Ibadan Shoprite records high sales... | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 23 June 2014

Ibadan Shoprite records high sales...

The last time we talked about the Shoprite in Ibadan, we heard that parents take their children there so they can play with the escalator *cough*...but things have changed totally. People now troop there to shop. I hear the place has become some sort of mecca with people trooping down there in their hundreds, and this time around, they're buying way much more than a bottle of coke and gala..:-)

The mall is just over 70% complete and they've started recording such great sales. Ibadan people I hail o. You people shouldn't start abusing me now o...I wrote this with love...:-). See more pics..

98 comments:

All the bad belle ppl can u see??? When they opened, u were all talking like ppl didn't rush to their Lagos stores too when they first opened just to look...

Linda its a good thing u knw d kind of pple that read ur blog,lol
Make una no insult linda o!
@UA

Linda biko hapu mu,laff no gree me,lol

Lordy said...

Ibadan pple soooo sure ni......

U just had to put the picture of the woman backing her baby ddnt you Linda lol!

Ibadan..hmmm..@blissful_jay

Gud 4 dem.... Ibadan pple nw knw d essence of shoprite

jenny love said...

Alloy,ONYX,Bonario,cute G and PC go to sinach post and see what Bonita Bislam wrote abt u!sooo true especially Alloy that always say "congratulobia"I no fit laugh!!!

Linda calling you an ignoramus is a disrespect to ignorant people. Yours is over the scale in absurdity and stupidity.

Congratulobia to them

linda ikeji!!! ibadan isnt as bad as yall make it to be!! han han! i was dere last week nd shocked dat its d ibadan pple always bash!! ibadan is ok jare! stop being myopic pple

Lindiway it depends on what they're buying.
All I see here are people carrying loaves of bread.

They have made name for themselves naa so they will always sell even if their goods ar expensive pple will always buy.u know naija pple like name"shoprite"

"Linda i too know", it wasnt "elevator". it was " escalator" ...Oya quickly shove that *cough* back into ya mouth! sharply!!!

Lolz... So am not d only one dat dreads ibadan people. Dey sabi talk ehn?

BLAZER said...

MEANING THERE IS MONEY IN IBADAN....IM COMING TO INVEST THERE..

Hehehe! Lin be coughing when she don write Wetin she wan write..... Well good 4 dem.

omaahhonda said...

LOoll tnk God 4 dem

Linda nwa Ikeji, ya mouth no go kill u ooo, if IB pple catch u ehnnn

Ibadan! Ibi ole ti n jare olohun. I hail o...

I'm all for pan-Africanism or what not, but Nigerians seriously need to wake up! Giant of Africa you say? All these companies like MTN (with their crappy service) and Shoprite should instead be Nigerian owned companies. Where are the Nigerian owned companies that are going to give better prices and customer service that will rival Shoprite, and in doing so, make them become a thing of the past? It just saddens me that we claim to be the giants of Africa, yet South Africans (who despise Nigerians as a whole) are making billions annually from companies like MTN, Shoprite, etc etc. Is Nigeria seriously the land of imports?
Even American food chains are coming in and making money from the large and virtually untapped market in Nigeria (Dominoes, Cold Stone, KFC, etc).
WAKE UP NIGERIANS!

Does Nigeria not have the potential to lead? With our big mouths we should at least be running things in our region, West Africa!

South Africans mock, ridicule, dehumanize, insult, and make a joke of Nigerians yet you guys cannot stop patronizing their companies. Why? Look at what low self esteem as a nation has led us to. Are there no groups of people amongst the 1% or even 3% that want to start companies like Shoprite. I mean, look at how big WALMART has become!
WAKE UP NIGERIANS!

PURPLE said...

Na because e still new. Dem go soon calm down. Linyansh we know u wrote it with love *rolls eyes*

Linda ooo,no burst my belle wif laugh I beg u

I didn't see u post that shoprite recently opened their biggest shop in west africa here in Ibadan... I'm sure they did that bcos they get good sales here and not bcos children go their to ride escalators

Qlatifah said...

Pick up a literature book for a good comparison, linda.* sort of a mecca

DOBY DOBY said...

Lindami u wan to finish ibadan indigens. . Which 1 is no more coke nd gala.. hahaha. . Lwkmd.. jus wait for deir comments

Hahahahahaha linda u sef.

Adeyinka said...

Linda, biko nwayo... I rep ib. We run tins, tins dnt run we. Iwatago? Ose gan fun gbogbo praises lol

The crowd tho. They shouldn't turn the place to lagos island market o.#nd dat my 1cent#...Tyndase *btw*Linda ehhhh!!! Post my comment nah!

Rep ib city to d fullest!

#Pesty

Congratulations 2 ibadan pple.thanks 2 shoprite 4 coming down 2 d city of ibadan

CHERRY said...

Na God!

Linda u can be quite ignorant. that your silly first report on Shoprite Ibadan was sent to me by an american investor who wanted to know f it was true.

stop using ur power to spread ignorance abeg

Linda you never stop to dey mumu ur self. And for ur information, is gonna take nothing less Dan 5years before Shoprite can hit ur town. So u need to be patient. Proudly IB city boy. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Linda,that's the second shoprite....opened on the 19th,and its a different mall.

You re a bigot stop this your nonsense post.It makes no sense.

What PR machine did they use to drag people in there?

Ignorance is your problem. You know nothing about Ibadan.

haters gonna keep hating

Linda is not serious.The mall is the second shoprite in Ibadan,opened on the 19th of June and is the biggest Shoprite store in WEST AFRICA.

Who cares? ~Onahboy

Nigerians just rush anything new. Some them most likely don't need what their buying

I think is the location that says it all ....the 2nd shoprite was located @ a very Good place (Ring Road) which tends to hav p'ple going there ....I r'mba a very Popular Fast food Restaurant (I wnt mention name b'cos yhu didn't give Lindy any advert money) opened along that Road too,P'ple went there as well buh now it "Shoprite's tym" make una enjoy una sef P'ple of Oluyole,Ring Road,Challenge,Adeoyo,Mobil,joyce B,Liberty Road .... etc shoprite don dey una side o !!!

Linda is a clown. U did more than this when u first went to US.
Lol! Old check my friends creativity here
Www.gifdpworld.blogspot.com

Judging frm the pic am guesing they are just experiencing such thing for the first tym no doubt....

what did ibadan do to u linda??abi is it shop rite??

at Escalator?
at Mecca? Thats offensive LINDA. I am a core indigene of ibadan but lest before we forget i'd like you to do a bit of research as to why they refer Oyo state as the PACE SETTER.

Thank God for lagos for most of you. I feel utterly disgusted about for vendatta against ibadan and its way of life.

@ escalator
@ Mecca. Linda thats offensive and that shouldnt be classified as a banter. Whats all this vendatta against Ibadan and its way of life? Listen up i like you blogs but i dont understand it whenever you write about ibadan or anything that comes from it.As a writer i feel you are biased and one sided. You do a bit of more research as to why OYO STATE is reffered to as the pace setter. I resides in the UK but i am from ibadan and i feel utterly disgusted whenever i get to read some of your publication about Ibadan.Banters aside please dont thread on the sensitivity of otheres esp when it comes to their Origin and their way of life.
IBADAN RAZZ BUT CORRECT..

@Linda Ikeji. The problem with you is that you think you are all that,but you ain't! It bothers folk like me when the only time you write stories about my town,Ibadan, it is to amuse yourself and your 'fans' such as this. Believe me,your innuendos are not lost on us. Here's an innocent question,though: Do you even have a shopping mall of that magnitude in your village,nay, even your state?! ...*cricket sounds* Ok,exactly! You can be deceiving those gullible teenagers on your blog,but for some of us,we can see right through you. Please, work on your insecurities, girl! (Like to see you sometime in Ibadan city,though.I hope it won't be too much bother to autograph for your 'fans') *evil smile*

glamour said...

Linda IB is a cool place nt jst lag,PH nd Abj...IB is a vry cool place

The last pic reminds me of balogun market hehehe.

next of kin said...

Abeg park well joor....medicine after death...............................NEXT OF KIN

I remember your write-up when you showed us the empty mall. Na wa for d life.

Ditto

PURPLE said...

Thks 4 d info. Going der nw *even if e no concern me*

PURPLE said...

*yawns* which kain story be dis?

PURPLE said...

Chai..dem wan finish u linda. See comments

@linda, bitch,post my comment. You really need to stop with the Ibadan thingy. You are not that far. One phone call...

Ibadan people have got the money to spend.If shoprite clould record this many sales in Ring road and Dugbe,imagine if the come to Bodija?UI lecturers and students,Basorun/Akobo/Iworoad people will go crazy.i assure you they will make even more money.

Tell her Dave Olu. Oya linda cover faze now. See where ur Over sabi, amebo, Ofofo, gbeborun and tojubole, hit you. Lolz. If I hear Sey u mess with IB again I ll........? ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

@Linda Ikeji. The joke is on you bitch! Ibadan is a fun place. Copy that! I don't see anyone making fun of your village. So,you really need to watch what you post as it regards Ibadan! People still fall down the stair case!

Phinarime said...

A million likes 4 ds comment. As if pple 4rm Lindaz Village r anyway beta than Ibadan pple. Mtcheeeeew

It's called PIGGY BACK not Backing Baby.

Look Linda,you have to really be careful about the way you put Ibadan people down! It's not funny reading about it anymore! Why do u enjoy playing with other people's sensitivity?! That's just plain wrong!

Linda Ikeji. You are just a bully! Quit making these silly posts about ibadan people . You don't want to be watching your back every time you visit. We Ibadan people don't play that.

@hilary. the same PR machine used in dragging your ass into writing nonsense on this blog!

Dis Linda Ikeji is a confused being. Wen ppl aint goin to d mall u complained nw dey r goin u r stil complainin. In 20yrs tym ur village/ state ll neva b as developed as IB!

@Onyinx, help me tell Linda o, @Anon 11.31 correct. D last tym I checked,Ib was so kk compared to how Linda viewed it o. I wonder what Ibadan collect 4rm u Linda. Z ur ex 4rm Ib?

Linda. You REALLY have to tender an unreserved apology to Ibadan people. Your stupid attempt at a joke on Ibadan people and its way of life is getting on a lot of people's nerves. Why don't you crack the same jokes on your people in your village? Are they any better then Ibadan? You are just ignorant.

Finally, Linda u can write this with a straight face. See, Ibadan has a lot of ppl and they are ready to spend money.

Lol... My sister! I saw it oooo! Couldn't stop laughing when I saw it, it was really funny. Respect and salute to my dear bonita bislam.

Linda, if I were to have my way, I wouldn't allow any of these super stores in my area. They're nothing but small business killers. They kill mom and pops businesses. People that used to patronize mom and pops stores around the corner are now going to be patronizing shoprite, which will definitely compound unemployment situations. People are no longer going to buy from iyaa sikira, baba ibeji, etc that sell provisions in the local market just because they want to 'belong'. I just don't understand why people are celebrating the opening of all these super stores. Micro economy is the heart beat and engine of any vibrant economy. Mom and pops stores and other small businesses constitutes the micro economy of a nation, kill them off and watch the total collapse of the economy of such nation.

Super stores may serve some purpose, but they should not be celebrated or encourage to proliferate.

Good for them.

Some people are so dumb. If shoprite is nt making money and people are buying bread as bonario implied, they won't open d biggest shoprite in sub saharan Africa as the 2nd shop rite in ib. Hw many of you people wey dey shout lagos r frm lagos? Wat do u guys av in d village u came frm. Iranu oshi

Yea my ibadan no dey fall my hand

This is the first time i will comment twice,Like seriously linda you need to stop writing sh*ts about ibadan and fyi ibadan is more peaceful and comfortable than lagos.....i stay in lagos but have live in ibadan before,most of us insist to stay in lagos because of our jobs and i know how difficult it's to wake up 5am and enter 9pm......Life in lagos is too stressful but we couldn't leave

This linda na bigot. She didnt post that its a new mall that was opened just a year after the first o. Now she's tryna hide her hypocrisy with this one.
And other ignoramuses too that knw nothing about Ib join the charade of folly on twitter and lindablog.

There's money in Ibadan, people aren't flashy with it like Lagos.

Akin said...

There are actually two shoprite stores in Ibadan at the moment.... the recently opened one in Palms Ring Road & the other at Cocoa Mall... which one are you referring to?

You're such an ass-licker. Keep licking her ass, don't say it as it is. Goat/ewu gambia. *rolling my eyes*

Linda,u are very foolish and stupid for dis write up.am not from ib but I see myslf as an indigene of ib.ib is a good and cool place to be.pls don't write smtin like dis again if u don't want me to curse you.mtchewww ode**

@Anonymous 2:49 PM

GBAM!!! Nigerians like you have sense. People don't believe me when I tell them that its the mentality of most Nigerians that is directly related to the state of the country than we actually realize. All in an effort to "belong" Nigerians always over patronize anything imported. If we must have super stores and corporations of the like, they should at least be Nigerian owned! This will create a multitude of jobs and stimulate the Nigerian economy. Companies from India, South Africa, the Uk, etc all have their hands in Nigeria making money from us while very few Nigerians benefit. We've got to put a stop to this. Nigerians need to stop this idea of looking down on Nigerian-made, or like they call it "Aba-Made" goods instead of paying ridiculous prices for imported goods.
One of the biggest problems with the United States economy is the same thing. Corporations everywhere are driving small businesses out of business while a few are being enriched and Americans are paying heavily for that.

@Purple
My comment is not for smile minded idiots like you. Boot Licker.

Wow nawa oh, Looks like boxing day sale day! Ibadan people i hail o

Ar u informing d public dat Ibadan is a village?

Good for them. I can't understand why they why they use these revolving doors at malls. I went to the one in Ikeja and couldn't stay. It is very unsafe. Imagine an emergency situation where people have to be evacuated asap. Hundreds of people died in South America over such incident. Why not have many automated wide sliding doors that will remain open in an emergency?

Linda it's not funny any longer. You conveniently forgot to mention that it's the biggest store in West Africa.
Ibadan is A city that's bigger than most cities in Nigeria
.Shouldnt common sense have told you that people will troop to shoprite?Most people stayed away cos of the crowd which can be offputting. Go weekday u will meet crowd,Go weekend it's worse.
Now that there are 2 malls maybe the crowd will reduce.

Abeg!Mom and pop stores in Ibadan are doing just fine.Most people can't cope with shoprite distance and the crowd. Foodco,extramile,Bodija stores r doing ok.

How will u see other things?

CHRISABC said...

Lead city students handwork

CHRISABC said...

Lead city students handwork

nice one
I hear the place has become some sort of mecca lol
Linda, don't abuse my people oooo

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

The pikin na pig? I beg it's backing jor

U r very stupid idiot

Correct.even if shoprite eventually open in her town it will soon pack up.

Idiotic comment

She is just being stupid n ignorant

The next thing u will hear say ibos r trooping in to make business. ..thank God for intelligent yoruba pple that r developing our states...ibos should learn n develop their land than calling another's man land a no man land...