Pres. Jonathan breaks silence, speaks on why he conceded defeat | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 17 April 2015

Pres. Jonathan breaks silence, speaks on why he conceded defeat

President Jonathan has given his reason for conceding defeat to President elect, Gen Buhari during the March 28th Presidential election. The President said he decided to concede to avoid a collective tragedy. He said there has to be a nation before any personal ambition can be fulfilled and that for him, what comes first is the nation before ambition. Pres Jonathan said this when he received the new French Ambassador to Nigeria, Denis Guaer (pictured left) at the state house yesterday April 16 
"Since I assumed duty, I have been involved in quelling political crises in some African countries and I know what they passed through and what some are still going through. If you scuttle a system for personal ambition, it becomes a collective tragedy. You need to have a nation before you can have an ambition. It should always be the nation first. You don’t have to scuttle national progress for personal ambition. Democracy has to be nurtured to grow. Strong democratic institutions are the backbone and future of our democracy. They must be protected and nurtured. As for me, as a matter of principle, it is always the nation first" he said.

229 comments:

1 – 200 of 229   Newer›   Newest»

Good for him

Enyaa,dis man is really gud oo,bt in oda hand he ws mislead by his fellowers

Well Said, Boss!!!
.NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

Save journey to bayelsa shaaa,come may 29

KOT said...

I too lyk dis man.,gud one from GEJ

"KOT"...send from presidential villa

Nicole said...

He did the right thing. I won't give him an award for doing what he ought to do but he definitely has my respect.

TripleC SDK BlogBoo said...

Nice 1 Presido, Unlike Buhari In 2011

Good for him, and he made history for doing dat. God bless him even though he broke our hearts. He tried. I wish him well.

Good to hear this, I hope the APC war lords hear this and follow also. Nice one Mr. President.

Oge Nsimah said...

God bless you sir.....as you put the nation before your ambition

GUD TALK OGA JONA...BUT DS IS THE FIRST TYM NIGERIA IS GONA HAVE A PRESIDENT,AGNST ALL ODDS SOME 0NE DAT WANT TO PRESIDE OVER D COUNTRY BEFORE 2015 ON HS OWN AND FROM HIS HEART NOT D ONES DAT WER PLANTED..LUK CRITICALLY BCK TO PREVIUOS PRESIDENTS UP TO OGA JONA, DEY WER ALL PLANTED, THE PEACE OF D COUNTRY WAS IMPORTANT SIR N U DID WEL CUZ MNY WUDNT VE CONCEDE NOT EVN UR STRONG OPPONENT...TOMJERRYSWIT

U did well GEJ, the Lord who sees d heart reward both the good and bad ppl.

Better Man! God will cont to Bless u sir

GEJ I love

GEJ my Hero!
Thank You Sir!

Good point.

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

Wel speaking my president, come 2019 we are waiting for you

Well said!

tony rich said...

That's my president God will be with you

God bless GEJ!!!!

My President!

Well said Mr President.

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Gaddamit!STANDING OVATION FOR THIS MAN. Which other president have you had that was this 'smart'? This is what education adds. For those of you asking what his degree adds , this is it. A man who understands how a system should work. The rest of them are touts hustling for their pockets.
Y'all said his admin squandered this, that etc. now he allowed APC take charge (because it was obviously rigged, I dare an idiot to say otherwise), let's see what they do from here on out.

That's my presido talking..

Linda I said so..

Nyx said...

Linda i find this irritating as we have over flogged this matter. The president conceded defeat because he lost in a fairly widely acclaimed free fair and credible elections and yes he lost by a whooping 3 million votes which is the reason he conceded defeat. QED

What he has done is normal that is the sane thing to do if you lose an elections by 3 million votes.

NYX

D Bee said...

And people have said alot of nasty things about dis noble patriot. They have insinuated dat he will form an interim government, he will kill more people. All d paranoia. I salute this man for his bravery. He made alot of mistakes during his tenure but he is willing to let go and let God thru another. He is a true democrat and the man of the year after Jega.

Sounds cool. but wasn't there a Nation when his Aids mismanaged the same Nation's Economy he clamors for now? Jonathan is a good person but he surrounded himself with people that brought about his failure. He still takes the blame bcs it was his watch. Alot of HURT was done to the same Nation through his government.

Everything Rosham said...

God bless u Jonathan

That's my presido talking..

Linda I said so.

Jona is bae

That's my presido talking.

Linda I said so..

" You need to have a nation before you can have an ambition"
. GEJ
He will always be my president

You're truly a humble and peaceful man.
But enough said already.

Hmmmmmm

biijay said...

Thank you Mr president

A good leader,a statesmanship

...JOSHSAYSO..LIB..FAN

U still remain my hero,no mater wat people say. GOD BLESS NIGERIA

GEJ all the way! God bless you, you are a hero

GEJ u r really a true Democrat..forever in the mind of reasonable Nigerians

View The Best Relationship Blog of the Year

That's my man...ride one

Seen. Sai buhari

Aliyu said...

.....and above all, he lost. Losers accepts defeat.

God will always bless u. U have all it takes to be a leader

Buhari u dey Hear? Blood thirsty General. As from May 29, dem go dey subtitle the man english cos no one understands or hears what he says.

Ok we have heard sir.....

KENNY said...

GOD BLESS YOU..GEJ...GOD BLESS NIGERIA...SAI JANTHAN

God bless president Jonathan

God bless u Mr President.

I love this man. Humility personified. meanwhile GMB has still not conceded his 2011 defeat. #GMB make the freaking call already. lol. and to think that I was a youth corper then. so it could have really been me killed senselessly in the 2011 election violence because someone refused to concede. Odiegwu really. We siddon dey look

Good leader is reader. a lot of ppl see what is happening in other nation. but pioritised thier ambition instead of vision.GEJ u r a reader that makes u a leader.We all aware what GMB did in 2011 when lost the ellectn and what he said that happened. is matter of time we shall see.

Nice of GEJ to do what he did. Most selfish politicians would rather cause chaos than allow for peace. I respect him so much.

Cos dats d right thing to do

michael said...

God bless you

And dis is just jonathan....not selfish..nt over ambitious..nt greedy...nt self-centered nor self-serving. God bless u presido. And all dose hu worked hard to spoil ur administratn..it shal neva b wel wit deirs cos he hu refused odas to sleep..wil aswell nt sleep...and dat is natural justice.

GEJ has shown real LOVE for this nation n GOD will reward him accordingly.

This guy has set a precedence that I dare the professor of 'change' to follow.

Uhmm,Awesome OgaJona.Man of PEACE!!! His joy is to see others happy...Like it or not,dtz Presido, OgaJona!

Beta presido.

That's my amiable president, u'll still be my president as long as I remember you Sir.#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY#

I love you uncle, the most courageous man I no, guys no harsh comments plsss, linda I love you silly, gudday everyone

Breaks silence?Linda please don't kill me.its too early in the morning.what silence.between him,you and Abati,we have read on his conceding defeat everyday.cos he uses a new set of words doesn't mean he "breaks silence"

He said it during the campaign that no ambition was worth it for him.that ofcos coupled with the "underlying politicking" that went on.Linda,please please,YOU have NO CLUE at all so just let it be.

World's best GEJ is a good man. They frustrated his admin with BH, insecurities, corruption, dis same ones vote him out. God Bless you Sir!

God bless u mr president, and we hope d same can be applied if Buhari doesn't perform n Nigerians decides to vote him out

That doesn't matter anymore, let's move to d nxt chapter of d most popular slogan called change come to existence...

THIS MAN SHOULD COME BACK FOR PRESIDENCY. I'LL VOTE FOR HIM. HE'S A NICE MAN. GEJ ALL THE WAY!

Rightly said..
Bless you Mr Jonathan; you deserve an award.

De ambassador of peace one of Nigeria, God bless u sir.

He conceded defeat because he lost the elections by a wide margin and even he contested it in court, he had no chance of overturning it. Absolutely no chance. There is no other way of sugar coating it. Don't over flog this issue by making a president who have virtually ran this country aground a hero. He is no hero, he did what he ought to do. Period.

Oo please he lost .!!!!. Isn't this democracy
How can you praise a man who lost for stepping down

We can praise nonsense in naija

World quote u need to have a nation befor u can hv ambition #ImForGej

How about u conceded defeat because u lost by over #2mill votes

Roman! said...

Good*

That's the president I know. God bless you #MYHERO

Powerful

LIB chairlady said...

Jonathan is a good man surrounded with evil men... He's a peace loving Man

Hmmmmmmm

And dats a selfless man who puts his nation b4 himself and his ambition....my Presido

Integrity however you should av kept ur words and nt go for a second term

in my opinion he still remains the best president Nigeria evr had...................this country needs pple with the right mindset>

Hygerz said...

tnx to Gej......God bless u

mzmaris said...

Good for him

I keep saying that this man is my hero and I haven't changed in my opinion. General Buhari contested elections three times before now and he lost. Blood were shed on the streets and lives were lost because of those defeats. Goodluck Jonathan had only lost once in an election he could have swayed in his favour, having all the machinery of the Commander-in-Chief at his disposal, yet hours to the official announcement of the final result, he conceded victory and congratulated the man who always threw childish tantrum whenever he loses an election. Goodluck Jonathan is undoubtedly THE FATHER OF MODERN NIGERIA DEMOCRACY. He has shamed President Barack Obama and his uncouth foreign secretary who had in more ways and in many fora than one embarrassed and insulted Nigeria on account of his signing of the Anti-Same Sex Marriage bill into law. He has shamed BBC, the propaganda mouthpiece of Britain's Life Dictator, Her Imperial Majesty the Queen, and indeed the United Kingdom and all those nations who wished Africa nothing but ill. He has shamed the OLD and SELFISH crooks of Nigeria, Olusegun Obasanjo, Ibrahim Babagida, Ahmed Tinubu, and all their cohorts who had over the years been parasites on our collective till. He has shamed Governor Chibuike Amaechi who can NEVER ACHIEVE what Jonathan had accomplished. He has shamed General Buhari and taught him what a true democrat is. I SALUTE you sir. The victory is yours.

You go Mr president. I salute you.

well said sir!

My true hero of democracy. I may never had liked u but u stole my heart with this singular act of urs. God bless u sir

destinysweet said...

GEJ is a GREAT Man

Auntylindagoddaughter

God bless you Sir. Your end will be great and it is well with your future. As you have sown peace, I pray that peace will never depart from your household. Amen.

I believe you my president

Am nt GJ supporter but dis a nice one, God bless u

Nyc one oga jona.

May God continue to bless you Sir.

Ngee said...

thank you for the peace we have today my dear president. a lesson for all. generations yet unborn will never forget you

That's my amiable Presidio talking

President Goodluck Jonathan, the world will give you an appointment that will be a wonder to everyone. That is my earnest prayer and desire for you. So shall it be!

Nigeria's Greatest and most unselfish President.. #GEJmyHERO

Ifeanyi Smith said...

Thats my man! God Bless u Onyeoma..

Oh my God. Thank u sir

That's my hero. If na all these Aboki's they ll make nigeria ungovernable

June said...

Wise man

kiki said...

My amiable president... d evil surrounding u z much. U made a selfless decision. God bless u

Jenny said...

Great man wit a good heart

My president,u took a wise decision by conceding defeat,u are a man with wisdom,may God bless u more and continue to shower u wit more wisdom,amen,

YEAH RIGHT!!!

Tankx a lot my hero... u did it for us and we will evaly b gr8ful 4 dat.

Noble man...God bless u sir

kpekpeduke said...

Well said Mr President,i will miss ur wife though cheiii diaris God ooooo

Deep words.
It would have been another tale if GEJ didn't step down.

My President My President

My President Is Black#GEJAnyday#PDPAlways#

More of an administrator than a politician.... GEJ

well said Mr President. You can bask in the euphoria of the Glory you have got.

You truly kept to your word. Though not really satisfied with your style of governance, but you sure set a precedence for a greater Nigeria.

God bless you.

Nice words. I dof my cap for u Mr President. U made the right decision even thou I neva wanted you in office for a 2nd term. God bless Nigeria.

Engr. Godday said...

He has set the a unique baseline. Others should follow to improve Nigeria. God bless GEJ.

Best president in Nigeria

aeesha said...

Dats nice of him

crystal said...

Pres. Jontahan is a good man at heart. He was jst surrounded by evil people.

lgho said...

Wow...God bless you sir indeed u are a HERO of our generation.

U HAVE SAID DAT OVER N OVER...ITS AT YOUR OWN ADVANTAGE TOO..TAX

Welk said. He is the father of our democracy. I wonder the type of democrats APC is breeding. Every where they go chaos. They are a group of vindictive people. I really do not know what they talk about in their rallies because it seems to be breeding hatred. You only needed to LISTEN TO IRETI BAKARE YUSUF this morning (an APC volunteer) on freshly pressed (smooth 98.1fm) to know that something is definitely wrong. Her hate of GEJ is so palpable that it might be breeding cancer inside her. I think they have some witches and wizards in the party who infected their supporters and members with "hate portions".

Nice one President Jona
hope generations to come would learn from this.

God bless and lift u up, in Jesus Name

dorismakas said...

Thank u Mr president

Well said but still happy you will month longer be president come May 29 Biko #no hard feelings#

#no

Good one

shuga daisy said...

God bless you so much sir' You might the rightest decision of all Time #hero u are and will be only God knws what will be happening by now the unnecessary killing and bloodshed of our family and loved ones' been broken unable to open shops and do business as usual''anyways i knw wat am saying i drop here

i know the first Nigeria president to conduct a free,fair and credible elections regardless of the outcome...A True Democratic...You are the best Ever..God bless Sir....GOODLUCK E. JONATHAN

SWT AMAKA said...

I didn't see any reason more over he was defeated so conceding deafeat is nt a big deal.

Innocentia Annie said...

You got it right Mr president
The nation comes first
Some mofos put themselves 1st before the nation
All for selfish purposes

you have to respect him for that singular act. Hats off

👍👍👍👍👍

Great man

GEJ had no choice that's the truth..all these excuses really? Nigerians were tired of his sorry ass and fish brain he had as a wife

Naija Yankee Boy said...

Presido, you no lie. If everybody die, who you wan preside over? I like you, my oga. You too make sense.

Thank You Mr President........U did well...

you are a great statesman and i hope many of them would emulate you, GEJ always

Shut up... ode!!!

Stupidly commenting. Does it make you a human being? If he didn't take that action of nation first, I wonder whether you would have remembered where LIB is by now.

Word Dude Jona. WORD!!!!
Would ve been a fan long ago, but that uncouth Wife of his and those Charlatans who are always surrounding him in the Court of jesters retarded the process.

God bless you sir for saving this country from eminent blood bath. My love and respect for you is 100%. All those commenting rubbish here, I don't blame you people. If not for that singular act of GEJ, I wonder if you would have been commenting on LIB from bushes or refugee camps.

favouriteYSF said...

God gives and take but it takes man enough belief to accept faith. Your decision to accept defeat has made you my man of the year.

Illuminati said...

Blessed are the Peacemakers....for they shall be called the children of God!!! let those who have ears let them hear.

What are you saying? Was it free and fair? But imagine if he annulled the election when his card reader failed.highest he will be jailed by the international court. But ur country would have been boiling. The north will say buhari won and the south will say no way that's just how violence starts. So he should be commended cos he stepped down. Power corrupts but he didn't use it

Illuminati said...

GMB won the Nigerian Presidential election.... GEJ won the world.

Welldone Uncle Jo-Jo!

Tee blac said...

My hero

Aliyu, when your Buhari lost 2011. Did he accept defeat?
God bless you My President Jonathan

Yes, he ws mislead by pple lyk ffk, fayose asari etc

Nky said...

Hero of life

#safe#

Pat darling said...

President Gej, selfless heart. If Mandela was alive he would have given you a big hug.

Joshua said...

The President has spoken well. It a lesson for others in position of authority to live by. True spirit of patriotism.

why is everyone making this man feel like he did the nation a great favor..He LOST an election, simple! and when losers LOSE they concede PERIOD!

UK TOg

Joshua said...

The President has spoken well. It a lesson for others in position of authority to live by. True spirit of patriotism.

That is what Buhari should have done the last time he lost. BLOODY MALLAM.

Bukana said...

So why hasn't Rotimi Amechi accepted defeat. Pls b so kind to answer this.

Ogundiran, stfu.

Much respect for him, he is indeed a good man and God bless him!!!

I Love u GEJ my hero! You are truly a Good Man,and God will continue to bless you!

ASAMPOKOTO said...

He didn't just do the right thing, seeing as the right thing has never been done. He set a new standard

ASAMPOKOTO said...

He did not lose in any free and fair election. This election was far from free and fair. Stop living in denial abeg!

ASAMPOKOTO said...

3million votes with majority of the votes from states that were allegedly wiped out or almost wiped out. Bruv that shit could easily have been overturned, redone, contested whatver you want to call it sha.

ASAMPOKOTO said...

I hope they all feel stupid now. And I hope all the interim govt yarns people now realise it was apc's probaganda

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Is he not the president again?
So he should keep shut?

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Seconded

Nyx, wen Buhari lost wit over 10million votes in 2011 in an election d world said was credible n transparent , did he concede? In 2003 did he concede to obasanjo? In 2007 did he concede or congratulate d winner.? Abeegi

Though he lost. He actions which are in aggreement with his ealier statements made him the next to Mandela. He indeed stole the victory from GMB. That is the most talked about. God Bless GEJ. God Help GMB. God Bless Nigeria>>>

hrm paul ojeih said...

selfless man .History will be fair in judging this man.He did well

elle said...

Hero ke,dat was d only choice he had.3million margin no b beans

God bless GEJ

Mercy E said...

God Bless u Sir. hope this APC thugs that call themselves politician's learn bcos 2019 is not so far.

Mercy E said...

God Bless u Sir. hope this APC thugs that call themselves politician's learn bcos 2019 is not so far.

What about 2011 and buhari yeye people.

Very right Sir even though you dis pointed a lot of us that had high expectation when you were massively voted in. But i know one thing for sure that you will be lifted as no human ever anticipated

Stop the hate, it's better u come to terms with GMB being the president of Nigeria come May29...

You are very ungrateful and unreasonable to the core. You really have bitterness inside of you for this man. You won't know what it takes to govern a nation like Nigeria until you get to the seat.

You spoke my mind! God bless u.......

If accepting a very visible defeat at the polls makes GEJ a hero then am ashamed of the group of intellects on LIB praising him.... It was obvious he lost and the International media agencies had already updated on their various sites the result... He did wat was expected of a loser and that is to bow out honorably.....

Ella said...

Good!

John after reading ur comment i can't help it but fall in love with ur choice and use if English, u are good man....wish i can write like u

Nyx said...
Linda i find this irritating as we have over flogged this matter. The president conceded defeat because he lost in a fairly widely acclaimed free fair and credible elections and yes he lost by a whooping 3 million votes which is the reason he conceded defeat. QED

What he has done is normal that is the sane thing to do if you lose an elections by 3 million votes.

NYX

you have said it all ... we are so used to mediocrity a normal thing looks like a big deal. Rubbish what silly principles what else would he have done.

Good luck tx

Thanks for that

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 229   Newer› Newest»