Parents, family and friends gathered on Wednesday, June 11 to celebrate her success story. Speaking on how she did it, Maryam said;
"It was my dad's dream I become a medical doctor. Unfortunately I lost him at age 8. People around me, especially my mum, nurtured the dream. She helped me keep the goal, it was very challenging but having her around kept me focused. Luckily for me, I finished my secondary education at an early age, and at 15, I gained admission to study medicine at the University of Lagos. Here I am today, I am being celebrated as the youngest medical student."21 year old doctor? That's major. Congrats to her...
193 comments:
Congratulations dear sake! That's great!!!
Congrats Girl. Wishing you the best in life. It's a delight to see and hear about the achievement of ladies
Awww! The death of her father didn't stop her from achieving her goal.
Congrats to her.
Her dad will be so proud of her n will be smiling down @ her. Kudos 2 d mama 4 being der *Mum God bless u*
Mrs DAvido
wow, congrats to her, buh what did she came out with 5.00gpa or less. #just asking
Congratulations Maryam! You've made your parents and country proud. May Allah be your guide.
Wow! Big CONGRATSSSSSS!
You're an inspiration! Go girl
Omo alalubarika. Ku oriire... #YoungChampion
Amazing....Kongratulobia... thats a big feet..
……………..
¤GROWN MAN IN A YOUNG BODY¤
No doubt this young lady is an inspiration to many.... God bless her and her hustle...
Congratz to her. I pray same for my Daughter.
Beautiful..... If to say she murdered now, Linda would add that she's Muslim, and her hypocrite mumu christians will remember to bash Islam. #Yourheadache
Awww! That's wat I call brain....... Why she no go graduate so young n be a doc? No eye lashes nor human hair nor fixed nails, heely shoes to worry about. Dis one is just me maself and ma studies. Congrats mariam.
Hmmm congrats to her..
Girls like this reminds me of my stolen dreams#BringBackMyDreams!
Congrats to her oo, but I also finished sec at 15 and the min age to write Jamb is 16, thrs no D.O.B option for ppl less than 16. She says she started uni at 15 meaning she prob wrote it at 14...Just thinking aloud...
What an achievement,congrat dear,I might not knw u in person but was touched after reading this,am happy u made ur mum proud and I key into this blessing that my children wld also do me and the world proud and be celebrated too.Congrat once again
Congrats to her oo, but I finished sec at 15 and the min age to write Jamb is 16, thrs no D.O.B option for ppl less than 16. She says she started uni at 15 meaning she prob wrote it at 14...Just thinking aloud...
Wow !. Big congrate !
Wow!!!!! That's great bt wait a min.....she said she finished second school early???? Early like 13.....then she got admission at 15...even at dat Ȋ̝̊̅§ medicine not suppose to be 7yrs. Calculating 7 And 15 its 22 na....so ow come she Ȋ̝̊̅§ 21........also I smell some jumping class tinzzzz...its well sha..bt I'm. So sure she Ȋ̝̊̅§ from a wealthy home...dem don use moni push her well...nice one though bt I jst hope she Ȋ̝̊̅§ matured enuf for d profession,cos intelligence Ȋ̝̊̅§ one bt maturity Ȋ̝̊̅§ also greatly needed for such a profession.
Congrats girl
So lucky
Www.omosarah.com
That's wonderful.... Happy to hear something positive in our society. Congrats young doctor!
Congratulations!!! You've made papa proud...
She couldn't have achieved that in UNILORIN. Those saddist lecturers!
Congrat dear....shout out to all d mothers.....who struggle so hard, nd makes sure dia children achieve dia dream.......#columbiana#
Congrat
This aint beans jare. congrats dear
Congrats young Doc, she must be effiko
Ifeco
Congrats! But is only in nigeria that one can become a Dr at that age. Here in the states pple is 4yrs of college, 4yrs of med school, somes yrs in residences which depends in ur area and 1yr of fellowship. So you do the math.
congrat!
Congratulations Dr. Mariam, God bless your hustle.
MASHA ALLAH
MASHA ALLAH
Wow! Great news....Congrats dear.
Gud 4 her n her generation. May God keep her 2 save soul's n not 2 kill soul's
Congrats....so proud of u!, and for once, may LIBers be positive in their comments
Wow! Big congrats to her. Why didn't GTbank used her for their advert I see on tv more over is same story line.
Congrats and God bless you
Nice one dear.once more congratulations
Yea, its major. Big congrats to her. May God keep u dear & make ur name heard in high places.
Wow, a big congrats to u girl
XDON D DON
Congrat gal. Your brain has really worked.
big thumbs up......keep shining
congrats girl..its a rare achievement. may God crown it with great success in your medical practice..
Congrat dear. May God bless your mum and all that supported this dream.
Like seriously?u re a genius gal.. Congrat
Congrats to her!
Congratulations to her. Also graduated at the age of 21yrs. It is good to graduate at a very young age.
Muslim? Mtcheeww
Yeah dats our product
That's my Bil khusuus, keep the flag flying high!
Congrt gal is nt easy
"...Here I am today, being celebrated as the youngest MEDICAL STUDENT" Guess it hasn't quite sunk in that she's a doctor now. Congrats to you dearie.
Congrt gal is nt easy
Awwwww .... how sweet!
When it comes to brains,yoruba's takes the lead,But beautiful Ashewo's,na my igbo sister's get that one...Congrats sugar!!!
That's my Bil Khusuus, keep the flag flying high.
It was your dad's dream? So you are living your dad's dream? Why didn't you follow your own dream?
Congrats to u mariam, bigger u I pray, more success story to come Allah willing, proud of u sis and proud to have been ur classmate *thumbs up* *smiles*
Congrate to u mariam,barkallahu fihii
Congrats.
Congratz girl.
Big Deal,She didn't repeat any year even though she was so young,am 22 and still battling with d college!!!!!Congrats...........Frank Fly!
Wow! A Big major! Congrats!
So strike dint intervene??ur such a lucky girl..I believe if we ve people 2 guild us 2wards d right direction @ age 21&22 so many ll graduate from d university"congrats" *fashionista LeonorA*
U for come skool like oau, yur family no get mouth celebrate at all,
Na wa oo, boko haram release one of d chibok girls so she go even graduate return back to camp
Nna the girl try oo.... Dats 4 yrs lesser than my graduation age from medical sch.... Correct doc!!!!
Am so happy that this young lad happens to be a muslim. Now everyone can see that the religion of Islam is peaceful and brain loaded.
Am proud of u girl to be an akokakite, congrats!
May Almighty Allah give her more knowledge and understanding. Am so happy that away from the negative stories about Islam, a positive one is coming to the fore. Alhamdullilah.
Not easy at all, medicine so difficult.m if I knw I won't hv ventured.. congrat dear
@ Linda I love success stories like this!!!
Opeyemi, well done...stay focused and keep keeping Ur Dad's dreaming alive.
To Ur Mum, well done, May Allah SWT continue to protect the family always!!!
Congrats lov. May Allah cont to bless you
Congrat
Linda y no wan post my inital comment now?? Haters n beefers everywhere....#hissess# anyway me still luv u sha
Chai! 21! Wow and to think it was in Nigeria. Big congratulations to her.
Wow. Congratulations to her, the mom and of course the school. My advise for her; she should just go ahead with masters.
Wow so in Nigeria you can go straight from secondary school to medical school? I thought that you need to get a first bachelor's degree and then take the exam for admission into medical school like everywhere else in the world. This story doesn't sound right.
congrats
She is NOT the youngest medical doctor from unilag. My brother graduated 1992 at age 19.
He skipped pry one and pry six and was 9 in form one. He spent 5yrs in secondary school (no ssce then) and entered unilag at age 14 and graduated at 19. Shout out to the public school system of the 80s.
Kudos to her, more feather in your cap. Congrats.
Congrats Dε̲̣̣̣̥a̶̲̥̅̊я̅.
I believe ur testimony can touch some pple too
Wow niceee, God bless and keep you dear
Congrats Mariam
hmm really major...with all d strike or medical students dnt join the strike? *im jst curious o* congratz doctor mariam
she looks it sef
Wow!! Tears of joy# congrat to u dearie. I pray dat God shuld take u beyond ur widest drmzs amen. Age 23 nd still struggling 4 admsn God help me dis year pls
Wow! God bless and keep you o. Congrats dear.
I rejoice wit you my darling, wia ever ur dad is nw I knw he will be vry hapi, a BIG congratz 2 u n I thank God 4 u
Congrat girl
Wow, I know this girl! Congrats. I also attended medical school in unilag, graduated in 2011 & the youngest graduand in my set was 21yrs old. So this is not the 1st time a 21yr old student is graduating as a medical doctor in unilag. Its quite achievable because unilag hardly goes on strike, we hardly go on holidays as medical students, I didn't even spend up to 6yrs, spent 5yrs and 9 months.
But she's not a doctor yet. Houseman ship still dey nah.
Lol big fool. Can't u see dat she looks like one of those girls captured by Boko. Big congrats dear.ur a genius don't mind me
Congrat doc Maryam.. Wish u ol d bst.
Congrats dear, u look very preety, anyway, can u operate on a human successfully?
#confirmed# gbabe# unilorin especially geology department and their saddist lecturers#
Doctors dnt use gps. So dis maryam girl is dat young. She looks older dan me bak in d college arena. Anyways, congrat deary
Y r u dis dumb! Fool!
@anon 10:36 thank you so much for that comment. Linda shey u've heard. Congrats Maryam
God so poverty has a way of draining ppls brain?hw can thousand of us bliv dis? Hw can one grdt at dt age in Nigeria.at wht age did she evn got admitd 2 tiartiary dt she was matured 2 read a course like Medicine.u dis blogger eh becarefull oo.least in dis country is thirthy wt all d strike n evrtn.
Y don't Nigerians have sense? Medical skl is 6yrs in Nigaria dumb ass! House job is a year and nysc is another year! She just graduated from medical skl so will still do her housejob n all! Ignoramus! N I happen to know her from OPH hostel and she is a very calm and gentle girl, unlike some immature ones I know from luth that graduated quite young!
Came out wiv??? Really??? Well 4 ur info shez a doctor! Fullstop! Dats wat u get 4 studying a professional course! Something I'm sure you've never had the priviledge 2 experience!
Congrats cool and gentle Mariam! Nyc 1
My dear u r still learning.Doctors don't use GPA or whatever.If u r good u r in if not u r out,ok?
At wat year? I wrote my jamb at 14 yrs and did A-levels.But I had to wait till 16yrs bfore I cud enter into University of Ibadan.So my dear u can write ur jamb at 13yrs sef
That's good..but at 21 I was already done with NYSC#Douglasblackz
Is bcos u don't know but I will explain to u,medicine is 6yrs if there is no strike wt 1yr internship then afterwards 1yr nysc.
My dear wc state is dt? Ok let me make it clear to u is after u bcom a doctor dt u can start ur residency cos is specialty training.thk me later
Olodo, no gpa in medical school
Is bcos u don't know but I will explain to u,medicine is 6yrs if there is no strike wt 1yr internship then afterwards 1yr nysc.
At wat year? I wrote my jamb at 14 yrs and did A-levels.But I had to wait till 16yrs bfore I cud enter into University of Ibadan.So my dear u can write ur jamb at 13yrs sef
God bless you... linda shebi you dey hear? And who says muslim girls are oppressed????
Useless boko gal
My dear u r still learning.Doctors don't use GPA or whatever.If u r good u r in if not u r out,ok?
Waka!
Even if you studied igbo language you will not have 1.55gpa. 'what did she came out with'?
It is not that big a deal. i finished med school at 21 as well and so did my roommate.
Foolish idiot!punk ass!!
Chai
Chai! i know this girl.We were both in diploma class together.she entered through diploma and got admitted to yr 2 in CMUL.Congrats dearie.So happy for you.God is your strength
Lol....as a medical student u either pass or fail....no cgpa...now u know
And u won't finish secondary school at 14....
It's possible to finish secondary school at the age of 15 and u would have written jamb in SS3 and gained admission into uni the same year. Medicine is actually 6 years and strike hardly affects med students. P.S Age does not equal maturity
Dear,They don't use CGPA in medical school! , buh as you'd expect, she's gotta be brainy to maneuver her way through the medical school, so sad me go graduate late..lol
not true oluoye was the first at 21 in 2004
No big deal.l became a Doctor at 23 but a few of my classmates graduated at 21(authentic 21)
To all the mumu doubting this young lady, guess what, she's a FREAKING GENIUS! AND you didn't even have to be a genius to know this. The traditional age-to-class merging rule does not apply to geniuses as they pretty much operate on their own term academically. Instead of merging them in class based on their age, geniuses are encouraged to skip a couple or even several classes, depending on their genial-abilities so that their talent does not go to waste. Most times, geniuses they tend to know more than the teacher who is suppose to be teaching them and they usually annoy the heck out of teachers because they are constantly correcting their class teachers, and that can be embarrassing.
Secondly, there is a difference between a 'regular' student with average intelligence skipping classes and when a genius skips. Average or below intelligent people who jump class still end up graduating where they are suppose to be because all that skipping does is more harm than good
A big AMEN! !
nothing really like 5 points gpa in medicine; its basically pass! cos no one will go to a third class doc, so the grading does not particularly exist.
Muslim has done something good. To add muslim in their achievement is hard. But if it. was something bad they did Linda can quickly put Muslim.
Diarisgod ooo
Medicine is 6 years.
Masha Allah dearie
Err...We also do residency in Nigeria my dear. That's not part of the 6yrs you spend in med school. And FYI, residency isn't compulsory. So we do 6yrs in med school after which you get your MBBS.
congratz, i will also finish med school at 23years, had to spend 2 years at home..
U r so ignorant...dere is no gpa in medicine..acquire knowledge b4 u comment..I no with ur skull dats dull on percussion cant graduate from nursery n primary education wit a 3rd class..
Stony dull brain..cerebrate b4 u ventilate
Loolll. Mumu you. See how insignificant your comment is. Nobody is even answering you. ROTFLMAO. Anu ofia.
congrat gurl wishing u all the best in life.
congrat gurl!
Congrats Lady. Guys thought to share this scholarship info.
Keele University is delighted to announce a scholarship worth £5000 to be awarded to one postgraduate applicant from Nigeria.
http://globalnetworksedu.com/?p=1027
No cgpa in. Medicine please and dits 6 years not 7 just saying
Tot I was the only one that took out time to do d calculation. U so on point, ds ain't beef, just merely doing some lil calculation.
So on point
It is possible if you read your books instead of doing runs in school. Congratulation.
Congratulations Maryam, May almighty Allah continue to bless, protect and guide you aright. Ilal Amam In shaa Allah!
Ma sha Allah, Barakallau fiik
waooh
Medicine is 6yrs, get Mr facts right
I'm guessing u 'came' out with faaar less! >Cara<
Youngest in her set
Yes! Medical students in Unilag didn't join the strikes.
Dem no dey use gpa in medicine,ode oshi! Frm ur english sef,I knw u came out wit a 2.29! Olodo
Do you how many people who are congratulating her and are xtians ? Won't start abusing you because of ua ignorance. You just aassociated murder to ua religion. hisss
Get ur facts right. Not everwhere in the world does that. In many countries u can study medicine straight from highschool too.
Get ur facts right. A houseofficer is not a student. They are doctors that have taken oath and have license to practice. Oh.. and also being paid.
Mumu! College of medicine does not calculate CGPA like every other faculty in sch. Ewu gambia!
I WAS CALLED TO THE NIGERIAN BAR 14YEARS AGO, AT SAME AGE, BUT NO ONE CELEBRATED ME. NOT EVEN MY OWN VERY PARENTS.!?
CONGRATS GIRL! WISHING U ALL THE BEST.
I am sooo proud of you namesake!
Maryams ROCK! hehehe :-)
Mumu question,what did she came out with?bad english
So kids now become medical doctors
boko haram should see what young girls are capable of achieving congrats.# allow girls go to school bh
Alwz tlking frm d ass hole. Wat has 5.00G got 2 do wit d Dr nw?
I also got into uni at 15 and graduated at 19 cos I did a 4 year course so you guys its possible! No minimum age of 16 applied in my time!
Congrats girl, but u no b d 1st medical student to graduate @ 21, my brother graduated from medical school just before his 21st birthday.
Wow am happy 4 u congratulation
God bless u... smh
Ure just a fool.
They do not use GPA in medical school. Just distinction, pass or fail. Guys pls correct me if am wrong.
WOW!!! Dats soo good eh, ire a kari oh
So you are a grown ass woman who probably claims to be educated and you are unaware that medical degrees do not use the GPA system??! Shame. Go and do your research instead of spending all of your waking hours making pointless comments.
She finished her secondary sch at d age of 15 and not admitted to d uni...read with ur google.
Congrats and kudos to her. I wouldnt want my doctor to be that young tho # justsaying.
Congrats to her. However she isn't the 1st youngest medical doctor. In 2011 @ unical, two of my classmates (both females) graduated as medical doctors some months shy of their 21st birthday
Congrats girl. But hope what you term achievement doesn't stop here. You have age in your favour and the years before you to develop mastery in your field. A fellow Akokite is urging you to leverage the feat for real, solid accomplishment in your discipline, which today is in a hussle for breakthroughs in cancer and HIV/AIDS research as well as stem cell technology, among many others. But again the first step to recovering your genius is to shed conservatism. I see it written all over you. Just the flimsiest look at young you, I see your Einstein hidden behind the dowdiness of religiosity. Well, you are before the world's eye now, and you can't wish the attention away so soon. You would have disappointed a host of us if 50 years hence, nothing more is learnt of you than that you graduated from my alma mater as a doctor at age 21......
Those smellos comparing UNILAG and Ilorin should please spare us the childish display of inferiority complex. The first class requirements for admission into UNILAG is well known and legendary. UNILAG is very selective in that it grants admission mostly to the best, one of the factors considered in placing it at the top in most ranking of universities in Africa. Many of you in Ilorin don't measure up. How dare you conclude that she can't achieve such feat in ilorin.? Is there any basis whatsoever for comparing Lag's Medical School with Ilorin's? W hat effrontery! I observe that minions are always in the defeatist habit of judging UNILAG and Akokites....
she is not the first. others simply modified their ages to meet JAMB's minimum age requirement of 16.
I just wept and I ve parent,buh had to drop out when I couldn't pay schl fees @300level cos there was. Unable to pay schl fees,yet my dad kept having wives everywhere...
Her dad's goal...dnt be stupid
Congrats dear, barakallahu fil.
concratssss Maryam May God keep blessing U
Like ur spirit. God will make. It work for you..
@ blogger. Medical Dr isn't chicken change. Level pass level o . What did you study ? Congrats girly. I finished high school @ 15 . Plenty of us finish 19, 20. Doing basic courses . This people take all kinds of exams
Na Wah o! Saddist who never believe in anything good coming from a muslim. This is why people like you never grow positively.
#true talk....love u sister maryam
I tink say u sef go skul,which year be that#use ur brain,lolz