm. Lydiaedwards24@yahoo.com

baliqis said...

May God see him through

Touch not my anointed nd do my prophet no harm. Lydiaedwards24@yahoo.com

It is only God that knows who truly worship him be it Muslims or Christians folashade70@gmail.com

TB in Trial

is long over due so others 'll learn to follow due process b4 erecting.

Festico27@gmail.com

high time the law began to bite
njokutc@gmail.com

Shola Lad said...

So sad!!! olusola_oladipo@yahoo.com

jasmine said...

It is well. Let's spend more time to pray for churches at this time cos the devourer seem to be up on them. chi_lolipop@yahoo.com

what has happened has happened.,..this freaks should just let this man be...1st to comment.... Joshuaanyanna@gmail.com

Abraham Ndu said...

Eeyyaaa

Eddreamzdreamer@gmail.com

Hmm...
Victorokafor111@yahoo.com

Troublin...meecee93@gmail.com

I hope the inquest will yield results and not swept under the carpet as usual in Nigeria,we deserve to know if the building had approval for five floors or just a personal decision by the owners.sameolge82@gmail.com

tint blaq said...

They should, even after trying to bribe those reporters to publish false news

Good news.....queenblesn88@ymail.com.

Make una leave the man jor linda abeg help me beg lagos government to leave the man alone

ADMIRE(ike.ozioma@yahoo.com) said...

Dnt kW wat 2 say n ds TB's case..

tint blaq said...

Olagentle2000@yahoo.com

Emmy oly said...

First it was pastor chris divorce palava nw T.B joshua wahala oliination20@gmail.com

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

Stand firm prophet TB,these trials n temptations will surely pass away

Gud move, the death of abt 115 people shuld nt be swept under the rug bcos of the personalities involved. At least the bereaved families would feel like justice is abt to be served even though nobody wuld end up being prosecuted cos dis is naija.
#naijasacredcows
Pallaputa@ymail.com

God help us... cossy_4luv@yahoo.com

Nw d case has died down or becos south africa want to sue him,dere is sometin fishy here,justice has b be brought in this case#bebo

Bold Kid said...

Sentiments aside, if found guilty after the investigation or whatever they shud be prosecuted.

This is serious
anyichieonyedika32@gmail.com

meetosy@yahoo.com said...

Well, in my own opinion, Lagos state govt shud carry out investigation first before prosecuting him, bcos the Footage Scoan released dat shows a strange Aircraft fly around the building 4times before it collapsed shows somtin's rily fishy..let dem carry out investigation n know wot actually led to d collape.

Jostus is here.. said...

What a tragedy! hmm.. jzjuninho4@yahoo.co.uk

Hmm!

LEX said...

nice move from the lagos state government lexnwandu@gmail.com

sue his silly ass already!

Pffftttt... if I hear say dey prosecute him
He will bribe dem d way he did wit the reporters

Beatrice Amune said...

Justice must be served irrespective of who is involved! beatricefatoks@gmail.com

they should but to what end? (ebubsababa@gmail.com)

Beatrice Amune said...

Justice must be served irrespective of who is involved.....patiently waiting to see the turn out of events in coming days (beatricefatoks@gmail.com) first to comment

May GOD help us...are these signs of end time for real?

Beatrice Amune said...

Justice must be served irrespective of who is involved.....patiently waiting to see the turn out of events in coming days (beatricefatoks@gmail.com) first to comment

If truly he's a savant of
God, God will help him and the church.... But if not, let the law take its course.

Yess let justice be done. i don't care if he is a pastorGis life is not in anyway special from those 150 people that lost their life due to his carrlessness. Naominwabs@yahoo.com

This matter must be investigated.

Please they should stop deceiving us. All these things are just formalities just because the masses are clamouring for it. Before you know it, they will sweep it under the carpet. No be Naija? maxdon4real2000@gmail.com

beauty said...

Let d will of God be done. Beautymadu90@gmail.com

leave d man alne o. Badguy39@nokiamail.com

let's wait nd see wat happens....obimary16@gmail.com

Good for him. His time has come...... ogo_dike@yahoo.com

Uche Emma said...

Ok na.
We watch and see

David Iyke said...

My full support! kelechi360@gmail.com

faith philips said...

this man has been through alot already,let him be

Father lord,its high time u deliver ur son n show mercy

chinor2gud@gmail.com

Easy-E said...

None of my biz tho, jes passin by

Chizzy said...

Story.!
odumchizitere@yahoo.com

Nawa o

The Sexiest Mother Of This Blog said...

nawa oooo

Dats good news

The lord,our strength..Meecee93@gmail.com

Abeg let them leave d man to God to judge.

Patomon002@yahoo.com

Abeg let dem leave this man alone...abdullahimuhammad62@gmail.com

Will said...

This is what some people want, then let's see as it plays out. stillwill8@yahoo.com

Nelly said...

hmm wahala may God see u through man of God chienloanaekwe@yahoo.com

Linda I don tell you say make you leave TB Joshua matter alone

Mischievous said...

Those of you breathing down Linda's neck concerning Tiwa and her husband, are you happy they are having issues? Why do some people wait to see others fail? What joy do you derive when things go wrong with others? There will always be problems in a marriage, it is never smooth sailing.
What you wish others, will surely come your way.
TIWA and TEEBILLZ,if you are reading this, whatever is the problem, try and resolve it.

I don't have the right to judge anyone, only God can. All I can is "all is WELL" adehlove@gmail.com

after the deed has been done?

ourniyi_706@yahoo.com

RealY is good for the law to take its cause so others should learn, no centiments.

David Iyke said...

If not for Mr Nicholas the whistle blower it would have been a closed case since!kelechi360@gmail.com

mohammed fadhi said...

Notin will come out of it believe me u!!!!

Lord have mercy, please.

Stephen Echefu said...

Hmmmmmmm

It's called corona inquest and not corona of inquest, I am surprised that the Punch journalist does not know this thereby miseducating others

iroko said...

Challenges are meant to happen in life....thnz kaneva b d same.....i pray God will uphold U make U overcome ur tribulations #tubabairoko@gmail.com

not his fault tho
ololadetolulope@yahoo.com

HmMmmm, may God have mercy o

Beauty Fables said...

He should answer to the law

God knows better. ( Dj_smartt )

Serves him right,,,ion blive him at all.he luks capable of doing bad stuffs. Maryberry

Hmmmm diaris God o....first to comment. Yemyy4love@yahoo.com

why will they prosecute d man of God, he didn't bring down the building ..........first to comment sha...email:realphumzee@gmail.com

I don't think the man should be prosecuted we all saw the footage it was an attack on the church and not any constructional failure @neeyeedramaqueen72@gmail.com

End time is near!!!! Pray for forgiveness alll

Off couse he should be prosecuted we are talking about many lost lives.
Faceoflib

Off couse he should be prosecuted we are talking about many lost lives.
Faceoflib

End time is near!!!! LIB readers REPENT *runningaway*

wareva..... first to comment (tonianoreath@gmail.com)

he should seriously vanish from the face of the earth ...

GCN( LADY G ) said...

May God see dis man through..gladchinyere@gmail.com

GCN( LADY G ) said...

Eeyah..gladchinyere@gmail.com

GCN( LADY G ) said...

Hmmm,lili post my comments o..gladchinyere@gmail.com

Gbolahan Samuel said...

Do our govt believe in Spirituality? They will find him Innocent.. All that one na Cover Face. lol
@i_am_adisa@outlook.com

Michaeldavid44@yahoo.com

N L C said...

The law must prevail nt mindin who,s ass is God!

N L C said...

The law must prevail nt mindin who,s ass is God!

I laugh for this country. Call. Me immagold . Ogishot84@yahoo.com

I doubt anything Gud will come out of dis

Yah,he should be probed

tyresenet said...

Plenty. Wahala.....08034429606/tyresenet@yahoo.com

This man should be prosecuted! No man is above the law! Mtcheeeew.

Crumblin empire...Meecee93@gmail.com

Olabiwonnu said...

Let the truth be made public (olabiwonnufemi@gmail.com)

Ok...pato2775@yahoo.com

Why atlre people trying to frustrate this man ???he had noting to do with the building collapse ...

Jgsblogs.blogspot.com said...

No investigation, probes or what not -just like majority of things in Nigeria ramshodedly done

MrsBankyW said...

Evil man.. 100th to comment cassey.matthews@yahoo.com

hrm paul ojeih said...

if una like make una set up inquest or coroner or coroner inquisition nothing will come out this man is highly connected ot just in Nigeria but all over the world i bet his followers will sacrifice themselves for him abeg make dem leave this man o before people begin dey disappear and run mad

hardeypele@yahoo.com

It is well. nblessingozioma@yahoo.com

bibi said...

Gud. Donbibiesione@gmail.com

Its about time!!!!!! well its Nija sha, lets hope they follow through with the prosecution... subomioloruntobi@yahoo.com

olisandep@yahoo.co.uk

adetomiwa said...

Let justice be done... If a building collapse because of an illegally constructed building, then justice gotta be served.

adectommy@gmail.com

TB. Joshua's followers will scream hell if this is true. I pray another Ekiti saga don't repeat itself at the Lagos court that will hear this case.

*Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan for 2015*

Hmmmmmm afonjaoyindamola@gmail.com

unknown said...

Why are they prosecuting him for a crime he did not commit. Its not his fault that the building collapsed

unknown said...

Why are they prosecuting him for a crime he did not commit. Its not his fault that the building collapsed

Justice must be done.clarinsbridal@yahoo.com

Government suld be blame.bigshegs@gmail.com

Goodluck 2 both the Governor and the prophet. »»»»»»»»QU€€NMA¥A»»»»»»

M.Blac said...

He MUST be prosecuted in all fairness. A less popular or wealthy man would be in a more precarious position now.

Hmmmmm let's see wat will kom out from d coroner findings so as 2 knw d actual cause of d collapsed building

Hmmmmm let's see wat will kom out from d coroner findings so as 2 knw d actual cause of d collapsed building...miller6520@yahoo.com

That's a very nice step LSGT... Someone should pay for the life of innocent people that perished on that building.

y sue him to court was he d one DAT curst it abeg pple and der wahala.abohadaugograce@gmail.com

please allow T.B Joshua be.

chnwenweh@yahoo.com

SIMPLYCOCK said...

This is a very cheery development...
And Nigerians must be on the watch in making sure that no stone is left unturned in this effort, such that the inquest must be guided with popular goodwill and disallowed from brooking sacred cows...
"Equity favors the vigilant," says one of Equity's maxims...
Aside that TB may be up for a criminal trial at the close of the inquest, I implore families affected by the building collapse to institute a civil class action against TB, which could run coordinately with both the coroner's sitting and the expected criminal trial...
TB must not be allowed to get away with bloodshed without paying heavily for it!!!!!!!

Ghen Ghen!! Gobe
Temmytblack@gmail.com

hmmm..prosecuting pastors...ghen ghen..end times

Mojiade2002@gmail.com

hahahahah

austinomilano99@yahoo.com

bunmi said...

He is supposed to b sentence 2 life or death bt dis is naija, dey will luk 4 ways 2 cover it up

Nenechukwu said...

This people should live dis man alone, wat has happened has happened, chimmynene@yahoo.com

Lord have mercy!!! Mariam_nike@yahoo.com

Hmmm God help us(ebubsababa@gmail.com)

Segs (oj_segzy@hotmail.com) said...

The Lagos state government are not proactive enough on this case.

pls sort this situation ...emmany247@yahoo.com

KK said...

They had better!keminext2u@yahoo.com

KK said...

They had better!keminext2u@yahoo.com

Will he bring the silly plane story to a court of law or is it only for the gullible public? Dude could go down badly if he tries that with learned men and women. His only defense with that crowd is a strong case against the clear negligence here. Did he save on costs by erecting an unsafe building with cheap materials and labor? What is the state's own culpability for allowing the project to move forward?

Only GOD knows,chitimcreativ@yahoo.com

RIP for the dead.
keem_001@yahoo.com

dnt want 2 say much lts c their final judgement on dis issue..am only suprise dat T.B .J cud nt c dis wen he cud c tins happenin in far away countries...hw cn God nt show u issues concernin u nd yet show u abt others..wel God is nt man cha..wilfredmamah@gmail.com

Synagogue and its issues. Mega4dave@gmail.com

this whole story is making us brainstorm...let's jus allow this man hv peace...let God b d judge...veno.brightheart@ymail.com

beauty said...

Hmmmm. Beautymadu90@gmail.com

melb said...

Na wa... Mattuanita.ma@gmail.com

melb said...

Na wa.....mattuanita.ma@gmail.com

melb said...

Oma said...

The Church should be persecuted not just for the building but for interfering in the rescue work NEMA. They kept the rescue team away for days! Perhaps more people would have been saved had the Church thugs allowed rescue to begin immediately.

http://youtu.be/R-nkxN2AwPo very funny video. linda pls post it

Wow! mamapamela2@yahoo.com

Gift Lawrence said...

If truly he is a servant of most high God then he (GOD) will surely vindicate him.the case is not for we humans to judge but for God.

this is not gud,d world shudnt turn against dis man bcus of dis devil handwork of distruction,dis is a man who have helped many,gave life bck to dos who lost hope in living

Oya Mz linda.... lme7142@gmail.com

it is well ooo... isaiahjilemonah@gmail.com

unknown said...

Why prosecute the innocent man. Its not his fault that the building collapsed

Religion and the law.

This is really serious and indeed a bad. Time for SCOAN,my. The God you serve see you through.

Yea he should be prosecuted. Not even so-called ministers of God are above the law...
platinum_godfather@yahoo.com

jerry said...

Nawa o.

I believe questions should be asked and actions taken too...pbayagbon@gmail.com

chuddy said...

the problems this guy has caused are becoming outrageous... he should go and sit down abeg,,, chudi_12@yahoo.com

Dem no knw say ein building no get government approval abi.... Hednutnuel@yahoo.com

Linda, it's coroner's inquest not coroner of inquest.

TemPer jUstice wit Mercy

Ij pretty said...

Am begining to feel for this man of God

mercy okojie momodu said...

I PRAY AGAINST SUCH CALAMITY IN D FUTURE. SO PAINFUL

Mariam Oni said...

Mtchew! God is unbiased, even if nobody takes it up, God will take it up

Daralohi said...

All i want is for justice to prevail.GIFT.OKONOFUA@YAHOO.COM

God is watching
Kikejuwon@gmail.com

Okunola Adejoke said...

ok lets wait and see

Lovette said...

poor guy every1 is trying to milk him dry, nt a fan of him thou but where was lagos state building inspectors when the church was been erected. now d r talking about prosecution. ...Ass holes

i think it is a welcome development. collinsig67@gmail.com

This Man Called TB Joshua i Dnt Tink All His Miracle Are Real,Cos Dose Blind Peoples Dt Are See After D Miracle Dey Won't See Dem In Church Again,I Tink Dey Are Payin Them!,Samuelijaola@gmail.com

now dat its T.B Joshua procecution nobody is talking na wa oooo

first 2 comment
peterjacksonj89@gmail .com

I sympathise with TB Joshua. Cherishdayo@gmail.com

Hmmmmm. Make I dey look naaa. Rafcherry@yahoo.com

Oba234 said...

Honestly, I agree that they should prosecute him. Somebody needs to be accountable for those deaths. At least 81 people died!!!!! Those are somebody's mothers, fathers, sons, daughters, etc and if those lives were lost due to the neglect and construction of illegal bulidings, then he must face th full extent of the law. No one is above the law. I live in the U.S. and if he was here, he would be in prison and he would be paying monetary compensation to the victims families for the rest of his lives.

That's good

anonymous said...

I feel bad for him jdevon856@gmail.com

anonymous said...

I feel bad for him jdevon856@gmail.com

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 400 of 472   Newer› Newest»