Here's how Thenetng is reporting it
Popular radio and TV presenter Toke Makinwa has aired her thoughts about popular blogger and former model Linda Ikeji stating she ‘doesn’t think Linda Ikeji is a role model’.
Little known Makinwa who works as a radio presenter on popular urban radio station Rhythm 93.7 dropped her comments on air while she was co-anchoring ‘The Morning Drive’ recently.
Well, she's entitled to her opinion. I have nothing against that statement...I understand where she's coming from. Some of the posts hurt people, some help people. It's the media, it's the job I chose. Like every other job, it has its advantages and disadvantages. You win some, you lose some. I get it. I accept it.I don’t think Linda Ikeji is a role model. She’s a gossiper, She sells gossip’, Makinwa said on the show and even appealed to her listeners not to take the likes of popular US blogger Perez Hilton and Miss Ikeji seriously.
It's times like this I almost forget who I am...but then I remember where I'm coming from and I smile. Let me tell you guys a story. Please continue...
It was early 2000, I was 19 years old, in my second year at the University of Lagos. I'd been a model for about a year and a half then. Modeling back then didn't pay a lot. Sometimes you eat, sometimes you can't find food. Sometimes you had money, sometimes you will have to beg for it. I'm not from a rich home. I started struggling since I was 17 to support my family. So I kinda hard a tough life growing up but I kept working, doing all sorts of modeling jobs, ushering, fashion shows, and at one point I sold beer at a hotel. I'd leave lectures, go to a hotel and sell beer from 1pm till 10pm. I did this for a few months. It wasn't easy but I had to survive. One of the things I said to myself back then was, the day I sell my body to a man for money, may God strike me dead. I was determined to make it on my own, never let any man take my dignity. In those days, most young girls had an aristo...I was never one of those girls. I would rather starve or beg for food than give my body to a man for money.
So back to my story. It was early 2000, I hadn't done any modeling jobs in a bit. I didn't have any money in school, hadn't eaten a proper meal in days, there was no money at home...my sister called and asked if I could send money home...didn't have any. I wondered what to do...then I thought of this aristo who had been chasing me for months now...old man...married...rich...in his fifties. I said to myself, why don't you call him and beg him for money. Tell a lie, say you need it to go to the hospital 'cos you're sick or something that desperate. Which was what I did. What he said to me was 'you know I like you. I don't know why you're behaving like a child. You need someone to take care of you blah blah blah'. Eventually he said I should meet him at a hotel. I will never forget that hotel...Ambassadors hotel in Ikoyi. I was apprehensive about going but I was desperate...I said to myself what's the worse that can happen? It's not like he will rape you and there was no way in hell I would sleep with him, so I figured even if he didn't give me the money I asked for, at least he would give me money for transport fare to go back home...that transport fare was what I was looking forward to honestly. I didn't have a dime on me, in fact I borrowed small money from a friend to go to the hotel.
So when I got there, he bought me hotel food (my first real meal in days...:-)) and after I was done eating, he made his move. I shoved him off. He kept trying and I kept pushing him away and after a while he got angry and said something like, why did you come here then? Are you a child? He was angry that I made him pay for a hotel room, spent money on food etc and not give him what he wanted. So he got up to leave...and I told him I didn't have any money to go back to school. If looks could kill, I would have died in that moment he turned to look at me. He left the hotel room, and I followed him. I kept begging and trying to explain to him that I didn't have transport to go back, he didn't say a word to me as he entered his vehicle and drove off.
I stood in front of the hotel wondering how I was going to get back to school. All I had on me was N15. N15 wasn't going to take me from Ikoyi to Akoka. In my plans, I never imagined that I wasn't going to at least get a few thousands from him. I'd seen this guy before...he was a friend's boss. He owned a media business back then and every time I went to see this friend, this man would call me into his office...tell me how pretty I am, how much he likes me and how well he can take care of me. And he always gave me 5k whenever I was ready to leave his office. But this time I was the one who called him...so he must have figured I was ready to give in. We both misunderstood each other, I guess...:-)
Anyway, after standing in front of the hotel for a few minutes, I went back in and saw a young man at the front desk. I explained my situation to him...he was kind enough to give me N100 and that was the money that took me half way home. By the time I got to Yaba, I'd run out of cash, so I trekked from Yaba bus stop to UNILAG Akoka. I remember saying to myself while I was trekking with tears in my eyes, that one day I'm going to make something of myself...every money I make in this world would be my own hard earned money...I don't care how bad it gets, no man is ever going to take away my self respect...that's all I have!
And that's the way I lived. Determined to make it in life. On my own terms. As my own woman. I kept struggling and struggling until God finally blessed me. Now I have more money than I even know what to do with it. I make millions of naira from what I love doing...blogging. The best part of all this is that I would blog for free. Now I don't chase money anymore...it chases me. It's not even just about the money, it's the great friends I've met via this blog, the wonderful people I interact with here, the freebies I get. How much of a big deal I am to some people. How some people see me in person and scream with excitement and want to take photos with me. Sometimes I pinch myself...I almost can't believe this is my life.
Once in a while I think of that 19 year old girl who trekked for miles to school because she would not sell her body and I say to her, we made it, Linda, we made it!
So maybe I'm not a role model in terms of what I do, but I know I'm definitely a role model as a young woman. To all the young girls out there, if you're reading this, you can make it on your own. You don't need to spread your legs for men, you don't need these old married men who just take your glory. You're strong, you're beautiful, there's nothing you can't achieve on your own. God has given you something no one else has. Find what it is and build yourself. Don't worry about what other girls around you have. Dignity is far more valuable than a range rover. Make it in life on your own terms and as your own woman, so that you can look back one day and be proud of who you were and who you are.
I wish every one well in their journey. God bless.
Linda Ikeji
1,772 comments:
«Oldest ‹Older 1201 – 1400 of 1772 Newer› Newest»CECIL HAMMOND fire this Toke girl! shish wtf? Am no longer watching anything Flytime
Linda you are an inspiration to young people and i pray that GOD will help you inneverything you do.Dont worry GOD will give you that which you desire in JESUS NAME,AMEN.
one word respect
BEBE 100 gbosas for you. Thanks.
as in look at their dress sense who is more of a role model ehhh i chose linda LIB readers am i right YES!!!!
Toke or watever u call urself, shaay u don hear her stori, oya oooo tell us urs lets know our role model. Atulu hausa. Linda u rock, u have achieved alot.so no just let pple like Toke run u down.
gbam linda no mind am nah stupid attention seeker and hope you would not apologies to her as she does not deserve an apology
Lol linda, whether Toke Makinwa believes it or not, we are all role models.
Probably she didn't think twice before commenting
Na God go punish dis Toke...who are u to decide if someone is a role model or not? do u know what it takes to be a blogger?
do u know how much researches that is to be done?
try staying on your laptop for 4hrs straight and see if your eyes will be the same
this woman (Linda)goes extra miles to bring us stories about the happenings around the World and you are here trying to audition for Banky W during his interview(trust me it was obvious)#My advice, don't even dare cos u sounded like a toad in distress, so leave music out of it, don't even try cos he (Banky w )won't sign u,u fake american hustler hustler.
Don't even know what to say to u,u shouldn't have said that. don't judge people if you don't know their story...if u don't see her as a role model "I DO"
she inspires me a lot....
Next time keep ur stupid opinions to urself you stupid Americana(american wannabe), mixing english and british accent together....
pray make i no catch you for road else i go beat u blue black, Anuofia like u....Kwasia dere!!!
@LINDA DEAR, I LOVE U TO BITS, TOKE OR TALK CAN GO AND SWIM IN BAR BEACH FOR ALL I CARE #RUBBISH
I really wish you didn't pay attention to her comments...
Really wish you didn't...
omo mehn nah 5 gbosa for you dear enjoy your blogging infact come and bring us a story about useless toke so that we can see her yansh from her stupidity here okay.
@ANON 3;16PM TOKE seriously stop ranting.Linda is better dan u.u are calling linda a bush girl ahahahahhaahah if u werent bush also u wouldnt take any story published by a blogger personal.I mean we have likes of sandra rose and perez hilton.It's a pity linda posted ur comment cos i dont think ur life will ever remain d same with the way LIB readers will finish u today.
Linda oh! Why on earth did you reply Toke Makinwa of all maggots in the toilet? Who doesn't know her story?
So the insults and expose people did on her on LL's blog was not enough? That post really showed how much of a "role model" Toke Makinwa is.
And BTW, what the hell does "gossiper" mean??? Toke go & buy Brighter Grammar!
Wallahi Linda if you continue answering such people I will come to Lagos, fish you out, slap you hard so your brain will shift back to its rightful position, then you will start reasoning properly again. You need to stop hyping these maggots please. Ogini di?
I love you LI, keep your head up. And keep blogging. Blessings.
Linda leave that coconut head and haters weh de comment as Anonymous.
Toke Makinwa you want some ice cheap publicity? If i see you erh? I go give you dirty slap? Make i give you?
Please how is LINDA IKEJI a role model .......
You are a gossip end of story , dont get it twisted ####
My heart goes out to u wherever u are. Thank God u are now doing OK!
Linda ignore toke, by u mentioning her on your blog, u even made her more famous. If bloggers like you dont exist, not a lot of people will care about these supposed stars or wannabees. Nigerian entertainers need to understand that they need you more than you need them, whether good or bad, because you help keep them relevant.So Linda dont sweat it,so what you tell other people's business, as a reporter or whatever toke is, she needs to know that the likes of you is needed for the entertainment industry and its stars to succeed in different avenues. This is one thing Nigerians need to Learn from America, any press is good as long has people keep your name alive. And am mad at you linda, u just helped her become a little relevant.
Just looking at both pictures, i sure know who my daughters role model should be! Certainly not Toke, with all dat stuff spilling......eewwwwwwwww! Classless bitch!
Stories that touch......
TOPE MAKINWA???? is dat a name of street, or a dog? or a non living thing? havent heard of IT before....
Okay seriously I think Linda is blowing this out of proportion and out of context. The girl is 1000% right. YOU ARE NOT A ROLE MODEL. For where, you want steal am. Your name is no where near that term role model biko nu. BUT you are a blogger,an entertainer, an aproko, a shit starter, a news spreader and you are darn good at it. So there is no issue here if you ask me. Did she hit a nerve that all these foolish Linda voltrons are now insulting the girl. She told the truth.
Linda I paid all my uni fees .. Trekked tire from Yaba to Unilag in year one ... 2 nd year I got part time jobs , even two job per day plus sch ... Now am a better personal ... Am a success at my career ... Making clear money without cosing tears as u do ... Does that make me a role model ... Linda plzzzzzzz just stop this self righteous n justification thing pls ... U can b a successful blogging at d expens of pple happy ... U know Linda there some place u can't go to ... Funny enough I love u hustle but u hustle to bring tears to pple dnt justify that ... I can't tell my kids to copy u etc ...
Toke why r fooling urself by using insulting words like USELESS GIRL u see u r not a ROLE MODEL hahahahahah
Forget the sob story .....some came and made something much better out of their lives
Please how can Linda think she is a role model . Lets be honest people, you all come here and praise her yet say the truth at her back
You are good at gossip sorry the tuch name Blogging but thats about it . i dont inspire to be like you , you ruin lives with the pen. what is inspirational about that
After the susan peters issue I just felt you were not a human being like what normal human being would encourage such hateful comments by uploading them. I now understand that you are working for the money and people's feelings donot count as long as there is money to be made. So no you are not a role model. That is just one amongst many issues. Btw I was going to post a harsher comment but then I realised that even though you donot act as a human being when dishing it to others, I may hurt you with my harsh words. so my friend stop this sob stories and accept it. Look on the brighter side, you still make some money from it, role model or not!shikena
TOKE'S REASON FOR ATTACKING LINDA
linda is an entrepreneur...she pays people salary, toke is a salary earner. linda can afford to pay her hence beeeffffffff!
girls we can envy shaaaaaaaaaaa....God forbid!
Toke is just a bleached up fake wanna be popular piece of ass. Your typical ex QC + ex Unilag combo that is all noise and no content.
Linda does what she does best i.e. blogging and that puts food on her table. Why should any one be hating on her.
Linda no mind these bad belle pple, who God has bless no man can curse
The post on Toke Makinwa that made her fiance break up with her was byLL.Linda has never said anything bad about Toke Makinwa BUT KIND OF PROMOTED HER FLYTIME ENTERTAINMENT INTERVIEW CELEBS and the three chics or whatever its called. I remember Toke Makinwa back in FGGC OYO where she used to bed wet, she was very dirty now she has big mouth. Linda might not be a role model but she didnt involve herself in Toke's ASEWO business. Toke didnt work hard to get to where she is today, she slept her way through it all.Even with her thinking she's an OAP, I cant stand her for all the evil she's done. Destroying people's home, doing jazz and forming she's a believer on twitter.
toke toke, tuke tuke, cabu cabu, danfo danfo....
Aall these people shedding tears, make una take am easy o!
If you hear my own story, you go weak.
Girls wanted to rape me but i no gree.
Linda,never mind them,onu kuru njo geku nma,even renowned newspapers gossip,radio gossip,tv gossip shey na cus person say u nobi role model u cum dey feel bad?d person sef neva model not to talk of role,cus i dont know her that's how unpopular she is.girl as an alumni member of LAG,i praise your gotz its not easy with all the effizy,infact if i tell you my gist you go laugh tire,i no get pass 4 friends cus i no dey baff up,some sef carry me dey gist cus i no dey change clothes but today i thank baba God.
@ the first ANON April 19, 2012 3:16 PM. Thank you so very much.
How i wish you could have seen or heard the way i was clapping for you. You made too much sense. I do not know why linda fans are so deluded beyond reasoning and fell for this story obvious timed to evoke sympathy. Like you said is she the only one with such story? The way Toke stated that Linda is no role model is agsolutely correct. The fact is that is all Linda is know for and that is what generates her income, that is way she does it and has no other job. Can anyone tell me if this is a carrer they would have choosen for themselves whilst dreamin of what they would like to become? Also if there wasnt any sponsorship money involved would she or anyone else admire blogging so much. I see it as an avenue for entertainment , but for Linda to try and make it sound like she is one super star/ mother theresa is an absolute joke. Only pathetic people would fall for and not see through that. She shares gossip, which most of us indulge in, full stop. What is the celebration and hailing for as if she found the cure to AIDS or something. Please Linda and her fanatics need to get off their high horse and see the real pic. Toke did not try to glorify her self like Linda always does and the way Linda put the post on her blog with that sramatic pitiful story was purposefully done to gain empathy. Linda has always known how to play games with readers on her blog. She knew people would do the nasty name calling and fighting for her thus making her look holier than tho. That is the part of Linda i do not like. If her fanatics like they can scream and shout like animals, its ok, i expect nothing more than your stumped way of thinking like Linda has jazzed you.
Lamide
Gossip not gossiper. How won't u support toke when u guys speak bad english together. Olodo ni
Truth hurts. Linda Ikeji aint no role model...at least not in this life. Because you missed a few meals as a teenager and you are not a prostitute does not make you a role model. You are a gossip...abi na lie?
First of all Toke or wateva ur name is,its GOSSIP n nt GOSSIPER.simple english u cnt speak n u're dere critising someone...nyways,evry1's entitled 2 deir own opinion.Linda u've jst made d okoro popular nw ehn!u'ld av jst ignored.nyways dnt let ny1 bring u dwn,u're good @ wot u do,kip it up.pple will always talk!
toke actually commented above...buhahahahahahah......according to her "I am a role model because I live for God and attribute all successes to him. I walk in His way, hating what he hates and loving what he loves. That is what makes you a role model". wondering what "God" in whose ways you were walking in the above picture ode oshi coming here to talk rubbish. as for all you peeps saying you cant ask your children to be like linda, im sure you gossip more at home than linda can ever do here...so all your daughters have to do is be like you....stupid people...linda post my comment o
Obviously! This is rat faced Toke. Big head...is she the only blogger who tells stories? Her blog has helped people also. I kip saying this; SHE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR HER STORIES AND THE READERS ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR THEIR COMMENTS. ANUOFIA.
Linda you are very stupid if you think we are all going to fall for that sob story. you think u r cleaver telling that story now abi? all you do is gossip, thanks for accepting that. that is why we are here. thank you. and in knowing and establishing that you are most definitely not a role model. Wether you didnt sleep with men for money or not, it is not a reason for anyone to cry here or celebrate you cos at the end of the day YOU ARE NOT SUPPOSE TO SELL YOUR BODY TO MEN FOR MONEY IN THE 1ST PLACE helloooooo!!! you did what you are supposed to do, so dont come here playing games. not all of us readers are gaullible and pathetic to jump on your wagon. get on with d bloggin and dont try and b too intellectual.
Linda i lyk ur manner of approach towards ur HATERS. Jst d right terrain 2 inspire d young. Luv ur story it gives hope 2 d hopeless.
Lol linda's voltrons!! Hiss can't people have conflicting views? @bloglord non one is jealous of Linda @least not me but I'm known to say what I think regardless of what people think. That your comment to anon3:16 is downright classless. Erm Linda you are not a role model, you dish it out so man up and accept yours.!
Linda ikeji ... If this few lines from tok hurt u this much to write this up cos u know u ll get backing frm the sad pple on ur blog n vos u hv a known platform to air ... How much more pain do u thing u hv cos other pple with ur comments n the comments of the pple on ur blog ... Double standard my dear ... Ppe u hv cis pain if they hv their way as u do here do u know wht dey will say abt u ... My dear this role model issues is even far far ... Use another medium to know wht pple think abt u , I'll b shocked .. I went for a class party in eko hotel in my tabe all they talk abt is how u gossip etc ... N u call that success ... Where ll u b in this ur chosen career at 40 or 50 ... Count ur teeth with ur Tougn
ANONYMOUS 3:16 is obviously Toke...ode like u,u're d one who is useless!afta bleaching 2 bcome by force whitey,u're dere forming cream chick*big hissssssssssss*.so 2 u nw,u're a role model abi?buhahahahahahahaha!
linda,this girl just use you gain popularity o!kai and the worse part be say she no pay.
Linda y now,no dey advertise losers for free.this is business o.see free hyping.:(
Why don't u post my message, it is not nice, I love u and toke is just an attention seeker.end of story
If u never heard any negative comments about you, then trust me you are still a mediocre. Only the big ones are heard on the lips of people. it don't matter what they say. You are doing what you love. you've got job satisfaction. selling gossip is a dirty job. you found ur passion. cleaning dead bodies and embalming them is a dirty job. people do it and enjoy doing it. Nne, carry go!
But why are some human beings so DUMB and STUPID!! So to all the people who posted rubbish comments, she is not looking to be your role model or whatever. She is just saying her point of view and telling her own small story. Please stop hating. Kindly move on with your lives.
-Jibs
Linda, where are my comments?!
Okay I would like to hear the full interview before I comment cos the Toke could have made the comment because she was asked who she would consider a role model, maybe the interviewer even asked if she would choose Linda or Bella.... to me, Linda is not a role model. She is a female who is onpoint at and good at what she does which is gossiping. Like someone else said, I loathe people talking about others and I spank my little girls if I ever catch them doing it so I would not want my children to be like Linda. I do however respect that she made a name for herself without sleeping around but she still did not make that name in a good way because she has destroyed and saddened a few lives/relationships with what she allowed on her blog.
Toke told the truth. you ar enot a role model Linda. You are a blogger. I did not go to school to say i want to be a blogger when i grow up nor would i want any of the younger genereation to say they want to be like Linda. What have you done? so you are claiming you didnt sleep with men for money basically through tough times...ehen? and so? y tell us this story now? you think you soooooo clever by telling that story. We appreciate the gossip, stick to that and pls keep quiet about role model. you both are not role models.
Dat is wot hapens in a society wher prostitutes and all oda morally bankrupt dogs are given freedom of speech,wher no one questions ur source of income...if not for d free gift of pu--y dat God gave every female,wher will a less-dan-a-human like dat air head tokkeen get d money to white wash her psoriasis ridden skin?...betterstill,find d balls or vagina to diss human beings like linda?...smh..linda,u rock!
While Toke is busy beefing, Linda is busy drawing traffic to her site and getting better and what she does. Why beef...Linda you go girl!
its my first time commentin.seriously linda u an inspiratin 2 many young women like me out der most of us would relate 2 ur story. U're one person i really admire 4 keepin ur dignity,level of maturity n all.my day isnt complete without visitin ur blog. Even tell ma friends abt u.
Someone please tell TOKE to go do "Aluwala" on top of Transformer!!
even looking at both pictures.
linda's is : take home to mama
toke's is: fuck the bitch, scatter her cunt, give her 50naira n throw her out .
fierce,well constructed and delivery on point!
whether or not linda is a role model, its not toke's place to decide that. she's calling linda out for being a gossip, but when she was making those comments about linda, what was she doing? GOSSIPING (by her own definition). when a newspaper publishes stories, is that gossiping?
my definition of gossiping is saying behind someone's back things that you can't say to their face. linda publishes stories on her blog. stories that other bloggers as well as magazines publish too. to me, that is not gossiping. and the people agreeing with toke, why do you read linda's blog since its so wrong? we all watch E news and have no problem with that.
I'd like to know how linda became the topic of her discussion. how can toke advise linda to put her time to better use (instead of gossiping) while in d same conversation slandering linda's image. he who is without sin should be the only one casting stones.
toke, dont forget not to throw stones when you live in a glass house. from the stories we've heard, you have a rather questionable past (and present), so what gives you the right to knock someone else's hustle?
Those that know the least about you..judge you the most. You don't owe anybody an explanation...You are who you are...and whether anyone sees you as a role model or not, shouldn't and can't take away from the person you are and it can't erase your achievements either...
I don't support what Toke said but those of you abusing her aren't any better...
Encourage Linda as a person (cuz she deserves it), don't put someone else down to soothe her ego because Linda herself did not abuse her...
Now Linda, take comfort in the fact that you've achieved something in life, keep growing, keep learning from your mistakes and keep moving forward and thank God 4 making you 'you' and remember that God totally digs you..flaws n ALL...
omotola wetin be gossipers. illiteracy na disease ohh! u better go fuck man to pay ur way to sch abeg
Linda tok dnt abuse u ... She just said wht she thinks ... Y do u hv to write u life history for us to read ... Do u know her own story n where she is coming from ...
Toke remember those who live in glass houses shouldn't throw stones.
I am starting to believe Toke is using blogs to get popular.
And who is Toke?, Linda how you dey my sister.
so by posting that sob story Linda are we supposed to say, " awww you are our role model" or what?
she said what she said, youve taken it and brought it here for her to be crucified. what does that make you?
Linda,
I think you should ignore all these bad belles cos in life there will always be people like this..who will want to undermine you..u dont need to get distracted.. we all have struggles..been a good girl in today's society is not easy..I can relate to your story very well and I m sure so can millions of girls reading your blog..You dont need to prove yourself to anyone.. the most importnt thing is that you re impacting your world positively and I love you for that.. I ve met the Toke Makinwa girl and u can see that she is a loose girl in need of cheap popularity.. You do not need to indulge her..Just ignore.. and take it easy with telling all about your past..this is still Nigeria by the way and you say you wan marry.. some guys will think... wetin Linda go find for the hotel.. just saying but I m a girl and i understand but thats why some things are in the past they should remain there... Just Ignore the Toke girl and move on...God go make you bigger..P.S..Please I want to win one of those tickets to Umoja...please!!!!!!!
Idiot, do you even knw the meaning of "role model" mofo, u think it's by beauty?
@Bebe ...shut the hell up! U must be one of this dirty slag Toke Makinwas voltrons. What? She promised you runz connections in exchange for your voltron defence? Get a life bitch!!!
Linda Ikeji is an inspiration and MY role model. Deal with it!!!
How bout I tell ya a story: Once upon a time - there lived a girl who thought at a CERTAIN
point in her life, she was the ONLY HUMAN BEING ON THIS PLANET having a HARD
LIFE and then somehow just as the sun rose, she overcame that 'self pitying' phase and
crossed over to 'less pathetic' phase which comprised of not just drowning in her pain but
dwelling and 'TALKING/WRITING' MOSTLY bout others. And that has not only made her an
EPIC FAILURE but also made her incapable of giving the RIGHT ADVICE to anyone.
Honey, we all have a place we are all coming from, it doesn't determine where we are going
or who we are today. And facing reality plays a huge role in it. This story is very PATHETIC -
you can't face the fact that you are truly A FAILED MODEL and DEFINITELY NOT A ROLE
MODEL. Trying to convince people or playing a victim just doesn't do it for you. Get a life and
JUST MAYBE YOU MIGHT GET A MAN! Stop meddling in that of OTHERS! AND THE
FREEBIES - JEEZ!(if you are as successful as you claim you are - why accept freebies?)
linda you are one much two much three much infact ten much and toke is nothing so leave the shredding to us your LIB readers and we would gladly do that for you biko
@ BBEE
My dear, I think you have got it twisted. A blogger is not a gossip. Its not like she starts the gist, all she does is copy celebrity stories and puts them on her blog. It no different from reporting the news like its done on NTA, CNN and co.
Toke's view is hers and the fact you share her views dont make the lot of you into "MOST". Its not in her power to control what people say about the stories she posts on her blog. . Everyones opinion is as different as our fingerprints. Calling her followers bitter and sad is uncalled for. You just aired your take on this subject matter like I and many others have done, the only difference between you and others are your opinions. Lighten up my dear. . I just realized that this TOKE girl is the same chick that was blasted on LadunLiadis blog a while back. . This is simply a case of "take the log out of your eyes before you remove the beam in your neighbors". IF Toke hadnt put Linda on blast, then this shit right here would not even be hapenning.
In my own humble opinion,I tink the babe said her own opinion which I think she is entitled to..either she is wrong or right is a different issue entirely.Let me start by asking,"who is a role model??".I tink the answer depends on individuals doe there are some few qualities we could all agree on of a role model but just cos someone is on tv,in the news regularly,attends events with glitterati of the society,has more than enough money to last a life time or has a past that shows endurance and believe is not just enough to make someone a role model.There are so many stories of people going tru tough times and making headway in life,Linda's case won't be the first nor the last and not all these people could just be tagged "role models" .I salute your courage and believe doe but on this issue I will side with Toke based on my own definition a role model which to me is majorly scored on an individual's character........Love reading your blog though.Don't mistake the fact that your are popular to mean that you are a role model,they are 2 different things.
if you like keep deleting comments that tell you the truth .....na you sabi . i noticed you have deleted comments against you
this toke is becoming a nuisance. i think all the creams she has been using have started seeping into her brain. GOSSIPER. ewo! instead of her to learn the correct use of the english language, she's always almost biting her tongue on top forming accent. you better follow in the footsteps of dolapo oni and mo abudu and get proper tuition from the queen bee nike oshinowo. she will teach you how to position your mouth for the words to come out as you desire them to (notice how dolapo & mo have the same mouth movements).
with your shady past, you are attacking linda. yes, linda might not be the ideal role model, but you are further from it than her. what has your Michael jackson transformation inspired anyone to do other than stay away from bleach?
Linda, well said and well done! God is good!
STORY STORY. Na who we go ask? How do we know the story is true? Park well jor. Gossip like you. Anyone that has you as a role model na minus one. Is it to be showing breast up and down, sleeping with a divorcee, etc. If you like, don't post my comment but if i was commenting about someone else, you will immediately post the comment.
Shameless person like you. What kind of lie is this? Are you a virgin? so what's with the holier than thou attitude. You can post shit about people but when they talk thrash about you, you try and use sentiments. Go and sit down jor.
Abeg pple tell how u want u 5 year old to grow up to b a blogger pls
I don't think Linda posted this story so people can say she is a role model or not. She posted cos she was reflecting on how far she has come. She might be role model for some people and not be for others. It is your prerogative.
The definition is role model is relative based on different reasons. E.g Paris Hilton, i despise her but she is a role model for some girls so its all relative abeg. Toke Makinwa you are entitled to your opinion but using religion? lol let's not even go there
Linda! Linda! D puppet mistress and you've just strung another one. I guess the torrents of comments what you expected. And I hope the figures are flowing in. Why do have to go to such extent to justify that you are a role model? You could be my role model, but obviously you can't be everyone else's. What do I know other than every dog has its day. Shalom
The truth is that you can not be a role model to everybody, to some people, you are and to some, you are not.....i see you as a good enterpreneur who knows how to advertise her business which is the blog.....people who see you as gossiper should be asked what exactly they come to check on your blog if not to read those gossips and spread....but believe me, even if you dont write about these people and what they do, others would...pls continue to do what you are good at doing.....and by the way, who is Toke????? i have never heard about her
God bless you! Like every other aspect of life, not everyone will appreciate your effort(s). It's left for one to make the best of the situation(be it negative or positive criticism). Jisike!
Toke! Toke! Toke ... where are you? hope you read this ... attention seeker
If you wanted to be mentioned on Linda's blog you coulda just said Hey Linda ... (who is she anyway???)
Linda more grease to your elbow!
teamLinda>> teamIndependentWoman
At April 19, 2012 4:00 PM, story story, story. Like they say, no smoke without fire. What is gossip? if you dont want people talking,then dont do what you dont want them to hear? I agree with Toke joor, Linda is a "gossiper" but she is not anonymous. Let anybody who she has "destroyed" his/ her life without proof sue her shekena.Tush Igbo boi
LINDA POST MY COMMENT OOOO! I WAS THE ONE WHO TYPED IN CAPITAL LETTERS!!! NOR TRY ME OOOO!!! I GO DELET MY SUPPORT FOR YOU OOO! POST ALL THE COMMENTS!!!!!!
Linda y dont u like posting my comments now, JIB.
Linda isn't anyone allowed to disagree with you or have an opinion. I am sorry you went through what you did but there are many of us women that never sold their bodies, some in even worst condition. That doesn't really make someone a role model. As for me you are not my role model. I think a role model is someone that I can aspire to be like. I like women who promote God in everything they do.Someone like that I would term a role model. The proverbs 31 woman.
Yepa Toke don enter one chance today o....lol
@Omotola said: Gush u are Toke herself! U just gave urself away by using the word "Gossiper" again. For the last time u illiterate, there is no such thing as Gossiper!! And did u just do a photo comaprison of you and Linda? Linda is all NATURelle. And you Toke? You are a bleached out fake...trying to Keep Up With The Kardashians wannabe. Get a life U prick sucking sperm swallowing Olodoish slut!
TOKE MAKINSTOP BLEACHING!!!!!!!!!HOW VERY DARE YOU SAY LINDA IS NOT A ROLE MODEL?YOU BLOODY PROSTITUTE,LIKE WE HAVE FORGOTTEN. YOU THIS EX-FULL TIME PROSTITUTE IN BACCHUS BAR.HMMM BECAUSE YOU ARE ON LEAVE WORKING IN A RADIO STATION!!!!!!! MUMU.
Can't see my comment. Hmmmm!
hahahha...the same linda who threw alll her readers and commenters under the bus when she issued her pathetic apology to susan peters? yeah thats my role model
M so proud of you,how I wish ladies of dis days cud do dis,its easier said than done shaa,I wonder wat cud v warranted such a statement frm @tokstarr,if it wre LLB she made dis statement abt,I'd v understood d cause of her ranting(d post somtym ago on LLB dt hit close to a thousand comment),surprisingly toke hasn't got a gud moral history,I hope she hasn't bitten more than she can chew wit dis...all ye LIB fans,please & please tempter justice with mercy wit your comments,I knw dey'll come in torrents...dis is gonna b interesting...*sips barcadi & orders for asun*
linda i cant see my post.y naw?
When pple have their opinion about you its their problem...there was no need to respond.....
She just got the cheap popularity she was craving.
Linda dear, I understand every word you wrote down in that story because I have been there.like you, I look back now and I am happy with me. A bible passage says; "when the lord turns again the captives of Zion, we are like them that dream" you have washed your hands girlfriend, it's time for you to dine with Kings. However, one thing i think you should guide against is offering publicity to those that want it but can't pay for it. The Ntioke of a lady knows that once she gets at you, no commenter will comment without mentioning her name and by so doing those of us who din't know she exists get to know her.
well said @Anonymous April 19, 2012 3:26 PM. I don't know toke makinwa but u just made her popular, I'm definitely going 2 write somthin hurtful about you Linda to get popular also lol, your struggling story doesn't make u a role model it only earns you pity, you shudv seen stuff like dis comin and gotten urself prepared... I enjoy ur blog no doubt.
lol.......so many funny comment but BEBE is right on the money . God bless you for that feedback which is what me and all my friends think of Linda Ikeji
I enjoyed reading the sob story but dont get it twisted, Role model you are far from .
I have no issues with u Lind and I think people should take it easy with castigating others. My concern is why will u not go get married?! Are u trailing Genevieve Nnaji's path? WRONG! Pls I would LOVE to see you marry a good man.
OMG!!!!!! Linda darling its a tough world we live in and I know its not what you wanna hear but Toke shouldn't be the one who makes you air such story in public!!!!! you have your opinion darling don't you??? well so has she and if you take such little things to heart well well, I'll hate to imagine what you'd do when bigger things hit you and really and truly, I don't see you as my role-model(I'm sure some people see you as theirs) neither do I see Toke as my role-model. you guys are small!!!! people have done bigger things (sorry) and yet no one is licking their backside so my darling the world is a nasty place and I'm sure in your lifetime that many peeps haven't believed in you but all you have to keep doing is proving them wrong and what you've done by writing that long arse story is prove them right!!!! get over yourself my darling and move on!!!!!
my role model, my motivator, my source of inspiration and my sister Linda Ikeji, you are indeed a role model giving the young ones hope, telling them the future is bright, that it is well even inside the well. I understand how it feels when after passing all through this to be were u are today only 4 one stupid classless, bush animal to say u are not a role model, many girls out their are looking up to u, u are their role model including me, What beats my imagination is ur humbleness, ur candid attitude everything about u and its my wish to see u one day. as 4 the little toke or token abi dash or free u will remain classless and unpopular. Haters are liable to die young repent and appreciate great women of our times(like Linda) if not u will remain a looser
Linda ask yourself how hv u selfless effected the life of anybody ... Ask ur self do u want ur kids to b bloggers like u ... Ask ur self would u hv chosen another career if u where not making money with blog ... My dear role model or fail model
Linda u r not a role model jor ... U done pass that one u r a a fail model ... Ani
nice one linda...
Linda any time u do this justification n self pity thing ... All that comes to my mind is that u r a fail model ... Do just stop it jor
nice one linda...
Linda, don't mind that bleached and un popular toke
Linda you are the bone ,more power to our elbow,keep up the good work,pls dont mind those critics abeg
Wateva one does ppl will surely talk abt them. Ur story not only touched me but inspired me, God will surely see u tru. Just short of words. Just today saw an old city ppl mag whr u were interviewed, b4 dat I have alwez asked myself a question how many nigeria celebs have humble beginning most fucked their way to the top odas are one influential man's daughter or son, while some are rejected pros frm jand n yankee who finally came to naija n made a name 4 themselves.Nigerians will neva learn to celebrate ppl wit humble beginning. My dear no even answa them u have done well 4 urself na just God.
I didn't know who u were until a few weeks ago when my sis came back from school and ur name came up in one of our conversations. My sister isn't a person who lyks pple just lyk dat, it takes a loooong time to earn her respect, and u seemed to get it within one month, that goes to show how much of a good person you are. I don't read ur blog daily but I've read some of ur articles and I loved them.
I had tears in my eyes when I read this story and I'm very proud of you and how far you have come. I made the same promise to myself when I was a little girl, although I've never been in your kind of situation before I do understand the determination and will to succeed against all odds. God bless you for sharing this story.
I cant say I know Toke very well but I used to listen to her show last year. We all are entitled to our own opinions so, that's hers. In my own opinion, you are a role model and i am proud of the woman you've become. God bless you.
So you shared your story and got 360 comments.Nigerians are very emotional people.Linda you have done well for your self not withstanding but am not sure anyone here ACTUALLY heard what this Toke lady said lets not go BRUHAHA on her. My fellow commentators someone once said if you didn't hear with your ears or see with your eyes don't spread with your mouths in this case fingers.
We all have our stories to tell, again Linda i admire your resilience and doggedness.God bless you but as ROLE model, you don't set your readers against someone else am sure you are a christian.I would have been happy to read that someone else heard and reported it not you doing the horn blowing.You dig?
Chai see painment linda must have post a story abt u inthe past....pele
In my opinion, everyone is entitled to their opinion. The definition of "role-model" is subjective and may mean different things to different people. I didn't think it was necessary to publish the story of your life tho as several people including me have gone through untold hardship and have become success stories today.
Linda.... I guess my comment hit a nerve.... I wondered if you really had friends and expressed that i'd be apprehensive to be friends with you cos i'd tend to be paranoid that you'd sell my story. I also said a lot of your posts make me think "Ouch, when does Linda know to respect people's privacy?". I also said Naija celebs prolly dont like you much. But then i added that, all that said and done, I still come back here cos its human nature to enjoy gossip. And my comment didnt get posted... obviously you are not as real as you wish folks think you were. *shakes head*
Linda this ur story is not working me me plzzzzzzzz try gain whn u r 40 or 50 years old ... Than I think I mighty cry ...
quite inspiring indeed!
lili my darling .she reads your blog hoha,na bad belle dey worry am.thanks for your story,she just gave u an avenue to inspire many people.
whether she feel say u be role model or not the fact say she dey talk about you show say u are worth your salt.
I usually dont leave comment but this is a situation that needs answer. Because of your blog success,so many youth are also opening blog and webs to make a living out of it. you have show another possible career though no one as been able to achieve like you do but they are making something out of it. I think Toke Makinwa does not know the meaning of a role model.you will know it when an opportunist talk,they go out of point. you inspire, encourage,update and put a smile on people's face.what more can a role model be...
WHO THE BABE BII????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
Toke Makinwa is just a loud and talkative person, she should learn from people like you! you've got real worth..Keep it up Linda!! xx
Linda, nothing do you....babe carry go. You don dust people like toke since, na bad belle con dey worry them
Seriously tho.
Linda you are a role model.
You've triumphed over adversity to become a success. Wetin remain again?
PS gossip is not bad until it is malicious... I have never seen any malicious post from you Linda, your posts are practically sweet and flattering to the 'celebrities you post about.... And whenever there is a conflict you are always so humble in trying to smooth over things.
It shows that you're from a good home...kudos to your mother, she raised an angel.
Linda pls it will be nice if you will have a forum..where you can speak with young ladies in Universities in Nigeria as ladies even give their vaginity for bold 5..As for Toke she was a well known prostitute in UNILAG.She was Nike Oshinowo's little pimp i.e her smallies she gives to her expatriate when they want young blood..she should better shot smelling pussy and get a life for her self.Cheap Ashawo kobo kobo. Linda you go girl we need more f you in this country. Pls post this.
She should go and sit down! You ARE a role model and a great one at that! Don't know if you read the comments but saying you ARE from little ol
me :)
Toke Makinwa is just a loud and talkative person, she should learn from people like you! you've got real worth..Keep it up Linda!! xx
I applaud you. Well said and I'd say well done. Be sure to verify your gist though. Besides, some of the people you post stuff about may be hurting about those things. I believe that just like you and I, they deserve a bit of privacy as to stuffs going on in their lives. Always keep this in mind. #just saying
I have never commented on this blog, this is going to be my first. I hope u pay close attention to this Linda. I have been addicted to ur blog, got drawn to it by a friend and i think ur post today brings memories of my own childhood. Though am a guy, but we do have our struggles too. I have a comfortable job today and can well take care of myself, trust me Linda, its been rough, as in realy rough. U know one thing u need to realise is that mst of us are asking who is this new girl making comments about Linda? I think she is using u to get famous. Linda, i really wish i could meet u in real life. U r natural, honest, simple and open in ur post. Our hearts will get exited when ur name is mentioned, do u know dat?
I really can't be bothered about any Toke now. All i know is that I am happy you shared this story.
The rate of 'aristoism' in our campuses now is getting even worse than before. There is no dignity anymore. Girls look at that as the ultimate thing now, which is sad. No man is too old for them. In my time, girls would say 'old man ke?.
I truly hope that this will send one or two good messages to their stupid heads!
Linda let me tell you what i see here. Methink you lack the guts to take on bullies, and what you do is to bring them to your blog where your readers will reap them to shreds for you.
Toke Makinwa can choose not to see you as a role model, that does not have anything to do with your challenges in the past, silence would have been golden but starting a thread because your name was mentioned by her was simply an act of cowardice, knowing fully well that your readers will devour her on your behalf.
Since the morals of your story was how to rise up to challenges, you still need to inculcate it into your dispositions toward passive adversaries and stand up to them instead of running up here to your readers to wage an unnecessary war of attrittion on your behalf.
Read lind ikeji's story
http://hazeezthemojo.blogspot.com/
Abeg Linda, you are not a gossip monger...there is a difference between gossip and gist.... And gist is what you provide.
i think you should have just ignored this nitwit Linda, she's looking for cheap popularity. being a role model is subjective you may be to some and to others you're not. everyone is entitled to their opinion. but Toke, you shouldn't be the one casting stones. how much of a role model are you too? you're a presenter that no one knows, lets start with the physical, is that the color of your skin? better cover your face in shame. Linda may not be a role model but she's more relevant and she's worked hard to get where she is. don't make people open your can of worms. next time just keep shut.
Linda, I can't find my comment here.
Why?
I use to brag to my friends that I will always b a player but after I read this post , LINDA you don make me fall in love with you.
Thank you Linda for this inspiring piece..may God continue to bless the work of your hand.more grease to your elbow....
linda,God bless you for this post. all that u have will be the least God will ever bless you with. AMEN..... Toke u picked the wrong battle, u bleached so much its affecting your brain... you are noting anyone can look up too. sooo plsss shut up!!!
I hope u are satisfied with all the negative comments thrown at toke. First and foremost, everyone is entitled to their opinions, hers was she doesn't see you as a role model, that being said, secondly u didn't have to put out ur life history to make people believe u have suffered cos quite frankly everyone has had or is going through some hard times.
In addition if u had any sense u would known not to go to the mans hotel or wherever u met up with him cos u know what the end result wud have been, so if u think putting up ur pathetic story makes u a saint, u r mistaken!
Do me a favor, continue blogging and stop making ur self sound like a saint. I know toke personally, and even I don't think she's a role model but she is trying to make herself one, I suggest u do the same.
Linda,naturally i dont like sentiment and i wont mince words to say you're very sentimental.
Did you live your life as a young girl for people to say well done or because you felt its the right way to leave?
You are not the first poor person that is seeing some cash now.
I understand models like unnecessary popularity and i just advice that you do what you do and forget about role model or no role model.
You are just lucky to have a blog that sells cos a lot of people started blogging way before you and they may not be making as much money or might even be making more but i understand you really want to be a celeb/popular and its so funny to me cos its very unnecessary.
Seriously this post is very unnecessary though i feel your story and really thank God that i thank God that you are no more poor.
But please remove sentiment from anything you do cos all i got from here is that you want people to say Eyaaa!!!
The lady in question just shared her opinion, remember?
hello linda! this has inspired me so very much this evening, wow! so people can still be decent and make it big, the way nigeria has turned they have almost made it seem like if you are not a runs babe you can never be rich even if you like read book, you would still need to spread your legs for one oga somewhere before you get the job or get promoted., my name is chinedu i am female , my friends call me i must work for my nation, i work hard hoping to make it as big as you have though not through blogs, something different. am really inspired by your story. As for the TOKE BABE! when she learns to cover half of the breast that she exposes she should then talk about who is a role model or not but for now she should just drink IZAL and SHUT UP GBAM!
well, it's a journey really, and I believe you are just starting. One day, it will be said that you no dey sell gossip. As for the story, well, yes, correct inspiration. More Power to your elbows. 74
Even though you have refused to post my comment i know you read it, u are biased and damaged. your sob story is a pile of crock, are u the first nigerian girl to struggle? pls take a seat. u r just a snivelling coward who quickly posted a sob story to gain sympathy, you think there is no karma? u ruin lives with ur blog and get all self-righteous when someone called you what you really are, A GOSSIP! neither u or toke makinwa is a role model, if u want role models how about mother theresa, ghandi, emilia earhart? how can u say u a gossip blogger is a role model? you must be on some cheap crack my dear. if u like don't post this, i will keep commenting, i have all day.
P.S: This is Toyin. Shame, girlfriend cant even speak proper English, did she really say "gossiper" lol!
Such an inspiring story
I'll have to forward this to all my female friends
Keep it up Linda
U rock
Cheers to the good life!
what kind of person blows her own trumpet? linda did anybody ask you for your life history? pls blog the shitty gist u r used to and stop aspiring to be what u r not. role model my ass! if u or toke makinwa is a role model then hitler and osama bin laden are role models. idiots.
Well said Linda! U really are a role model
LIB supporters are obviously stoooopidddd! this is pure and simple propaganda, linda picked the worst pic of toke and put it beside a decent pic of herself just to garner support, then she gave y'all a crappy sob story, a story that every typical nigerian girl has gone thru, then she goes on to moderate comments, or don't u know she approves the comments first before posting? why is the world filled with such idiots?
I'll put it this way, Linda. Having a gossip blog this successful makes you rich and makes you popular. But does it make you a role model? Hell No! I'm entertained by your posts and all, but why would a self-respecting person look up to someone who spends their time digging into other people's business and opening it up to the public. If it makes things any better, it sounds like the Toke chick is nowhere closer to being a role model than you. And to your story, everybody has an inspirational/ sob story to tell, so you should try getting over yourself. I LOVE your blog but i wouldn't want to have anything to do with what you represent. Truth.
Linda is a ROLE MODEL. She doesnt report falsehood. If she is a gossip then publishers of ecomium and Newspapers sunday's editions are. Gossip is gist behind someones back not in d open, like on a blog. LINDA DOESNT GIST BEHIND ANYONES BACK.
Well said Linda! U really are a role modes
MOST COMMENTED BLOG OF THE YEAR....
LINDA MORE POPULARITY PERSONIFIED TODAY
Why help this Toke become relevant? That's what we do by discussing her here. Linda keep the flag flying, you are an inspiration to many including me.
for all of you saying linda is ur role model i have a prayer for u: "may your sons and daughters be like linda ikeji, may they become gossip bloggers, may they ruin marriages, friendships and relationships, may all they ever know be looking for people's gist and leaking people's secrets". oya all of una LIB supporters say AMEN
Well said Linda! U really are a role modes
Linda i love u with passion,ignore that Toke i know her too well ooo she just a nuisance. Ay
Maxy Emerald, i imagine you are feeling cool with your write up. You are clearly ignorant as to what blogging is about, else you wouldn't have wasted so much time typing this dust!
you should be ashamed of urself linda, you can bring the heat on other people yet someone gave u small heat u can't take it. ever heard of 'he who lives by the sword'?
Linda fail model and bleached skin,how r u a role model?
Linda...nwanne m..Everyday after my tedious MSc lectures, I make out time to see what's new on your blog and leave a comment if necessary....People really should get to know what the word 'role model' means...I know thousands of Nigerian girls at home who are jobless and do terrible things just to get money...And this is because you have discovered what you are good at!(And this infact,is an important feat!)..You are good at what you do..I've gone through other blogs..I've also advertised your blog!
Now,I really hate dissing people but Toke got me pissed this time.She perhaps has her reasons for saying what she said but really,some things are better left unsaid....I've heard her speak one time and I honestly hated her artificial look and her attempt at imitating a foreign accent!
Bottomline is--YOU ARE A ROLE MODEL...You've been an inspiration to a lot of people(I know people who started blogging when they starting reading your blog) ...letting them know that one can actually make honourable income and be selfemployed...
You have to know this---because I believe you'll always be in the public view---PEOPLE LIKE TOKE WILL ALWAYS BE THERE---But I need you to see them as stepping stones...The only thing criticism does is to make you a better person (If they (your critics) knew this,they'll refrain from criticizing you!)...Check the trends of great people!...Even the son of God was criticized..how much more you!..You can already see how much popular you've become because of her comment about you!
Nwanne m, Ji si ike i nu?...I love what you do and if ever you are anywhere in the UK,I'd very much love to meet with you....
linda is moderating comments ooooo! post my comment na! u'll allow only one bad comment of u and allow a hundred bad comments of toke, is that fair? God is watching u ooo!
ANYONE ACCUSING LINDA OF BEING A GOSSIP IS A HYPOCRITE!
YOU ALL COME HERE TO CHECK OUT THE LATEST GIST ON PPLE SO WHAT DOES THAT MAKE U? BOTH THE BEARER OF THE NEWS AND THE PERSON CHECKING FOR THE NEWS, NA THE SAME THING.
BOTTOM LINE BE SAY, NA GOSSIP CARRY UNA COME HERE....HENCE LINDA GOT POPULAR IN THE PROCESS.
BECAUSE OF HER POUPLARITTY, PPLE COME TO HER WITH SITUATIONS LIKE THE OKE GUY, WHICH GETS THE IMMEDIATE ATTENTION NEEDED TO SAVE LIFE.
SO, IF NOT FOR THE SO CALLED 'GOSSIP', LINDA MAY NOT HAVE BEEN POPULAR, AND IF SHE WAS NOT POPULAR, SOME LIVES WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN SAVED.
TO ME, I WILL CALL LINDA A GOSSIP IF SHE MAKES UP MALICIOUS STORIES ABT PPLE. RATHER SHE REPORTS FACTS!
ADAEZE O.
linda,linda please why will you delete my comment?abeg repost it.....whats that?!"d scotts dey vex"
Oh boy 544 comments!!
*grabs another bag of popcorn*
Biko post my comments too na..
But seriously who's TOKE???... never heard of her and don't care sef..
She's looking for publicity ... Hope she's happy now?>.. MUMU
Linda, do not mind that confirmed ashawo, Toke Makinwa.She is a fool. She that has been sleeping around calling another woman who is doing what she loves and not sleeping around names. Has she not read the awareness issues you have put up to help save lives. Did she not read the Onuchukwu story. My dear do not mind her. I AM PROUD OF YOU. Most girls in Nigeria are sleeping around to get paid and you ate innovative and doing your best with your brains and not your vagina to put food on the table. Which other blogger is celebrated like you, everyone I know goes to your blog daily to find out what is happening in Nigeria. Pls so not mind that, TOKE is the type of woman who gives people like us a bad name by sleeping around. Which other Naija blog is like yours and keep us informed.I love you Linda and you are a role model in Nigeria where no opportunity is given to woman unless the open yansh.God bless you.
P.S Damn Linda, i got bounced on your FB! :( Ok but pls add me on your BB, ive given you my PIN and once again pls do not post this comment! You're pretty brave sha, putting up posts of people yabbing you, like that Maxy, i gave him a piece of my mind.
Lindajustdeydourowndeygo...upward and forward!
Linda God bless u,Toke actually wants ur attention cos she believes ur blog is the in thing nd she needed to be there nd since u re on a higher level she had to do something rash to get ur attention nd she did.U re now a household name.May God continue to guide nd uphold u nd ur family.
Dear Linda,
I read your story and cant help but be impressed and inspired. If I ever have daughters I will wish them to be as determined and upstanding as you are. Many ladies nowadays are after money by any means and sell themselves for it. The mere fact that you decided to do it without selling yourself makes you a role model to many young women out there. Keep up the good work.
Linda,YOU'RE AWESOME!
i dont have a problem wt u not being a rele model but my question to ur attacker is, does she think she is also a role model? of course NOT, what has she ever done n her life for people to look up to apart from exposing her boobs and bleaching afi toke na, what a name for a responsible woman
Hmmm , Toke do not piss me off.
Im actually wordless after ready the many comments, was gonna write one kind long comment but it is well...
God bless you Linda.
i am an ardent reader of this blog and i will comment for the first time. i listen to toke on rhythms every morning and she comes across as a nice person but a bit fake. i also kno for a fact that she reads ur blog faithfully. most of her entertainment gists are from ur blog, especially on saturdays. Dont take her comments personally.
Kai did I 4get to mention Linda you have die hard fans ahan..
Noticed that any time u say anything about yourself the comments are always pouring in. Ahan!! too much love for this girl. Godbless ya xx
U re a fooooooooooooooooooooool. Sersly u nd to start tinkn wt ur brainz. Msheeeew
Chat
Linda, you touched my HEART, you pierced it lil sis!
When next I'm in Nigeria, I wanna meet you and shake your hands for making our black and especially Nigerian sisters proud. You're indeed a role model.
Linda dnt get it twisted ... U r maki g mo eh ,yes but u r not a role model ... All of u hailing Linda ... Ani u want u kids to b blogger Ani ... All d best o my own kids will b at their own company reading ur kids gossip blog ..
Smelly Toke Makinwa that has bleached her life away is jealous of Linda Ikeji. How is Toke Makinwa that is bleaching her life away a role model??? Linda Ikeji does not need your approval. Linda Ikeji does not need ANYONE's approval. Linda Ikeji does not need to be a role model to you or anybody. Linda Ikeji is not an attention seeking fool you and your stupid friends in the media. Toke Makinwa, thank you for making this comment necessary. lol
The hoodrat, "Radio and Tv presenter", Toke Makinwa (@tokstarr), is on Twitter.
http://twitter.com/tokstarr
I use TuneInRadio App to listen to Nigerian radio stations. I've heard Toke Makinwa voice. I did not like it. Her desperate to impress "call centre voice" (fake fake fake fake British accent) is so damn childish, annoying and irritating. Who don't she speak in her normal accent?
BTW, I'm almost done writing my latest bestseller:
How to Fake a Convincing British Accent: 8 steps to rock a fake persona.
Toke Makinwa, you dumbass, seek medical help; you maybe suffering from Foreign Accent Syndrome (FAS). Fake accent disorder is a bizarre mental disorders. Look it up. Symptoms are low self esteem and pretending you're foreign in your own country, Nigeria, the land of your BIRTH. You ain't BRIT, punk. Quit pretending. You were here in England for a few months as an illegal immigrant and to buy bleaching cream. Is there no gym in your area??? You look hideous. You look like a tramp. Get rid of your bingo wings and 100 layers of makeup. Keep bleaching. Keep using cake soap. Keep using Egyptian milk. You, Vybz Kartel, Lami, Toyin Lawani, Jennifer Olize, Rita Dominic, Vone Nwosu, Latasha Ngube, and the rest of you desperate low self-esteem bastards that are using bleaching creams (are a massive disgrace, bad influence and NOT role models to anyone) are on your way to skin cancer.
Linda when I saw "let me tell you a story” I thought oh oh, she has found a way to rope us in again oh but by the time I finished reading this, my heart was swelling with pride!!
You cannot be a role model to everyone and like you said we are all entitled to our opinion. The Toke girl knows u abi? U no know am ba? na beef! The higher you climb the ladder, the more "enemies" you would have.
In her mind she's probably thinking wetin sef, she no dey do anything but she popular pass me and people dey talk about u the way they'll never talk about her and her bleached skin and fake accent.
Keep doing what you do and personally as long as you can hold your head up and be proud of your actions (whatever they might be because if you feel bad/guilty about something, don’t do it as you would only be ashamed of yourself afterwards).
The trick is to love what you do and if it pays the bills, even better for you. You go girl and believe u are my role model and an inspiration to many HARDWORKING young women out there!
In fact no more anonymous from me again! Loudly and proudly a LINDA IKEJI FAN!!!!!!
I cried....love u lots. God bless u
I'm a journalist like u and i do exactly wat u do albiet differently.I do my in the newspaper while u do urs on the internet but baby i will tell u one thing, wat u're doin is great.Toke Makinwa is someone i ave met and bet u the only way she could ave said that is becos she is just envious.keep doin wat u are doin and keep mkin ur millions while she has to sell her body for few thousand of naira's to men, who dosent even give a care for her. Ur story also echo mine, though, i cant say i ave been as strong as u are but right now i am learning how to be.out of here
Linda as long as u are ok with what u are doing,dont let no one kill your spirit...You are a role model to a lot of young people out there....Such a touching story!*tearful eyes*.God bless you Linda..
people say when you are on top there is envy.... but we should learn to respect other peoples opinion. But Linda you know you are a very good Amebo? Ride on
That y its blog for gossips.....good or bad which would be expose wit or witout lind Ikeji blog....stop hating on Linda dat press for you...tope is obviously hurt mayb u diss r frnd or ha....but be matured even a cockroach as a role model......Linda nice work keep its rolling......haters progress n stop beefing dis z life
people say when you are on top there is envy.... but we should learn to respect other peoples opinion. But Linda you know you are a very good Amebo? Ride on
Linda I went thru worst things than u do ... N I never compromise by stands , I never ever do runs ... I own n run my own business's with out cosing any pain to anybody u dare come up with this pathetic story of us ... N that story of us talking abt not knowing wht to do with ur money n freebiess is so lamp n dumb ... Help some motherless kids around u ... Do u hv house in UK or in ur village ... U still live in surulere ... U say n promote painful word thru ur blog n u r making money at the same time with it do that makes u a success n a role model ... My dear failed model ... D toke girl dnt abuse u jor ... U say painful things abt pple n we all Laff but u can't stand one single painful comment frm anybody without u trying to justify ur self
HOW CAN SOMEONE CALL LINDA IKEJI A ROLE MODEL
ARE U OKAY AT ALL....... YOU ARE A KNOWN GOSSIP . full stop
i love our blog and all but get overyourself . if you cant take the heat get out of the kitchen . Someone said you are not a role model, then you write a sob story . My respect for you just went out of the door..
YOU'RE ANNOYING ME LINDA. ATTENTION SEEKING AS ALWAYS. WHAT SHE SAID WASN'T EVEN BAD, YET YOU ALLOW THESE ROBOTS TO CUSS HER OUT.
Linda if I were you I would post all comments about Toke if she can go about talking trash about you, coming to your blog and commenting rubbish, people read about who she really is. Don't be afraid and moderate comments on her post it
It is unfair that she called you a gossip...I mean that means the whole world is a gossip. Everyone that has come here to read stories to a gossip. A lot people especially those in foreign countries rely on your blog for what is happening in Nigeria and this nonentity is saying rubbish.
She just tweeted that you will never meet a man and get married and quickly deleted the tweet.
Linda... I must say you have a way of getting your audience behind your back - or in a succinct sentence - you have a way of drumming up support from your audience. People talk, you are not the first they'll say trash about, so swallow it. I'd have love to read this story of yours you just published somewhere else (or better still, not in this circumstances). The lady said something about you, the best way (I think) is to check her out and correct the impression she had abt you. Bringing it down here depicts one thing; you're hurt by the statement nd want ur audience to give the poor lady the lashing of her life; that - to me - is gross. The same issue wiv the Susan Peters story, c'mon, fight your battle yourself. She has her opinion, just like everybody else; don't prove you are holier than thou by publishing stories why you are a role model. You - through your blog - have also been publishing stories about pple(some good, some bad, and others; completely ridiculous), that's your opinion. So please, leave the poor lady alone, don't make your blog an avenue (through you audience anyways) to fight people that have qualms with you. Emotions run high in these situations, just calm your nerve abt negative comments you get; pple talk, so do you!
May God bless ur work. U are proud of what you do bcos its not bad. I can bet u dat toke has slept her way to wateva or whereeva she is now in life. Ur story shows one cane make it despite all odds.
Ode.. U r jus a blatant fool! Din u READ??? Fuck mehn.. Sum ppl on ere r so bloody THICK! Damn
Sisi Jane 1&2 and why do you think she hasn't given back to the society? Your post shows you have beef for LI. Work on d issue or work on itself! I blame LI for even sharing this story. Neways goes to show how human she is. The thing probably touched her real bad
Nice one. People just say stuff without thinking
Linda, honestly am so proud of you. U believed in yourself and God was with you, and u made it. Infact the sky is just ur starting point not ur limit.
And who is this Toke Makinwa or whatever she calls herself. I never heard of her except now so whose role model is she. Anyway, she was just blabbing bcos she has no story to tell or probably she is jealous of you.
Lili, on a more serious note, u hv to teach me dis ur work ohh. I want to be ur apprentice. am tired of this salary work. lols
Whatever mate, just gimme the gists.
Why don't you check a dictionary or google the word before you start asking silly questions? Just because Nigerians use this word a lot does not mean it is not a real English word.
linda,she want to be like you,na jealosy they worry the yeye thing,who she be,me i no no her ooooh.what does she know about life and role models,sleeping around with men i guess,see as you come take tell am say you get sense pass her,i hope she read in between the lines in your story,but then again you were not talking about nailing one aristo.
Am addicted to ur blog and i love u(no homo)and u are my role model.she can go and bury her self, who cares.
I am sitting in my office in New York and I'm close to tears because I can relate to this story over andover again! I'm 28. I grad from uni in naija.Came here after grad and been working hard for the past 5 years by myself! All thru uni I never slept w any married man.Struggled to the point of having an extra year in school cos i ddnt and refused to "block" my courses. Today I'm better than all the girls that opened their legs. Linda.I commend you. I respect you. To me you are a role model.So Toke or whatever she calls her self can kiss my ass as I look over my office window and see the Empire State Building!
Am I missing something where in the bible does it say that Sleeping around is bad and lying, gossiping, slandering and instignation is good. Role model indeed. You must think highly of your self as long as you are not a virgin and a well known gossip dont play the morality card here. I know you wouldnt have the liver to post this. Madam ROLE MODEL. I hope are not confusing being a MODEL with being a role model. Linda Ikeji was a failed model but not a role model. Understand!!!!
God bless u for the short story..u are my model..u made my day. To all young ladies, kindly take a queue from Linda's determination and perseverance to survive in life.
life is too short to dwell on ignorant ppl. do ur thing linda, have fun and make money with ur blog nothing do u. loving all the comments lol.
abeg mk una check out my blog oh. nice nice gist.
Linda but why did you have to post this up...........the so called Toke girl knew you will blog about it and know she is gonna get the popularity she has been seeking........many people will like to know her now.
I expected that you would have grown past cheap talks like this o........
This is my third post today and im loving it....Toke sorry ooo..lol. I said we will have 1000 comments and its getting close to that already.