World’s first head transplant volunteer could experience something "worse than death” - Surgeon | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 16 April 2015

World’s first head transplant volunteer could experience something "worse than death” - Surgeon

Last week, 30-year-old Russian man, Valery Spiridonov, announced that he will become the subject of the first human head transplant ever performed. Val, who's paralyzed from waist down, says he wants his head removed from his non-functioning body and installed on another person’s able body.

He volunteered himself as a guinea pic after Italian surgeon Sergio Canavero said head transplant was possible and outlined the transplant technique he intends to follow. But now a top surgeon said Val will experience a death worse than death is he goes ahead with this...

"A Werdnig-Hoffman disease sufferer with rapidly declining health, Spiridonov is willing to take a punt on this very experimental surgery and you can't really blame him, but while he is prepared for the possibility that the body will reject his head and he will die, his fate could be considerably worse than death.”
"I would not wish this on anyone," said Dr Hunt Batjer, president elect of the American Association for Neurological Surgeons. "I would not allow anyone to do it to me as there are a lot of things worse than death."
Even if the transplant succeeds which is unlikely, several medical experts say the world does not even know it will do to Val's mind.
"There’s no telling what the transplant - and all the new connections and foreign chemicals that his head and brain will have to suddenly deal with - will do to Spiridonov’s psyche. It could result in a hitherto never experienced level and quality of insanity". - the surgeon said

102 comments:

Wow!

Miracles do happen

Strange

Dis is practise of madness in medical terms. They think they r God or wht?

CHERRY said...

Hmmm hope he listens!

Head transplant???

Hmmmmm these white doctors are just too much

@amOwen said...

Head transplant???? Chineke....so if they put his head in another person's body... Who will he now be called....

He better stay wt d 1 he v

Orishirishi.... Nothing we no go see....

Meenah_wakil on Instagram

Timi Da Uyi said...

Heard it's been done and dusted. Haven't it?

Old story

Was surprised when I read about the transplant. Thank he now knws about implications associated with the transplant.

Was surprised when I read about the transplant. Thank God he now knws about implications associated with the transplant.

Pushing the boundaries.
Caution though.

linda pls get ur facts right it wont be the first anymore, some south african surgeons did a similar one in february and they just made sure the guy was walking and talking well before releasing d news to press ystday, go and google it and dis man actually has hope. i pray it works for him too. poor guy

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

High level of stupidity!

A trial will make history if successful.

Oyibo stupid

View The Best Relationship Blog of the Year

All these scientists should calm down

DRE MUST B A TRAIL TO PROVE DS DOCTOR RYT OR WRNG BUT REMOVIN HEAD FROM D BODY IS DAT NOT DEATH??AMERICAN WONDER, OYIBO AND DIA WITCHCRAFT TECHNOLOGY...TOMJERRYSWIT

Dee said...

OMG!!! HE HAS BEEN WARNED. IT WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE IF IT WORKS THO...HMM NA WA OOO

Nobesmalltin ooo

Uhmm,i don't like dis..am sorry.

This is arrant madness oooo

Nomso said...

hmm, nawa oo...*mouth shuts* already scared for the fella sef..

Willy B said...

Science is trying to break a new ground in its development to another level never expected.
I really pray it comes out successful.
And gradually, I think science will then find a way to finally stop death.
God forbid! But if it comes to pass, then it is God that allows it.

Sounds so creepy

Na wa o

I think it's Val's decision. If he's sure of himself to go ahead..I wish him what he wishes himself

Hian! Nothing wey person no go see & hear for dis world. Linda take note!

comfort said...

They why doing it then....dis oyinbo pple shaaaaa#comforter#

madeness

Teatea said...

Bad girl linda. I see ure subtly shading stella for carrying a faux news about a successful head transplant surgery. We know its fake but enough of the shading biko!

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaahhrrrrrrrrrggggggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! Ah wan mental.

That Function Gurl said...

......but y'all still intend to carry out d surgery anyway abi...??? SMH

That Function Gurl said...

......but y'all still intend to carry out d surgery anyway abi...??? SMH.....ah mean, d last three lines say it all..its a no no!!

Dude shud stay off the head transplant
since the experience will be worse
than death itself.

Good intention from val tho...but i no fit try am mysef

Nky said...

Y will this handsome guy want to risk his lyf dis way nau?

opeoluwah said...

Seeing this scares me... Have never in my life heard of "Head Transplant"
May God see us through

This is the end time!!!!

when exactly is this happening

I believe there should be a limit to some of these daring experiments. Imagine a grown man in a young body, the psychology will be so messed up.

Follow @house_of_oz_ on instagram for your skin care requirements

Mcheeew..they jst lyk daring God

That's why it is an experiment.
maybe it can be improved on, and will finally be a normal thing.
They're bound to be side effects at first.

They love adventures and experiment

The transplant has already been done since January ..SDK carried it..

Reallly strange...this americans will bring this world to an end sooner

Dis is wht I call medical jagoons@its foolishness, and stupidity.

Too good to b true bcos d after effect wil b short cut to d other side of life. They should not try to form God.

This is some really weird sh*t

Are you cursed with repetitions? Can't you write your comments once? In your prayer pointts, rebuke repetitions from your life.

African foodstuff and Raw Materials said...

Abi o, doubt if dis will be successful..

Idiot! Did you see America mentioned anywhere in the story?! The man is Russian and the surgeon is Italian. People are always so quick to blame everything on America. Use your EYES and READ well before you come and start spewing nonsense.

Hmmm...orisirisi

My year of Linda's 100k

Hws dat possible

White doctors? The black doctors will do better with the right equipments and supportive facilities. - Freeze

Hmmmmm nothing person no go hear 4 dis oyibo let him try n see nah. Am waitn 2 hear how it goes

Chy 🌹 said...

Insanity???...there are enof psychos already.
Heard the transplant has bin done already sha

Chinwenmeri.blogspot.com

nice ... they should continue researching .. still waiting for nano(s) and flying cars

SWILL MARTIN said...

De juz did it in johannesburg oooo lindodo y u de fuck up naaaa u suppose tok am

ogunril said...

The world is going crazy

A word is enough for the wise. He should listen and not go ahead with the procedure

Because its by an Italian, it's "worse than death". If it was by a US surgeon, theythey'll say its "cutting edge science". We don see una finish, America and propaganda.

esther said...

old story, i saw it on umunaija .com two days ago that it was successful,

God bless you ooo, why can't science let things just be the way God wants it.....haba

????Is the body alive or the Head? Or where will they get someones body unless they are dead... Can a 70 year old become a 17 year old by obtaining a 17 year old body transplant? All these questions sha. There is hope for me to live forever i will just keep head to different bodies..lol!

Never said so dumb ass. They are just trying to use the intelligence God gave us all to make this world better. So instead of saying that, find a way to make this world a better place and let God have the true rest he deserves after seven great days of creation!

Who is writing for you Linda??? The errors are unbelievable,haba...

Haven't it??? At ur age...*smh

neni said...

Hhmmm it were better u remained like dat oh young man. To me, dat is too mch of a risk abeg.

Ewu! Make Google ur friend! The transplant was a success fyi

Pls what will happend to the head of the body they r transplanting.doesnt mk sense

CMS said...

I can only say,

The Guy Get Mind!

I hope d poor guy who is willing to do this to end his misery will think well about this cuz this might be a case of jumping from frying pan to fire. The transplant should be tested on animals first na.

dharmmy said...

It's going to be a great way of proving science, looking forward to it...

dharmmy said...

The guy has a disease and he is failing rapidly, so am actually proud of the fact he wants to use his body for somting that might actually be productive...

This is medical suicide !

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

I think this is interesting I will like to follow it up for if this succeed it will be a major breakthrough that will help a lot of people l wish them good luck

Wish him all d best

Alagbado-ode said...

I salute the courage of this man. I fervently pray he goes through this successfully, he will then be my most respected human being that ever lived!

My friend, God did creation work for six days not seven, as you won't read the bible, at least listen very well to your preacher, I can't believe you don't know this after how many years Christianity has been with us here in nigeria.

@Anon 6:32 you can correct her without calling her an idiot.

Hmmm man is now on the brink of becoming God.

May God have mercy on them.
Somethings are not suppose to be mentioned, but this guy's, don't know. Wants to try God is something. The one that want to donate his head, did he create himself. Na wow oh

Its a no no for me........ I feel sick already!!! Please science stop playing God......

wao........ wonders will cont to happen here on earth.

Never Say Never... once, people said it was impossible to go to the moon, fly in the sky, separate Siamese twins etc... this is another chance to proof the skeptics wrong...

sanjay said...

Though it not been confirmed when the procedure will be performed, Spiridonov says it could be as early as next year.

Innocentia Annie said...

Hnmmm!!!
This is weird

sanjay said...

why my comments are not display..??

Hope he survives the surgery.

baba said...

We need to be patient and remove this black man mentality of it is not possible dat is y we dont have african inventors like our Americans European Asian counterpart. God has blessed man with wisdom wen dey told ppl man will go to space dey said it is not possible and dey will go to hell but man is building space stations and want to start colonies and live in mars after all man made robots and there is heart transplant so we just chill

For those saying the surgery is already done stop reading all dis blogs that are hungry for traffick....google the news ! They surgery is speculated to hold two years from now!! Get your facts right!

BossLady said...

Fascinating ..........

As much as am surprised at this, one can still reflect back to history when someone said he was going to build a metallic bird that will fly across the ocean with people in it...sounded like madness. A lot that exists today once seemed like madness until it was actualized. Nothing is impossible.

They should find a cure for HIV. Cancer etc. . Rather than experimenting rubbish

The mad scientist